We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Velidhu Island Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Velidhoo Island
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 January 2014

beautiful island, great atmosphere, great food, superb housereef... ideal for all those who like snorkelling and diving.We saw sharks, turtles, stingrays, sea eagles.. lots of coral and beautiful tropical fish.
Relaxing doesn't come too difficult either:-)
Not to be missed: the Manta safari and the snorkelling tour with the fast boat.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SandokanZH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (480)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

48 - 54 of 480 reviews

Reviewed 2 December 2013

We had 2 weeks in mid October 2013 and stayed in a beach bungalow, all inclusive. Having read previous reviews we were not sure what to expect. For anyone in any doubt: this is an extremely well thought out resort and the staff extremely friendly and helpful. The resort is very informal and are happy for you to wonder around barefoot everywhere and only ask that you have a bit more on than swimwear when you are in the restaurant.

If you have any worries about there only being one restaurant they should be quickly forgotten as the food here is amazing - delicious and plenty of variety, with a very drinkable house wine. Our waiter was very attentive and considerate. The bar staff are very friendly and fun loving. Everything is charged back to your room and settled at the end but since not all guests are all inclusive you sign for everything regardless.

I'm intrigued that people have complained that the rooms are basic. Why are you spending a small fortune travelling half way around the world to lock yourself away in a hotel room watching TV and surfing the internet when you can do that at home??? There is paradise on your doorstep! The bungalows have a very comfortable kingsize bed in a spacious room with a normal size bathroom off the side and a large covered veranda with deck chairs out front. Everything is kept spotless, works and when we managed to break the flush on the toilet it was fixed straight away. Yes there are one or two components that look a little tired but I have had the good fortune to have stayed in apparently posh 5 star hotels and been horrified to frequently find the floors and bathroom not clean and the bed uncomfortable. It looked to me as if our room had been recently redecorated and they were replacing the thatching on the roofs. Air conditioning units are noisy in all hotels I have stayed in and actually we decided it was too cold at night with it turned on so we used the ceiling fan instead. Each bungalow has a pair of sun loungers allocated to each bungalow and little clearings cut away in the vegetation to hid away from the rest of the world and have your own private space if you wish.

To address the question of rats - we didn't see any. We did see about 6 or 7 very determined looking cats who will chase anything that moves and are definitely not pets (although will be your best friend if you feed them titbits smuggled out of the kitchen as our neighbours were doing).

The house reef - only one word for it - wow! Hundreds of fish species too many to list and highights included: moray eels, eagle rays, sting rays, reef sharks, sea turtles, lion fish, feather stars...no need to go diving we saw all of those snorkelling. That said my diving husband was very happy with the dive centre too. His only disappointment being that not enough people could be persuaded to get up at 4am to dive for hammerhead sharks.

We had mixed weather - when it rains it really rains! Then it clears up just as quickly as it comes in. They supply golfing umbrellas and waterproofs in all the rooms

A word of caution which applies to all resorts - when you fly in by sea plane expect to see/hear the sea plane several times a day. This didn't occur to me until we got there and came as a bit of a surprise until I thought about it... That said the turn around's so quick it doesn't really impact your day and it is really impressive to watch them coming in and taking off again.

My only criticisms of this resort are: 1) they could do with buying the watersports centre some new kit. It all works fine (and we had a good windsurfing/sailing instructor) and I can see the business case for not forking out since we were the only people in the 2 weeks that we were there to take out the katamaran and go windsurfing but it is beginning to suffer. 3) The excursions, with the exception of the manta ray safari, are not well advertised either. We only knew about them because we looked them up on the website beforehand. 3) Coming from a country where smoking is banned in public spaces it was a bit of a culture shock to find that smoking is allowed in the restaurant and bar area (but our table in the restaurant was well away from the smokers so this was not a problem for us).

Top tips: 1) pack insect repellent. They fumigate the island which helps but that doesn't kill all the little b******s. 2) bring everything you need - the shop is fairly limited. 3) avoid booking an earlier morning flight home to avoid having to catch a flight to Male at 6am. 4) book to go on the manta ray safari several days in advance, it's very popular.

Room Tip: The side with the widest beach has the furthest to walk to from the beach bungalows and main restaur...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank ASL31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2013

This was our first holiday on a resort island. We have previously visited for a day while on a safari boat.
We arrived off the seaplane and were welcomed on to the island and escorted to reception to check in.

We stayed in a beach bungalow, which was quite basic, but had everything you needed. The bed was large, sheets were changed every day as were all the towels and beach towels. There was a turn down service at night and each night your top sheet woild be folded knto a beautiful pattern.You are not provided with drinking water in the bungalows, but it is freely available in the bar, so you just have to carry it back to the bungalow with you. You have a couple of chairs and table outside on the patio area and two loungers set nearer the sea. We just had a narrow gap down to the beach, only room for the two loungers, which was great and gave us privacy. We did look at upgrading to a water bungalow, but felt that what we had was all we needed. There is no tv, or wifi in the beach bungalows, so it was great to be able to switch off from reality for the duration of the holiday. ( there is Internet cafe near reception, but we didn't bother). We enjoyed sitting outside and watching the geckos, lizards and birds wander about.

Meals were fine, all buffet service, but with a few live chef stations each meal time. We ate mainly from these stations. There was always grilled fish available and usually a curry or dhal. the buffet contained a good variety of options too. Unfortunately the white wine in the restaurant was to my palate undrinkable . There were other wines etc available, but not on the all inclusive, and they were very expensive.

If you are looking for entertainment , then this is not the island for you. It is very quite and peaceful. There is usually something happening at night about 9.30pm for a short time. There was a crab race, a magician, some music, a talk and video by euro divers, bingo. Thankfully nothing that intruded too much into the tranquility of the resort.

The bar is a lovely place to hang out in at different points during the day. We liked the decking area outside, which looked out over the water. The two parrots, the fruit bat and the numerous cats kept us well amused as we sat there.

The staff on the island were lovely. We made a point of talking to quite a few. We learnt how they transplant and grow grass. We heard about the koi carp in the fish pond and how they are cared for. We talked with some of the ladies from the local island, who sweep up leaves on the paths and learned a bit about life on their island. Our room boy, Adam, told us about the tsunami a few years back. The day before we left, he made us a hat from palm breach and mobiles of fish and parrots.

The real beauty though of Velhidu, is its natural beauty. The coral sand is lovely, the water clear. The reef is excellent. We didn't even need to go out of the cut most times to snorkel as there was masses to see by snorkelling over the corals along the beach when the tide was deep enough to allow it. The lagoon area is great for swimming. I think by the time we left we were on first name terms with the three young reef sharks that circled around their territory. We were down at the bottom end of the island and enjoyed walking along the beach to get to the bar and restaurant. Walking along the beach at night with a torch was loads of fun. There were just so many crabs scurrying around trying to get out of the way and in pitch darkness you could turn around and watch all the bioluminescence from the plankton. Wen we were there, the tide was low at night and the corals pop up out of the water. Quite something to see.

Would I recommend it? Yes. Would I go back? Yes.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank timeoutgalashiels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2013

We stayed there for 2 weeks. The staff were friendly and considerate. I enjoyed having full body massage in the spa. The beach is nice, the food is good. At the time we were there, we found that this island have rats, and they were almost everywhere around the island. It make my stayed (as I don't like rats) very uncomfortable. I also, step on one dying rat which was right on the stairs on our bungalow. We spoke to the manager and he offered to change us to a another bungalow, and said that they were working on getting ride of the vermin. But, that wasn't much of a help as this creatures were (as I said) everywhere, specially around the restaurant which was open, so they could run around freely. We don't want to come back here.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank CeciliaHerrera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2013

I stayed there for 6 days 5 night in a water bungalow for my business trip. The staff there are too friendly, food varieties are great for a vegetarian like me! I would recommend their buffet style for breakfast, lunch and dinner, you will not feel bored with their foods as they change their menu everyday!!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank YewShirley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2013

Recently back from 12 days and totally loved the entire place. If you want total peace and quiet, a real 'no shoes, no news' holiday and very little to do, then this is perfect. If you want choices of restaurants and bars, activities, shopping an lots of buzz then you need to go elsewhere as you would hate it.I had read the reviews on here and wondered quite what we'd find, but we have no complaints whatsoever. Our bungalow was very clean - basic yes with no wifi or tv but that is NOT what I came on holiday for. Air conditioned, clean, ample wardrobe space, very large bed, small wet room / shower, loo etc plus your own veranda with a couple of chairs so we sat and chilled watching the wildlife and reading books. The walkways round the island go right past the bungalows, but this is not a problem as you spend little time in them and the island is hardly a bustling metropolis! All bungalows are very close to the sea, either 20 yards to the beach or perhaps 50 through pathways in the undergrowth, via little clearings with sun beds for just the two of you. It is all very private and quiet. There is one retaurant and one bar, both open sided so you can enjoy the fresh air. Food is buffet style and a good choice based on rice / chicken / fish though always something in the potato and veg line too plus pasta. The decking beside the bar is direclty besdie the sea so you can sit and drink, read or just chill while the sea laps up against it. We went in June, rainiy season, but no problem as the rains are quick and it is still very warm. Even on an overcast day it was very warm and you could still burn if not careful. I am not a strong swimmer but enjoyed snorkelling in the lagoon as the sealife is amazing. Others scuba dived and you could take out a catamaran or wind surf or canoe... but I didn't actually see anyone get that energetic! The bar has entertainment most evenings, very low key I think and to be honest we tended to collapse in bed early (the exhaustion from snorkelling and pressing Kindle buttons!). Seaplane flight was fantastic as got to see so many other islands and it added to the fun of the whole thing. We can't wait to go back and will come straight to Velidhu as it suited us perfectly!

Room Tip: Possibly avoid being near the Dive Centre as these back on to the staff quarters?
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank carole t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2013

We didn't actually stay on this island- just called in on day trip from a safari boat. I thought that it was a beautiful island with a very good reef for snorkeling & my fellow passengers said the bar was very nice. However beware- the shop has very little useful stock. Seemed to concentrate on ladies clothing for some reason. It had no aftersun for sale at all and what toiletries & sunlotions it did stock were so expensive compared to what we have paid in other resorts. My partner was getting his head sunburnt so we called in for a bandanna. They charged us 3 times the price we'd paid for 1 on Vilamendhoo in Oct 2012. (Knew I should have packed it!) So please try to take everything you think you will need with you, as the shop will either not have it or charge you an extortionate price if they have.

Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
3  Thank SKIonhols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Velidhoo Island
14.1 mi away
Kandolhu Maldives
Kandolhu Maldives
#1 of 17 in North Ari Atoll
563 reviews
22.4 mi away
Constance Moofushi
Constance Moofushi
#1 of 1 in Moofushi Island
2,131 reviews
9.7 mi away
VOI Maayafushi Resort
VOI Maayafushi Resort
#1 of 1 in Maayafushi Island
1,091 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.3 mi away
Bathala Island Resort
Bathala Island Resort
#1 of 1 in Bathala Island
278 reviews
15.2 mi away
Veligandu Island Resort & Spa
15.9 mi away
Ellaidhoo Maldives by Cinnamon
Ellaidhoo Maldives by Cinnamon
#1 of 1 in Ellaidhoo Island
1,596 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Velidhu Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Velidhu Island Resort

Address: Avi Island
Region: Maldives > Alifu Atoll > North Ari Atoll > Velidhoo Island
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Velidhoo Island
Price Range: £260 - £912 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Velidhu Island Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Agoda, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Velidhu Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Velidhu Island Hotel North Ari Atoll
Hotel Velidhu Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing