We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise on earth”
Review of COMO Cocoa Island

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
COMO Cocoa Island
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Cocoa Island
Certificate of Excellence
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Paradise on earth”
Reviewed 4 August 2014

We just spent five days at Cocoa Island. If paradise on earth exists, this is where it is. This is an absolutely fantastic resort on a very small island in te beautiful Maldives. It has 33 rooms, all on the water. Laurent and his super team created a unique atmosphere. Very personal service, closevto perfect. The rooms are all great. The food is spectacular. This resorts is a well hidden secret. You feel like a member of a special family. We have been at many places around the world, Cocoa island is in our top 3! This is a class on its own!

Room Tip: All rooms are super. Some are just larger than others. Simply a budget choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Giny d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laurent_Sola, General Manager at COMO Cocoa Island, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Dear Giny d
Bonjour from sunny Cocoa!
A 1000’s thank you for this wonderful review! We have been very fortunate to have you with us and I am ever so pleased to read you have enjoyed our beautiful island to great extend!
Our team will be thrilled to hear from you and we are all hoping to welcoming you back here very soon.
I hope this finds you well and that your return trip was relaxing. I remain at your service anytime.
A très bientôt
Laurent
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,294 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,200
    69
    20
    4
    1
See reviews for
192
905
25
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (283)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Italy
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014 via mobile

If you wish a private, luxury and relaxing holiday , this is your place.
Food, service and snorkeling are high standard. The manager LAURENT is very professional and a very attentive. The butler Muru satisfy your wishes with upmost courtesy and privacy. Highly recommended.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Gab70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laurent_Sola, General Manager at COMO Cocoa Island, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Dear Gab70
Bonjour from Cocoa!
Thank you so much for this wonderful review. I am ever so pleased you are currently enjoying your holidays with us!

Your comments on our butler Muru are wonderful and he is indeed a very important player in our team. I am thrilled to hear Muru’s services during this very special holidays are contributing to some fond memories that you will hold dearly for the coming years.

I remain at your service and wish you a wonderful time with us for the remaining of your vacation on our beautiful island.

Encore merci
Laurent Sola
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014 via mobile

We had an enjoyable, unforgettable moments their in cocoa island resort.everyone was so kind and caring.i miss cocoa island resort alot <3 had an awesome candle lit dinner with my loving husband.that time i was pregnant and been three months.i just love the special desert thiam made.it is banana soofy.i love it alot ^^

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Shaheeda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laurent_Sola, General Manager at COMO Cocoa Island, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Dear Shaheeda S
Greetings from sunny Cocoa!
Thank you so much for your wonderful review. Chef Thiam is indeed a very talented person who constantly innovate our dessert selection passionately.

I remain at your disposal anb I look forward to welcoming you back to Cocoa Island by Como!

Encore Merci!

Laurent Sola
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Wow - what a welcome - what an island. This is understated rustic luxury with top service all over.
From the charismatic, customer oriented and friendly General Manager Laurent Sola to the best ever butler service by Binoy. We booked the one bedroom villa and couldn't be more happy. Food quality and wine selection was excellent. Small but amazing quality of Spa, had the best deep tissue massage by Pulu. Before stayed at other Maldivien resorts like Huvafen Fushi and Four Seasons, this Island exceeds them by far.
Thanks to GM and his team for an amazing experience. This is first time with Como but certainly not the last. I'm a big fan of amanresorts, Four Seasons, six senses and Mandarin Oriental
como is absolutely on that list. I will definitely be back at Cocoa Island but also explore others como resort, like in Turks and Caicos,Buthan,Thailand and Indonesia.

Room Tip: ask for One bedroom villa no 1004 and the fantastic butler service by Binoy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ola V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laurent_Sola, General Manager at COMO Cocoa Island, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Dear Ola V
Bonjour from Cocoa!
It has been a true pleasure to have you with us recently and I am ever so pleased to read all your wonderful praises today. Binoy is indeed a wonderful gentlemen who understands and exceed our guests expectations by delivering constant genuine service.
As mentioned during you stay, I will be very happy to assist with your next holiday plans in any of our unique COMO properties. Looking forward to welcoming you back on our beautiful island soon!
A bientôt
Laurent
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2014

My daughters (14 & 21) and I arrived on Cocoa Island at the end of July for a total of 5 days. Cocoa Island is a flawless island with a beautiful beach, clear aquamarine water and wonderful over-water accommodation! All of the island staff were accommodating.The girls and I were treated like royalty for the duration of our stay. Congratulations to Laurent and his team at Cocoa Island for enabling us to really enjoy our holiday. The staff has exceeded my expectations and I sincerely believe that this is the most perfect vacation we've ever had. We are definitely coming back and I have no hesitation in recommending this fabulous island to anyone looking for relaxation and exceptional service. A few examples: My 14 year old daughter likes her eggs well done. Every waiter and kitchen staff was aware of that and every day, her eggs were perfectly cooked without us reminding them. Also, our favorite table was set up for our party of 3 everyday and was offered to us. The waiters remembered that my youngest daughter liked a hot chocolate in the morning.There is a tremendous amount of communication that has to take place among staff members to be able to always achieve such a high level of customer service. Well done and thank you to everyone!

Room Tip: All rooms are great and had ocean access from the balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank StuandSyl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laurent_Sola, General Manager at COMO Cocoa Island, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
Dear StuandSyl
Bonjour from Cocoa!
Thank you so much for sharing your wonderful feedback with us! It has been a real pleasure to meet you and your daughters and I am surely glad you have all enjoyed everything our little island has to offer.
I remain at your service at anytime and hope to welcoming you back to your “Home away from Home” very soon!
A très bientôt
Laurent
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014

My parents and I just spent our wonderful five days at Cocoa Island. The staff there are friendly and sincere, especially our butler (we chose the one-bedroom villa) Muru who is always there ready to serve and help. The beach, sea and sand are so beautiful. The food is great!
I would like to express my gratitude to the managers who have given us a complimentary extension of late chek-out until night.
Cocoa Island is surely an ideal place for relaxation, to relieve from stress and enjoy the nature with beautiful sunrise, sunset, the sea and the sky!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MaggieWO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laurent_Sola, General Manager at COMO Cocoa Island, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Dear MaggieWO
Greetings from sunny Cocoa!
I am ever so glad you and your parents enjoyed a memorable experience on our beautiful island.
I remain at your service at anytime and look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back in Paradise sometimes soon!
A très bientôt
Laurent
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madrid, Spain
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014

First of all, we would like to wholeheartedly thank the Cocoa Island team (management, reception, our takuru Shakiri, chef, bar, restaurant and massage center staff) because they made it possible our dream come true. Thank's very much with all our heart for your painstaking efforts in making our stay in Cocoa Island the trip of a lifetime and our particular paradise on Earth.

As well, we'd like to give our warmest and biggest thanks and enourmus thumbs up to the Dive Center team (Abbu, Niyaz, boat crew Mohamed, Imad and Saeed and the rest of the guys in the Center) for their help, support and efforts in making our diving an unforgettable experience (no manta rays this time, but next one we know they'll be lining up for us ;-)

All in all, you could never think of a more soothing and relaxing atmosphere. The rooms, amazingly decorated but not over the top (low key luxury). The sensation of being alone in a postcard island, the sheer tranquility, the mind blowing quality of the food and those unforgettable dishes... Add to a sensational experience.

What else?. Well, imagine you were in a private island surrounded by luxury and with 5+ star services in a remote location. Seriously, how can they do that?

- wonderful cuisine, worthy of a mention in Michelin guide. Amazing quality and freshness of the food, in such a remote location... unbelievable
- Gorgeous spa and massage services
- Spotless dive center (certainly the best we've been anywhere in the world)
- Fantastic snorkelling in the island reef and amazing diving as well
- And for techies... Wifi, mobile phone and 3G access everywhere (even if it is a 33 room hotel in a remote area)

Thanks again for everything. The world is so big and life is so short that we never thought we would say this but yes, we'll definitely be back in Cocoa Island.

Room Tip: There are different types of rooms (all of them are Dhoni villas with direct access to the sea, sun...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Marta_no_Kokoro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laurent_Sola, General Manager at COMO Cocoa Island, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Dear Marta_no_Kokoro
Greetings from Cocoa!
It is wonderful to read you today! Thank you so much for the praises towards our dive team. We are indeed very fortunate to have such an enthusiastic young team at the Marine Sport Centre.
I am glad to hear you have enjoyed the many dive sites located nearby our island which are indeed, unique in the whole of Maldives.
I will pass on your review to our entire team who will be thrilled to read it.
I remain at your service at anytime and look forward to welcoming back to Cocoa again soon.
Warm regards
Laurent
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cocoa Island
23.6 mi away
Sheraton Maldives Full Moon Resort & Spa
Sheraton Maldives Full Moon Reso...
#1 of 1 in Furanafushi Island
1,732 reviews
4.5 mi away
Naladhu Private Island Maldives
Naladhu Private Island Maldives
#1 of 1 in Naladhu Island
452 reviews
13.2 mi away
Taj Exotica Resort & Spa
Taj Exotica Resort & Spa
#1 of 1 in Emboodhu Finolhu
1,286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.6 mi away
Kurumba Maldives
Kurumba Maldives
#1 of 1 in Vihamanafushi
3,558 reviews
4.2 mi away
Anantara Veli Maldives Resort
14.2 mi away
Velassaru Maldives
Velassaru Maldives
#1 of 1 in Velassaru Island
1,638 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to COMO Cocoa Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about COMO Cocoa Island

Property: COMO Cocoa Island
Address: Makunufushi
Phone Number:
Region: Maldives > Kaafu Atoll > South Male Atoll > Cocoa Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Cocoa Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — COMO Cocoa Island 5*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cocoa Island by COMO is a private island in the Maldives and offers measured simplicity in its design. Wrapped in white sandy beaches and clear turquoise waters, Cocoa Island is in close proximity to some of the best dive sites in the world. The tranquil setting is enhanced by the understated elegance of Cocoa Island’s 27 rooms, which resemble local dhoni fishing boats and feature direct access to the shallow lagoon. Ufaa, the resort’s restaurant, serves fresh local produce and seafood cooked in the Keralan style, while Faru bar overlooks the pristine infinity-edge pool. Cocoa Island’s spa, COMO Shambhala Retreat, offers rebalancing treatments, including Ayurveda, reflexology and a range of recuperative massages and facials. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Destinology, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Prestigia, Travel Republic (UK), Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your COMO Cocoa Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cocoa Island Hotel South Male Atoll
Cocoa Island Maldives
Hotel Cocoa Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing