We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First time in Maldives, great experience!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
VOI Maayafushi Resort
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“First time in Maldives, great experience!”
Reviewed 23 April 2014

Only stayed for three nights but what a beautiful and peaceful place! The staff was very friendly, food was great and there was a lot of different activities (diving, snorkeling, wind surfing, kayaking, beach volley, ping-pong, spa, gym) to do if you ever got restless of lying in the sun. Stayed in a Beach Bungalow which was very nice and clean.
The evening entertainment in the bar was mostly in Italian, which I don't understand, but the guitarist/keyboardplayer/singer was awesome! I definitely want to visit again!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Richi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,043 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    645
    303
    68
    20
    7
See reviews for
164
702
15
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Verona, Italy
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2014 via mobile

We went to Maaya the last days of march. The sea is amazing with light blue/green water, the reef is awesome, the beach is one of the best beach I have on ever.
Every room includes direct acces to the beach and if u are lucky you could enjoy, direct from your room, breathtaking views.
The quality of food is very good and various (buffet style).
I would definetely recommend this resort!
If u go there u will experience a fantastic/relaxing holiday.

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Absolut74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva, Switzerland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2014

The beach was great and superbly kept, the sea the usual maldivian paradise, all the grounds were extremely well kept, the food varied and of very good quality, especially the fish, available at every meal in many different forms (grilled, roasted, boiled, sushi, marinated, cooked in a sauce..), and the pastas (very well cooked, great seasonings). Nice little gym (with AC), well organised Dive Center (with 2 daily excursions, extra pay around 30 dollars each), Beach Point (canoes and windsurf available for free, catamaran 22 dollars for 30 minutes, and must be driven by the Beach Point sport guy - this is not great if you are a good sailor and want to go on your own), Spa Center (massages of a dozen different types, 70-80 dollars per hour), ping pong, calcetto, bocce and beach volley for recreation. There is animation (mostly in italian - 80% of guests are italian) at the Resort (aqua gym at 12, other activities at Beach point, in morning and afternoon, evening show at 10:30 pm), which we did not think was necessary (although many italians like it and seem to require it, maybe they feel abandoned without a parent figure to guide and entertain them). The staff is very friendly and helpful, waiters and cooks also. Espresso coffee and cappuccino are not part of the all included deal, and cost a lot (4 dollars 50 plus tax!). No cash is used at the Resort, there is a system of paper receipts, and at the end you are given a bill for all the extras (excursions, massages, not included drinks, rentals, etc). There is a kind of penny-pinching italian bureaucratic and paternalistic attitude that we saw in three things: internet is not free, but sold by time of use, and only on one device at a time. Even if you buy wifi for a whole week (91 dollars plus tax) you can only use it on one device. This is obviously to discourage people from sharing their access code with others, but it is rather absurd since most resorts of a certain level simply provide (and should provide) free unlimited wifi access to all. Second, at the bars (the beach bar, where you can go with costume, and the main bar, where you must be dressed) clients are asked to provide room number and sign a receipt for what they have (even just a tea or a glass of water or juice), even though it is part of the "All included" deal (e.g. all drinks in a glass or cup, excluding canned sodas, bottled drinks, and spirits). We thought it was a completely unjustified and unnecessary harassment, and when we challenged the manager he ridiculously answered that it was to "keep inventory" (a glass of water or a cup of coffee?). Third, when you have a massage, first you sign a slip at the SPA, with room number and name, but this is not enough. You must go to the reception, and have your slip verified and stamped for approval, then go back, have your massage, and after it sign again on another slip your name, that you did have a massage: this is control-freak italian bureaucracy at its worst! Apart from these aspects, it was a great vacation, we would go back, and we recommend it, especially if you are italian (you have a better chance to socialise with other guests-if you wish to).

Room Tip: Rooms 40 to 60 have best location facing south-west, those around 20 are facing east and people walk...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Sandra02567
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2013

If you were debating whether to spend time in Italy, or alternatively to go to the Maldives, then this is for you.
Everyone speaks Italian, there is pasta and pizza, and only the Chianti did not find its way onto the regular menu.
Even the parrot speaks Italian (“Alora”)

The guests were maybe 50% Italian speaking, but all of them were very cultivated, multi-lingual and really great company.
Unfortunately this cannot be said for everything: at around 10pm , just after dinner (Italian dining times), the evening entertainment starts:
volume up to 90+ decibels (no escape: you can even faintly hear it in your bungalow, doors closed) and a deluge of fast spoken Italian. It reminded me of afternoon TV shows.
This is when the bar is divided between those who understand and enjoy and those who don’t (and leave). This is literally an exclusive experience.

But there is lots to do until 10pm : the island has a nice house reef, we even saw a manta in the lagoon (!) , the diving team is friendly and tries hard to meet your needs, food is good, and the all-inclusive principle makes sure there are no financial surprises when you leave. A doctor on the island is an additional plus.

The bungalows themselves are correct, the bathrooms look very contemporary, but otherwise the overall the decoration starts to be somewhat dated, but it is still ok.

Room Tip: stay on the side of the sialnd which is opposite to the jetty (plane landing)
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank thomas12345xyz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2013

This is an extremely well run resort with impeccable nature.

1 - clean and well run. This place has been here for about 40 years apparently so everything is not brand new but very clean. Bathrooms and porches with porch furniture seems very recently renovated. Restaurant and bar furniture is super clean and new looking.

2 - Price is amazing. For low season, the price for 2 people all inclusive was unbeatable. Really good value.

3 - Nature is amazing. House reef has sharks, manta (saw 1), sting rays, tons of fish. One of the better house reefs in the Maldives as I understood from other guests. You can see sharks and rays from the beach! Lots of nice birds, white beach nice water.

4 - you can borrow kayaks and windsurfing board for free!

5 - drinks unlimited from 1 till midnight or something like that. No red wine included though, it is hard to bring drinks back to your room, you need to take it in a tiny plastic cup. Mini bar prices are not too bad, 5 usd for a corona roughly. Free beer was not bad!

6 - food was OK. good variety, most of it was like a normal home cooked meal. always several choices, always dessert and coffee.

7 - you get assigned a waiter for dinner and lunch and breakfast. ours was fantastic! expect to tip.

8 - scuba was amazing but very expensive, about 100 usd per 1 tank dive if you need to rent gear. they offer night snorkeling with sharks which was one of the best experiences of my life and it's only like 20-30 usd for 2 site snorkel trip. house reef is SO good, you barely need to scuba anyways, and it's FREE!

9 - ONE really bad thing. The island is pretty much only accessible by sea plane (which is fine) but the sea plane can ONLY be booked through this italian travel company which has terrible customer service. You have to FAX or email your credit card number to pay for the sea plane which is 300 euro per person! Very unsophisticated payment method and extremely unsafe if you value your credit card.

10 - some people mention that the animation team is annoying (basically the island has entertainment for italians. they totally leave you alone and let you enjoy a secluded vacation if that is what you want. They were no issue at all for me.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank clevetus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karlsruhe, Germany
Level Contributor
35 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2013

I loved the place. We booked last December a Bungalow and it was really nice, the only problem was the wind. When it was too windy we could not fully enjoy our Bungalow. Anyway the view was perfect and the ocean down there is perfect to swim if you are not scared of mantas and sharks ( small ones of course). The ocean is really clear and even kids can swim there. The corals are UNIQUE!!! believe me i have seen corals. I was even in Galapagos islands, but nothing like Maldives. The food was really good but you kinda eat the same everyday. There is typical food from Maldives but also pasta. There are a lot of italians in the island. I am a latin so for me was perfect, but for my german husband was not too nice what he would call "noise" ha ha. There is a group of italians that live there and organize parties and activities every night, that was really cool. Our room was always perfectly clean and it was awesome. The service is really good and the natives are really nice and good workers. I loved it! No swimming pool (you don´t need one)

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Andrea E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Italy
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 June 2013

We found the resort to be extremely clean and well organised and the entertainment team were friendly, but not overpowering, but if you don't speak Italian you would miss out somewhat. Although it is heavily influenced by the Italians, the food, (not a huge variety) was always of a very high standard. we would certainly go back again.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank angItaly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Maayafushi Island
5.0 mi away
Kandolhu Maldives
Kandolhu Maldives
#1 of 17 in North Ari Atoll
521 reviews
22.7 mi away
Diamonds Thudufushi
Diamonds Thudufushi
#1 of 1 in Thudufushi Island
767 reviews
17.1 mi away
Constance Moofushi
Constance Moofushi
#1 of 1 in Moofushi Island
2,014 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Constance Halaveli
Constance Halaveli
#1 of 1 in Halaveli Island
1,372 reviews
13.6 mi away
Gangehi Island Resort
Gangehi Island Resort
#1 of 1 in Gangehi Island
844 reviews
17.8 mi away
Veligandu Island Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to VOI Maayafushi Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about VOI Maayafushi Resort

Property: VOI Maayafushi Resort
Address:
Region: Maldives > Alifu Atoll > North Ari Atoll > Maayafushi Island
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Maayafushi Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — VOI Maayafushi Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the northern part of the Ari Atoll, the little island of Maayafushi is a crescent of soft white sand, protected by the reef and by clear water lagoon. The VOI Maayafushi resort surrounded by calm and crystalline water and by a coral reef filled with a coloured fauna is well known to snorkelling enthusiasts, while its proximity to seabed of magnificent beauty, makes this island the perfect destination for diving lovers. Typical Italian dishes are served in the main restaurant, together with international specialities. For water sports lovers, windsurfing and canoeing are available free of charge. Catamaran, snorkelling gears and tours are available. For guests seeking a relaxing holiday, gymnastic, table tennis and volley. Daily and night entertainment program and piano bar music together with a professional animation team. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com and Cancelon so you can book your VOI Maayafushi Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maayafushi Island Hotel North Ari Atoll
Hotel Maayafushi Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing