We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Exquisite!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of COMO Cocoa Island, The Maldives

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
COMO Cocoa Island, The Maldives
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Cocoa Island
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Exquisite!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2014

My daughters (14 & 21) and I arrived on Cocoa Island at the end of July for a total of 5 days. Cocoa Island is a flawless island with a beautiful beach, clear aquamarine water and wonderful over-water accommodation! All of the island staff were accommodating.The girls and I were treated like royalty for the duration of our stay. Congratulations to Laurent and his team at Cocoa Island for enabling us to really enjoy our holiday. The staff has exceeded my expectations and I sincerely believe that this is the most perfect vacation we've ever had. We are definitely coming back and I have no hesitation in recommending this fabulous island to anyone looking for relaxation and exceptional service. A few examples: My 14 year old daughter likes her eggs well done. Every waiter and kitchen staff was aware of that and every day, her eggs were perfectly cooked without us reminding them. Also, our favorite table was set up for our party of 3 everyday and was offered to us. The waiters remembered that my youngest daughter liked a hot chocolate in the morning.There is a tremendous amount of communication that has to take place among staff members to be able to always achieve such a high level of customer service. Well done and thank you to everyone!

Room Tip: All rooms are great and had ocean access from the balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank StuandSyl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laurent_Sola, General Manager at COMO Cocoa Island, The Maldives, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
Dear StuandSyl
Bonjour from Cocoa!
Thank you so much for sharing your wonderful feedback with us! It has been a real pleasure to meet you and your daughters and I am surely glad you have all enjoyed everything our little island has to offer.
I remain at your service at anytime and hope to welcoming you back to your “Home away from Home” very soon!
A très bientôt
Laurent
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,248 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,158
    65
    20
    4
    1
See reviews for
183
878
24
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (270)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2014

My parents and I just spent our wonderful five days at Cocoa Island. The staff there are friendly and sincere, especially our butler (we chose the one-bedroom villa) Muru who is always there ready to serve and help. The beach, sea and sand are so beautiful. The food is great!
I would like to express my gratitude to the managers who have given us a complimentary extension of late chek-out until night.
Cocoa Island is surely an ideal place for relaxation, to relieve from stress and enjoy the nature with beautiful sunrise, sunset, the sea and the sky!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MaggieWO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laurent_Sola, General Manager at COMO Cocoa Island, The Maldives, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Dear MaggieWO
Greetings from sunny Cocoa!
I am ever so glad you and your parents enjoyed a memorable experience on our beautiful island.
I remain at your service at anytime and look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back in Paradise sometimes soon!
A très bientôt
Laurent
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madrid, Spain
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2014

First of all, we would like to wholeheartedly thank the Cocoa Island team (management, reception, our takuru Shakiri, chef, bar, restaurant and massage center staff) because they made it possible our dream come true. Thank's very much with all our heart for your painstaking efforts in making our stay in Cocoa Island the trip of a lifetime and our particular paradise on Earth.

As well, we'd like to give our warmest and biggest thanks and enourmus thumbs up to the Dive Center team (Abbu, Niyaz, boat crew Mohamed, Imad and Saeed and the rest of the guys in the Center) for their help, support and efforts in making our diving an unforgettable experience (no manta rays this time, but next one we know they'll be lining up for us ;-)

All in all, you could never think of a more soothing and relaxing atmosphere. The rooms, amazingly decorated but not over the top (low key luxury). The sensation of being alone in a postcard island, the sheer tranquility, the mind blowing quality of the food and those unforgettable dishes... Add to a sensational experience.

What else?. Well, imagine you were in a private island surrounded by luxury and with 5+ star services in a remote location. Seriously, how can they do that?

- wonderful cuisine, worthy of a mention in Michelin guide. Amazing quality and freshness of the food, in such a remote location... unbelievable
- Gorgeous spa and massage services
- Spotless dive center (certainly the best we've been anywhere in the world)
- Fantastic snorkelling in the island reef and amazing diving as well
- And for techies... Wifi, mobile phone and 3G access everywhere (even if it is a 33 room hotel in a remote area)

Thanks again for everything. The world is so big and life is so short that we never thought we would say this but yes, we'll definitely be back in Cocoa Island.

Room Tip: There are different types of rooms (all of them are Dhoni villas with direct access to the sea, sun...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Marta_no_Kokoro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laurent_Sola, General Manager at COMO Cocoa Island, The Maldives, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Dear Marta_no_Kokoro
Greetings from Cocoa!
It is wonderful to read you today! Thank you so much for the praises towards our dive team. We are indeed very fortunate to have such an enthusiastic young team at the Marine Sport Centre.
I am glad to hear you have enjoyed the many dive sites located nearby our island which are indeed, unique in the whole of Maldives.
I will pass on your review to our entire team who will be thrilled to read it.
I remain at your service at anytime and look forward to welcoming back to Cocoa again soon.
Warm regards
Laurent
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2014 via mobile

We've been back to Cocoa Island every year, 9 in a row.

Probably cheaper to have built our own getaway but then we'd have had to find a good affordable location, done it up in a tastefully cool relaxed understated way, maintained the property, retain an excellent household brigade including a great kitchen, together with a spa. Easier to just come visit whenever we need a proper break. Like a holiday home, a sanctuary familiar and welcoming.

The GMs may have come and gone, each adding their own touch/improvements without changing the basic qualities of the resort, but the really nice thing is the staff who have stayed the same by and large over the years ... they, who have seen our kids from the time they were babies, remember and genuinely appreciate the support and loyalty of returning guests.

Even when it's fully booked, Cocoa Island feels like a quiet private getaway (we never see more than 10 guests a day and mostly only at meal times) not just because of its so very low density and discrete layout ... but also decent activities around island, decent off island activities (surf, dive, snorkel, fishing), fantastic spa, water villas with nice private areas. Night fishing is our favourite family activity apart from kayaking.

Food is simply delightful, relying on quality ingredients, sound basic cooking styles that respect the ingredients, and leaving a sense of well being ... eat great food and feel healthy - guilt free :) Nice wine list keeps improving. Try a simple grilled lobster with a bottle of Sauvignon Blanc for lunch in the beach bar, looking at white powder sandy beach, azure Indian Ocean with clear blue sky.

Villa can be split level - this family friendly design offers privacy without letting the kids out of sight.

Home away from home.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Derek K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laurent_Sola, General Manager at COMO Cocoa Island, The Maldives, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Dear Derek K
Bonjour from sunny Cocoa!
I can’t thank you enough for your continuous patronage and look forward to many other memorable holidays with your family on our beautiful island.
As you so clearly stated, we are very fortunate to be holding a team of talents who have started to work at Cocoa since more than a decade. This simply allows us to understand and provide each and every needs to our esteemed guests upon their return to the island.
I am truly grateful for your very positive comments and look forward to welcoming you and your family to your “Home away from Home” very soon again.
Warm regards
Laurent
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2014

After 10 fantastic days at this exceptional resort we sit back and know that Laurent the resorts manager has created an almost perfect resort on the most beautiful small Robinson Cruseo Island.

What makes it so perfect?
From you arrive at the Male AirPort the team of Cocoa Island is welcoming you and brings you to the Cocoa Island on a speedboat in 40 minutes. On the Island the staff welcomes you with a fresh coconut with refreshing coconut water. After a sightseeing around the Island you understand they have done everything to please the most challenging guests.
- They have a very well equipped gym!
- A spa with a menu of choices pleasing the muscle, skin, and manicure/pedicure needs you might
have. A special thank to Tak and Sri that took care of us. They are very professional!
- You can use the opportunity to get into the world of yoga and meditation in either complimentary classes or book your private lessons.
- The restaurant and the cuisine were during all our 10 days a travel in exceptional tastes from
around the Asian kitchen. And if you have special wishes - of course they fix it! The service and
the dedication of the team is great. We will especially mention our new friends serving us in the
restaurant Moosa, Muru, and Vijay - dangerous to mention names because all working there was
contributing to our succesfull stay. All know who you are and call you by name. You felt so
welcome all our stay and the team show they love their work.
- The Loft Villa we had was great. Right down the stairs we every morning could see stingray,
colourfull fishes, and a clear blue see.
- You have several activities you can book during the day to investigate the unbeliveable snorkling/
diving either around the Island on the housereef or in other close locations. All snorkling
equipment is complimentary. To describe what we saw cannot be done because it was so
beyond description - go there experience it.

My wife and me are so happy we chose Cocoa Island. We left the Island after 10 days feeling we were leaving our family for long. We look forward to our next stay at Cocoa Island by Como.

Laurent you have created a great team taking care of your guests at this exceptional resort.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tkloever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laurent_Sola, General Manager at COMO Cocoa Island, The Maldives, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Dear tkloever
Merci for this incredible statement!
I am surely glad to read all your wonderful feedback and praises towards our team. we have been very fortunate to meeting you recently and truly looking forward to welcoming you back very soon on our beautiful island.
I remain at your service at anytime and wish you a relaxing summer ahead!
Warm regards
Laurent


Laurent Sola
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
50 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2014

We just returned from our holidays at Cocoa Islands. Is was heaven! The best resort ever so far.
Muru, Binoy and all the others are the employees who do everything to make their quests happy.
The breathtaking views, the exceptional food, the beautiful house rif and snorkeling, it made our time wonderfull.
Thanks!!!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joke Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laurent_Sola, General Manager at COMO Cocoa Island, The Maldives, responded to this review, 27 July 2014
Dear Joke Z
Greetings from sunny Cocoa!
Thanks a million for your wonderful review. I am ever so pleased to read all your very positive comments.

I truly look forward to welcoming you back on our beautiful island this year!

Warm regards
Laurent
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2014

The hotel set on a small island with only 33 rooms, so it gives you a great sense of privacy and tranquility. The sea is turquoise blue and the sand is so smooth that you feel yourself in heaven. The house-reef is really good with lots of marine life. Baby sharks and stingray often makes their trips close to our villa. The rooms are beautifully decorated with wood, which I love so much for a vacation stay. The staff in the marine sport desk was very helpful in providing advices to different sport facilities. Zippe is really nice and friendly. He took us through a guided snorkeling and catamaran snorkeling. He did a great job in finding turtles and lionfish during our snorkel! We also did the sunset fishing which is a very enjoyable ride to see the sunset and the starry night.
There is only one restaurant but there are great varieties of choices. The food qualities and services are 5 stars. Everything is made to the finest details and you definitely feel pampered during the stay. Do not miss out their Spa. Tira was wonderful and the massage was one of the best I ever have.
My friend recommends Cocoa Island to us, out of their four visits to Maldives. And I won't hesitate to recommend this to anyone who is planning to visit Maldives.

Room Tip: Loft Villa provide more space and fun as it has a private outdoors shower and a larger terrace with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chan c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laurent_Sola, General Manager at COMO Cocoa Island, The Maldives, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Dear chan c
Greetings from sunny Cocoa!
Thank you so much for your wonderful review!
It is a true joy to read you have enjoyed everything our beautiful island has to offer. I am sure our team will be thrilled to hear your feedback and will surely encourage us to continue our effort for service excellence.

My team and I look forward to welcoming you back to Cocoa Island by Como very soon!

Laurent Sola
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cocoa Island
4.5 mi away
Naladhu Resort Maldives
Naladhu Resort Maldives
#1 of 1 in Naladhu Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 428 reviews
23.6 mi away
Sheraton Maldives Full Moon Resort & Spa
Sheraton Maldives Full Moon Reso...
#1 of 1 in Furanafushi Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,608 reviews
13.2 mi away
Taj Exotica Resort & Spa
Taj Exotica Resort & Spa
#1 of 1 in Emboodhu Finolhu
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.6 mi away
Kurumba Maldives
Kurumba Maldives
#1 of 1 in Vihamanafushi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,319 reviews
4.2 mi away
Anantara Veli Maldives Resort
14.2 mi away
Velassaru Maldives
Velassaru Maldives
#1 of 1 in Velassaru Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,542 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to COMO Cocoa Island, The Maldives? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about COMO Cocoa Island, The Maldives

Property: COMO Cocoa Island, The Maldives
Address: Makunufushi
Region: Maldives > Kaafu Atoll > South Male Atoll > Cocoa Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Cocoa Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — COMO Cocoa Island, The Maldives 5*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cocoa Island by COMO is a private island in the Maldives and offers measured simplicity in its design. Wrapped in white sandy beaches and clear turquoise waters, Cocoa Island is in close proximity to some of the best dive sites in the world. The tranquil setting is enhanced by the understated elegance of Cocoa Island’s 27 rooms, which resemble local dhoni fishing boats and feature direct access to the shallow lagoon. Ufaa, the resort’s restaurant, serves fresh local produce and seafood cooked in the Keralan style, while Faru bar overlooks the pristine infinity-edge pool. Cocoa Island’s spa, COMO Shambhala Retreat, offers rebalancing treatments, including Ayurveda, reflexology and a range of recuperative massages and facials. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with MrandMrsSmith, Travelbag, Prestigia, Southall Travel, Expedia, Booking.com, Holiday Gems and Agoda so you can book your COMO Cocoa Island, The Maldives reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cocoa Island Hotel South Male Atoll
Cocoa Island Maldives
Hotel Cocoa Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing