We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed”
Review of Diamonds Athuruga

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Diamonds Athuruga
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Athuruga Island
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 July 2011

Spent first 10 days of honeymoon in Athuruga and it is a truly beautiful island but by the end of our trip we were utlimately left disappointed. We were in Water Villa 19 and it was as all the previous reviews descibed water villas. Very large comfortable room, bed and outside decking (which was like an an extra room) also very private. Great to get up everyone morning and eat breakfast looking out on the Indian ocean. The island beaches are beautiful and the water is pristine. Unfortunately this is as good as it gets, great for 4-5 days but not much to do for any longer than that. Most disappointing of all was the food however. The snorkling was great but unless you are happy spending all day every day snorkling there is nothing else to do, bring lots of books. As I said the food was the most disapointing part, as the resort is "Italian run" I was expecting good food and at least decent wine, we got neither. In fact we both picked up food poisoning towards end of our stay and we weren't the only ones, at least two other guests we spoke also suffered similar problems. The food was both bland and of poor quality both in the water restaurant and buffet restaurant. Wine was barely drinkable, the beer seemed to me to be watered down. We ate mainly in the Water restaurant for both lunch and dinner and felt constantly under pressure by staff to eat quickly and leave particularly at dinner eventhough it was supposed to stay open until midnight. If you are prepared to put up with sub-standard food/drink and are happy to spend an entire week snorkling this is for you. If you are a bit more discerning and would a little bit more then look eslewhere.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Lillies_on_Tour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (968)
There are newer reviews for Diamonds Athuruga
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

337 - 343 of 968 reviews

Reviewed 18 July 2011

We booked this paradise island for our honeymoon staying from 28th June 2011 - I agree with all the reviews above that this island is a true gem and such a beautiful paradise!
However i felt the need to review this resort as i we were extremely disatisfied with the quality of food - we ate in the water resturant - which included a 3 course meal for lunch and dinner. The island states they pride themselves on the resort being italian run hence the food having an italian influence - serveral italians were staying at the resort - they either sent food back or didnt eat much of what was provided. Our food rarely came out hot, the service was rushed, course after course put in front of you - the staff couldnt wait to close up - lunch was an allocated 1 and a half hour slot. The food was very bland, pasta dish after pasta dish - very basic tomata / pesto sauce - this was not italian authentic cooking. Maldivian curry swimming in oil again not taste and the meat tough. The food was boring, the menu was repeated. The wine was of a very poor quality with a very poor selection. A fellow couple on honeymoon - the man became very ill requiring treatment from the doctor for sickness & diarrhoea, another gentleman began to feel ill and my husband and i had a very bad stomach upset & diarrhoea on the final day of our honeymoon which continued onto our next destination which ruined 2 days of our time in Dubai. The resort states pizza at 5pm - boring / tasteless / cheese and tomata & tuna toping - nothing else provided nothing like authentic italian pizza's. We also ate in the buffet resturant again the food was of poor quaility and repeated - if you like to pile lots of poor quality food on your plate and your not a foodie this is the place for you. Such a shame as so much could be done to provide high quality food & wine - i would give the food and wine a 2* after becoming ill. Breakfast very poor - fresh fruit maxium of 4 types of fruit / bread / croissants - not fresh. Not fresh veg and poor selaection of fruit & salad.
Cocktails mixed with cheap fruit juice - no fresh fruit being used - the bar staff again couldnt wait to finish 4 the night and pack up - we went to view some eagle rays in the water leaving our drinks at the bar on our return all our drinks had been thrown away and the bar closed!
All inclusive deal - 1 bottle of wine in the room for our 10 night stay!
Weather great for this time of year! 2 rain showers!
Room amazing however very very noisy air conditioning providing poor sleep quality!

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank RoxyChickEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2011

We stayed at the Island from the 25/06/2011 for 9 nights. We read the reviews on the website and found them very helpful. So here is our review: We travelled via Sri Lankan Airways and going out was not that impressed, coming back we were offered the upgrade option ($85.00) which we did not take and were thankful as the plane was pretty empty so we could each take a whole aisle to lay out on. Once we arrived at Male the Air taxi wait was 2 hours (tip: have shorts and tshirt as it's very hot!). When we arrived to athuruga, we were greeted by a drink etc, straight away we were impressed, the water villa was amazing, we met a couple who stayed in the Beach Bungalows and if you like to walk out on the beach then this may be for you. As for us we had WV 17 so could walk down the steps to snorkel every morning (sheer Bliss) you did not have to walk down the jetty as they had a taxi that would run you about (any one that says they did not use this is lying, you get very lazy).

We took advantage of the daily accompanied snorkles around the house reef, which i must say was stunning (i did 10). The trip to the Fishermans Island is free and although you get hassled to buy goods, you can haggle and it is cheap, so worth it. The night fishing was a good laugh and the Night snorkel was stunning, highly recomended.

We also paid for the Dinner on the Beach which, if truth be told, was not worth the money as you sit right next to the resturant and although the food was good, it was overpriced. As we were on honeymoon I thought it would be romantic.

As to the staff, they would always try to make sure you had everything, our room boy Hassan was first class and although some people say the staff could be rude i found this not to be true as if you talked to them they were great.

Overall would go back in a heartbeat, this is truly a amazing island that has so much to offer and as it takes less than 5 minutes to walk around you can just chill the whole time.

Tip for smokers.... buy your cigarettes on the plane on your way to Male. We could have bought 200 on the plane for $19 but ended up paying $4 a pack at Athuruga so nearly twice the price.

Tip for ladies.... if you intend to do the fishermans island trip you will need clothes that cover your shoulders and knees (a requirement in order to respect to their religious beliefs).

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Fossil2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2011

My boyfriend and I stayed for 10 days in a water villa and had the most amazing holiday and would highly recommend this island to anyone. I am not the type of person who likes to go back to the same place more than once as there are so many fantastic places on this earth to visit, but would definitely go back to this island again. The food was amazing, the staff great and the house reef was out of this world. Great holiday and the Maldives is simply stunning!

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Natashaa1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2011

Athuruga is stunning! We recently stayed here for our 25th wedding anniversary. We booked with Kuoni and from the start of the trip until we arrived back in the UK, the service was exemplary.

We took the seaplane from Male and the view of Athuruga was breathtaking. We were given Water Villa 15 on the reef side. If you love snorkelling, this is the perfect side as you are just steps away from the most fantastic reef. The sunset side is just as lovely but access to the reef would be from the jetty or beach.

The Water Villas are beautifully decorated and clean. Apple Macs are available in all the Water Villas so you can keep in touch with family and friends.

The Water Villa restaurant offers personal service and a la carte menu. The staff on Athuruga are all really friendly and catered for your every need. One thing I would recommend is if you are staying in the Water Villa try the buffet restaurant at the beginning of your holiday and then if you wish you can mix up where you have your breakfast or lunch - just inform the WV staff.

If you decide on Athuruga, you will have an amazing time.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank lovetoescape2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2011

We arrived in an air taxi in a down pour. The Dhoni (boat) dropped us off on the water villa side of the island before dropping the rest of the guests. There was a reception for just the WV guests. We had a welcom plate of fruit. Then were taken in a golf buggy the 30 seconds down the walkway to our villa. We stayed in the first water villa next to the restaurant. Every day twice a day the cleaner would come and tidy up and make the bed.
In the afternoon we also got a fruit and sandwich plate delievered to our room but the best bit was having our breakfast (order what you want the night before) in our very own deck. The deck was very private looking at the ocean as you can have curtains drawn on either side. Breakfast consisted of hot drinks, juices, pancakes and little pastries and fruit and cereal. The water restaurant was lovely. You get the same table every day to have breakfast (if you wanted to) and lunch and dinner. We had the table nearest to the island. Best table as all the fish and sharks are right next to you. There isnt a huge choice for lunch and dinner and some portions tend to be small (posh food lol). My husband tends to eat more than your usual person so we ended up ordering 2 starters and 3 main courses. We also went to the main restaurant on the island where the buffet was amazing. SOOO many choices. The usual salad station and diffrent themed nights. Also they had a pasta station (italian resort after all) and the best thing was an icecream sundae station...yummy. We paid $190 for a candle light diner on the beach. Now Im going to be realy picky and say that if it wasnt for the fact that it was our honeymoon it certainly wouldnt be worth it. Think they used some tea lights from the night before so they went out quite quickly. The position of the table was very near the main restaurant possibly to make it easier for the staff but it meant poeple kept passing us...and with the tea lights gone and not much attention from the staff we couldnt see what we were eating. On the plus side there was a LOT of lobster. The island is very small and informal which is great. You should deffinatly take advantage of the free guided tour of the house reef. The guide dives like a fish and points out so much that you may have seen yourself but didnt know what it was. The house reef was amazing and the best I'd seen in my short time in the Maldives. We saw some eagle Rays and a Turtle and a lobster and a few other things. We had a couples massage which was great except the open air room could over hear everything and there seemed to be some sort of machinary near by that was very loud. There is a free excursion to the fishermans island. About an hour away its more of a chance to shop. A tiny island with locals and a few touristy shops. We did the night fishing excursion but didnt catch anything although a lady with us caught a huge fish. The night snorkling was scary more than anything. I couldnt wait for it to be over. But hey it was an experiance. Our bed was huge. Spoilt my husband whose over six feet as he could lie side ways and our king size at home just dosent seem as big any more lol. The villa had a coffee machine (again italian resort lol) and the mini bar was well stocked and included and they are happy to stock any thing you might like. We used the free laundrey service which took the maximum 48hrs..they say between 24 to 48. The apple MAC in the room was great for cuddling up and watching movies in between naps (which we seemed to need after every afternoon lol) Every day we saw diffrent amazing fish and rays just between walking from our villa and the restaurant. You can get free snorkling gear from the island if you dont have your own. As honeymooners your supposed to get a bottle of bubbly and bed made up (with flowers) on arrival which we didnt get and hubby asked if this could be done for the night we had our candlelight dinner. We did come back to the bed with pink flowers but no bubbly. We werent hugly bothered as the cocktails and drinks on the island are all included and very generous! Plus we already had a bottle we had won in the movie compition that we never finished. My fave drink was sparkling wine and was great to find that it was also included. The view was breathtaking and sitting on the loungers or soffas was great looking at the water fading into the horizon. The sun didnt come on to the deck in the villa we had but I'm not a sun bather anyway. Hubby has the kinda skin that needed tshirts to be worn when swimming so wasnt an issue for him either. Oh also in case you were wondering you get beach towels and bath towels. You also get bath robes and dressing gowns. So thats an honest a review as I can give. The place was amazing and calm and we loved it. The tiny little bad points I've mentioned above are just me being picky. It is 4 star resort not 5 star after all. We realy didnt want to come back. We could have stayed foreever and we cant wait to go back one day.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank SarinaCain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2011

This was our 5th trip to the Maldives and each time it just gets better.
Athuruga has the best house reef we have ever snorkelled on and it can be swam any time of the day. We saw turtles, eagle rays, stingrays, manta rays, sharks and more fish of all sizes and colours than you could ever imagine. No strong currents either.
We stayed in a water villa which was out of this world, we were first shown to a lagoon view villa but said we would have preferred to be on the reef side we were moved the next morning without any fuss or problem. The room was huge and furnished to a very high standard. The bed was extremely comfortable, normally after a couple of weeks away we can't wait to get back to our own bed but this one was so comfortable we could have stayed forever. The all inclusive laundry means we won't take as many clothes with us next time (and there will be a next time, there has to be). The sofas on the decking were so big and comfy that we slept on them all night quite a few times. It was almost under the stars sleeping and so cool and fresh.
The food was excellent in the over water restaurant, although we now wish we had tried the restaurant on the island. We didn't as we tend to eat too much with buffets and thought the al a carte meals would stop us over indulging. I'm sure it did but the bbq fish on the island was apparently delicious.
If there is a negative then it's the over water bar, it isn’t covered and can only be used when it's not raining. Unfortunately we did get a bit of rain so we didn't get to use the bar as often as we would have liked.
But that is really a small negative as the bar on the island is perfect, over all Athuruga is the best island we've been to and has everything we're looking for when visiting the Maldives. I'm sure we'll be back next year. I’m equally sure you won’t be disappointed.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank hakurra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Athuruga Island
6.1 mi away
Constance Moofushi
Constance Moofushi
#1 of 1 in Moofushi Island
2,105 reviews
9.2 mi away
Diamonds Thudufushi
Diamonds Thudufushi
#1 of 1 in Thudufushi Island
795 reviews
20.1 mi away
Vilamendhoo Island Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.2 mi away
Kandolhu Maldives
Kandolhu Maldives
#1 of 17 in North Ari Atoll
554 reviews
22.1 mi away
Vakarufalhi Island Resort
Vakarufalhi Island Resort
#1 of 1 in Vakarufalhi Island
908 reviews
18.7 mi away
Mirihi Island Resort
Mirihi Island Resort
#1 of 1 in Mirihi
963 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Diamonds Athuruga? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Diamonds Athuruga

Address:
Region: Maldives > Alifu Atoll > Southern Ari Atoll > Athuruga Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Athuruga Island
Price Range: £495 - £1,589 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Diamonds Athuruga 5*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Athuruga Island Resort is the twin island of its sister Thundufushi. The island comprises of a thick vegetation of coconut palms and surrounded by powdery beach which extends to one side of the island. The lagoon on this side is small and the superb house reef is within the swimming distance while on the other side the lagoon is very large, sandy and is ideal for paddling around. Athuruga Island resort is best described as an elegant and intimate holiday resort with a high standard of service which offers offer All Inclusive only. There are only 51 rooms, named as 46 Beach Bungalows and 05 garden Villas. Catamaran, laser boat, canoe, windsurfs offered free to guests who must be experienced & licensed for these activities. Snorkeling equipment are offered free against a deposit towards loss of damage. Free guided snorkeling on house reef daily. Free laundry service. Aerobic, stretching, water gym and dance lessons free of charge.1 sunset fishing and 1 fisherman island excursion per stay included free. Beach towels provided free. Free doctor's service and infirmary. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Southall Travel, Odigeo, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Diamonds Athuruga reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Diamonds Athuruga Beach And Water Villas
Diamonds Athuruga Beach & Water Villas Hotel South Ari Atoll
Athuruga Hotel South Ari Atoll

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing