We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Island and fantastic holiday!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Biyadhoo Island Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Halstead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great Island and fantastic holiday!”
Reviewed 7 June 2010

I won't repeat everything that's already been said. Biyadhoo is simple,relaxed and very friendly. As you know by now the rooms are simple but perfectly adequate and I found the bed wonderful!!
The dolphin and manta trips are great (just make sure you get charged the right amount,majid wasn't 100% with the truth on the cat trip!!). I wouldn't rate the snorkel trip as it's poorly run with no clear indications of how long you should be/where the boats going to anchor for you getting back on. We were caught in quite high winds and the dhoni ran aground on the coral reef causing lots of damage to the reef and the boat!! After about 40 minutes of taking chunks out of the reef we were rescued by speedboat.
The food we thought was excellent, not too much choice but just enough,the curries are great!!
The reef is really good and I think the best time to see the larger fish and rays is very early morning as soon as it gets light.
I'm going to keep it short as all this has been said previously. We were very unlucky with the weather and out if our two weeks in May we were rained on for nearly 7 days!! This is the risk we took going then, normally we go jan-March and will not go in May again. Would we go back to Biya? My husband would but I'd say probably not,I think Fihalhohi just has the edge and to be honest with all the other islands we haven't been to we'd be silly not to try them!!!
Go with an open mind and you will be more than happy! Any questions I'm happy to answer.

    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LoveToFly75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,439 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    562
    634
    168
    48
    27
See reviews for
208
982
69
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (219)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Crowborough
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2010

If you're reading this review then you've obviously read others and they are all.... true.
It has got to be the friendliest island in the Maldives.. hands down.
Forget the rooms, they really aren't up to much, but they do the job. You don't go on this sort of holiday to spend any time in them anyway. What you go here for is relaxation... eating, drinking and snorkelling, and you can do them in bucket loads. Although the weather was lousy for the first week, you could still swim and snorkel and eat & drink.!
Once the weather improved so did the atmosphere, and the Island came alive and showed its true colours. It was brilliant.
We met some fantastic people whom I would now call friends, especially Steve & Claire, Leigh & Naomi and Paul & Ali, who took us out early morning snorkelling to show us the elusive turtles, not only one but three.! Then the Eagle rays too. The snorkelling is without doubt some of the best We have ever done. There are seven well marked passages to get out to the drop off easily, and if the sea is rough one side of the Island, then it won't be the other side, and you will see just as much.
One trip I would thoroughly recommend is to go out on the catarmaran with Majid. We have been on various trips at other resorts and this trip is by far the best ever. Have a four hour trip and you can swim with Manta ray's, which is awe inspiring trust me and we were lucky enough to drop in with a pod of Dolphins too. Oh such fantastic memories.
The staff were very helpful and courteous. The bar staff work there socks off everyday and never get your order wrong, and our waiter Monil was excellent. All in all a great Island and if we do return to the Maldives again, it will be to this Island.
Good luck to David & Lynnie who had there wedding blessing there.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank barrold72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Okehampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2010

We spent 14 nights at the oh so friendly Biyadoo Island resort and had an absolutely excellent holiday. We were a little worried about the accommodation after previous reviews here but were pleasantly surprised as they were basic but clean and everything worked just fine and more than we expected for the excellent deal we got with Marks Travel/ Kuoni. Yes the beds are a bit hard but after a night in the bar we hardly noticed. There are some little touches which are nice e.g you get clean beach towels delivered to your room each night.

The Island is kept very clean, is very lush and with seven good routes to the edge of the reef, the snorkeling was amazing. You can walk round the island in about 20 minutes along the well kept paths and the accommodation is in six two storey blocks with three each on either side of the island. The staff were all extremely friendly and were a very happy bunch of people who gave us excellent service. In particular I should mention , the brilliant three cooks in the restaurant and the head chef plus Mufeed , our always happy and attentive waiter for the fortnight. We should also mention in despatches the hard working bar team who we kept up very late on a couple of nights. Last but not least the room boys who made very clever shapes/flower displays with our bed sheets and though we are not divers, found the dive team a very friendly bunch also.

The was good variety in the buffet food and it was all very tasty. The only disappointment
was that the fish was always tuna, but the head chef explained that other fish was difficult to obtain in bulk at that time of year. The house wines were unexpectedly good and the all inclusive beer options in the bar were draft San Miguel and bottled Becks, so no complaints there. There were also half a dozen cocktails included in the all inclusive plus all the local brand spirits. In fact with 90% British , hardly any children and most in our age range, it was a bit like a party every night in the one bar. BTW apparently the loud Italians all seem to arrive in November.

There was some sort of entertainment almost every night and in particular there were two exceptionally good bands who got everyone up dancing, plus the staff drum and dance night. Also the Kuoni rep, Stewart plays a mean guitar and has a very good Cat Stevens singing voice.

There were only a few improvements which could be made on the island. Firstly the shop is a complete rip off so try and take reef shoes (plenty of broken off coral on the sea bed) and a lilo cos those loungers are pretty hard on the backside if you havent got much natural padding , and you can also have fun with it when the sea is a bit choppy. we didnt try the spa but a few people said it was good but it is over expensive.

However overall and excellent holiday and we will be going back at some stage.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Palmer_et_al
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isle of Wight, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2010

We had our first visit to the Maldives at Biyadhoo. It is a lovely little place, encompassing all you could hope for in the Maldives.....AT BARGAIN RATES. We paid £1100 each for 14 nights all-inc. You should always manage that for £1400.

Embrace the quaint 2 or 3 star accomodation. It is clean and perfectly adequate. If you're AI, take all the fridge stuff out and put free stuff in from the bar and restaurant.

At 1hour from the airport by boat (a trip we highly recommend), it is wonderfully isolated from the capital.

If Rohan (Kuoni) is still there, tell him Christian sends his love and challenge him to a Saturday game of cricket.....staff v punters. You'll have a ball! We all did.

Majid runs the catamaran. He is an absolute star. He has 10,000 dives under his belt and his serene trips to snorkel with manta rays are an absolute must. You take water, he brings fresh coconut and you slide around the nearby islands in paradise. Do it.

The evenings are what you make of them, so get up and dance. Inspire the crowd.

The main beach is astonishingly pretty and you'll always find a great spot. You can literally snorkel all aaround this gem of a place, as the islands' own reef is always within short distance.

The food is great. Go on the night fishing trip and whatever you catch, the chef will cook for you the next night. The red snappers are lush. My wife caught 6. I caught 1 big, ugly conger, causing the captain to rush at me shouting as he threw the beast back to the sea. :) Humbling.

Forget the expensive trip to Male. It's a waste of time and money.

If you've never been to the Maldives, then start here and you will not be disappointed.
One year later, it still seems like a dream.....so we save up again!

Enjoy.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank christianspirit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
essex
Level Contributor
30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2010

first off all we got this holiday as a deal on h & j site, out of season, we knew, but it was the maldives, so we risked it, and three star, but you go to the maldives for the sealife, not the hotel room !

we did have quite a bit of rain, but overall had a great time. And an adventure on the high seas thrown in for good measure.

food was above average i thought, all bread and cakes, pastries seemed to taste homemade, and one afternoon, i could smell sponges cooking on the air - heaven.
i can recommend the lobster - which there is a supplement for.
look out for the fishing boat that docks once a week i think, loads of tuna fish, good photo opportunity.
the one trip i would recommend is the dolphin trip, brilliant.
great snorkelling off the beach. My husband and i have been to many places, and we've never seen so many fish, and coral - alive and all different colours, instead of all bleached white.
everyone, the staff and other island guests were friendly. made a few friends while we were there, gemma and her mum, good luck on her forthcoming wedding, and sheila and derek, hope you have a good time in guernsey.
please take some cat food, biscuits with you for the cats and kittens, and give them to a bloke called magic who is in charge of the watersports hut. try not to feed them with scraps from the restaurant, as i don't think the staff like it. shop is quite well stocked also for gifts.

watch out for the lovely fruit bats, their roosting tree is in front of the spa.
we will visit again, if we can get it at a good price, but not probably in may, because of the rain. oh, and tip the staff, they do a great job, and are always smiling.
one restaurant, one bar, was enough, don't let that put you off. oh, and great entertainment, which we did not expect in the evening.
and may and just add, i hope i don't upset too many people, but lurid pink and blue plastic lilos don't belong in the maldives - go closer to home please.- sorry.

enjoy.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jalousiegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
83 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2010

There is not too much I can say about Biyadhoo that has not already been said many times before.

This was our first trip to the Maldives and will definitely not be our last, I just wish we had tried it before. Despite what people tell you of their experiences of the many islands, you really cannot appreciate the beauty until you actually arrive and are living the dream for yourself.

Our trip from Manchester with Emirates, via Dubai, was very comfortable. On the speedboat transfer to the island we were to only ones on board. It took longer than the stated 45 minutes as the driver cut the engines half way across the water to point out the dolphins. This was a fantastic start to the holiday whilst we watched them swimming closely all around us.

There are so many plusses with Biyadhoo for example all rooms are the same, i.e. no upgrades therefore no division of people. When we arrived and went out onto our balcony we could not see the beach as the view was obstructed by foliage. We soon appreciated why as when you take the short walk through the trees and look back it would be criminal to spoil this natural beauty and expose the rooms.

Our main worry ahead of the trip is that with only one restaurant and one bar it might have become monotonous. This concern was soon removed as everyone was so friendly and the social gatherings in the bar area became a focus of the holiday.

As many people correctly state, the snorkelling is fantastic and right on your doorstep. We did not bother to go on a snorkelling trip because of this. I was wary about the Titan Trigger fish, but they did not get me !!! Another reason for us to go back is that my other half did not see a turtle, I tried to explain that you have to be ‘in it to win it’ instead of the many hours spent on the sunbed!!!

We did the night fishing which was fun, I still think I had the biggest catch but it was ‘the one that got away’ !!!

We had requested an upper room on the west side of the island and luckily for us there was one available. We liked the sandy beach and view on this side, although the water became choppy during our second week, but a 5 minute walk to the other side of the island for snorkelling saw completely different water with no swell at all.

The staff are all polite and cannot do enough for you. They work so hard and such long hours to make your holiday complete.

The tired rooms were not an issue as we were all well aware of this fact before arrival and probably before they were booked. They were clean and tidy and any problems that were flagged were quickly attended to. For example during the first week the thermostat on our shower developed a fault. This was only mentioned to the room boy and not Reception - low and behold a maintenance guy soon arrived and fitted a complete new shower.

There were people getting bitten by sand flies or mosquitoes. I am normally the one who suffers badly from bites, but I had been given advice to take Vitamin B1 and Garlic Tablets two weeks before I left the UK and low and behold this worked a treat – very inexpensive from Holland & Barrett.

The only negative from my point of view about Biyadhoo were the toilets in the public areas, i.e. bar and restaurant. The one in Reception was fine. This would not however put me off from returning to Biyadhoo – I am already making enquiries for early April next year.

Hello to all the people we met during our stay and thank you for the many laughs we shared.

If I have not covered anything you want to know about please feel free to PM me.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank 400097
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Telford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2010

We visited the island last October and just realised I have not written a review! Or first time to the Maldives and loved it. Not many that wouldn't. As long as you have done your homework and know what to expect then you will be wowed. We went for the snorkeling and were not disappointed, other than our oly 8000 tough breaking. The amount and range of fish we saw was amazing. Truely was. Anyone who like to see a sample taken with some disposables and a few when the under water camera worked for an hour then email me and I can send a link to an album on Picasa. We loved it. Drop off not alarming as one flip away and you could be in the lagoon. Do take your time to just float around the island and watch the fish in their daily business. Fascinating, really was.

As said, staff are brill, the curries yummy, just don't expect much from the rooms other than being right on the beach!!

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rach68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Biyaadhoo Island
1.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Kandooma Maldives
Holiday Inn Resort Kandooma Mald...
#1 of 1 in Kandoomaafushi Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,428 reviews
7.0 mi away
Adaaran Club Rannalhi
Adaaran Club Rannalhi
#1 of 1 in Rannalhi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,383 reviews
23.4 mi away
Sheraton Maldives Full Moon Resort & Spa
Sheraton Maldives Full Moon Reso...
#1 of 1 in Furanafushi Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,672 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.0 mi away
Bandos Maldives
Bandos Maldives
#1 of 2 in Bandos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,956 reviews
7.0 mi away
Fihalhohi Island Resort
Fihalhohi Island Resort
#1 of 1 in Fihalhohi Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,172 reviews
5.1 mi away
Olhuveli Beach & Spa Maldives
Olhuveli Beach & Spa Maldives
#1 of 1 in Olhuveli Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,824 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Biyadhoo Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Biyadhoo Island Resort

Property: Biyadhoo Island Resort
Address: South Male Atoll
Region: Maldives > Kaafu Atoll > South Male Atoll > Biyaadhoo Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant Room Service Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Biyaadhoo Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Biyadhoo Island Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just 30 minutes from the airport by speedboat, a tropical haven is enclosed within the turquoise folds of the Indian Ocean. Located in South Male Atoll, the island of Biyadhoo offers a fascinating glimpse of the simple, yet breath-taking beauty of Maldives. Fringed by a crystalline lagoon and powdery white sandy beaches, Biyadhoo is blessed with lush tropical vegetation and famed to have the best house reef in the Maldives. Popular among the diving and snorkeling enthusiasts, the island provides peace and tranquility to the weary soul. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Biyadhoo Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Biyadhoo Island Hotel South Male Atoll
Biyadoo Island Hotel
Hotel Biyadoo Island
Biyadoo Island Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing