We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Biyadhoo Island Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 June 2010

We spent 14 nights at the oh so friendly Biyadoo Island resort and had an absolutely excellent holiday. We were a little worried about the accommodation after previous reviews here but were pleasantly surprised as they were basic but clean and everything worked just fine and more than we expected for the excellent deal we got with Marks Travel/ Kuoni. Yes the beds are a bit hard but after a night in the bar we hardly noticed. There are some little touches which are nice e.g you get clean beach towels delivered to your room each night.

The Island is kept very clean, is very lush and with seven good routes to the edge of the reef, the snorkeling was amazing. You can walk round the island in about 20 minutes along the well kept paths and the accommodation is in six two storey blocks with three each on either side of the island. The staff were all extremely friendly and were a very happy bunch of people who gave us excellent service. In particular I should mention , the brilliant three cooks in the restaurant and the head chef plus Mufeed , our always happy and attentive waiter for the fortnight. We should also mention in despatches the hard working bar team who we kept up very late on a couple of nights. Last but not least the room boys who made very clever shapes/flower displays with our bed sheets and though we are not divers, found the dive team a very friendly bunch also.

The was good variety in the buffet food and it was all very tasty. The only disappointment
was that the fish was always tuna, but the head chef explained that other fish was difficult to obtain in bulk at that time of year. The house wines were unexpectedly good and the all inclusive beer options in the bar were draft San Miguel and bottled Becks, so no complaints there. There were also half a dozen cocktails included in the all inclusive plus all the local brand spirits. In fact with 90% British , hardly any children and most in our age range, it was a bit like a party every night in the one bar. BTW apparently the loud Italians all seem to arrive in November.

There was some sort of entertainment almost every night and in particular there were two exceptionally good bands who got everyone up dancing, plus the staff drum and dance night. Also the Kuoni rep, Stewart plays a mean guitar and has a very good Cat Stevens singing voice.

There were only a few improvements which could be made on the island. Firstly the shop is a complete rip off so try and take reef shoes (plenty of broken off coral on the sea bed) and a lilo cos those loungers are pretty hard on the backside if you havent got much natural padding , and you can also have fun with it when the sea is a bit choppy. we didnt try the spa but a few people said it was good but it is over expensive.

However overall and excellent holiday and we will be going back at some stage.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Palmer_et_al
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,578)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

702 - 708 of 1,578 reviews

Reviewed 2 June 2010

We had our first visit to the Maldives at Biyadhoo. It is a lovely little place, encompassing all you could hope for in the Maldives.....AT BARGAIN RATES. We paid £1100 each for 14 nights all-inc. You should always manage that for £1400.

Embrace the quaint 2 or 3 star accomodation. It is clean and perfectly adequate. If you're AI, take all the fridge stuff out and put free stuff in from the bar and restaurant.

At 1hour from the airport by boat (a trip we highly recommend), it is wonderfully isolated from the capital.

If Rohan (Kuoni) is still there, tell him Christian sends his love and challenge him to a Saturday game of cricket.....staff v punters. You'll have a ball! We all did.

Majid runs the catamaran. He is an absolute star. He has 10,000 dives under his belt and his serene trips to snorkel with manta rays are an absolute must. You take water, he brings fresh coconut and you slide around the nearby islands in paradise. Do it.

The evenings are what you make of them, so get up and dance. Inspire the crowd.

The main beach is astonishingly pretty and you'll always find a great spot. You can literally snorkel all aaround this gem of a place, as the islands' own reef is always within short distance.

The food is great. Go on the night fishing trip and whatever you catch, the chef will cook for you the next night. The red snappers are lush. My wife caught 6. I caught 1 big, ugly conger, causing the captain to rush at me shouting as he threw the beast back to the sea. :) Humbling.

Forget the expensive trip to Male. It's a waste of time and money.

If you've never been to the Maldives, then start here and you will not be disappointed.
One year later, it still seems like a dream.....so we save up again!

Enjoy.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank christianspirit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2010

first off all we got this holiday as a deal on h & j site, out of season, we knew, but it was the maldives, so we risked it, and three star, but you go to the maldives for the sealife, not the hotel room !

we did have quite a bit of rain, but overall had a great time. And an adventure on the high seas thrown in for good measure.

food was above average i thought, all bread and cakes, pastries seemed to taste homemade, and one afternoon, i could smell sponges cooking on the air - heaven.
i can recommend the lobster - which there is a supplement for.
look out for the fishing boat that docks once a week i think, loads of tuna fish, good photo opportunity.
the one trip i would recommend is the dolphin trip, brilliant.
great snorkelling off the beach. My husband and i have been to many places, and we've never seen so many fish, and coral - alive and all different colours, instead of all bleached white.
everyone, the staff and other island guests were friendly. made a few friends while we were there, gemma and her mum, good luck on her forthcoming wedding, and sheila and derek, hope you have a good time in guernsey.
please take some cat food, biscuits with you for the cats and kittens, and give them to a bloke called magic who is in charge of the watersports hut. try not to feed them with scraps from the restaurant, as i don't think the staff like it. shop is quite well stocked also for gifts.

watch out for the lovely fruit bats, their roosting tree is in front of the spa.
we will visit again, if we can get it at a good price, but not probably in may, because of the rain. oh, and tip the staff, they do a great job, and are always smiling.
one restaurant, one bar, was enough, don't let that put you off. oh, and great entertainment, which we did not expect in the evening.
and may and just add, i hope i don't upset too many people, but lurid pink and blue plastic lilos don't belong in the maldives - go closer to home please.- sorry.

enjoy.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jalousiegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2010

There is not too much I can say about Biyadhoo that has not already been said many times before.

This was our first trip to the Maldives and will definitely not be our last, I just wish we had tried it before. Despite what people tell you of their experiences of the many islands, you really cannot appreciate the beauty until you actually arrive and are living the dream for yourself.

Our trip from Manchester with Emirates, via Dubai, was very comfortable. On the speedboat transfer to the island we were to only ones on board. It took longer than the stated 45 minutes as the driver cut the engines half way across the water to point out the dolphins. This was a fantastic start to the holiday whilst we watched them swimming closely all around us.

There are so many plusses with Biyadhoo for example all rooms are the same, i.e. no upgrades therefore no division of people. When we arrived and went out onto our balcony we could not see the beach as the view was obstructed by foliage. We soon appreciated why as when you take the short walk through the trees and look back it would be criminal to spoil this natural beauty and expose the rooms.

Our main worry ahead of the trip is that with only one restaurant and one bar it might have become monotonous. This concern was soon removed as everyone was so friendly and the social gatherings in the bar area became a focus of the holiday.

As many people correctly state, the snorkelling is fantastic and right on your doorstep. We did not bother to go on a snorkelling trip because of this. I was wary about the Titan Trigger fish, but they did not get me !!! Another reason for us to go back is that my other half did not see a turtle, I tried to explain that you have to be ‘in it to win it’ instead of the many hours spent on the sunbed!!!

We did the night fishing which was fun, I still think I had the biggest catch but it was ‘the one that got away’ !!!

We had requested an upper room on the west side of the island and luckily for us there was one available. We liked the sandy beach and view on this side, although the water became choppy during our second week, but a 5 minute walk to the other side of the island for snorkelling saw completely different water with no swell at all.

The staff are all polite and cannot do enough for you. They work so hard and such long hours to make your holiday complete.

The tired rooms were not an issue as we were all well aware of this fact before arrival and probably before they were booked. They were clean and tidy and any problems that were flagged were quickly attended to. For example during the first week the thermostat on our shower developed a fault. This was only mentioned to the room boy and not Reception - low and behold a maintenance guy soon arrived and fitted a complete new shower.

There were people getting bitten by sand flies or mosquitoes. I am normally the one who suffers badly from bites, but I had been given advice to take Vitamin B1 and Garlic Tablets two weeks before I left the UK and low and behold this worked a treat – very inexpensive from Holland & Barrett.

The only negative from my point of view about Biyadhoo were the toilets in the public areas, i.e. bar and restaurant. The one in Reception was fine. This would not however put me off from returning to Biyadhoo – I am already making enquiries for early April next year.

Hello to all the people we met during our stay and thank you for the many laughs we shared.

If I have not covered anything you want to know about please feel free to PM me.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank 400,097
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2010

We visited the island last October and just realised I have not written a review! Or first time to the Maldives and loved it. Not many that wouldn't. As long as you have done your homework and know what to expect then you will be wowed. We went for the snorkeling and were not disappointed, other than our oly 8000 tough breaking. The amount and range of fish we saw was amazing. Truely was. Anyone who like to see a sample taken with some disposables and a few when the under water camera worked for an hour then email me and I can send a link to an album on Picasa. We loved it. Drop off not alarming as one flip away and you could be in the lagoon. Do take your time to just float around the island and watch the fish in their daily business. Fascinating, really was.

As said, staff are brill, the curries yummy, just don't expect much from the rooms other than being right on the beach!!

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rach68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2010

This was our second trip to the Maldives, our first being to a much larger island (Kuramathi) and we decided to spend a week on Biyadhoo and a week on Kuramathi as we were concerned about spending our whole holiday on Biyadhoo in case it wasn't for us but we had absolutely no need to worry.

Yes there is a need for the rooms to be brought up to date - a new bathroom and a lick of paint will suffice - but apart from that (and perhaps the Mozzies) we cannot fault this lovely little island. It is well laid out with hard paths around the whole island and really does take just 15 minutes to walk all the way round including stopping to watch the kittens playing.

The reef is just out of this world and for this reason alone we will definitely return in the future. We were fortunate to see an Octopus and a turtle along with an assortment of colourful fish. It is very easy to get out to the reef and for someone who is a nervous swimmer, a life vest hired from the watersports centre ensured I had many hours out there marvelling in the underwater world without worry.

We went out on a catermeran to try to see the Manta Rays but sadly we couldn't find them but Magic at the watersports centre took us out again later in the week to try again. Sadly still no Manta's but we did see Dolphins and we were able to snorkel some wonderful reefs in the middle of the Indian Ocean so I would definitely recommend this trip.

There is only one restaurant and one bar and we really liked this. The food was fine - good quality with enough choice that we never had a mealtime where we didn't walk out full.

The bar was a lovely place to spend the evenings and although the cocktail list (for all inclusive) is limited, I was quite happy with a rum and coke or a beer. The friendly atmosphere on the island is really quite incredible - everyone talks to everyone and it is great to share stories in the evening of what you have seen each day. We met some lovely people here and it really made our holiday. The evening entertainment was good with some great bands providing a nice ambience.

We were in the furthest block from the bar so did not have any trouble with music keeping us awake but others did comment while we were there it was loud if you were near the bar (however they asked to be moved and were so it was not an issue for long).

The general feel of the island is very laid back, no need to dress up for dinner - comfortable cool clothes perfectly adequate and all the staff, from the ladies who sweep the leaves to the staff in the restaurant are very friendly and always make time for you.

I would definitely say go all inclusive to this island. There is no where else to go other than the main restaurant and bar and with water and fruit juice alone being between $3.50 - $4.00 a time, your bill would soon rack up without it.

In summary (or I could go on forever), if you want a budget island with a friendly relaxed atmosphere with good food and a wonderful reef then this is definitely the place for you.

If you are looking for a romatic getaway with 5* luxury and all the trimmings this is probably not the place for you.

* For those of you who were there 1st week in May and saw the strange slinky like object in the lagoon, the marine biologist on Kuramathi has identified it. It is the egg sac of a Giant Rhomboid Squid (which grow to about 2m long!) and they are apparently very rare so we were all lucky to see it. They normally float in open water and each of the little red dots (of which there were thousands) is a perfectly formed embryo.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank LoveMaldives2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2010

Just spent a fabulous week in Biyadhoo, and I really can't wait to go back. I agree with most of the comments on here, so I'm just going to go over a few things that might be of use, or that might help you decide to go.

We flew with BA through Hayes and Jarvis, and can't fault the service or flight at all, obviously the current strike threat will affect things, but we had lots of leg room, free drinks, and spare seats on our flight.

Arrival at Male may look chaotic, but it's very well organised, at arrivals look for your tour rep, who wll then direct you to the local agent, who'll direct you to your transfer desk, then when the transfer is ready off you go.

Check in is simple, then off to your room, I must admit the rooms were better than I was expecting, and we were'nt in them very much. Would have enjoyed a more powerful shower but thats all, the hairdryer is not the fastest, but it gets dark at 6pm, so no one can really see you, so who cares what your hair looks like.

Sockets are mix of 3 pin, not many in room, but enough to charge camera etc over night. Again, forget about straighteners etc, no one's going to notice.

Took 3 pairs of flip-flops, wore one pair once! Sand everywhere, but not in dining room, but here most are bare footed.

You'll be welcomed as a newcomer at the restaurant, where you'll be given a table for your stay, and introduced to your waiter, who within a few meals will know exactly what you drink etc. Food was great, and all the staff very friendly too.

Again in the bar, the staff are great and soon know your room number and what you like to drink. We found this one of the friendliest places we've ever been, maybe because there's only 1 type of room, or just 1 bar and 1 restaurant, but we soon made friends, and had many a good laugh with our fellow gueasts. If you like to keep yourself to yourself it's fine too, it's not 18-30, just a very welcoming atmosphere.

You don't need to take towels, but take lilos for economy, and as i picked up on here, take some elastic to secure things on your lounger when you're away from it. Seems very safe too, everybody left things about, but obviously it's at your own risk.

I bought an underwater digital camera to take this time, rather than a disposable one, as this was the one thing i regretted not having last time, and although it can be hard to get good shots underwater, at least you can review your photos before you leave, and aim to get better ones while you're still there.

Daylight is 6am-6pm, so if you have a long lay-in, you may feel the day slip away, and before you know it, it'll be dark again, so we made an effort to get down to breakfast fairly early to get the most out of the days.

Didn't like the sunset fishing, only because I didn't like watching the fish dying, but most seemed to enjoy it.

The snorkelling boat trip was enjoyable, if a little scary at first. I learned in the end that what they want you to do is enter the water in one place, drift in the direction they advise you, then they will bring the boat to that point to pick you up again. Not for the faint hearted as it was quite rough at the 1st stop, and you don't have a guide on board, just local seamen, but it made more sense at the 2nd stop, and I enjoyed the snorkelling then. I think you can ask for a bouyancy aid to help you, we did at Meeru, but not sure here.

I think thats about everything I can think of, without going over everything everyone else has said, I'm no expert, but I know what I like, and I love Biyadhoo. Enjoy!!

Any questions, please ask

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank kbirch1720
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Biyaadhoo Island
1.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Kandooma Maldives
Holiday Inn Resort Kandooma Mald...
#1 of 1 in Kandoomaafushi Island
1,567 reviews
23.3 mi away
Sheraton Maldives Full Moon Resort & Spa
Sheraton Maldives Full Moon Reso...
#1 of 1 in Furanafushi Island
1,865 reviews
6.9 mi away
Adaaran Club Rannalhi
Adaaran Club Rannalhi
#1 of 1 in Rannalhi
1,642 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7 mi away
Fihalhohi Island Resort
Fihalhohi Island Resort
#1 of 1 in Fihalhohi Island
1,293 reviews
24 mi away
Bandos Maldives
Bandos Maldives
#1 of 2 in Bandos
2,200 reviews
21.4 mi away
Kurumba Maldives
Kurumba Maldives
#1 of 1 in Vihamanafushi
3,858 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Biyadhoo Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Biyadhoo Island Resort

Address: South Male Atoll
Phone Number:
Region: Maldives > Kaafu Atoll > South Male Atoll > Biyaadhoo Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant Room Service Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Biyaadhoo Island
Price Range: £150 - £490 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Biyadhoo Island Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just 30 minutes from the airport by speedboat, a tropical haven is enclosed within the turquoise folds of the Indian Ocean. Located in South Male Atoll, the island of Biyadhoo offers a fascinating glimpse of the simple, yet breath-taking beauty of Maldives. Fringed by a crystalline lagoon and powdery white sandy beaches, Biyadhoo is blessed with lush tropical vegetation and famed to have the best house reef in the Maldives. Popular among the diving and snorkeling enthusiasts, the island provides peace and tranquility to the weary soul. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, LoveHolidays, Agoda, Odigeo, Southall Travel and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Biyadhoo Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Biyadhoo Island Hotel South Male Atoll
Biyadoo Island Hotel
Hotel Biyadoo Island
Biyadoo Island Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing