We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A magical honeymoon experience!”
Review of COMO Cocoa Island

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
COMO Cocoa Island
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Cocoa Island
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A magical honeymoon experience!”
Reviewed 27 April 2014

We booked our 2 week honeymoon at Cocoa Island based on Trip Advisor reviews, and we were not disappointed! All our expectations were met, and then exceeded.

Travelling to Cocoa in March 2014, we experienced 32 degree Celsius weather each and every day, amazing food and exemplary service.

We stayed in one of the beautiful Loft Villas, complete with a private sundeck that leads straight into the most glorious crystal clear water you have ever seen. The architectural design of the entire place is incredible - every little detail has been thought out for privacy and optimal views. Our butler Razeen provided us with the best service experience of our lives, and could not have been more helpful.

The management and staff are extraordinarily friendly, and have plenty of tips for how to make the best of your time on the island. Special mentions to staff Gustini and Vijay who always offered their assistance in the restaurant and around the island. The snorkelling and diving on the many surrounding reefs is out of this world! We were even able to organise a day trip to the capital, Male.

The food at the Ufaa restaurant is of the highest standard, and there are plenty of themed food nights (and days) to excite the most ardent of foodies. I highly recommend seafood BBQ night, followed up by delicious cocktails at the neighbouring bar - where you can enjoy playing classic wooden versions of Scrabble, Monopoly and Chess.

Cocoa Island is above all relaxing - this is not the place (for more than a few days, anyway) for fast paced adrenalin junkies! It was the perfect place to recover from our recent wedding and get in a few amazing massages.

Our stay was the best holiday of our lives. The entire island and its surrounds look like a computer screensaver - in the end we stopped taking lots of pictures, because absolutely everywhere and everything is a photo opportunity! Blacktip reef sharks and stingrays (all harmless) glide on by your cabin constantly, and you can wade out hundreds of metres at low tide to the many sand banks. The stars at night also put on a spectacular, breathtaking show.

Many times you feel as though you must be the only two people on the island - the design and scope is that brilliant.

I cannot recommend a trip to Cocoa Island enough. This is the Maldives, or indeed any tropical location at its very best!

Samantha and David

Room Tip: There are no inferior rooms - size is the only difference. If you are staying for an extended period...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Samantha C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laurent_Sola, General Manager at COMO Cocoa Island, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Dear Samantha and David
Greetings from Sunny Cocoa!

Thank you so much for taking the time to write this wonderful review on our beautiful island. I am ever so glad to hear you have enjoyed all the wonderful things Cocoa Island has to offer!
Your comments and words of encouragement will inspire us to continue our effort for service excellence.
My team and I look forward to welcoming you back to Cocoa Island by COMO very soon!

Laurent Sola
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,265 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,173
    67
    20
    4
    1
See reviews for
188
888
24
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (277)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014

I signed up for TripAdvisor just to write a review of Cocoa Island! My boyfriend and I stayed there for 5 days over the holidays and had an amazing time. I can't say enough about how fantastic this place was, definitely the best resort we have ever been to. The island looks like something out of a postcard.. it looks even better than the photos! Crystal clear water, white sand beaches, and the resort buildings blend in seamlessly with the environment. The service was impeccable. All the staff, from Laurent, Chris, Muru, and many others were so friendly, helpful, and a pleasure to spend time with. Food was delicious too. We ordered room service each morning, which arrived exactly to the minute of when we requested it. One morning, and entire school of dolphins swam past our room as we were eating! You could just hop of the deck in your room and snorkel anytime on the beautiful house reef which was great.. we probably saw 40+ different kinds of fish during our stay. They have a full dive center when you can borrow the gear and other things like stand-up paddle-boards and such. We spend most of our days splitting time between the beach and the pool. The island is pretty small, so easy to walk around. There are only 30 villas or so and we were there during peak season when it was sold out, but it didn't seem crowded at all... would see a few people walking around here or there, but for the most part it felt like you had the whole place to yourself. The only thing that could have been a tad better was the service on the further beach areas (not near the pool). There were towels always available, but would have been nice to have someone come by more regularly and ask if we wanted water, drinks, or food in that area. Highly recommend Cocoa and we'll definitely be back!!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sami055
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laurent_Sola, General Manager at COMO Cocoa Island, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Dear sami055
Bonjour from Cocoa!

Thank you so much for registering into Tripadvisor just for us!
Your wonderful comments are definitely appreciated and I am sure our whole team will be so pleased reading them.
I am ever so glad you have enjoyed your holidays and that we were part of your meaningful experience.
I surely look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back on our beautiful island very soon!

A très bientôt
Laurent
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2014

I can honestly say that our recent stay at the Cocoa Island resort has by far been our best holiday ever!

We were only there for 5 days and this is our only regret, that we weren't staying there longer. From the amazingly friendly staff, to the wonderful fresh food, the BBQ night with lobster was just amazing. This place is paradise.

We stayed in a Dhoni Suite which was just perfect, amazing room and felt like we were on our own private boat at sea (without the feeling of sea legs!) and being able to have our own private deck to sun bathe on and watch the world go by was just trully relaxing. To top this off being abe to step of the deck straight into the most turquoise green sea was just magical and being able to snorkle out to the reef to see the most amazing fish, was just unbeliveable. We loved every minute. We also loved the fact that there was a lovely pool that you could relax around should you wish with day beds on the island itself as well. We loved sitting in the bar playing games as well......scrabble, monopoly, dominios, it felt a world away from our normal lives and felt like we were on a magical desert island. The beauty is that as there is only 33 villas on the island, it felt very secluded and not busy or overcrowded, and the fact that it is a short boat ride from Male, makes it incredibly easy to get too, especially for a short break like ours.

We just loved our stay and were trully sad to be leaving this paradise island but already looking forward to being able to return one day to paradise, soon.

Cocoa Island, you are the Island of our dreams.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emma B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laurent_Sola, General Manager at COMO Cocoa Island, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
Dear Emma B
I hope this finds you well.
Thank you so much for the wonderful praise and for the wonderful review you have just posted.
I am ever so pleased you have enjoyed the great level of privacy Cocoa offers to all our guests and the beautiful surroundings of the island.
Our location and house reefs are truly unique and I am pleased you have appreciated all our very special offerings.
I truly hope to welcoming you back to your island very soon!
Warm regards
Laurent
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 April 2014

The five days we spent at this resort were easily the best and most memorable we have spent anywhere. The island is small, but just the right size for it to feel private and exclusive. The staff were very friendly and attentive, and made us feel at home. The suite was comfortable and clean. The food was exquisite, the ingredients were fresh and cooked to perfection. The massages we had there were some of the most relaxing that we have experienced. We would definitely recommend this resort to anyone looking for the perfect place to stay in Maldives.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank T K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laurent_Sola, General Manager at COMO Cocoa Island, responded to this review, 19 April 2014
Dear T K
“Merci 1000 fois” for the wonderful comments!!

I cannot start to thank you enough for the wonderful review you have just written.

I am very glad to hear you have enjoyed your holidays on our beautiful island and surely hope we will have the chance to welcoming you back here sometime soon.
All your comments and words of encouragement will inspire us to continue our effort for service excellence.

My team and I look forward to welcoming you back to Cocoa Island by Como this year!

Encore Merci!

Laurent Sola
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
67 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2014

We stayed at cocoa island for 5 nights, and frankly, i just couldnt have enough of it. From the service of their staff, to the peace and calm on the island, it was absolutely everything we asked for. The staff especially, made me feel like we were not their customers, but more like their guests at their own homes. The beauty of the resort is also that it doesnt have a lot of rooms so, most of the time, it felt that we owned the island and would wander around anywhere we liked. The views from the room, spectacular, the sand bank walks, stunning, the specialized menus for us, since we were mainly having vegetarian food, fantastic, the list could go on and on. I would definitely DEFINITELY recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a honeymoon or a tranquil holiday, not at all surprised it is in the top hotels in maldives.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PLB15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laurent_Sola, General Manager at COMO Cocoa Island, responded to this review, 15 April 2014
Dear PLB15
Greetings from sunny Cocoa! I hope this finds you well and that you had a safe and relaxing trip back home.

I cannot start to thank you enough for the wonderful review you have just written.

I am very glad to hear you have enjoyed your holidays on our beautiful island and surely hope we will have the chance to welcoming you back here sometime soon.

Warm regards

Laurent Sola
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
92 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2014

With my family we have been one week in Como resort. We rent a Villa and everything has been fantastic. The quality of the food and service is amazing and everything is just perfect, not too much , just perfect. The location of course is Maldives so nothing to add about the paradise location that everyone know well. Off course is a little expensive but every $ spent there is well invested. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Zorz65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laurent_Sola, General Manager at COMO Cocoa Island, responded to this review, 10 April 2014
Dear Zorz65
Greetings from sunny Cocoa! I hope this finds you well and thank you for taking the time to write your comments on your recent stay with us!

I am very glad to hear you have enjoyed your holidays on our beautiful island and surely hope we will have the chance to welcoming you back here sometime soon.

Warm regards
Laurent
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2014

The place was truly Amazing . The Dhoni Suites are remarkable and gives the feeling more of an being home type. The view from the room towards the sea is Breathtaking. The Cocoa Staff – I would say is the main note as they make you feel home from the time you check in. - Lovely place & Lovely people & Awesome Food.

Room Tip: Try to get the sunset Dhoni Suites and also check out the SPA. Amazing …!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AU-1478
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laurent_Sola, General Manager at COMO Cocoa Island, responded to this review, 8 April 2014
Dear AU-1478
“Merci 1000 fois” for the wonderful comments!!

I am very glad to hear you have enjoyed your holidays on our beautiful island and surely hope we will have the chance to welcoming you back here sometime soon.
All your comments and words of encouragement will inspire us to continue our effort for service excellence.

Encore Merci!
Laurent
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cocoa Island
4.5 mi away
Naladhu Resort Maldives
Naladhu Resort Maldives
#1 of 1 in Naladhu Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 443 reviews
23.6 mi away
Sheraton Maldives Full Moon Resort & Spa
Sheraton Maldives Full Moon Reso...
#1 of 1 in Furanafushi Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,673 reviews
13.2 mi away
Taj Exotica Resort & Spa
Taj Exotica Resort & Spa
#1 of 1 in Emboodhu Finolhu
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.6 mi away
Kurumba Maldives
Kurumba Maldives
#1 of 1 in Vihamanafushi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,438 reviews
4.2 mi away
Anantara Veli Maldives Resort
4.4 mi away
Anantara Dhigu Maldives Resort
Anantara Dhigu Maldives Resort
#1 of 1 in Dhigufinolhu Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,687 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to COMO Cocoa Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about COMO Cocoa Island

Property: COMO Cocoa Island
Address: Makunufushi
Region: Maldives > Kaafu Atoll > South Male Atoll > Cocoa Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Cocoa Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — COMO Cocoa Island 5*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cocoa Island by COMO is a private island in the Maldives and offers measured simplicity in its design. Wrapped in white sandy beaches and clear turquoise waters, Cocoa Island is in close proximity to some of the best dive sites in the world. The tranquil setting is enhanced by the understated elegance of Cocoa Island’s 27 rooms, which resemble local dhoni fishing boats and feature direct access to the shallow lagoon. Ufaa, the resort’s restaurant, serves fresh local produce and seafood cooked in the Keralan style, while Faru bar overlooks the pristine infinity-edge pool. Cocoa Island’s spa, COMO Shambhala Retreat, offers rebalancing treatments, including Ayurveda, reflexology and a range of recuperative massages and facials. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, Holiday Gems, Agoda, Southall Travel, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your COMO Cocoa Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cocoa Island Hotel South Male Atoll
Cocoa Island Maldives
Hotel Cocoa Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing