We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Value Hotel on Paradise Island”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
VOI Maayafushi Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 January 2012

Just got back from a 10 day break at Maayafushi Island Resort. We were the only other English couple staying on the Island - the majority of guests were Italian and some Swiss and French too. We felt this was an advantage as we like meeting people from other parts of the world. Everyone was great. The guests were a mix of couples and families. The children were v well behaved.
The reef of the Island is simply AMAZING - we swam with baby sharks, mantas, found Nemo! and an abundance of beautiful tropical fish literally outside our door step. We even saw dolphins one evening, swimming about 2 meters from the edge of the reef. You can walk around the entire island in 10 minutes. The beach is huge and beautiful with powder white and. It is simply breath taking.
The rooms and the beach were kept clean at all times. It was literally spotless. The rooms were very basic (only shampoo provided in bathroom, no soaps or creams) but cleaned x3 a day. Location of beach bungalows is excellent - literally with the sea at your door step.
Entertainment staff were fantastic. You are on holiday to relax and have fun and laughter. And they certainly provide that. Plus you can do yoga, pilates and water aerobics daily which was a bonus. We took the night fishing excursion, turtle island and desert island which were v enjoyable, well organised and v good value.
Fresh fish served everyday which we loved.
Things that can be improved:
- The food was plentiful but lacking in variety and quality of bread (for breakfast) can be improved. Also invest in some hot plates to keep it warm!
- The deck chairs are plastic and do not have any mattresses/cushion. I expect that in a 4* resort for added comfort and does not cost much.
- The caged birds: this was v upsetting! We are not living in the middle ages here. There is so much emphasis on preserving marine life and it is a shame that this respect cannot be extended to other wildlife. These beautiful tropical birds are packed up in a small cage and it is v disturbing. The guests are not interested in seeing trapped wildlife. I wish management would set them free. It was deeply upsetting.
These are our only 3 criticisms but we want to end on a positive note and say that this really is a beautiful island with fantastic staff. It is not the lap of luxury but you get what you pay for and it is v v clean and comfortable enough. We went for the snorkeling and got more than we expected.

Room Tip: Ask for the beach bungalows - much nicer than the water bungalows. And if you can go for rooms 25 to...
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Simsim80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,085)
There are newer reviews for VOI Maayafushi Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

36 - 42 of 1,085 reviews

Reviewed 29 May 2011

This was our 30th wedding anniversary and what a great place to spend it.
We were one of the few aussie's that go there. I don't know why they don't. It is truly a lovely place. There wasn't many English speaking people when we were there but it wasn't a problem. We were involved in everything. The staff go out of their way to make you feel a part of everything and so did the other guests.
The food was so nice and so much to choose from. We had a beach bungalow and it was very nice . Cleaned a couple of times a day and great air conditioning.
The snorkelling was great. The reef was beautiful, with so many fish we haven,t seen before. There was sharks, turtles and stingrays, as well as schools of squid swimming around.
The animation team were so nice. They do a great job and we found the entertainment great compared to other island holidays we have had in the past.. I had a massage and it was the best I have ever had.
The prices were good as far as the mini bar went. You could buy a Coronna for $4.50 US and spirits were $6.00.
When you arrive you take off you shoes and don't put them n util you leave. The sand is like talcum powder. It is an amazing place. We loved it and thought the staff were the best.
Must go back!!!

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank marnology
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2011

We were there for our honeymoon, stayed in one of the bunglows by the beach. Beautiful water and the view was spectacular. The food was ok but the staff was very friendly. I recommend the spa, It was one of the best massages I ever had. It becomes very quite at night. I wish there was more entertainment.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank pkil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2010

We visited in early December and the weather was still a bit unsettled. We were able to snorkel on the lovely house reef but trips out to deep water snorkelling were off at the time. Room ok and kept clean. Food average , fairly boring but there was always fresh fish and salads which were both good. Guests mainly Italian who largely ignore non Italians! Surly omelette chef in the mornings! Very pleasant waiters and bar staff. Would not return there though as they allow smoking everywhere in the restaurant which in this day and age is quite outdated and unpleasant to non smokers! As the only option is buffet 3 times a day there is no way of avoiding the puffers!

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
17  Thank Robinho_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2010

The island is very beautiful. Not too big , not too small. Beach is fantastic and the reef too. Only a few overwater bungalows, just enough because I do not like them. Food excellent. Personnel too ! Very very kind and gentle. Total relax for 2 weeks. I will try to go there again !!

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Angelo N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2010

Flight
Flight with Emirates Boeing 777-300er was actually quite painfully, the seats were somewhat uncomfortable as the edge of the seat was raised it applied pressure to the back of thighs and knee. The flight from Dubai to Male on the Boeing 777-200er was somewhat better.

Seaplane transfer although quite pricey was great, not much waiting around and offered great views of Male and the other islands. Good picture taking opportunities. It took 20 minutes by Seaplane. The Seaplane airport is on the other side of the island approximately a 10 minute shuttle bus ride.

Resort - upon arrival we were welcomed by a member of the animation team. The resort is based on a small island and the only thing on the island is the resort itself. There are no local inhabitants. The resort is run by an italian company as such majority of the guests tend to be Italian. Although on this occasion there was a good mixture of guests from Switzerland, France and Germany. We had one of the beach villas which wasnt actually on the beach, although only a minute away. There are other beach villas which are actually on the beach itself. The room that we had is one of the newer ones as it does not appear on the map. It consisted of a single block with four adjacent rooms and then four rooms on top.

The room itself is basic, it had a king size bed, wardrobe, refridgerator, indoor open shower, two basins. The rooms were cleaned twice a day as everyone tends to walk barefooted all throughout the day. (Even in the restaurants). The sockets are 3 pin UK style although they provide multi-function adaptors. We had a great porch with chairs and table outside.

The resort only has one restaurant, as an All inclusive resort the soft drinks, white wine and beer is included. Other drinks can be purchased. There is a mixture of italian and local food (which consists of steamed and oven baked fish, mild curries). The standard of the food is just above average. The italian food must have been good as I didnt see any locals complaining. The resort does serve pork although not everyday. The food does vary enough and some days it includes grilled fishes, chicken, lamb etc. The deserts include apple/pineapple tarts, crepes, fresh pineapple, watermelons and papaya.

The resort also has a seperate bar and coffee shop. The bar is reasonablly priced, most brand name drinks are not included as All Inclusive and prices start from 6USD. The coffee shop has All Inclusive filter coffee, tea, and soft drinks. Espresso is 3 USD and Ice Creams around 4 USD. The bill is tallied up at the end of the week and paid for before depature. They only take USD/Euro or Visa. They do not accept GBP.

There is a souvenier shop on the island, most of the souveniers can be purchased from the airport and at a cheaper rate. There are some Maayafushi specific items such as plates with pictures of the island. Everything else is standard souveniers like key rings, pens and fridge magnets.

The animation team is great and take the time to chat you everyday. They also have various cabaret nights where they do sketch shows and the guests particpate. Its multilingual but amuzing enough to keep you entertained for the evening. One thing to note, the last sketch on the last day was a bit disappointing - lets just say many people would find it offensive. Activitiies organised by the animation team include snorkelling, diving, canoeing, wind surfing, kayaking, night snorkelling, etc. some activities are chargeable but not expensive. Snokerlling around an adjacent island costs around 20USD per person. Snorkleing and diving kit can be hired on site.

There is a massage centre on the island with prices starting from 45 USD for a 45 min massage. I must say I had one oft he best massages there and would recommend the serenity full body massage to anyone.

All in all the island is generally clean, we had 2-3 days of sunshine with an average temp of 32 degrees. It was overcast on some days but still hot and welcomed.

For the costs it was worth it as we had a fun, yet relaxing time on the island.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank londonhaks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2010

My husband and I spent 5 nights at Maayafushi, which we chose primarily for the snorkeling, and we were not disappointed. We stayed in a beach bungalow directly in front of the 2nd outlet to the reef, so we were literally steps from exploring the house reef. We traveled with our 9 month old daughter, so our room location was very convenient for taking turns snorkeling, plus the island has little walkways built out into the water, and I could walk my daughter out there and literally point to tropical fish swimming right beneath us. The house reef was AMAZING and swarming with incredible fish and coral. We also took 2 snorkel excursions, which were fun but the house reef was better quality. Our room was simple and comfortable, and the outdoor bathroom was definitely a fun feature. The island is tastefully appointed, the grounds are well-kept, and the service is friendly. The food was also excellent - they offer a large diverse buffet and we enjoyed each meal. We basically would wake up, have breakfast, go snorkel, have lunch, go snorkel, have some drinks before dinner, then eat dinner and go to bed after a stroll on the beach. It was heaven, and I highly recommend taking off your shoes as soon as you get there - you will not need them until you leave!

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JLBanks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Maayafushi Island
5.0 mi away
Kandolhu Maldives
Kandolhu Maldives
#1 of 17 in North Ari Atoll
554 reviews
17.1 mi away
Constance Moofushi
Constance Moofushi
#1 of 1 in Moofushi Island
2,105 reviews
3.9 mi away
Bathala Island Resort
Bathala Island Resort
#1 of 1 in Bathala Island
276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.7 mi away
Diamonds Thudufushi
Diamonds Thudufushi
#1 of 1 in Thudufushi Island
795 reviews
13.6 mi away
Gangehi Island Resort
Gangehi Island Resort
#1 of 1 in Gangehi Island
873 reviews
6.3 mi away
Ellaidhoo Maldives by Cinnamon
Ellaidhoo Maldives by Cinnamon
#1 of 1 in Ellaidhoo Island
1,586 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to VOI Maayafushi Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about VOI Maayafushi Resort

Address:
Region: Maldives > Alifu Atoll > North Ari Atoll > Maayafushi Island
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Maayafushi Island
Price Range: £249 - £953 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — VOI Maayafushi Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the northern part of the Ari Atoll, the little island of Maayafushi is a crescent of soft white sand, protected by the reef and by clear water lagoon. The VOI Maayafushi resort surrounded by calm and crystalline water and by a coral reef filled with a coloured fauna is well known to snorkelling enthusiasts, while its proximity to seabed of magnificent beauty, makes this island the perfect destination for diving lovers. Typical Italian dishes are served in the main restaurant, together with international specialities. For water sports lovers, windsurfing and canoeing are available free of charge. Catamaran, snorkelling gears and tours are available. For guests seeking a relaxing holiday, gymnastic, table tennis and volley. Daily and night entertainment program and piano bar music together with a professional animation team. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your VOI Maayafushi Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maayafushi Island Hotel North Ari Atoll
Hotel Maayafushi Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing