We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stunning”
Review of Club Med Kani

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Club Med Kani
Certificate of Excellence
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Stunning”
Reviewed 1 November 2013

Brilliant holiday despite poor weather for 3 of the 6 days. Great value for money. Staff exceptionally accommodating. Special mention to the Pastry Chef, Sanjid, for the delicious Creme Brûlée - much appreciated and The talented Hamdoon for the daily towel creations.
Buffets provided great variety for all the picky eaters ensuring no one went hungry!
Will go back in a flash. Only negative was bed were very hard.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ShannonA530
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,741 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,668
    793
    166
    65
    49
See reviews for
920
1,984
69
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (443)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2013

Location was superb, food was amazing, hospitality was great,excursion were fantastic. Weather at this time of year was just right. The price was obversely quite expensive but it was worth it, would go again

Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2013

My wife and I celebrated our 10yr wedding anniversary at Maldives, ClubMed Kani from 12-16Oct13. It was the first time we been to Maldives as well as staying at ClubMed. We were pleasantly surprised by how they managed to exceed our sky high expectations.

To set the context right, we stayed at the Lagoon Suite (a.k.a. water villas) #162 for 5D4N. Even though it rained every single day while we were there, we still managed to try out all the water activities and thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. It helps that the rain always come in huge downpours but short duration. Within minutes, the sun is back out and we are back in the pool/ sea again!

Starting with the Lagoon Suites, they give you a wristband to differentiate your exclusivity with rest of clubmed kani visitors (as if it wasn’t exclusive enough to begin with!). A guide will bring you all the way from airport, ferry terminal, right to your room. These Lagoon suites are located at the tip of the island (5 trident way) that is an extra exclusive area within an already exclusive island only for ClubMed members. They have a large air conditioned lounge right before you enter the wooden planks that leads to these Lagoon Suites. “Jeremy” is the manager running the place. He has mastered the art of making you feel welcomed without going overboard. You will feel like royalty. Security is very good. I woke up early to catch the sunrise and the guards patrolling were very serious to check that we were indeed guests of the Lagoon suites. Look out for an interesting security guard named “Prem” who came from Napal. He speaks 6 or 7 languages fluently. I conversed with him in english, mandarin and Japanese. His conversational Japanese is JLPT 1 standard! And he is just a regular security guard! There are many other benefits of staying at a Lagoon suite. You get to see fishes, sting rays & baby reef sharks swimming directly from your room. One morning, I saw 2 manta rays right from our bed, and immediately got our snorkel gear and jumped into the lagoon. Yes, there are steps leading directly into the water which is crystal clear (see pic). Snorkelling equipment is free, wifi is free, everything in the fridge is free (& restocked twice a day), food is free, everything at the 3 different wine bars are free. Only thing you need to pay is perhaps a stack of USD dollar bills as tips for the hardworking staff keeping everything on the island neat and clean. You literally don’t need to pay for anything else, and all your needs are met by the excellent GO team. I did mention that you will feel like royalty.

During the day, you can just laze in the sun, by the swimming pool or walk around the island. 15-20 mins should cover the entire island. If you are feeling sporty, there are aqua-aerobics, sailing, snorkeling, etc. to keep you busy. Or just mingle with the large diversity of different visitors from other countries over a drink/meal. We met 2 interesting couples and have since continued to become good friends. We now plan on visiting each others countries in near future.

After the sun sets, you can have dinner at buffet place or fine dining style (Velhi Restaurant). The latter venue has limited seats, but if you are staying at Lagoon suites, you get priority bookings (just pick Lagoon Suites, you won’t regret it). Once you had your fill, and exhausted from a day of activities, the GOs are not going to let you off yet. Meet “Daniel” the main source of energy and entertainment for evening activities. He leads his team of GOs to do song & dance, comedy skits. Warning: Do NOT miss their cabaret show ! Between Daniel & their event manager “Eddie” (this guy is a gem! His energy and passion is evident in everything he does), they infect the audience to the point where everyone is singing and dancing along with them & the GOs. The party continues on every night until until 2-3am. Every single night. Now its just a matter of how much will power you have to keep your tired body going.

Final comments. If you want to go, please go soon. It would be a pity of another Tsunami-like event comes or if some of the wonderfully talented GO team eventually move on with their lives. It has been a short but unforgettable holiday. Even if I had to pay twice as much, it would have been worth it. The blend of hospitality, beautiful beaches, fun activities, warmth of GOs and friendly atmosphere makes ClubMed Kani a truly unique place. It was indeed more happiness than we could have imagined.

Room Tip: If you plan on staying at a Lagoon suite (its worth it!) and want an unobstructed view of sunrise di...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank bhchia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2013

We where there for our honeymoon and what a place, everything and more.
We stayed at the no children area.
Breakfast delivered every day and if still hungry can have more at the private bar where crepes are made freash at 3 pm every day.
Cocktails, with or without alcohol as they can be very heavy handed, not always a bad thing.
Was hard to leave

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CraigSharon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2013

We couldn't ask for more. The accommodation and food was superb; we were spoilt at the spa and restaurants. All amenities are in excellent condition and the staff are true professionals. The water sports are great and the Club team is extremely welcoming and courteous.

It was a wonderful stay. Words simply can’t describe the staff, excursions, the setting and breathtaking views. Special mentions go to Rae, for making us feel so welcome and answering the many questions we had regarding the Village and Club med. Majbor, for looking after us in the restaurant and providing first class service throughout our stay. Kawser, for always ensuring that our glasses were full while relaxing on the beach.
Sobah…what an amazing guy, head of housekeeping by day and ultimate comedian & story teller at night. Singh, a brilliant fitness instructor, entertainer and our closest friend on the island.

Kani is the ultimate island experience, offering the peaceful tranquility one would expect on the one side and just by crossing over, the socially uplifting, upbeat & entertaining party world on the other.

Overall a truly amazing experience, we will definitely go back in the future without a doubt. I highly recommend Kani to anyone and everyone as a must do!! We didn't want to leave.

Thank you Kani team for making our honeymoon so perfect and blissful.

Michael & Melissa Pentz

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michael P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oranjeville, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2013 via mobile

We were priviliged to celebrate our 10th Wedding anniversary at this beautiful resort. And what a tremendous surprise it has been! It was our firts Club Med experience and a new world has opened for us. From the beginning getting picked-up at the airport till the last friendly goodbye wave when leaving this resort- it was all money worth spend! We spend 7 nights.

The team at Club Med Kani are very well trained and organised. They are very hard working and really have a passion for working with people. We want to congratulate everyone working there for each one doing there own part to contribute to this resort running smoothly and making it an excellent choice for any dream holiday. (From the staff that cleans the beaches from early in the morning, all the GO's, the restaurant staff, house cleaning, maintenance, etc.)

Here is some advise for any future visitors:
-We never saw any mosqioutos, so don't be worried about that too much
- do not bring too much clothing or high heels. All you need is enough swimwear, coctail wear for the evening and some nice sandals for the ladies
- be prepared to eat very very much. The food was superb!
- bring your own snorkeling gear as the water is so nice and you might want to do your own snorkeling any time you wish
- make sure you have crisp and brand new dollar notes $
- this is a Muslim country. So do not try to bring any liqour. Also if you buy in Duty free you will not be allowed to bring it into the Maldives. But honestly- there is more than enough to eat AND drink 24/7. No need to bring anything!
- the Maldives is on the Equator so it is very Hot and humid. Bring light clothing, sun tan lotion and be carefull to not get sun burned!

- we had been wondering if we should stay in the water villas (more expensive) or the Club rooms. We stayed in the latter and would recommend it to anyone. The room is not as luxurious as the water villas but really it is still more than enough and good value for money. We would recommend any of the rooms 210-230 as all of them are close to the beach and all the activities but also far enough that it is still very quiet and private.

We would like to name a few people wou would stay with us and of wich we have many fond memories:

Mazhala- friendly GO from Zimbabwe. Just loved your Mojito's!
Aryanta - the friendly and hardworking waiter at the restaurant
Singh- we enjoyed your Company our new farmer friend from India!
Ajaz, Bandara, Eddie And Zakihr- the frieny staff at the Bar
Ibrahim- he serviced our room and made the most beatiful animal creatures every night on our bed with bath robes. Thanks for all the extra bottled water!!
Isah - the GO from Senegal. Boy can this guy move! He even made us want to join in on the excercise!
Then also Faya, Kyle, Salsa...!

A last special word of thanks also to the chefs at the Roasting area who prepared lovely Tuna just the way we wanted it. We just loved the Velhi Restaurant!

Our final word - To any future visiting clients to the Maldives- eventhough we are paying customers please do remember to also stay friendly, humble and appreciating of everything this beautiful country and the people working there has to offer. The Team at Club Med Kani really bend over backwards 24/7 for their clients. We thank you!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Maya1981RSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
52 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2013

My 5th club med trip - the location is amazing. We were lucky that we avoided most of the August monsoon rain. This is a very international club med with many Asian and European visitors. Great snorkeling and wonderful shows. We enjoyed sailing. The beach has many palm trees. The beach bar could be better. The food was excellent (as usual). It would be nice to have windsurfing as well. The staff were superlative (typical of Club Med)

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DinoKazi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kanifinolhu Island
7.8 mi away
Sheraton Maldives Full Moon Resort & Spa
Sheraton Maldives Full Moon Reso...
#1 of 1 in Furanafushi Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,677 reviews
10.1 mi away
Kurumba Maldives
Kurumba Maldives
#1 of 1 in Vihamanafushi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,440 reviews
13.2 mi away
Baros Maldives
Baros Maldives
#1 of 1 in Baros Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.7 mi away
Meeru Island Resort & Spa
Meeru Island Resort & Spa
#1 of 1 in Meerufenfushi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,082 reviews
9.6 mi away
Bandos Maldives
Bandos Maldives
#1 of 2 in Bandos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,956 reviews
2.1 mi away
Cinnamon Dhonveli Maldives
Cinnamon Dhonveli Maldives
#1 of 1 in Farukolhufushi Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Club Med Kani? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Club Med Kani

Property: Club Med Kani
Address: 2051
Phone Number:
Region: Maldives > Kaafu Atoll > North Male Atoll > Kanifinolhu Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kanifinolhu Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Club Med Kani 4*
Number of rooms: 75
Also Known As:
Club Med Kani Hotel North Male Atoll
Kani Club Med
Club Med North Male Atoll
North Male Atoll Club Med

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing