We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Such a shame as this island is truly paradise”
Review of Diamonds Athuruga

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Diamonds Athuruga
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Athuruga Island
Certificate of Excellence
England
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Such a shame as this island is truly paradise”
Reviewed 18 July 2011

We booked this paradise island for our honeymoon staying from 28th June 2011 - I agree with all the reviews above that this island is a true gem and such a beautiful paradise!
However i felt the need to review this resort as i we were extremely disatisfied with the quality of food - we ate in the water resturant - which included a 3 course meal for lunch and dinner. The island states they pride themselves on the resort being italian run hence the food having an italian influence - serveral italians were staying at the resort - they either sent food back or didnt eat much of what was provided. Our food rarely came out hot, the service was rushed, course after course put in front of you - the staff couldnt wait to close up - lunch was an allocated 1 and a half hour slot. The food was very bland, pasta dish after pasta dish - very basic tomata / pesto sauce - this was not italian authentic cooking. Maldivian curry swimming in oil again not taste and the meat tough. The food was boring, the menu was repeated. The wine was of a very poor quality with a very poor selection. A fellow couple on honeymoon - the man became very ill requiring treatment from the doctor for sickness & diarrhoea, another gentleman began to feel ill and my husband and i had a very bad stomach upset & diarrhoea on the final day of our honeymoon which continued onto our next destination which ruined 2 days of our time in Dubai. The resort states pizza at 5pm - boring / tasteless / cheese and tomata & tuna toping - nothing else provided nothing like authentic italian pizza's. We also ate in the buffet resturant again the food was of poor quaility and repeated - if you like to pile lots of poor quality food on your plate and your not a foodie this is the place for you. Such a shame as so much could be done to provide high quality food & wine - i would give the food and wine a 2* after becoming ill. Breakfast very poor - fresh fruit maxium of 4 types of fruit / bread / croissants - not fresh. Not fresh veg and poor selaection of fruit & salad.
Cocktails mixed with cheap fruit juice - no fresh fruit being used - the bar staff again couldnt wait to finish 4 the night and pack up - we went to view some eagle rays in the water leaving our drinks at the bar on our return all our drinks had been thrown away and the bar closed!
All inclusive deal - 1 bottle of wine in the room for our 10 night stay!
Weather great for this time of year! 2 rain showers!
Room amazing however very very noisy air conditioning providing poor sleep quality!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank RoxyChickEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

946 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    788
    127
    21
    8
    2
See reviews for
116
716
9
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (154)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2011

We stayed at the Island from the 25/06/2011 for 9 nights. We read the reviews on the website and found them very helpful. So here is our review: We travelled via Sri Lankan Airways and going out was not that impressed, coming back we were offered the upgrade option ($85.00) which we did not take and were thankful as the plane was pretty empty so we could each take a whole aisle to lay out on. Once we arrived at Male the Air taxi wait was 2 hours (tip: have shorts and tshirt as it's very hot!). When we arrived to athuruga, we were greeted by a drink etc, straight away we were impressed, the water villa was amazing, we met a couple who stayed in the Beach Bungalows and if you like to walk out on the beach then this may be for you. As for us we had WV 17 so could walk down the steps to snorkel every morning (sheer Bliss) you did not have to walk down the jetty as they had a taxi that would run you about (any one that says they did not use this is lying, you get very lazy).

We took advantage of the daily accompanied snorkles around the house reef, which i must say was stunning (i did 10). The trip to the Fishermans Island is free and although you get hassled to buy goods, you can haggle and it is cheap, so worth it. The night fishing was a good laugh and the Night snorkel was stunning, highly recomended.

We also paid for the Dinner on the Beach which, if truth be told, was not worth the money as you sit right next to the resturant and although the food was good, it was overpriced. As we were on honeymoon I thought it would be romantic.

As to the staff, they would always try to make sure you had everything, our room boy Hassan was first class and although some people say the staff could be rude i found this not to be true as if you talked to them they were great.

Overall would go back in a heartbeat, this is truly a amazing island that has so much to offer and as it takes less than 5 minutes to walk around you can just chill the whole time.

Tip for smokers.... buy your cigarettes on the plane on your way to Male. We could have bought 200 on the plane for $19 but ended up paying $4 a pack at Athuruga so nearly twice the price.

Tip for ladies.... if you intend to do the fishermans island trip you will need clothes that cover your shoulders and knees (a requirement in order to respect to their religious beliefs).

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Fossil2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2011

My boyfriend and I stayed for 10 days in a water villa and had the most amazing holiday and would highly recommend this island to anyone. I am not the type of person who likes to go back to the same place more than once as there are so many fantastic places on this earth to visit, but would definitely go back to this island again. The food was amazing, the staff great and the house reef was out of this world. Great holiday and the Maldives is simply stunning!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Natashaa1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2011

Athuruga is stunning! We recently stayed here for our 25th wedding anniversary. We booked with Kuoni and from the start of the trip until we arrived back in the UK, the service was exemplary.

We took the seaplane from Male and the view of Athuruga was breathtaking. We were given Water Villa 15 on the reef side. If you love snorkelling, this is the perfect side as you are just steps away from the most fantastic reef. The sunset side is just as lovely but access to the reef would be from the jetty or beach.

The Water Villas are beautifully decorated and clean. Apple Macs are available in all the Water Villas so you can keep in touch with family and friends.

The Water Villa restaurant offers personal service and a la carte menu. The staff on Athuruga are all really friendly and catered for your every need. One thing I would recommend is if you are staying in the Water Villa try the buffet restaurant at the beginning of your holiday and then if you wish you can mix up where you have your breakfast or lunch - just inform the WV staff.

If you decide on Athuruga, you will have an amazing time.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank lovetoescape2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2011

We arrived in an air taxi in a down pour. The Dhoni (boat) dropped us off on the water villa side of the island before dropping the rest of the guests. There was a reception for just the WV guests. We had a welcom plate of fruit. Then were taken in a golf buggy the 30 seconds down the walkway to our villa. We stayed in the first water villa next to the restaurant. Every day twice a day the cleaner would come and tidy up and make the bed.
In the afternoon we also got a fruit and sandwich plate delievered to our room but the best bit was having our breakfast (order what you want the night before) in our very own deck. The deck was very private looking at the ocean as you can have curtains drawn on either side. Breakfast consisted of hot drinks, juices, pancakes and little pastries and fruit and cereal. The water restaurant was lovely. You get the same table every day to have breakfast (if you wanted to) and lunch and dinner. We had the table nearest to the island. Best table as all the fish and sharks are right next to you. There isnt a huge choice for lunch and dinner and some portions tend to be small (posh food lol). My husband tends to eat more than your usual person so we ended up ordering 2 starters and 3 main courses. We also went to the main restaurant on the island where the buffet was amazing. SOOO many choices. The usual salad station and diffrent themed nights. Also they had a pasta station (italian resort after all) and the best thing was an icecream sundae station...yummy. We paid $190 for a candle light diner on the beach. Now Im going to be realy picky and say that if it wasnt for the fact that it was our honeymoon it certainly wouldnt be worth it. Think they used some tea lights from the night before so they went out quite quickly. The position of the table was very near the main restaurant possibly to make it easier for the staff but it meant poeple kept passing us...and with the tea lights gone and not much attention from the staff we couldnt see what we were eating. On the plus side there was a LOT of lobster. The island is very small and informal which is great. You should deffinatly take advantage of the free guided tour of the house reef. The guide dives like a fish and points out so much that you may have seen yourself but didnt know what it was. The house reef was amazing and the best I'd seen in my short time in the Maldives. We saw some eagle Rays and a Turtle and a lobster and a few other things. We had a couples massage which was great except the open air room could over hear everything and there seemed to be some sort of machinary near by that was very loud. There is a free excursion to the fishermans island. About an hour away its more of a chance to shop. A tiny island with locals and a few touristy shops. We did the night fishing excursion but didnt catch anything although a lady with us caught a huge fish. The night snorkling was scary more than anything. I couldnt wait for it to be over. But hey it was an experiance. Our bed was huge. Spoilt my husband whose over six feet as he could lie side ways and our king size at home just dosent seem as big any more lol. The villa had a coffee machine (again italian resort lol) and the mini bar was well stocked and included and they are happy to stock any thing you might like. We used the free laundrey service which took the maximum 48hrs..they say between 24 to 48. The apple MAC in the room was great for cuddling up and watching movies in between naps (which we seemed to need after every afternoon lol) Every day we saw diffrent amazing fish and rays just between walking from our villa and the restaurant. You can get free snorkling gear from the island if you dont have your own. As honeymooners your supposed to get a bottle of bubbly and bed made up (with flowers) on arrival which we didnt get and hubby asked if this could be done for the night we had our candlelight dinner. We did come back to the bed with pink flowers but no bubbly. We werent hugly bothered as the cocktails and drinks on the island are all included and very generous! Plus we already had a bottle we had won in the movie compition that we never finished. My fave drink was sparkling wine and was great to find that it was also included. The view was breathtaking and sitting on the loungers or soffas was great looking at the water fading into the horizon. The sun didnt come on to the deck in the villa we had but I'm not a sun bather anyway. Hubby has the kinda skin that needed tshirts to be worn when swimming so wasnt an issue for him either. Oh also in case you were wondering you get beach towels and bath towels. You also get bath robes and dressing gowns. So thats an honest a review as I can give. The place was amazing and calm and we loved it. The tiny little bad points I've mentioned above are just me being picky. It is 4 star resort not 5 star after all. We realy didnt want to come back. We could have stayed foreever and we cant wait to go back one day.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank SarinaCain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rugby, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2011

This was our 5th trip to the Maldives and each time it just gets better.
Athuruga has the best house reef we have ever snorkelled on and it can be swam any time of the day. We saw turtles, eagle rays, stingrays, manta rays, sharks and more fish of all sizes and colours than you could ever imagine. No strong currents either.
We stayed in a water villa which was out of this world, we were first shown to a lagoon view villa but said we would have preferred to be on the reef side we were moved the next morning without any fuss or problem. The room was huge and furnished to a very high standard. The bed was extremely comfortable, normally after a couple of weeks away we can't wait to get back to our own bed but this one was so comfortable we could have stayed forever. The all inclusive laundry means we won't take as many clothes with us next time (and there will be a next time, there has to be). The sofas on the decking were so big and comfy that we slept on them all night quite a few times. It was almost under the stars sleeping and so cool and fresh.
The food was excellent in the over water restaurant, although we now wish we had tried the restaurant on the island. We didn't as we tend to eat too much with buffets and thought the al a carte meals would stop us over indulging. I'm sure it did but the bbq fish on the island was apparently delicious.
If there is a negative then it's the over water bar, it isn’t covered and can only be used when it's not raining. Unfortunately we did get a bit of rain so we didn't get to use the bar as often as we would have liked.
But that is really a small negative as the bar on the island is perfect, over all Athuruga is the best island we've been to and has everything we're looking for when visiting the Maldives. I'm sure we'll be back next year. I’m equally sure you won’t be disappointed.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank hakurra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2011

We stayed at Athuruga for our honeymoon for 8 nights mid to late June 2011. Having spent so much time deciding on which resort to stay at in the Maldives, we were delighted to have experienced Athuruga. Being for our honeymoon, we wanted to experience 'near Paradise' and choose a smaller quieter island that was not flooded with tourists. The island is small and about 25 minutes from Male by sea plane.

WATER HUTS
The huts are great and we stayed at water villa 9. Rooms are bright, clean, white, spacious, with mini bar, safe, air-con, walk in wardrobe, shower overlooking the sea. Bed was huge and comfortable. Balcony is huge with 2 sofas, 2 loungers, table etc - plenty of room and space to relax. iMac in room means that you have access to Internet, and also plenty of movies and music already installed. Also there is wifi so can check emails and Internet from personal device on balcony - simply fantastic! I would say one thing - we were shocked by some of the websites, that were on the history of the browsers when we arrived. Other couples who were there at the same time had similar experiences upon arrival - we have our suspicions!

One evening after a late night at the bar, I went for a shower and noticed a few cockroaches in the shower (natural in damp environments). Solution was to speak to staff, who also provided a spray which we used each night to repel the insects by spraying any openings in the shower room. Did not see any cockroaches after this.

The huts are so spacious and would recommend these over the rooms on the island. There certainly seems to be more private space in the water villas. One downside is that when it is windy especially at night, the wind and rain screens/barriers do get noisy. I imagine the beach huts do not have this problem.

If you want sun, go for water huts 1-12. If you want best access to reefs, the choose the reef side. If staying on island I would go for hut closest to the the jetties. The beach seems nicer here.

FOOD
Water villa restaurant is a la carte and generally really good. We had Ali as our waiter and was very pleasant throughout the duration.

Main beach restaurant is more buffet style and more choice than water villa restaurant. Would recommend that you eat here at least once a day, to mix it up, and not miss out on the home made ice cream which you don't get at the water villa restaurant.

You also get the infamous Italian singer on the beach restaurant. When I first heard him, I thought he was terrible. The longer I stayed, the better he got, and I don't think his sound system flatters him. To be fair he did sing some tough songs such as George Michael Kissing a Fool which he shouldn't. Every day just after lunch, expect to hear his version of 'we are the world' normally around 2.15pm just after desserts. I know some people have been disappointed by the italian singer but we thought he was very pleasant, funny and charismatic. His mannerisms made out as though he was singing to a packed stadium audience!

BEACH

Beach is quality and around 5 minutes to walk round the island. 10 if you stop by every now and then to watch the resident bird on the beach, the sharks and sting rays. Nicest part of the island is between the jetties, with superfine White powder sand. The water in is so clear and beautiful and the corals add a new dimension to the whole experience if you are snorkelling. A must do during your stay. If I go back to any beach in Maldives, I will make sure that there is a good coral reef to explore. No Coral, no reef = nothing to do.
Oh and lots of crabs on the island.

STAFF

Management and all staff very friendly. All were knowledgeable and helpful and always made sure that we were happy and welcome. Well done team!

I remember commenting on how lazy I thought a couple was after seeing them get a lift from the buggy driver on the jetty from their room to the restaurant. When we got a lift for the first time from the very friendly driver it seemed rude not to accept. These lifts soon became the norm!

In all, delighted with the resort and island. It really is Paradise and would recommend highly. Well done again and hope to return to soon.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank swll76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Athuruga Island
6.1 mi away
Constance Moofushi
Constance Moofushi
#1 of 1 in Moofushi Island
2,050 reviews
9.2 mi away
Diamonds Thudufushi
Diamonds Thudufushi
#1 of 1 in Thudufushi Island
776 reviews
9.2 mi away
Kandolhu Maldives
Kandolhu Maldives
#1 of 16 in North Ari Atoll
536 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.1 mi away
Vilamendhoo Island Resort & Spa
22.1 mi away
Vakarufalhi Island Resort
Vakarufalhi Island Resort
#1 of 1 in Vakarufalhi Island
883 reviews
18.7 mi away
Mirihi Island Resort
Mirihi Island Resort
#1 of 1 in Mirihi
931 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Diamonds Athuruga? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Diamonds Athuruga

Property: Diamonds Athuruga
Address:
Region: Maldives > Alifu Atoll > Southern Ari Atoll > Athuruga Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Athuruga Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Diamonds Athuruga 5*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Athuruga Island Resort is the twin island of its sister Thundufushi. The island comprises of a thick vegetation of coconut palms and surrounded by powdery beach which extends to one side of the island. The lagoon on this side is small and the superb house reef is within the swimming distance while on the other side the lagoon is very large, sandy and is ideal for paddling around. Athuruga Island resort is best described as an elegant and intimate holiday resort with a high standard of service which offers offer All Inclusive only. There are only 51 rooms, named as 46 Beach Bungalows and 05 garden Villas. Catamaran, laser boat, canoe, windsurfs offered free to guests who must be experienced & licensed for these activities. Snorkeling equipment are offered free against a deposit towards loss of damage. Free guided snorkeling on house reef daily. Free laundry service. Aerobic, stretching, water gym and dance lessons free of charge.1 sunset fishing and 1 fisherman island excursion per stay included free. Beach towels provided free. Free doctor's service and infirmary. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Agoda, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Diamonds Athuruga reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Diamonds Athuruga Beach & Water Villas Hotel South Ari Atoll
Diamonds Athuruga Beach And Water Villas
Athuruga Hotel South Ari Atoll

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing