We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Total relaxation” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Velidhu Island Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Velidhu Island Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Velidhoo Island
Certificate of Excellence
York, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Total relaxation”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2014

This was our 11th visit to the Maldives but first time to this island. We arrived at velidhu by speedboat which took 1 hour 30 mins, no messing around waiting for seaplanes, we were on the water with a free bottle of water within 10 mins of clearing the airport.

On arrival we were greeted by Paul at the jetty, given a cold towel and a drink then shown to reception to check in. Our room 177, one of the older rooms on the island but well placed for the beach, and all facilities. My only very small gripe with the room was the low water pressure in the shower but it certainly wasn't a major issue. Each room has 2 sunbeds which you can put anywhere on the island, beach towels are replaced daily as are bath and hand towels. Hair dryers are also provided but if like me you take your own and straighteners, the electric is the same so you can plug them straight in no problem.

All meals are served in the restaurant at your allocated table which you keep for your entire stay, the food simply put is amazing, be prepared to pile on the pounds as being buffet style there is so much to choose form that it is very easy to over indulge.

The bar is very well stocked with all premium brand spirits and has an extensive cocktail list, the staff here are great and really make your holiday special. There is a theme each evening starting at 9.30, crab racing, bingo, magic show, disco to name a few.

There is a dive centre which my husband used a lot!! In his opinion this was very well run, friendly staff and plenty of dive options, he did a full day 3 tank dive with lunch on board the boat. Plenty of shark, turtle and manta to be seen. I am a little afraid of water so only a shallow water snorkeler, there were lots of corals for me to look at and as with all the Maldives the fish life is amazing. My first snorkel was with octopus, turtle and baby sharks.

There is also a spa on the island which I visited twice for massage, totally relaxing and around $90 dollars for a one hour full body massage, again my only slight gripe is that they do not play gentle soothing music during the treatment as you would expect, being situated next to the small sports field that the staff use to play football late afternoon, just as you relax you hear the bang of the football and the shouts between players.

I would highly recommend this island and it would be on my would return list however I would recommend you take plenty of mosquito repellant, they do fog the island but you still need some extra protection, I think I was used as target practice for them on the first few days before fogging started. Also the island does not have wifi, this was not a problem for me but if you feel the need to stay connected to the outside world it may be. There is a PC which you can use at a cost of $10 per half hour but please be careful there is no security and our email was hacked.

All in all this was a great relaxing holiday and I would say well worth the money, if you want to totally chill out and forget what the rest of the world is doing then this is a great place to be.

One last thing, if you go to the bar around sunset time, ask the bar staff for a slice of orange, there are 2 wild parrots that will come and sit on your shoulder to eat it !!

Room Tip: We stayed in117 which we thought was the best room however water bungalows were lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank lynnfranks66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

454 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    228
    165
    35
    15
    11
See reviews for
47
336
14
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Harrow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2014

This island had everything we wanted. Peace and quiet, good food, attentive staff, comfortable beds, and an aquarium at your door. We found it strange that the days went so quickly when all we did was swim and eat, and twice a day walked round the island, which took all of 20 minutes. I did get through 15 books in our 2 weeks there but could not stay out of the water as there were so many different fish to see. Arriving by sea plane was a delight passing over all the other atolls in the turqoise sea, how could you not have a wonderful time.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Patricia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saunderton
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2014

We returned to Velidhu in February for our 6th visit (1st for 5 years) not only to see all our lovely friends who work on the island but to also celebrate our 40th wedding anniversary. It was great to feel relaxed the minute we arrived, Mr. Paul is a great addition and asset to the island - a mover and groover on a Friday night!

It was also really nice to see guests from previous visits.

Nothing has changed much except perhaps the shape of the island but then every day is different, its such a great place to chill out, feel at home and relax. The house reef is fantastic and even under the water bungalows the coral has grown and there are lovely fish to see. We had a resident Oriental Sweetlips under the bungalow the whole time we were there also had Eagle Rays, Stingrays and sharks swimming around.

Everyone has their own expectations of the Maldives but if you want peace, tranquility, back to basics but excellent service and good food - Velidhu hits the spot everytime.

We'd like to say thanks to - Mr. Paul, Gamage, "A-RUN", Bandara, Upali, Frances,our friend Sanwar, Rajip, Ansela, our waiter Achram, our room boy Momin and absolutely everyone (apologies if we forgot names) for making our holiday so special. We were sad to leave but hopefully will be back next year.

Room Tip: Beach bungalows by lagoon are good Water bungalows on sunset side
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SteBarSaunderton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2014

beautiful island, great atmosphere, great food, superb housereef... ideal for all those who like snorkelling and diving.We saw sharks, turtles, stingrays, sea eagles.. lots of coral and beautiful tropical fish.
Relaxing doesn't come too difficult either:-)
Not to be missed: the Manta safari and the snorkelling tour with the fast boat.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SandokanZH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2013

We had 2 weeks in mid October 2013 and stayed in a beach bungalow, all inclusive. Having read previous reviews we were not sure what to expect. For anyone in any doubt: this is an extremely well thought out resort and the staff extremely friendly and helpful. The resort is very informal and are happy for you to wonder around barefoot everywhere and only ask that you have a bit more on than swimwear when you are in the restaurant.

If you have any worries about there only being one restaurant they should be quickly forgotten as the food here is amazing - delicious and plenty of variety, with a very drinkable house wine. Our waiter was very attentive and considerate. The bar staff are very friendly and fun loving. Everything is charged back to your room and settled at the end but since not all guests are all inclusive you sign for everything regardless.

I'm intrigued that people have complained that the rooms are basic. Why are you spending a small fortune travelling half way around the world to lock yourself away in a hotel room watching TV and surfing the internet when you can do that at home??? There is paradise on your doorstep! The bungalows have a very comfortable kingsize bed in a spacious room with a normal size bathroom off the side and a large covered veranda with deck chairs out front. Everything is kept spotless, works and when we managed to break the flush on the toilet it was fixed straight away. Yes there are one or two components that look a little tired but I have had the good fortune to have stayed in apparently posh 5 star hotels and been horrified to frequently find the floors and bathroom not clean and the bed uncomfortable. It looked to me as if our room had been recently redecorated and they were replacing the thatching on the roofs. Air conditioning units are noisy in all hotels I have stayed in and actually we decided it was too cold at night with it turned on so we used the ceiling fan instead. Each bungalow has a pair of sun loungers allocated to each bungalow and little clearings cut away in the vegetation to hid away from the rest of the world and have your own private space if you wish.

To address the question of rats - we didn't see any. We did see about 6 or 7 very determined looking cats who will chase anything that moves and are definitely not pets (although will be your best friend if you feed them titbits smuggled out of the kitchen as our neighbours were doing).

The house reef - only one word for it - wow! Hundreds of fish species too many to list and highights included: moray eels, eagle rays, sting rays, reef sharks, sea turtles, lion fish, feather stars...no need to go diving we saw all of those snorkelling. That said my diving husband was very happy with the dive centre too. His only disappointment being that not enough people could be persuaded to get up at 4am to dive for hammerhead sharks.

We had mixed weather - when it rains it really rains! Then it clears up just as quickly as it comes in. They supply golfing umbrellas and waterproofs in all the rooms

A word of caution which applies to all resorts - when you fly in by sea plane expect to see/hear the sea plane several times a day. This didn't occur to me until we got there and came as a bit of a surprise until I thought about it... That said the turn around's so quick it doesn't really impact your day and it is really impressive to watch them coming in and taking off again.

My only criticisms of this resort are: 1) they could do with buying the watersports centre some new kit. It all works fine (and we had a good windsurfing/sailing instructor) and I can see the business case for not forking out since we were the only people in the 2 weeks that we were there to take out the katamaran and go windsurfing but it is beginning to suffer. 3) The excursions, with the exception of the manta ray safari, are not well advertised either. We only knew about them because we looked them up on the website beforehand. 3) Coming from a country where smoking is banned in public spaces it was a bit of a culture shock to find that smoking is allowed in the restaurant and bar area (but our table in the restaurant was well away from the smokers so this was not a problem for us).

Top tips: 1) pack insect repellent. They fumigate the island which helps but that doesn't kill all the little b******s. 2) bring everything you need - the shop is fairly limited. 3) avoid booking an earlier morning flight home to avoid having to catch a flight to Male at 6am. 4) book to go on the manta ray safari several days in advance, it's very popular.

Room Tip: The side with the widest beach has the furthest to walk to from the beach bungalows and main restaur...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank ASL31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
galashiels
Level Contributor
52 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2013

This was our first holiday on a resort island. We have previously visited for a day while on a safari boat.
We arrived off the seaplane and were welcomed on to the island and escorted to reception to check in.

We stayed in a beach bungalow, which was quite basic, but had everything you needed. The bed was large, sheets were changed every day as were all the towels and beach towels. There was a turn down service at night and each night your top sheet woild be folded knto a beautiful pattern.You are not provided with drinking water in the bungalows, but it is freely available in the bar, so you just have to carry it back to the bungalow with you. You have a couple of chairs and table outside on the patio area and two loungers set nearer the sea. We just had a narrow gap down to the beach, only room for the two loungers, which was great and gave us privacy. We did look at upgrading to a water bungalow, but felt that what we had was all we needed. There is no tv, or wifi in the beach bungalows, so it was great to be able to switch off from reality for the duration of the holiday. ( there is Internet cafe near reception, but we didn't bother). We enjoyed sitting outside and watching the geckos, lizards and birds wander about.

Meals were fine, all buffet service, but with a few live chef stations each meal time. We ate mainly from these stations. There was always grilled fish available and usually a curry or dhal. the buffet contained a good variety of options too. Unfortunately the white wine in the restaurant was to my palate undrinkable . There were other wines etc available, but not on the all inclusive, and they were very expensive.

If you are looking for entertainment , then this is not the island for you. It is very quite and peaceful. There is usually something happening at night about 9.30pm for a short time. There was a crab race, a magician, some music, a talk and video by euro divers, bingo. Thankfully nothing that intruded too much into the tranquility of the resort.

The bar is a lovely place to hang out in at different points during the day. We liked the decking area outside, which looked out over the water. The two parrots, the fruit bat and the numerous cats kept us well amused as we sat there.

The staff on the island were lovely. We made a point of talking to quite a few. We learnt how they transplant and grow grass. We heard about the koi carp in the fish pond and how they are cared for. We talked with some of the ladies from the local island, who sweep up leaves on the paths and learned a bit about life on their island. Our room boy, Adam, told us about the tsunami a few years back. The day before we left, he made us a hat from palm breach and mobiles of fish and parrots.

The real beauty though of Velhidu, is its natural beauty. The coral sand is lovely, the water clear. The reef is excellent. We didn't even need to go out of the cut most times to snorkel as there was masses to see by snorkelling over the corals along the beach when the tide was deep enough to allow it. The lagoon area is great for swimming. I think by the time we left we were on first name terms with the three young reef sharks that circled around their territory. We were down at the bottom end of the island and enjoyed walking along the beach to get to the bar and restaurant. Walking along the beach at night with a torch was loads of fun. There were just so many crabs scurrying around trying to get out of the way and in pitch darkness you could turn around and watch all the bioluminescence from the plankton. Wen we were there, the tide was low at night and the corals pop up out of the water. Quite something to see.

Would I recommend it? Yes. Would I go back? Yes.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
11 Thank timeoutgalashiels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kents Bank, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2013

We stayed there for 2 weeks. The staff were friendly and considerate. I enjoyed having full body massage in the spa. The beach is nice, the food is good. At the time we were there, we found that this island have rats, and they were almost everywhere around the island. It make my stayed (as I don't like rats) very uncomfortable. I also, step on one dying rat which was right on the stairs on our bungalow. We spoke to the manager and he offered to change us to a another bungalow, and said that they were working on getting ride of the vermin. But, that wasn't much of a help as this creatures were (as I said) everywhere, specially around the restaurant which was open, so they could run around freely. We don't want to come back here.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank CeciliaHerrera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Velidhoo Island
9.7 mi away
VOI Maayafushi Resort
VOI Maayafushi Resort
#1 of 1 in Maayafushi Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 989 reviews
12.4 mi away
Bathala Island Resort
Bathala Island Resort
#1 of 1 in Bathala Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 261 reviews
14.1 mi away
Kandolhu Maldives
Kandolhu Maldives
#1 of 17 in North Ari Atoll
5.0 of 5 bubbles 479 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.1 mi away
Veligandu Island Resort & Spa
12.1 mi away
Kuramathi Island Resort
Kuramathi Island Resort
#1 of 1 in Kuramathi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,632 reviews
4.6 mi away
Gangehi Island Resort
Gangehi Island Resort
#1 of 1 in Gangehi Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 815 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Velidhu Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Velidhu Island Resort

Property: Velidhu Island Resort
Address: Avi Island
Region: Maldives > Alifu Atoll > North Ari Atoll > Velidhoo Island
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Velidhoo Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:3 star — Velidhu Island Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Velidhu Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Velidhu Island Hotel North Ari Atoll
Hotel Velidhu Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing