We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely Fabulous”
Review of Constance Moofushi

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Constance Moofushi
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Moofushi Island
Certificate of Excellence
Redhill, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Absolutely Fabulous”
Reviewed 26 July 2014

Best of it's class, fantastic food, excellent wine list and knowledgeable sommeliers, top class diving and overall jewel in paradise, for me is the best in the Maldives, looking forward to returning in the near future

Room Tip: We upgraded to a senior water vila for the last two days to end the trip on a high!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank Sifonet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,013 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,851
    123
    27
    9
    3
See reviews for
286
1,477
19
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (568)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2014 via mobile

I should have read those average reviews and chosen another resort as honeymoon is once in lifetime opportunity!

The welcome was truly awful and set a really bad beginning! Upon our arrival the front desk people grouped us with other Chinese for the resort tour. For honeymoon I would like to have a private tour. Secondly just because I can speak Chinese doesn't mean I would like be in the same group as Chinese. The hotel should ask me first and to be aware that my nationality (Taiwanese!).

The front desk girl took us to another part of island then told us please wait here I need to take another couple to their room then I will come back to take you to your room as your room is on the other side of the island.

By this point I was truly pissed off and tired after 4 hrs flight and 30 mins seaplane! We sat and waited for 5 mins and no sign of the FD girl. I was so pissed off so I walked back to the front desk to tell them to bring us to our room as soon as possible. No apologies were given which pissed me even more!

It took more than 30 mins for us to get to our room. Unbelievably the front desk people told us to walk back to the front desk to collect our keys and vouchers as the girl supposed to show us our room had it. Come on! I don't think they understand the meaning of hospitality!

In the end someone delivered our keys to our room but again no apologies were given!

When I opened the hotel introduction booklet and vouchers most of them are in simplified Chinese which I struggled to understand. The hotel should be more culturally and politically aware!

Another stupid thing is the snorkeling equipment. Why can't we just put in our room and have people to collect upon checking out? We had to walk 10 mins from our room to the other side of island to return it? Upon checking out, the front desk people told us we can return our snorkeling equipment at the diving centre. When we got to diving center, we were told to walk to the boat house?! The front desk people is truly lack of training and smiles too!

There is no beach boys to provide you towers and drinks! We were told to fetch our own drinks at the fridge of the boat house! You never know which chairs you can sit on the beach as all the chairs are messy and unattended!

There are way too many Chinese tourist and they are loud at beach which completely killed a peaceful holiday!

The only good thing about this resort is the service and food at the restaurants! Special thanks to a guy who seems to be in charge of wins at restaurants. One night at the a la carte restaurant my stomach was not well, he noticed and offered me his special drink for comforting stomach, I think it helped!

All in all I love Maldives but I think next time I will chose another hotel.



Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
14 Thank Vivian L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Switzerland
Level Contributor
36 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014 via mobile

We spent a week for our anniversary and we absolutely loved it! To start we weren't sure if we would enjoy the Maldives because we were concerned about getting bored on a small island - happily that was never an issue and we enjoyed the trip much more than we could have imagined thanks to the Constance Moofushi. We reserved a water villa and called in advance to make sure we could have one on the pier with a good view of the sunset. The room was great, with snorkel in/out access and a outdoor shower. The service was outstanding with extremely helpful and attentive staff. The reef around the island is really good for snorkeling and we saw all kinds of fish, some turtles and a moray. We also went on a few excursions with Bluetribe and really enjoyed them. If you want to learn to Scuba Dive, talk to Ella, she is a great instructor. The fitness is very well equipped and the yoga class was good. The nomad bar is a nice alternative option for lunch if you get tired of the buffet. The wine list was pretty extensive and the sommelier always had good recommendations. The a la carte restaurant was very good and you good tell a difference in the food quality versus the buffet. They made us a special chocolate cake for our anniversary which was yummy! The buffet was good it just becomes repetitive after a while although the kitchen did a good job of providing variety. The ice cream is home made and wonderful so save room for dessert. Another nice thing about the resort is that we could always find a place to relax or enjoy the sun, there were plenty of options and just the right amount of people so you never felt crowded. So as you can tell we loved it and the worst part was leaving!

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank jj6870
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

We have just returned from the most amazing holiday staying at the Constance Moofushi resort in the Maldives. We went for a special birthday and spent quite a while researching the many resorts and reading hundreds of reviews to find the perfect place. Constance Moofushi exceeded all of our expectations. We have travelled a lot of the world and often when you arrive at a resort it just doesn't look like the website. Constance Moofushi is even more beautiful than any of the pictures. Arriving by sea plane was so exciting! We fell in love with the island and the people straight away, the service is incredible. We stayed in one of the senior water villas and it was absolutely beautiful. We were a little nervous by all inclusive, as we had visions of lots of very similar buffet food and house wine. When we sat on the deck overlooking the sea on our first night we were greeted by one of the islands sommeliers who talked through the many wines available and the food options and we realised we were in paradise! On our final night we were invited to a cocktail evening by the hotel manager to thank us for staying but also to hear any feedback. We said it was so lovely to come off season, as the island felt really quiet and intimate. The hotel manager then confirmed that the island was completely full! If you are looking for a beautiful resort with brilliant service, high quality food and drink and lovely accommodation book Constance Moofushi. If you want 18 different bars and restaurants, kids club and a night club don't go. Final recommendation book Cinefushi, cinema on the beach under the stars by the waters edge, incredible! Thank you to everyone on the island we really hope one day we will return!

Room Tip: Book Cinefushi - amazing experience watching a film on the beach under the stars!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank Alisone40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bude, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014

Arrived home a couple of days ago from a 19 night stay at Moofushi and miss it already!

This was our 6th holiday in the maldives and to be honest if you've never been then just book it because where ever you choose to stay it will blow your mind on first visit, its only when you start going back every year you start to look for the ultimate maldives holiday and try to beat the experience of the year before which is a massive challenge inits self and normally comes at higher cost for the higher amount of luxury you require.
This is my first review on tripadvisor as i know how important it is for honest resort reviews for us going there and the resorts themselves for there own feedback.

A quick note 80% of the quest when we stayed were Chinese who generally very rude to all the staff and have no consideration for anyone else around them with a total lack of manors should you get them next door to you as we did for 2 nights then you may need ear plugs and stay on the beach during the day as they will take over the water with dingy's and anything else that floats!!

As for Moofushi its so close to being the perfect maldives island and it was better in many ways than the other islands we've been to before such as veligandu,vilamendhoou,lilly beach.
I dont want to repeat what everyone else writes and i echo what they all say about the staff and resort, beach, food ect its all fantastic.

DINNING-Both myself and my partner our vegetarians and have struggled in the past with food but here the food is amazing and i would like to say thank you to Miklos Hulber the executive chef your a credit to constance in your approach to your job and show excellent customer service skills. Should you go and struggle with the food in any way or have dietary requirements then speak to this chef he will do anything within his power to make your dinning experience a joy, and also thanks to the wine guys who always seem to get it spot on with wine selection. a general thanks to everyone in the restaurant for the great times we had your all great.
We did go to the other restaurant a couple of times also and the service was fantastic even though the food choice was pretty limited, I ordered the lobster on the second visit which was priced at $50 on the menu the waiter came back to me 5 mins after i ordered to say it would be $60 and not $50 i agreed and 5 mins he came back me and said it would be $65 with no reason why? but live is too short and i enjoyed all the same even though when i signed the bill it was charged to me at $73!!!

Beach/Snorkelling- the beaches are just fantastic with lovely soft sand with goes out to the reef which is great for swimming and going in for general cool down without standing on reef or rubble they are the best we have seen.
If you love to snorkel as we do then there are some lovely coral gardens with fish every where you look and some of the biggest fish we have ever seen in the maldives (yes for the people who have been before also some of the biggest trigger fish we have every seen but all were non aggressive when we stayed but should you go when they breeding then it might be a hard place snorkel) all the staff will say to go to house reef next to the arrival jetty but this is very small in generally busy with the dive team and other quests.

Tweek 1-Rolled up towels are put out on the sunbeds which is nice but we often saw these being left all over the place on the sunbeds as people would come down have a snorkel and drink (from the water sports hut fridge which is nice)then use the towel and just throw it back on the sun bed and these would be left all day and on many occasions people would come onto the main beach looking for a sun bed and end up walking of moaning about no free sunbeds as they would presume that people were using them because of the used towel and drinks being left there all day.Also the beach boy who would offer you drinks service and said he will be coming around every 40mins to get drinks from the bar for people wanted non soft drinks, you would only see him once in the morning and maybe in the afternoon but normally he would appear in the evening and pick up towels which had been there all day stopping people from using the sunbeds?

My tip- outside of the reef from the senior water villas (sun rise side) down towards the beach jetty is the best I've seen anywhere for coral gardens and massive columns which come up from the deep and just blow your mind with amount of fish and colours on offer,plus most other quest will be on the inside of reef so its really nice. there is a quite a strong current which needs to be thought about when snorkelling outside the reef but when we were there it just gently took down the beach to the safety of the sand and shallow water but if your not a confident swimmer then its best to stay on the inside of the reef or the house reef.
Also they do offer snorkelling trips which i would strongly recommend as the reef they took us out to was mind blowing i almost forgot to breathe it was that good!!!

Tweek 2: My first impression of the house reef was good but i also noticed a lot of small bits of rubbish amongst the rocks and coral in the shallow water towards the back of the reef, lots of what looks like small packets and other bits this maybe brought in with currant who knows. (maybe the dive team could litter pick the reef?)

Water villa- we stayed 133 which was sunset side, first impressions are very nice very roomy and good storage (mini bar great selection!) nice and clean (the room boys are fantastic by the way) a nice size decking area with table chairs and sunbeds plus outside shower which is great, we always had a breeze which we like (this depends on the time of year you go)

Tweek 3-We did however have any issue a/c not cooling the room and with the sliding doors out to the decking area which constantly rattled in with the breeze even at night and curtain would move there was so much wind coming through? i had a quick look and noticed one of the doors needed adjusting to stop the rattle and the wind coming through,are a/c unit also dripped water on to the floor which we did report to reception and a maintenance man appeared in no time to have a look, he confirmed it was leaking and told us to turn down the temp on control to make it cooler which wasn't the answer i was looking for! i pointed out the issue with the door to which he said it needed a carpenter as this was causing the a/c over work with the hot air blowing through the gap from outside and and then left the room? neither were addressed by the time we changed room as we did upgrade to senior water villa (which i will come to next) May i suggest routine room checks by the maintenance team with check sheets to stop this from happening to anyone else?

Tweek 4- The steps leading into the lagoon from the water villa were covered in algae which made them a complete nightmare and very dangerous to go down as they were like ice plus most lead straight onto bits of reef or rocks there is no clear sand to stand on!We watched the poor women next door slide down on her back and bang her head! its the first time i've stayed in a water villa where the steps never get scrubbed or no anti slip rubber on the steps. if they are scrubbed then they need to be done more frequent? Again these should be checked at all times and cleaned to make them safe.


Senior water villas- well what can i say but if you budget to have one then do not hesitate as they are the just amazing and worth every bit of money they cost, again we had sunrise side which are the best with sun nearly all day don't get me wrong it can get super hot on the decking if there is no breeze but just great and in perfect locations for snorkelling.

ROOM TIP- The senior water villas are expensive to upgrade when you are already on the island get your travel agent to price them before you go, a good travel agent will pass on the discount they get from the resort to you on that note we used ANGEL FISH TRAVEL who we are very impressed with and can get good prices compared to others.

In general this is an amazing resort and will blow you away most of the things I've grumbled about are just things that need changing for this resort to become perfection for me,More than likely i will be going back and if you can then book Moofushi as its nearly there!! :)

Note to management should you want someone for maintenance give me an email as i would quite happily come back to your island even i was working there! ;)

Room Tip: Senior water villa sun rise as far up as you can go we had room 68.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank LuvTheMaldives
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014

The Constance line of hotels are something else. Moofushi and Halaveli are two islands in the Maldives where Constance Hotels set up an amazing experience. My wife and I were fortunate enough to spend 10 nights on both islands - 7 on Moofushi and 3 on Halaveli - for our unforgettable honeymoon.

Immediately upon arrival we were greeted at Male Int'l Airport by the Constance team, escorted to their private lounge and proceeded to start our honeymoon. Moist towelettes and iced tea were the perfect way to begin unwinding from over 24 hours of travel. (We flew from Boston to Istanbul and then to Male). The Seaplane experience was exciting and easy. Daniela at the front desk was an absolute pleasure to work with - she made us feel at home and explained everything around the island very clearly.

In Moofushi, we stayed in a Water Villa (116) and it was absolutely amazing. Our room was made up every day and night by a very nice gentleman named Chimal. He did an excellent job in making our villa feel like it was truly ours - setting up honeymoon details and always organizing our belongings. Snorkeling off of the Villa was amazing, the house reef gave us an opportunity to get up close and personal with Sea Turtles, Clown Fish (Nemo!), Moray Eels, and sophisticated coral reef formations. Exceptional experience overall.

The Manta bar and restaurant, along with Totel Bar and restaurant is where we spent most of our time. The host, KD (Khalid) always made sure we had the perfect table. Beach side or water side dining (on the deck) was always an option as long as you are patient and grab a drink at the bar while a table opens up. The team of Sommeliers were very helpful and super friendly. Our particular favorite was Rahul - who had a lot in common with us. He always picked out excellent bottles for us to try (over 150 included in the Cristal All-inclusive package) and stuck around to chat with us. Too bad these guys work so much, we would have loved to grab a drink with some of the staff members at bar! The Alizee restaurant was a real treat - 5 star dining set up on the beach, all included in our Cristal package!

Moofushi has more of a social feel to it - the spaces on the island are very well set up for couples and families to enjoy different island experiences. The excursions are top notch, too. We signed up for an excursion package, which included a dolphin discovery ride, sunset dhoni cruise, sunset snorkel, and a discovery scuba dive. We added a swim with whale shark excursion to the bundle too. All were exceptional - Jalle from BlueTribe really did a nice job on the cruises for us, and Pier really made the discovery scuba dive something special.

Make sure you book a massage at USpa - the massage experience was over the top. You have dozens of choices for pampering, all led by a very professional team. As you go through your massage experience, you enjoy beautiful views of the Indian Ocean, and cap it all off with a relaxing experience on their terrace, where they serve you hot tea and fresh fruit. Highly recommended.

Our only recommendation for the team at Moofushi - install some sound systems on your Dhoni boats and play some tunes while people are going out for a Snorkel. Maybe add a small cooler with some beers. Everyone loves some Bob Marley and Beers while boating!

If we were to do it all again, we would definitely return to Constance Moofushi. The staff really goes out of their way to make you feel special at their resort. Constance Halaveli was a whole other experience (in a good way). We will post that review when prompted.

Cheers to the team at Constance!

Tom and Courtney Subatis
Boston, MA

Room Tip: Even numbered water villas are top notch.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank Tomas S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basel, Switzerland
Level Contributor
253 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014

The resort has the island to itself and provides an excellent welcome when arriving in the seaplane (yes, that is noisy and hot , but the views are amazing - so, be prepared).
Even though the resort is quite large, somehow you are never aware of there being many people - even though the resort was full when we were there. There are always places to be with not many other people around. All the staff are excellent, friendly , helpful and really seem to be trying to bring you the best experience they can. Meals are buffet style and the quality and variety is excellent. There is a smaller bar by the pool if you want a lighter lunch and a beachside restaurant for special occasions. Outstanding wine list for an all inclusive approach. The water villas are spread out each side of the resort and the walk even to the furthest ones is really nice with great views. There are so many fish swimming everywhere and surprisingly large ones. Clear water, white sand, nice breezes. Some rain while we were there but it never got in the way. House reef is excellent but well worth taking a boat out to other snorkelling areas - turtles, coral, fish life is stunning.
All the water villas are in the water almost all the time but the ones at the furthest distant from the resort center are in deeper water. Several places to watch the sunset and sunrise and the senior water villas 76 and upwards have a view of the sunset from their outside sundeck.
Beware though - once you go there you really won't want to leave !

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dborch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Moofushi Island
13.4 mi away
Kandolhu Maldives
Kandolhu Maldives
#1 of 17 in North Ari Atoll
519 reviews
23.5 mi away
Vilamendhoo Island Resort & Spa
6.9 mi away
Diamonds Thudufushi
Diamonds Thudufushi
#1 of 1 in Thudufushi Island
767 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.7 mi away
Mirihi Island Resort
Mirihi Island Resort
#1 of 1 in Mirihi
915 reviews
18.5 mi away
Conrad Maldives Rangali Island
Conrad Maldives Rangali Island
#1 of 1 in Rangali Island
2,118 reviews
16.9 mi away
Constance Halaveli
Constance Halaveli
#1 of 1 in Halaveli Island
1,372 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Constance Moofushi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Constance Moofushi

Property: Constance Moofushi
Address: 20026
Phone Number:
Region: Maldives > Alifu Atoll > Southern Ari Atoll > Moofushi Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Moofushi Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Constance Moofushi 5*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Barefoot chic, villas on dazzling white sand or on stilts that float above the turquoise water of the Indian Ocean; choose from one of the 24 beach villas, 56 water villas or 30 senior water villas at Constance Moofushi. Set on its own secluded island, the resort is a perfect combination of luxury and simplicity where everything is taken care of with our All-Inclusive Cristal Package - from premium drinks, exquisite cuisine to luxurious accommodation and innovative spa treatments! And if you are not exploring one of the best diving sites in the world around the South Ari Atoll; try Ymalia’s innovative bio marine spa treatments for a more beautiful you. From ecological thatch roofing to crystal clear water, Constance Moofushi is one of our unique resorts with a soul. All villas are built and decorated with wondrous tones of nature with a hint of Constance chic. Feast on fresh seafood and treat your palate to the finest wines in our sand floored restaurant. The colourful aquatic world is also a must while staying at Constance Moofushi. From snorkelling exploration, sunset cruise with a traditional Dhoni to dolphin search and big game fishing Maldivian style, Constance Moofushi and its surrounding is a jewel! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Booking.com, Destinology, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Holiday Gems, Agoda, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Constance Moofushi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Constance Moofushi Resort, Maldives Hotel South Ari Atoll
Moofushi North Ari Atoll

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing