We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cocoa Confessions”
Review of COMO Cocoa Island

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
COMO Cocoa Island
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Cocoa Island
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 January 2013

Having previously been to Maldives, we never thought the experience can get any better until Cocoa Island!
It had been my dream to bring my 14 month old daughter to the Maldivian beaches as it stretches so far out into the horizon yet water level is still so low! We stayed at the Dhoni loft suite, perfect for families with children! Lots of spaces to run around, complete with a walk-in wardrobe in the washroom and bath tub for soaking with the kid after a day out on the beaches!
For families with infants or young children, you don't need to fret about food because at Cocoa Island, they provide complimentary infant meals! Ranging from healthy brown rice and veg puree to mashed banana, the little ones are well taken care of. For the adults, scrumptious COMO Shambalah menu is a must-try! My husband whisked us there also to celebrate our 3rd wedding anniversary and my birthday and I have to say this is the best celebration ever! Chris, the F&B manager, together with the staff planned for me a yummy choc birthday cake and for us an anniversary cake, as a surprise! Service standard was very high.
I also highly recommend the COMO Shambalah massage as it is very different from the usual Thai or Bali massage. It is very delicately executed, yet the strength in massaging seemed to fuse different massage techniques, evolving into its very special massage style.
Needless to say, the view was breathtaking and Cocoa Island possess its very own 'coastal runway' where you can walk so far out into the sea and wait for sunrise - the most beautiful sight of our lives. We even brought our own bubbles to blow by the beaches, and the sea breeze decided to lend its wind power! It was most magical when the bubbles flew with the breeze into the horizon where the sun was setting in the crimson sky.
Thank you to the dedicated staff of COMO who made this an unforgettable experience and creating this unique moment in our lives.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ripple S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laurent_Sola, General Manager at COMO Cocoa Island, responded to this reviewResponded 8 February 2013

Dear Ripz2601

Thank you for taking the time to share those wonderful comments on your recent stay with us. I am surely glad to hear your holiday was memorable and that each and every one of our team members meet your service expectations.

Your comments and words of encouragement will inspire us to continue our effort for service excellence.

My team and I look forward to welcoming you back to Cocoa Island very soon!

Laurent Sola
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,327)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

612 - 618 of 1,327 reviews

Reviewed 29 January 2013

Just thinking about Cocoa Island and the marvelous week we had there could brings tears in my eyes ! This is the most beautiful, pure, serene and peaceful place I have ever been in my life.

I’m not going into the details about the meet & greet at airport and the speedboat transfer : it was, as expected, fine and efficient.

1) First of all, let me tell you about the setting, because that’s why we’ve all traveled so far : if you expect something outstanding, don’t worry, you will have it. The lagoon is huge, and waters all around Cocoa are the most clear/turquoise/beautiful I have ever seen. And yes, I have been to Bora Bora before. Everywhere you look at, you see turquoise water. To be accurate, it is not just turquoise, and that’s why Cocoa is so special : depending on where you are on the island and the time of the day/tide, you will find dark blue/light turquoise/dark turquoise/white/mint green water. So many shades ! It’s amazing and you can’t get bored of it. Unless you are blasé. There is also an amazing sandbar (again with all shades of blue), make note of low tide and go ! Speaking about the sand, it is so white and soft, it feels like flour… I have seen many beautiful beaches before (French Polynesia, islands of Thailand, Malaysia,Philippines…) and had very high expectations : they were surpassed, by far. Just one note : the beach on the boat jetty side is not that great (but one can guess this side’s not meant for the guests), sometimes a little dirty even, because of all the boats coming in and out. It’s a great snorkeling spot though !
2) Suite : we had a Dhoni Loft Suite (2nd category) which was AWESOME. Very large and bright. Sophisticated furniture. The bedroom is upstairs which adds something special. It’s like you have a small house, we loved it. There is a toilet and sink upstairs which is very practical if you want to go at night. The living room downstairs is large and clear and beautifully appointed. The sofas are freaking comfortable and perfect to rest on when it’s too hot outside during the day or to watch TV at night. TV, iPod dock and DVD player worked perfect. The bathroom is simply huge. You have many towels and bathrobes provided. The only slight reproach I could make is about the shower, I think it’s a little bit old with quite low pressure. In each Suite you also have fans (I liked it at night, when AC was too cold). The umbrellas at disposal were very practical when going to the restaurant under the rain.

I was expecting a quite small terrace but it was larger than expected and widely big enough for us. The sunbeds were comfortable and the towels changed every morning. I would have liked to move the big umbrella (to get some shade) but it was too heavy !

Of course, everything was very clean, at all times.

3) Food : food is extremely good, healthy, and - quite rare in such places, of good proportion (fortunately, given the price !) I loved the breakfast, especially the mango muesli. Portions were huge and I could never finish what I had ordered ! For lunch and dinner, food is very asian-inspired. All is beautiful and refined in the plate. If you don’t like spicy food (yes, it is mostly spicy), just precise it to your waiter and he will tell the Chef. Chris (Food & Beverage Manager) visited the restaurant and almost all tables at each meal. This is enjoyable and again, a sign for a true luxurious hotel.

4) Activities :
We dived 3 times, including 1 ‘house reef cleaning’ free dive (a good thing we didn’t find too much to clean). Dive boat is big and clean. Staff is very professional and helpful. To give you an idea, they even help you unzipping your wetsuit and putting your fins on : I had never seen service at this level !

Of course we snorkeled everyday and everywhere. At first, I gotta admit I was a little disappointed because I was expecting to see more ‘big’ such as sharks, rays and turtles. On the other hand, I had never seen such a profusion : beautiful colored fishes were everywhere ! Parrots, trigger, puffer, angel, surgeon… and quite a few hidden moray eels ! I was so happy to see them ! Generally speaking, best snorkeling spots are everywhere you have coral and jetties. Everyday, we also saw small sharks and rays wandering the shallow waters of the lagoon.

The outside swimming pool looks fantastic. Oh it’s very simple, that’s why I love it. Cocoa doesn’t need much, simple things look fantastic there. It’s not very big, perfect size, and you'll never find more than 2 persons in the water at the same time. The double beach-beds around the pool are incredible !

The hydrotherapy pool was fun, the water was very warm which was nice on cloudier days (which was very rare).

We booked the sunset fishing trip: there was a beautiful lounge section on the top of the boat, very nice to watch the sunset and relax. We were only 4 guests on the boat. The staff is nice and fun, and soft drinks (and I think beers) were provided. It was my first time fishing in the sea and I gotta admit I didn’t find it so easy, I caught only 1 small fish, my husband caught 2. We had them for lunch the next day ! It was fun, though a little bit long.

5) Other :
We went in December, and the weather was perfect (only a few showers at nights).
We stayed 7 nights, and think it's a perfect holiday duration for the Maldives.
There were some children (very young and babies) while we were there, it was not a problem at all.
The islands you can see on the horizon (yes, you can indeed see 3 or 4 islands around) were not a problem at all for us. And contrary to what I've read in another review, there are no yachts/boats passing all day long under your nose, it's very calm.
The staff was very warm and attentive, service was faultless.

To conclude, I would say Cocoa Island masterfully combines true luxury and this ‘robinson chic’ feeling we’re looking for. I can't even describe how sad we were to leave on our last day. I don't know if it's because it was our honeymoon but it was the first time we fell that much in love with a holiday place. An exceptional place where time stops, of indescribable beauty, imbued with a serenity that makes you forget everything...

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Sandra-Bruno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laurent_Sola, General Manager at COMO Cocoa Island, responded to this reviewResponded 2 February 2013

Dear Sandra-Bruno

Thank you for taking the time to share those wonderful comments on your recent stay with us. I am surely glad to hear your holiday was memorable and that each and every one of our team members meet your service expectations.

Your comments and words of encouragement will inspire us to continue our effort for service excellence.

My team and I look forward to welcoming you back to Cocoa Island very soon!

Laurent Sola
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2013

The best run hotel I have ever stayed in, and the location is superb. Friendly staff, ridiculously good food, first rate spa and hydro pool, and wonderful natural surroundings.
Choose an inclusive meal plan and you won't regret it.

Room Tip: The one bedroom villas are more expensive but they are larger and more secluded.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Iain W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laurent_Sola, General Manager at COMO Cocoa Island, responded to this reviewResponded 6 February 2013

Dear iain1948

Thank you for taking the time to share those wonderful comments on your recent stay with us. I am surely glad to hear your holiday was memorable and that each and every one of our team members meet your service expectations.

My team and I look forward to welcoming you back to Cocoa Island very soon!

Laurent Sola
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2013

We came here for honeymoon trip, it was best hotel all. island so beautiful very clear beach room was very wonderful . the staff is really good, always smile. we had a great time.we come with friends back to hotel and maldives next year. thank you

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Gespr84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laurent_Sola, General Manager at COMO Cocoa Island, responded to this reviewResponded 26 January 2013

Dear Gespr84

Greetings from sunny Cocoa! I hope this finds you well and that you had a safe and relaxing trip back home.

I am very glad to hear you have enjoyed your holidays on our beautiful island and surely hope we will have the chance to welcoming you back here sometime soon.
All your comments and words of encouragement will inspire us to continue our effort for service excellence.

My team and I look forward to welcoming you back to Cocoa Island by Como very soon!

Laurent Sola
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2013

My Mother and I visited Cocoa Island in October 2012 as one component of a trip around the world and we loved it. The snorkeling, service, and cooking were unparalleled and we have already planned a trip to return in July 2013. We recommend Cocoa Island unequivocally.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Calif0rnia007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laurent_Sola, General Manager at COMO Cocoa Island, responded to this reviewResponded 24 January 2013

Dear Calif0rnia007

Greetings from sunny Cocoa!
Thanks a million for your wonderful review. I am ever so pleased to read all your very positive comments.

I truly look forward to welcoming you back on our beautiful island this year!

Warm regards

Laurent Sola
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2013

We stayed in Cocoa for the third time and, as always, it was a wonderful experience!
the island is fantastic, with a clear and warm sea and the best lagoon in Maldives.
The room also is very nice and the staff professional and helpful

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank vale68Milan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laurent_Sola, General Manager at COMO Cocoa Island, responded to this reviewResponded 16 January 2013

Dear vale68Milan

Thank you for taking the time to share those wonderful comments on your recent stay with us.

Your comments and words of encouragement will inspire us to continue our effort for service excellence.

My team and I look forward to welcoming you back to Cocoa Island very soon!

Laurent Sola
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2013

We had a wonderful 10 days on Cocoa Island just before Christmas. Having stayed at Baros and having pored over Trip Adviser and the island's website in advance, we went with very high expectations - Cocoa Island didn't just meet those expectations but exceeded them. The staff are all excellent and go out of their way to help you make the most of your stay. We'd particularly like to thank Ahmed who arranged some medication for my husband who'd unfortunately left one of his regular tablets at home; a supply of tablets was sourced in less than 24 hours and for free. We also appreciated the way that Laurent, the manager, made a point of introducing himself on our first night, checking that we were okay throughout our stay, and also chatting to us on our last night. In addition to everything that other reviwers have noted, what really stood out for us was the food. From the dosas at breakfast, to the sushi and satay at lunch, through to the varied evening meals every aspect of the food was superb. We'd very much recomment the Thali and Thai nights - food at the latter is equivalent to the the Michelin-starred Nahm restaurant in London (also part of the Como group). We had a wonderful time and look forward to returning.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank ALWM20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laurent_Sola, General Manager at COMO Cocoa Island, responded to this reviewResponded 10 January 2013

Dear ALWM20

Greetings and Happy New Year from sunny Cocoa!
Thank you so much for your wonderful comments. Your praise and recognitions goes a long way and our team is thrilled to hear such postive feedbacks.
I am ever so glad you have enjoyed everything our beautiful island has to offer and particularly Tim’s cooking!
I surely hope I will have the chance to welcoming you back on Cocoa this year and remain at your disposal anytime until then.

Warm regards

Laurent Sola
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cocoa Island
23.5 mi away
Sheraton Maldives Full Moon Resort & Spa
Sheraton Maldives Full Moon Reso...
#1 of 1 in Furanafushi Island
1,794 reviews
4.5 mi away
Naladhu Private Island Maldives
Naladhu Private Island Maldives
#1 of 1 in Naladhu Island
475 reviews
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Kandooma Maldives
Holiday Inn Resort Kandooma Mald...
#1 of 1 in Kandoomaafushi Island
1,513 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.2 mi away
Taj Exotica Resort & Spa
Taj Exotica Resort & Spa
#1 of 1 in Emboodhu Finolhu
1,325 reviews
4.2 mi away
Anantara Veli Maldives Resort
21.6 mi away
Kurumba Maldives
Kurumba Maldives
#1 of 1 in Vihamanafushi
3,701 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to COMO Cocoa Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about COMO Cocoa Island

Address: Makunufushi
Region: Maldives > Kaafu Atoll > South Male Atoll > Cocoa Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Cocoa Island
Price Range: £633 - £1,686 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — COMO Cocoa Island 5*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
COMO Cocoa Island is a private island in the Maldives and offers measured simplicity in its design. Wrapped in white sandy beaches and clear turquoise waters, Cocoa Island is in close proximity to some of the best dive sites in the world. The tranquil setting is enhanced by the understated elegance of Cocoa Island’s 33 rooms, which resemble local dhoni fishing boats and feature direct access to the shallow lagoon. Ufaa, the resort’s restaurant, serves fresh local produce and seafood cooked in the Keralan style, while Faru bar overlooks the pristine infinity-edge pool. COMO Cocoa Island’s spa, COMO Shambhala Retreat, offers rebalancing treatments, including Ayurveda, reflexology and a range of recuperative massages and facials. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Agoda, Booking.com, Southall Travel, Prestigia, Hotels.com, Expedia, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Ebookers so you can book your COMO Cocoa Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cocoa Island Hotel South Male Atoll
Cocoa Island Maldives
Hotel Cocoa Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing