We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Dhivehi Experience(Dhigurah Island)(Great Value!)
US$65
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$59
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Dhigurah Retreat Beach(Dhigurah Island)
US$101
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Bliss Dhigurah(Dhigurah Island)(Great Value!)
US$117
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$111
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
White Sand(Dhigurah Island)(Great Value!)
US$99
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Athiri Beach Maldives(Dhigurah Island)
US$111
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$105
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Beachfront
Dhiguveli Maldives(Dhigurah Island)(Great Value!)
US$103
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$93
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$255
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$207
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
LUX* South Ari Atoll(Dhidhoofinolhu Island)
US$1,573
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$781
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Aadan Beach House(Dhigurah Island)
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (211)
Filter reviews
211 results
Traveller rating
153
39
12
6
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
153
39
12
6
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslocal islandisland diverswhale sharksmaldivian experienceguest houserooms are cleanlong islandno alcohola great place to staydiving tripsouth ari atollfoosball tablehot waterlobby arealuxurious hotelhigh servicelocal dive
Filter
Updating list...
22 - 27 of 211 reviews
Reviewed 3 August 2017 via mobile

Stayed in the shared pool suite and had it all to ourselves. Staff are very accommodating and friendly and willing to help with everything they can. Food was good and accommodations had everything you need.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Bentley1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TME_RetreatsDhigurah, Owner at TME Retreats Dhigurah, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2017

Dear Bentley1977,

Thank you for your short and sweet review. We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We hope to get a chance to welcome you again soon.

Cheers,
TME Retreats Dhigurah

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2017

I had mixed feelings about writing a review of this hotel, only because I want to support average Maldivians running their own tourist accommodations, and I knew I cannot offer a good review. Finally I decided to write one only because the high reviews this hotel gets and some of claims made in those reviews may result in others' making the same wrong assumptions we made.

I will first admit that my wife and I are NOT truly local island hotel clients and we have been to at least a dozen 4 and 5 star resorts in the Maldives alone, so a Maldives 3-star local island hotel is not our cup of tea; but we have twice opted to stay on local islands there to first see the local life and second to dive with locals, thinking that it could be better or at least cheaper. In our last trip we had planned to go to three resorts, but my wife who was so bent of diving with manta rays and whale sharks and has not managed to do so at any of the previous trips/stays at resorts, wanted to try diving with the locals this time and asked that we stay at TME for six days before going to our planned resorts.

I will say in a nutshell that when/if every dollar counts, I can understand why you would want to stay here; you get a clean room, very polite staff and reliable people to go dive with. The dive shop is related to the hotel as well. However, the following assumptions we made based on reviews were wrong:

• That you pay less for the dives; my wife had 3 days of diving at the TME, 2 days at Angaga and 3 days at Mirihi and 1 day at Rangali; but in truth the cost of diving at Angaga and Mirihi were comparable to what she paid at TME; the difference was hardly noticeable.
• That you will have a better dive experience with the locals than with the European managed dive shops at the higher-end resorts; we found that was not the case. In fact, they all go to the same dives spots and accommodations of a resort dive shop are understandably better in some respects.

Additionally, I found the following issues problematic for me at the TME:

• Breakfast is truly Spartan: you get eggs, toast and juice and tea/coffee and that is it.
• WiFi is available at reception area only and if it has recently rained, you can expect to receive dozens of mosquito bites each hour you spend there to use WiFi.
• Lunch or dinner, especially in off season, is very limited. A seafood and rice serving may consist literally of 2 or 3 shrimp pieces and a bowl of rice with mixed veggies. Our grilled tuna dish offered a piece of tuna smaller than three fingers put together. My wife eats like a bird and even she was smirking at the size of meals we were served. As it was off season and the seas were rough, no whole fish was available at any price. There were no other food options on the island.
• We finally decided to cut our stay short and forego the remaining two days without even discussing the moneys we had paid for those days and went on to Angaga two days sooner because we could no longer take the combination of no WiFi in the room, mosquitoes and sub-standard food.

I should also mention that in our first trip to the Maldives several years ago, we stayed at the local island of Maafushi at a similar local owner hotel but that was a far better experience: decent breakfast, various local restaurants and very good hotel meals and in-room WiFi made it all a fair experience; Dhigurah was not anywhere near that. Again, if your budget allows you to spend $125 a day or less for hotel and meals, then this will do, but for another $100 a day, you could stay at a few four star resorts in the same general area with far superior and incomparable food and beaches and comparable diving experience.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank awayfromLA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TME_RetreatsDhigurah, Owner at TME Retreats Dhigurah, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2017

Dear awayfromLA,

Greetings, and thank you for taking time to share your thoughts about your stay with us. We are sorry that we were not able meet your expectations.

Let us reiterate again, which we have so many times before, that one of the key attractions of staying on a local island is to experience the island life of Maldives and to see how locals live, meet and share stories. You also get to mingle with the staff and have a casual chat in the evenings with them if you feel like. You get to see the local schools, streets, cafes etc.,This is real Maldives. This is not for a luxury resort enthusiast and cannot expect a full resort services. This is a more affordable choice for staying and experiencing Maldives, both in accommodation and diving. It is factually incorrect to say that our prices are similar to that of a 5 star resort in Maldives.
Despite it seemed that Dhigurah is one of the worst places for you to stay, not a single complaint or concern was raised with our staff during your stay. Also would like to highlight that Island Divers, the dive school, is rated among the best dive school in Maldives with only local staff who provide unique local experience. The dive school team go the extra mile to ensure that you get to experience what you planned to do, specially swimming with whale sharks and mantas.

We hope you did enjoy the rest of your stay in the Maldives in your chosen resorts.

Best wishes
TME Retreats Dhigurah

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2017 via mobile

Great place for scuba diving. Just got here. It is almost empty because of off season. But friendly staff and very cost effective. Landed on the island and went for a dive right away. Loved it. More dives planned for the next three days.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled with friends
Thank hassanrizwan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TME_RetreatsDhigurah, Owner at TME Retreats Dhigurah, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2017

Dear hassanrizwan

It is great to learn that you are enjoying your stay and diving with us. This is an affordable way to explore the best diving and snorkeling in Maldives. We hope that you had a great time for the rest of your stay.
Thank you for your review and look forward to see you another time here in this famous diving area of Maldives.

Best wishes,
TME Retreats Dhigurah

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2017 via mobile

This is a comfortable and clean place to stay with the beach just behind it. What I like best is how close it is to a snorkelling area, which was great for my 8-year old. We saw a black-tip shark, sea turtle, and many kinds of fishes near the shore. TME Retreats also offers good meals although there will be delays in preparing food. It's also easy to arrange massages and various activities through the front desk and the staff are very helpful. Not the hotel's fault, but would advise mosquito repellent or patches as there are a lot in the main lobby/public area where wifi is accessible. Great value for money.

Stayed: February 2017
Thank Dina_2600
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TME_RetreatsDhigurah, Owner at TME Retreats Dhigurah, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2017

Der 174dinad

We are very pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. It is now very handy to have the bikini beach right in front of the hotel, which is a great location for snorkeling too.

Thank you for your feedback and we hope we will get to welcome you again.

Cheers,
TME Retreats Dhigurah

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2017

Our staying at TME Retreats Dhigurah in April this year exceeded our expectations, although it was our second visit to that lovely, comfy, homelike place (our prior visit took place in November last year). As previously, we, a couple of the adults, were staying for 3 weeks. We enjoyed each moment of staying at TME, like that of the prior one, feeling ourselves fully at home due to a very high service professionality manifested by the staff under the perfect management of Ilyas Ibrahim.
The main positive differencies as compared to our last-year visit, which we found:
1.Now there's a very cosy 'bikini' beach just at 15 meters from TME, equipped with enough quantity of sunbeds, and there's a comfortable alcove with wooden sunshade, table and arm-chairs where guests can seat and watch the amazing sunsets.
2. An additional new comfy wooden sunshade
with table and arm-chairs in the lounge.
3.More speedy and more reliable 'wi-fi'.
4.Daily regular cleaning of the territory and adjoining areas, which is why it's impossible to see litterfall or any kind of rubbish there.
5.The staff is daily being engaged in further improvement of living environment.

To our opinion the sound advantages to choose TME as the spot for spending one's vacations are as follows:
- Very high level of hotel service shown by the staff and professional management;
- Spacious and comfortable rooms equipped with all the necessary amenities for good rest and relax, daily-twice cleaning;
- A good variety of budget rooms to choose for booking depending on one's own favor, while with small differences in prices (Noovili, Shairose, Nalaveshi, Rihiveli);
- Diversified and tasty cuisine, a lot of fresh fruits, a high level of cleanliness in the restaurant as everywhere in TME;
- Very close cooperation of TME Retreats management with the crew of Island Divers Dhigurah which is the certified PADI 5 Star diving center and the only Green Fins member in the Southern Ari Atoll. Island Divers team was awarded with Certificate of Excellence by TripAdvisor. Its highly pro dive masters conduct training in scuba diving and snorkeling, arrange boat-dives and snorkeling trips, whaleshark and manta boat-safaries and other water sports;
- The location of TME Retreats Dhigurah is very favourable in view of the fact that the island is in close proximity to the best dive sites of the Atoll where chances for divers and snorkelers to encounter whalesharks and mantas are really high;
- Real chances for the guests to acquire Total Maldivian Experience by acquainting themselves with the island local friendly people and their lifestyle.

The TME staff members, being free-hearted and amiable locals, were always doing the utmost for the guests to feel themselves at home. And we felt ourselves that way.
We rate the level of services at TME as the highest one.
We both, my wife and me, express our best gratitude to Ilyas Ibrahim and his staff, who made our staying at TME the best we ever had in Maldives. Thank your! We hope to return if we have a chance!

We do recommend TME Retreats Dhigurah to divers, snorkelers and water-sports fans as the best place for recreation and rejuvenation in the Southern Ari Atoll! To say more, the place is also quite suitable for the couples with children as far as it is budget, very tranquil, not noisy, clean and comfortable.

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Vlad559
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TME_RetreatsDhigurah, Owner at TME Retreats Dhigurah, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2017

Dear Vlad559

Thank you for taking time to write such a detailed and positive review. We are very humble to hear your kind words about our team and delighted to know that you have enjoyed your second stay with us.

Thank you for sharing the picturesque photos with the readers.

It was so lovely to see you again and we look forward to see you again soon.

Best wishes
TME Retreats Dhigurah

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews