We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply paradise”
Review of COMO Cocoa Island

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
COMO Cocoa Island
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Cocoa Island
Certificate of Excellence
London, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Simply paradise”
Reviewed 9 November 2012

Utterly blissful resort, must rank as one of the best in the Maldives. We stayed in a Loft Villa. beautifully appointed with steps down into the water, and a reef teaming with fish just a few yards away. Swim back and walk up the stairs to your outdoor shower to wash off the seawater.
Food was first class, really excellent. Tonight I had souffle that would have graced a Michelin restaurant in London.
Wonderfully quiet. There are 45 guests her today, but it feels like you have the island almost to yourself. It's a very small island (about 300m x 70m) but there has always been plenty of room in the restaurant (just one, but VERY good) and the sunbeds on the beach have been 80% free.
Snorkelling is fantastic, beautiful dropoff on both sides, masses of fish. My wife doesn't like sharks, but there is only one resident black tipped reefshark, only about 4ft long, which even she doesn't find intimidating! Also, the dive cabin lent me the best mask I've ever used - no misting, no leaking, and -1 dioptre prescription lenses which made everything crystal clear for my slightly shortsighted eyes.
New general manager, Laurent, met us off the boat, and was charming. And the hydrotherapy pools are fab.
Didn't get round to trying the spa, we were too busy relaxing... But we did some yoga, which was good.
Staff eager to help in any way they can, always available, but never hovering!
And best of all, there were no children!
This is not a great place for kids, as there isn't much for them to do - it's a tiny island, and there is no kids club. But that makes it even better for grown ups :-)
Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Loft Villas are spacious and luxurious. They number 800 - 810. 810 is nearest the better snorkelli...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laurent_Sola, General Manager at COMO Cocoa Island, responded to this review, 15 November 2012
Dear Brian W

Greetings from sunny Cocoa!

I hope this finds you well and enjoying the remaining of your holidays in The Maldives.
Thank you so much for taking the time to write this wonderful review on our hotel. I am ever so glad to hear you have enjoyed all the wonderful things Cocoa Island has to offer!

I am happy to hear our snorkeling equipment was to your liking. I am arranging for a new mask to be tailor made and delivered to you so that you may enjoy your next underwater adventure to its maximum!

Your comments and words of encouragement will inspire us to continue our effort for service excellence.

My team and I look forward to welcoming you back to Cocoa Island very soon!

Laurent Sola
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,295 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,201
    69
    20
    4
    1
See reviews for
192
906
25
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (284)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Winchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 6 November 2012

My husband and I have just arrived home from a week on the island (November 4th), and had the best holiday we have ever had. I arranged it as a treat for our 10th Wedding Anniversary.
The service and staff were impeccable, and the food was truly out standing. Laurent the hotel manager went out of his way to ensure we had everything we needed. Also special thanks to Steve the restaurant manager, who was also very attentive, without being intrusive.
We stayed in a Dhoni Loft Suite which was beautifully decorated and spacious. There were COMO bath salts, shower gel and shampoos etc laid out for us in the luxurious bathroom, which were gorgeous. We were also pleased to find a complimentary bottle of champagne waiting for us on arrival!
It was lovely to have a private deck with table/chairs and loungers from which we could watch the sun set, and steps which we used each day for direct access to the fabulous island coral reef just a few metres away! We saw a great variety of tropical fish, as well as reef shark and sting ray on a daily basis!
The weather was not great (6 days of 7 raining and sometimes choppy waters) but this did not spoil our experience at Cocoa. The attentive staff, fabulous food and luxurious surroundings more than made up for it.
I would also recommend the Indonesian Massage! My husband and I had this together and it was a truly amazing experience! The best massage I have ever had!
Pure white sands, turquoise waters, and the upmost of luxury....what more could you want from a romantic holiday? We will definitely be back again soon!

Room Tip: The Dhoni Loft Suite was definitely worth the extra cost.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sarah_norton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laurent_Sola, General Manager at COMO Cocoa Island, responded to this review, 7 November 2012
Dear sarah_norton

Greetings from sunny Cocoa!
I hope you had a safe journey back home. Thank you so much for the wonderful comments and praise to our team.

We have been very honored to be part of your wedding anniversary celebration and I surely hope to see you back on our magical island next year.

Your Dhoni Loft Suite will be ready alongside your favorite amenities and we will try to keep the rain away throughout your holidays!:)

My team and I look forward to welcoming you back to Cocoa Island very soon!

Laurent Sola
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beijing, China
1 review
Reviewed 5 November 2012

Our family spent perfect 5 nights at Cocoa Island Resort! Comfortable and cleaning room, friendly stuff, delicious food and fantastic ocean! We all love this island as it is so quiet.....
Dive, gym, yoga sessions daily, snorkelling and etc, all of these you can find at this nice island!
My chirdren love here so much and want to come back some day! I think we will and we expect!!!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dahuali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laurent_Sola, General Manager at COMO Cocoa Island, responded to this review, 7 November 2012
Dear dahuali

Greetings from Sunny Cocoa!

Thank you so much for taking the time to write this wonderful review on our hotel. I am ever so glad to hear you and your family have enjoyed all the wonderful things Cocoa Island has to offer!

Your comments and words of encouragement will inspire us to continue our effort for service excellence.

My team and I look forward to welcoming you back to Cocoa Island very soon!

Laurent Sola
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 November 2012

We stayed here in August for our honeymoon. From the moment we were welcomed into the speedboat at the airport for the transfer to the second we left, we felt utterly indulged. We are usually 'busy' travellers and were a little worried that a fortnight staying in a place that took ten minutes to walk around may leave us climbing the walls. The truth is we could have stayed for another two weeks had we the pockets to afford it!

The dhoni loft suite was a haven from the sudden appearing storms and a relief from the heat of the day respectively. They are spacious and beautifully simple yet elegant. With a DVD library and as much sateliite TV as you need(if you ever want to switch it on)...a night in with the Indian ocean lapping at your back step has never been as indulgent. The staff always went the extra mile, installing a new TV cable (requiring a dip in the sea) when our reception was poor and delivering room service on a night of torrential rain with a smile. Snorkelling and sunsets from the back step were magical. We saw an octopus snorkelling within a few metres of our suite and seeing dolphins on the horizon wasn't uncommon.

A fortnight eating in the same restaurant could become repetitive or overwhelming but the Ufaa restaurant was fantastic. The a la carte menu varies throughout the week and the chef takes requests, not that we ever used that. Breakfast was delicious. The staff at the restaurant have hospitality down to a tee, rarely feeling forced or overdone. We loved chatting with the team and it made us feel all the more welcome. Sunset cocktail hour is not to be missed and there were some spectacular scenes to be enjoyed.

The dive school was a highlight. Taka and his team were nothing short of excellent. We did our advanced diver course there and loved every minute.

The spa was beautiful. The gym is small but the equipment was good and we were normally the only ones in there when the guilt of all the great food dragged us there.

The negatives?They really are so small and mostly not related to the resort. In general, you realise the impact of tourism on this haven when you take a sunrise walk and pick up plastic washing up on the beach. The staff collect it everyday before most people are up and the resort has an emphasis on being eco friendly and looking after the 'house reef' but it gives a big pause for thought on the impact of less careful proprietors. Given we were in a strict muslim country it is no wonder that the alcohol was expensive but the affordability of wine with dinner was our only gripe.

If you need time out from the world this is the place to come. It is a stunning place. Thank you Cocoa for an unforgettable honeymoon.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LondonRosieH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laurent_Sola, General Manager at COMO Cocoa Island, responded to this review, 5 November 2012
Dear LondonRosieH

Thank you for taking the time to share those wonderful comments on your recent stay with us. I am surely glad to hear your holiday was memorable and that each and every one of our team members meet your service expectations.

I am also pleased you have enjoyed our various food and beverage offers as well as our diving center team expertise.

Your comments and words of encouragement will inspire us to continue our effort for service excellence. Thank you again for your patronage.

My team and I look forward to welcoming you back to Cocoa Island very soon!

Laurent Sola
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
133 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2012

What a fantastic, idyllic piece of paradise. A lovely small coral reef island in the Maldives with rooms all on the ocean. Perfect white sand, and turquoise ocean with tropical shrubbery and trees. All you'd expect from a top class resort (dive facilities, gym, yoga sessions daily, snorkelling etc.) but not as ostentatious as some others in the Maldives. Fabulous staff and great food. Dring our stay there was a seafood BBQ night (we couldn't finish it all), an INdian Thali night (delicious) and a Thai evening (wonderful) which then meant we only had to cope with the stress of choosing a la carte for three nights. The Como villas are substantially larger and are at each end of the resort (which either means a longer walk to get anywhere, but still its only 5 ins max; or slightly motte secluded). Fab to walk over the reef and see the (safe) sharks and rays.

Room Tip: Sleep quality is a function of time of year. We caught the end of the rains in October - and it can...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laurent_Sola, General Manager at COMO Cocoa Island, responded to this review, 1 November 2012
Dear Ian S

Thank you for taking the time to share those wonderful comments on your recent stay with us. I am surely glad to hear your holiday was memorable and that you have enjoyed our many restaurant themed nights.

Your comments and words of encouragement will inspire us to continue our effort for service excellence. Thank you again for your patronage.

My team and I look forward to welcoming you back to Cocoa Island very soon!

Laurent Sola
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2012

The hotel is relatively close to the international airport (40 min boat ride), and yet far enough to feel secluded. The water is amazing. Food is phenomenal. New management has stellar track record of managing COMO property in Bangkok, so the resort is in good hands. If you travel for more than 2-3 days be aware: the island is tiny.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NY008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laurent_Sola, General Manager at COMO Cocoa Island, responded to this review, 27 October 2012
Dear NY008

I hope you had a safe journey back home. Thank you so much for taking the time in writing your kind comments on your recent holidays to Cocoa.

I am surely glad to hear you have enjoyed everything our island has to offer and hope you will be visiting us again very soon.

Warm regards

Laurent Sola
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mexico City, Mexico
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2012

We spent 5 nights at Cocoa for our Honeymoon, and it was amazing from the begining. We were absolutely delighted with the welcome from the boat staff. Our room was awesome and we had a champagne bottle waiting. All the staff is very friendly and helpful, each and everyone of them made our stay very special. This was my first visit to Maldives and Im sure it is the best place to stay.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Manuel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laurent_Sola, General Manager at COMO Cocoa Island, responded to this review, 25 October 2012
Dear Manuel H

Warm regards from Cocoa Island!

I hope you had a safe journey back home. I would like to thank you for your wonderful comments and surely hope you will be back soon on our side of the globe!

We are indeed very privileged to have been part of this wonderful occasion and will be ready to celebrate your many wedding anniversaries to come!

My team and I look forward to welcoming you back to Cocoa Island very soon!

Laurent Sola
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cocoa Island
23.6 mi away
Sheraton Maldives Full Moon Resort & Spa
Sheraton Maldives Full Moon Reso...
#1 of 1 in Furanafushi Island
1,738 reviews
4.5 mi away
Naladhu Private Island Maldives
Naladhu Private Island Maldives
#1 of 1 in Naladhu Island
452 reviews
13.2 mi away
Taj Exotica Resort & Spa
Taj Exotica Resort & Spa
#1 of 1 in Emboodhu Finolhu
1,290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.6 mi away
Kurumba Maldives
Kurumba Maldives
#1 of 1 in Vihamanafushi
3,571 reviews
4.2 mi away
Anantara Veli Maldives Resort
14.2 mi away
Velassaru Maldives
Velassaru Maldives
#1 of 1 in Velassaru Island
1,643 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to COMO Cocoa Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about COMO Cocoa Island

Property: COMO Cocoa Island
Address: Makunufushi
Phone Number:
Region: Maldives > Kaafu Atoll > South Male Atoll > Cocoa Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Cocoa Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — COMO Cocoa Island 5*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
COMO Cocoa Island is a private island in the Maldives and offers measured simplicity in its design. Wrapped in white sandy beaches and clear turquoise waters, Cocoa Island is in close proximity to some of the best dive sites in the world. The tranquil setting is enhanced by the understated elegance of Cocoa Island’s 33 rooms, which resemble local dhoni fishing boats and feature direct access to the shallow lagoon. Ufaa, the resort’s restaurant, serves fresh local produce and seafood cooked in the Keralan style, while Faru bar overlooks the pristine infinity-edge pool. COMO Cocoa Island’s spa, COMO Shambhala Retreat, offers rebalancing treatments, including Ayurveda, reflexology and a range of recuperative massages and facials. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Destinology, Southall Travel, Agoda, Booking.com, Prestigia, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Ebookers so you can book your COMO Cocoa Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cocoa Island Hotel South Male Atoll
Cocoa Island Maldives
Hotel Cocoa Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing