We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing island, great food”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Gangehi Island Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Gangehi Island
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 August 2014

Great team here, it is a small hotel and you get to know the staff well. It is more rustic than super-luxury but that's its charm and it was better value than some of the big brand 5 star hotels in the Maldives. We felt very welcome at all times. We were in villa 4 which was on a small beach, absolutely perfect and a good choice. The food was excellent, strong Italian influence (Italian managed and large number of Italian guests) and huge variety (always a concern when you go for all inclusive, but here we were really impressed). The canoeing is fun but if you want a bat and ball bring your own! The snorkelling is good and the scuba team are great, Stefano took us out on our first scuba and he was very calm, professional and knowledgable. The amount of wildlife and the quality of beaches was incredible. You won't be disappointed.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
3  Thank originaltravelbug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (903)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

187 - 193 of 904 reviews

Reviewed 13 August 2014

This is what we all dream about,- paradise on a tiny island out in the sea. Lazy life, bathing both in the sea as in the sun. The sea is like a aquarium,- full of fish and life. If you can afford it, rent a cabin out in the sea on the beach. If you can`t afford it, it`s very nice rooms on shore as well. The Italien restaurant serve excellent food and have the best service. I will give credit to the personell on the island, who do a splended job in all Levels. Thank you for the best holliday ever.

Room Tip: If you can afford it, rent a cabin out in the sea right on the beach. If you can`t afford it, it`s v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank 4740Tveit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We went to Gangehi Island from 28th July to 4th August for our honeymoon. What can I say....paradise! We stayed in a beach villa, number 13. We asked for no 10-14 after seeing somebody elses review on here, as it is far enough away from reception, bar and sea plane jetty.
The villa was amazing, huge bed, air con and minifridge (soft drinks are free if you are all inclusive). There are no toiletries so make sure you take your own. You need a european two pin plug (voltage is 240vac), as this is one of the things we wanted to know.
All inclusive you get free use of the snorkling equipment, all meals, and the drinks that have a star next to them but there is a good selection and pretty much guaranteed to like something. The men at the bar are great, very polite and will serve your drinks to your table. We gave them all a five dollar tip, as with our waiter as we had the same man every night, don't know what his name was but he always had a big smile on his face. We loved going to breakfast and dinner in bare feet! The buffet provides a big selection, they have Maldivian night on Friday and Italian on Sunday. Food was good.
The room was cleaned every morning and then again while you are at dinner. We gave him a tip at the end of the week and it is 'expected' to give him a two dollar tip for every bag he takes to the room for you.
I normally get attacked by mosquitoes but I didn't get bitten once, although I did spray myself every evening. The island does a mossie disinfection on Wednesday I think. I unfortuantely got bad prickly heat, which since returning home I have found out that it is a regular thing for people visiting the Maldives , so take a treatment!
Peaceful, tranquil, beautiful. A honeymoon of a lifetime.

Room Tip: Chose beach villa 10-14 as they are the quieter ones.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Hannakie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014

The island is fantastic and relaxing; really gorgeous but if traveling with family like us, should come prepared. Even bottled water on first day of check out is not free. Everything comes with an extra cost (read; expensive plus government tax plus city tax plus service charge.)

Some of the staff are really friendly and accommodating; others depends on their mood.

Being a family traveler who are used to 'take out' food from the breakfast buffet (learned this from Disneyland Paris fellow mums!) for kids lunch food, we were reprimanded for taking out food from breakfast buffet by the waiter - ouch! A bit offended of course but since there was blatant signs (Signage: Taking out food from the buffet is not allowed.) we understood as he was only doing his job. Still find this too uncool though. We even had to note that the donuts were for the kids, no exemption apparently!

What booked to be a "value deal" turned out to be really expensive holiday. A 1500USD bill in booking.com turned out to be almost 5000USD for family of five. Read the fine prints really carefully. With expensive seaplane and loads of tax, the relaxing holiday may turn out to be very costly.

Despite all that, our kids had a blast and didn't want to leave the island. The marine biologist is really good with our 8-year old daughter during snorkeling which is a free activity arranged by resort everyday. ( had to rent the snorkel equipment per day; ended up 32Euro for five days) She will cherish those snorkeling days and we think we have discovered her passion in life.

We believe that all the family who are staying in the beach villa are "clumped together" in one area so as not to bother couples who are into romantic getaway. Worked well for us as we could be a noisy bunch.

In summary, a good and expensive holiday.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Turknoys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2014 via mobile

Around the Island, the view is Fantastic.
Overall Experience of Resort, was fairly Good.
Issue on arrival also during stay.
Seaplane; our luggage arrived late, we waited 8/10 hours.
Hotel reception take little interest in this is and say it's Sea Plane company issue, but I said we pay the Hotel Resort; not Sea Plane Company, still nothing you can do about this issue, we were not the only people to have issues.
Shower Hot then Cold nothing consistent / Toilet did not flush blocked also did not work correctly.
Reception staff are not easy to discuss with; sorry to say; but it's true, they have little interest in helping you.
After pushing hard the issues were solved, I asked to see the manager, I did after 2 days.

We were upgraded on the last 2 nights to a water deluxe villa.
This was Wonderful, but the beach villa we had was also good when everything is working well.

We were not even shown around Island or made aware of daily activities, we found out for ourselves.
Island has been opened 4 years and you can tell, it need some updating to bring it to a 4/5 Star, I would rate the Hotel as 3 Star.

Diving Center Excellent, also people different management team, not run by the resort.

Yoga Teacher; Excellent.
Marine Biologist; Excellent, snorkeling trip was out of this world.
Italian Chefs 2; Maldives Chefs; Excellent.
Food was great; little comment breakfast is nothing to write home about standard buffet.

Also we were all inclusive, lunch / dinner was excellent breakfast / snacks through the day are really disappointing if Macdonalds was on the resort you would go for breakfast and snacks far superior.

House keeper / Waiter were Excellent.

Boutique; very good, if you have large wallet, very expensive for basic items.

Management Team is very poor, Resort is managed by Italians.

The above is factual...........



Stayed: July 2014
3  Thank GL123456L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gangehi, Manager at Gangehi Island Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2014

Thanks for taking time to write a review.
We are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us.

You missed to write that the management offered you a dinner in our a’ la carte restaurant to apologize about the delayed delivery of luggage even if it does not depend on the hotel. There is one seaplane company in Maldives and for safety reasons they cannot exceed the maximum weight allowed to fly. They give priority to the passengers so they do not have to wait for a long time at seaplane terminal. In this specific case the receptionist called many times the seaplane company to have the luggage on the island as soon as possible.

Due to the inconvenience in the bathroom of the first stay room, the management offered you the free upgrade in overwater deluxe for the last two nights plus the late check-out complimentary.

Our warm and caring staff is working every day to improve our service and tries to make guests stay one to happily remember.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2014

By the far the most expensive place I have ever stayed in in all my years of travelling but worth it. Was there coz I was searching for a place that costs below S$100 per night and this was the only place that came up. Even though it was slightly more than $100. But seeing the photos I was hooked!

It was 20 mins away from Male by sea plane (USD$420).

Booked into the over water standard villa but got upgraded to the over water deluxe villa! Awesome! Maybe it being my birthday week was a little more magical? =P

Room was HUGE. A toliet. A shower area. A dressing table. A his and her wash area. A nice comfy bed with huge spaces to walk around and a balcony with sunbeds and deck chairs! With stairs leading down straight into the sea! Oh my!!

Staff were superb and remembered us by names. Place was clean. Dive sites were near (yes I went on 5 dives! - coz they have an in-house PADI centre!) And even from our stairs from the room we could see the marine life below!

Food was quite western and limited. But it was after all on an island. Don't go expecting too much!

Great for a short getaway!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank starzdevil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014 via mobile

We booked this resort for our 2nd year anniversary simply because the island looks cute and small.. We believe that it'll be quite underrated. So yes indeed it is underrated! We tried 3 different rooms. 1. Deluxe overwater villa is our absolute favourite - interior Is minimalist but classic. 2. Standard overwater villa - our least favourite, lack of privacy as you can see your neighbours, claustrophobic because the room is small and with that small outdoor space makes you feel trapped 3. Beach villa - 2nd favourite because you have direct access to the beach and it was beautiful
Went diving, saw some sharks manta rays and some other nice underwater wonders. Friendly staff, and good daily themed" breakfast. we paid for a very good price for 4 nights all inclusive with seaplane and complimentary 30mins massage as compare to similar class of resort. You shouldn't look anywhere else and book gangehi for your Maldives holiday!

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nurul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gangehi Island
17.4 mi away
Kandolhu Maldives
Kandolhu Maldives
#1 of 17 in North Ari Atoll
589 reviews
23.2 mi away
Constance Moofushi
Constance Moofushi
#1 of 1 in Moofushi Island
2,166 reviews
4.6 mi away
Velidhu Island Resort
Velidhu Island Resort
#1 of 1 in Velidhoo Island
483 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Nika Island Resort & Spa
Nika Island Resort & Spa
#1 of 1 in Kudafolhudhoo Island
542 reviews
19.9 mi away
Ellaidhoo Maldives by Cinnamon
Ellaidhoo Maldives by Cinnamon
#1 of 1 in Ellaidhoo Island
1,630 reviews
18.6 mi away
Veligandu Island Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gangehi Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gangehi Island Resort

Address:
Region: Maldives > Alifu Atoll > North Ari Atoll > Gangehi Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Gangehi Island
Price Range: £161 - £1,138 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Gangehi Island Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gangehi Island Resort is an ideal place of stay for travelers seeking privacy and comfort of luxury resort in one the most wonderful reefs in the world. This resort is situated within easy reach of the Male airport only 20 minutes. The hotel also offers a pleasant stay with the graceful and stylish villas as well as a gourmet Italian cuisine. Guests can enjoy the main attractions of Maldives diving to see the manta rays and whale sharks. The resort offers guests a wide range of activities, including spa, massage, fitness center and water spots (non-motorized). Shop, bar/pub, room service, laundry service/dry cleaning, restaurant are just some of the facilities of this property. Gangehi Island Resort ensures great hospitality throughout your stay with the efficient service and wide array of features. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Southall Travel, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Ebookers, HotelsClick and Cancelon so you can book your Gangehi Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gangehi Island Hotel North Ari Atoll

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing