We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
COMO Cocoa Island
Nearby Hotels
US$199
US$187
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Biyadhoo Island Resort(Biyaadhoo Island)
US$294
US$170
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Beachfront
Raakani Villas(Guraidhoo)
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Kaafu Inn Guraidhoo(Guraidhoo)(Great Value!)
US$55
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Internet
Kaani Grand Seaview(Maafushi Town)
US$149
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$1,777
bedfinder
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Fun Island Resort(Bodufinolhu Island)
US$254
US$240
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Beachfront
Anantara Dhigu Maldives Resort(Dhigufinolhu Island)
US$1,857
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Naladhu Private Island Maldives(Naladhu Island)
US$1,680
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$245
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (1,382)
Filter reviews
1,382 results
Traveller rating
1,280
75
22
4
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,280
75
22
4
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbedroom villaour honeymoonfishmarine lifethe general manageroutdoor showersunset cruiseginger teahuge bathroomlow tideprivate jettyunderstated luxurysmall resortrobinson crusoescuba divingheaven on earthyoga classes
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,031 - 1,036 of 1,382 reviews
Reviewed 6 March 2008

Just returned from a 5 night stay at Cocoa Island. I just can't explain how wonderful our experience was. We had a loft villa. It was beautiful. At first I almost thought it was TOO big as I was expecting rooms more along the size of the ones in Bora Bora. It didn't take long to get comfortable though. There is glass on 3 sides of the villa. You almost feel like you are on a boat. The outdoor terrace is huge and very private with steps leading down to the sea. There is a lovely outdoor shower wjich we used instead of the indoor one. Great sound system in the villa too. Service was exceptional. There are only 38 rooms here so it is very intimate. You can easily go all day and see almost no one else. If you want a big glitzy resort Hilton ish kinda place, don't come here. This is a romantic, just us and the sea experience.

  • Stayed: February 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank goodtrips01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2008

It is hard to imagine a more heavenly place than Cocoa Island. The resort is everything it promises to be and then some thanks to the natural beauty of the island and the surrounding area, the concept and design of the resort and to a very large degree the wonderful people who work there. It is expensive but all in all worth every cent and I would not hesitate for a second to go back, in fact it was literally very difficult to leave even after 8 days. If you can afford a one-bedroom villa, they are truly spectacular, but even the smaller accommodations here are luxurious (though in a very simple way) and no small detail is overlooked. We split our week between a one-bedroom villa and a dhoni loft suite (seven nights in the one-bedroom villa was a bit more than we could afford) and both were wonderful. It is true that there is a bit less privacy in the smaller accommodations and smaller sun decks out back but all but the very picky (in which case you should splurge for a dhoni loft villa or one-bedroom villa) will find these accommodations absolutely lovely. I cannot say enough about the service at this place. Yes it is a relatively small resort so even at full capacity there are probably less than 150 guests there at any one time but they literally know who you are, where you are from, what you are up to every day and they look after you as if every one of them are personally responsible for your enjoyment. One evening when my partner wasn't feeling well and we decided to skip dinner, they called our room before the kitchen closed to make sure we didn't want to eat and then the next day when we went to breakfast asked how he was feeling! On top of that, since we were on half board, they applied what we had paid for the meal we skipped to the next day so we had full board for the next day rather than losing the money altogether. Similarly when my partner decided not to scuba dive halfway through their Discover Diving programme (which is wonderful btw) they only charged us half the price! None of this was requested, this is simply how they approach their business and it is refreshing and delightful. A word about kids -- in my opinion this is not a place for them. It is all about tranquility here and thankfully it seems most people do not come with kids so unless you are willing to spend all your time in your room, which would defeat the purpose, you are really spoiling the experience for others if you bring young children to the beach, pool or restaurant. Fortunately even though the island is tiny, there are enough strips of remote beach that you can escape inconsiderate people if you have to (though this is hardly the only reason to explore these areas as they are wonderful) but the place is small and the sound of a playing or crying child is difficult to avoid completely and really does clash with the experience here. What else can I say .. the snorkeling is amazing (but do heed their advice about the trigger fish as a couple of people did get bitten) and right outside your door and we did the island hopper and sunset excursions and enjoyed both (though keep in mind these are basically just something else to do and see the same things from a slightly different angle and not intense cultural experiences as that is not the point here). The dive centre is great, even for beginners, and you can literally go scuba diving just by walking into the water from the beach though they will also take you out by boat if you want to. We loved the spa too, mostly because the treatments are wonderful (and Nila the manager will make you feel like you are her only customer). The hydrotherapy pool is great and the palm trees all around it create a beautiful and relaxing environment but don't expect a full spa as it is basically just the hydrotherapy pool and treatment rooms (and a steam room in the mens and womens changing areas). This was quite enough for us, but bottom line is it is a simple spa where the focus really is on the treatments and not the wet area. Re dining, I would agree with other reviewers that it can get a bit boring eating in the same place every day three times a day (you can break it up by sitting in the bar area sometimes instead of the restaurant) and the menu is pretty similar from one day to the next. And I would also say that the food is top-notch but not necessarily the most memorable thing about the place. And it is expensive but not outrageously so considering what you get and that you are in the Maldives. I would definitely recommend doing half-board since breakfast is included which means you will have one three-course meal a day (probably dinner) and the other a la carte (two three-course meals in a day here in addition to the breakfast would be way too much for all but the heaviest of eaters). If you are a light eater, then skip even half board and just go a la carte or you will find yourself eating more than you want to just to make sure you get your money's worth! In conclusion, there is nothing that is not five-star about this place and no detail is overlooked to make your experience special and ensure your comfort and enjoyment at every turn. It is not a place for the easily bored (if that's you then just don't stay for more than 3-4 days) so a word of caution if rest and relaxation are not your thing but if that's what you're after you will not find a better place than Cocoa Island Resort. One last thing worth mentioning, my partner and I are a gay couple (and no we do not hate kids because we don't have them, we like kids as a matter of fact but just wouldn't bring them here!) and though we were probably the only gay couple there which leads me to believe this resort doesn't attract that much of a gay clientele, we could not have felt less 'different' if that makes any sense or more welcomed both by the staff and by the other guests so the fact that all are warmly welcomed here was just another lovely touch to an absolutely amazing vacation.

  • Stayed: February 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
8  Thank Scottie23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2008

Words and pictures cant truely explain how beautiful this place is. Over water rooms, rooms to die for, not over the top, just perfectly elegant simple, modern rooms with anything you need. Staff amazing, food amazing by australian chefs, beauty rooms and treatments amazing, spa room and gym amazing, water and scenery amazing, water amazing, transport amazing, fishing amazing. As we were on honeymoon, the only slight disappiontment was having a small family around the pool for two days, nothing to really complain about, you can go anyway and hardly even bump into anyone. What we would do to be back there again. Its heaven, its paradise, its amazing. PLease note this is called Cocoa Island. Not Cocoa Island Resort or anything else, just Cocoa Island, I found it flipping through an old Vogue Entertaining Travel Magazine, not through a travel brochure, however I did book through Flight Centre. This is the perfect romantic getaway, honneymoon, catch with a loved one. With perfect white sands, clear blue waters and marine life.

  • Stayed: February 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
7  Thank TrixiesReviews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2008

On arirval through customs, met promptly by cocoa island staff, and transferred in small boat to the island, which took about 45 minutes, can get quite bumpy if the sea is rough, so be warned, if get travel sick, as the boat is small.
The rooms are well designed, and very modern. Stayed in a loft villa, which are spacious, with outdoor shower, and elongated sun platform. I would recommend staying in a loft villa, if you like to sunbathe as the dhoni suites, had a tiny sun terrace, and would feel cramped to relax here. The loft villas received the sun most of the day, and were well designed to take advantage of this.
The meals were generally well prepared, though the portions were a little on the small side, for the price. Expect to pay $20 for starter around $40 for main, and $16-20 for dessert pp, so the food is quite steep, especially for fish which is caught locally, the wine was reasonable around $40 a bottle for house wine. It was sometimes cheaper to eat in the villa, where burgers, club sandwiches were cheaper

top tip- to cut down on food cost, go on sunset fishing trip, which is 3 hrs of fishing, + drinks, plus you get a fish cooked each included in the cost, which for $50 each for the fishing trip and main dish, is as cheap as a fish main course, and you get the fishing and beers thrown in for free
Do take note of the snorkelling advice, given out by the watersports members, as at least one person was bit by a trigger fish, on the reef, who was protecting her eggs, so we were told to snorkel from the platform ,rather than enter the reef from the stairs to the villa.

Service was generally good, and the hydrotherapy pool and spa was nice. The island is quiet, and people make their own entertainment after dinner, there was usually hardly any one in the bar, but the dvd selection is great, but if it rains, which it did a lot in mid-january, often the trips are cancelled, and it can get very windy on the small walkways over the water- didnt see anyone fall in though!

Overall, a lovely relaxing holiday, to just do nothing, and be spoilt.

nb- if you have a late checkout, they will automatically extend the time you can check out, if availability permits, without charge, which is very thoughtful, and you can get as much bottled water as you would like, but remember they give evian in the restaurant, as a high charge!

  • Stayed: January 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
6  Thank zouzisthelick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2008

My husband and stayed here in Jan '08. We can't speak highly enough of this resort, although it more of a getaway destination than a resort. It has just the right blend of luxury and simplicity. The island is tranquil and beautiful and because of the small number of rooms, it is easy to feel like you are the only ones there. Although there is only one restaurant, the variety is good and the quality even better - one of the best hotel breakfasts we have ever had. The spa is highly recommended, and they also have a good gym and hydrotherapy pool. Staff and warm and friendly but never instrusive. LOVE IT!

    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank JoolieWoolieSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews