We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing...”
Review of COMO Cocoa Island

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
COMO Cocoa Island
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Cocoa Island
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 April 2007

We have just returned from a magical week at Cocoa Island (30 March to 7 April 2007). We went to the Maldives for our honeymoon six years ago (Banyan Tree) and thought it was time to return. Words cannot hope to convey just how special is this resort.

The island is small (200m x 50m), but not cluttered. The retaurant, bar, spa, small shop, yoga centre etc are all on the island, as is the staff accommodation. All of the guests stay on Dhonis or villas connected to one semi-circular jetty which stretches round the lagoon. Often you will not see anyone. With so many places to go (scuba diving, snorkling, the spa, hydrotherapy pool, the infinity swimming pool, the beach, your terrace), nowhere is ever busy.

The whole resort is very chic - relaxed simplicity is combined with little touches that show you there has been great attention to detail. This is reflected in the attitude of the staff who come from all over south-east asia and are welcoming, helpful and very good at their jobs. Nothing is too much trouble. Particular mention must go to the restaurant, bar and spa staff, many of whom we got to know during the week.

The house reef, which is about 30-50m away from the back of your room, is home to a staggering array of fish and marine life (including a few turtles) . The water, which is only about chest deep at high tide, is bath temperature and crystal clear.

The food is amazing. Breakfast is a buffet of cereal, fresh fruit, museli, yoghurt, pastries etc, with eggs or pancakes as a hot option. There is a bar menu all day for lunch or a light dinner, but the food served in the restaurant at lunch or dinner is as good as any you will find in London. There is a strong south asian influence and fish and seafood feature heavily.

The other guests were a real mix of nationalities and ages. Few of them were honeymooners - one couple had even brought their teenage children for two weeks so they could revise for their exams (my parents never did that for me). There were some young children, but they were either very well behaved, or we just didn't see them.

Now for a few more prosaic tips/pointers:

1. We travelled overnight direct from London (with Sri Lankan Airways), which, if you can sleep on a plane, is really recommended. It is worthwhile thinking about flight options. We left the island at 9am. Some guests were leaving at 6am. To some extent it depends on where you are going, but with flights via Colombo and Dubai on the way back, it may be that there is a better option.

2. We stayed in a Loft Villa (pictures below). We never saw inside one of the Dhoni loft suites, but think the extra for the Loft Villa was probably worthwhile - bigger room, outdoor shower, larger terrace and more privacy on the terrace.

3. The food, whilst excellent, is fairly expensive. Three courses for dinner, without wine, will be about £50 a head. The menu refers to an all inclusive package, but we did not know this existed when we booked. Also, some reviews have said the menu does not change. They must now be out of date as a number of dishes change on the menu each day.

4. Each week, there is a curry evening (on Tuesday) and a seafood barbeque (on Friday). They cost US$90 per person and are both very worthwhile (particularly as the only other option is to get something from the short order menu).

5. The spa can get busy at certain times, so make sure you, at least, book your slots before you go. You can choose what treatments you have once you are there.

  • Stayed: April 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
11  Thank Londontripadviser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,364)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,036 - 1,042 of 1,364 reviews

Reviewed 24 March 2007

  • Stayed: February 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank DoryZurich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2007

  • Stayed: March 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank PUMA704
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2007

my husband and I have just returned from this paradise island for our honeymoon. The island is truly amazing. I cannot find fault with one thing. The food, service, general standards are the best we have ever encountered, nothing is too much trouble. This was further confirmed on our arrival back into the UK yesteday when I checked my emails to find the General Manager had sent us an email thanking us for our visit and hoped our flight home was enjoyable. Do not hesitate in going to this little piece of paradise.

  • Stayed: February 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank vickiandrich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2007

We stayed here for 4 nights (wish we could have afforded more!) and wow, what a place. We loved every second we were there. My wife is 4 months pregant with twins and we were slightly apprehensive about going there due to being a 40 minute boat trip away from any facilities. The staff at the resort put any worries at ease. We were upgraded on our room (thankyou!!) and all the staff looked out for us at every moment, from the initial boat transfer, to every meal and drink we ordered. The island is beautiful, as are the rooms. Slight negatives? There is a fishy smell which comes at low tide from the sandbank. Our room was away from this but I'm sure some of the rooms may have had a wiff. But other than that, this place is heaven. Save up and go, we'd love to go back!!

Stayed: February 2007
1  Thank Iamtheresurrection
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2007

  • Stayed: January 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
6  Thank Jack G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2007

  • Stayed: December 2004, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank Susanfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cocoa Island
23.5 mi away
Sheraton Maldives Full Moon Resort & Spa
Sheraton Maldives Full Moon Reso...
#1 of 1 in Furanafushi Island
1,862 reviews
4.5 mi away
Naladhu Private Island Maldives
Naladhu Private Island Maldives
#1 of 1 in Naladhu Island
495 reviews
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Kandooma Maldives
Holiday Inn Resort Kandooma Mald...
#1 of 1 in Kandoomaafushi Island
1,562 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.2 mi away
Taj Exotica Resort & Spa
Taj Exotica Resort & Spa
#1 of 1 in Emboodhu Finolhu
1,361 reviews
21.6 mi away
Kurumba Maldives
Kurumba Maldives
#1 of 1 in Vihamanafushi
3,849 reviews
4.2 mi away
Anantara Veli Maldives Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to COMO Cocoa Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about COMO Cocoa Island

Address: Makunufushi
Phone Number:
Region: Maldives > Kaafu Atoll > South Male Atoll > Cocoa Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Cocoa Island
Price Range: £578 - £1,686 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — COMO Cocoa Island 5*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
COMO Cocoa Island is a private island in the Maldives and offers measured simplicity in its design. Wrapped in white sandy beaches and clear turquoise waters, Cocoa Island is in close proximity to some of the best dive sites in the world. The tranquil setting is enhanced by the understated elegance of Cocoa Island’s 33 rooms, which resemble local dhoni fishing boats and feature direct access to the shallow lagoon. Ufaa, the resort’s restaurant, serves fresh local produce and seafood cooked in the Keralan style, while Faru bar overlooks the pristine infinity-edge pool. COMO Cocoa Island’s spa, COMO Shambhala Retreat, offers rebalancing treatments, including Ayurveda, reflexology and a range of recuperative massages and facials. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Southall Travel, Agoda, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your COMO Cocoa Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cocoa Island Hotel South Male Atoll
Cocoa Island Maldives
Hotel Cocoa Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing