We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Excellent relaxing resort” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Medhufushi Island Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Medhufushi Island Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Excellent relaxing resort”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2014

This was our first beach holiday and we didn't know what to expect. We couldn't have picked a better resort. The welcome was great (a hot towel and a cold drink!) and the room was amazing (a beach villa). The beach was awesome, just at the end of our villa, and although there was a little seaweed, it was combed up everyday by staff.
We were all inclusive and the drinks that were included were surprisingly all encompassing. The food was fantastic, very good options at each meal sitting. Our server (Mohamed Azumeel) was great too.
The free snorkelling and sunset fishing was superb, well worth the trips on the boat.
We would highly recommend this resort and will be coming back!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Treeborker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

859 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    447
    264
    89
    31
    28
See reviews for
83
665
21
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (197)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Gold Coast, Australia
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2014

Always wanted to visit Maldives it was my dream to stay in water villa on the island surrounded with Indian ocean and with love of my life.
I don't know how but my dream came true one day i woke up with 2 tickets in my hands everything was sorted out and date was for 20th of June 2014. i was so excited and so was my husband.
We used Singaporean airlines from Brisbane Australia to Singapore had few hours in Singapore airport and next was Singapore to Male 4 hours flight. Once we arrived to Male in the evening we had to stay one night in the city in lovely hotel and next morning we took small jet plane to our island. The view from jet plane was amazing crystal clear water from light blue to dark blue colors water with 1000's of small resorts islands and native islands and villages i have been to many islands before but never seen anything like Maldives.
The landing was fun right on top of the water felt much softer comparing to landing on the ground, stop was next to jetty and lovely friendly staff met us with welcoming drinks and all instructions about resort the keys were waiting for us on our personal table over water bar. We were very jet legged and tired and in seconds were taken in gold car with driver. it was so hot and sunny on the island i couldn't wait to go for a swim.
We had 5 nights in water villa and 4 nights in beach villa. The water villa was amazing surrounded with green Indian ocean full of turtles stingrays and baby shacks. i was so excited to go snorkeling. The bathroom in water villa was big and had shower and bath tube with view to the ocean. the bed was big and balcony had swinging chair sun baking beds and table with chairs. it was bit far from restaurants and infinity swimming pool but we didn't mind bit of exercise s and night walks with millions of stars above us.
because of time difference we never missed breakfast and were on time compare to other couples on the islands. Breakfast and dinner were amazing everyday different and my favorite were sashimi fish and sushi with fruits. Service was fast and staff were very friendly.
During our stay on island we did some fun activities like island hoping,fishing,romantic dinner on the beach and wedding photo session. My favorite were fishing and wedding photo session. Hope islands was fun too except it was very hot, but was nice to see the way true Maldivians live on other islands bit of history and school time. Sunset fishing was a lot of fun we went for 30 minutes away from our island to 25 meters deep sea its been a while since i went fishing so i was really out of practice but surprisingly caught 2 reef fishes i was first one out of our team to catch a fish, my husband caught only one fish. we took some pictures and in the evening for dinner had the same fish we caught with onion tomato and garlic was yummy.
our island also had different program every night including crab racing, world cup soccer and traditional dancing, one night we even had disco on the beach.
in order to stay in shape we went to gym and had some sessions with personal trainer from Sri lanka. it takes about half an hour to go from one side of the island to another. the beach on the island has millions of crabs some Chinese tourist boil them and eat them.
the beach villa was fun too was right on the beach and very close to gym and restaurant we were right next to swimming pool on windy side villa 103 the opposite side also good but its crazy hot like sauna so bit of wind was good for us. Water villa was before the last one left line villa 136 so we felt like we were only one out in Indian ocean such a romantic and unique feeling.
during our holiday it didn't rain at all everyday was sunny and perfect we didn't wanna go back home but everything eventually finishes and on our 10th day we had few days in Male city. Male is great for local food and shopping but not for relax very busy city and people can rip you off very easy so if you visit Male don't forget to bargain otherwise it will be crazy expensive.
thank you Medhufushi for having us and we can't wait to be back very soon! Hope my review will help new travelers and you will enjoy it!
thank you for reading!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dia4u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014

We returned to Medhufushi for our honeymoon and we were delighted to find that the island is still beautiful and the service is still exemplary. Despite staying in the rainy season (late June) we only had one full bad day of weather, with the occasional cloud burst on other days which was normally at night time. Our water villa (sunset side) was smart, clean and gave us wonderful views of the ocean and sunsets. The villa was well furnished but would have benefitted from more comfortable seating. The infinity pool area looks amazing, is a very relaxing place to be and never feels over crowded. The bar is idyllic and provided a big screen for the World Cup. Food in the buffet restaurant is good with decent variety and the occasional theme night. However, the restaurant suffers from the usual buffet problem of offering too much heavy food at lunchtimes and too many heavy desserts. As a result, the food offering does get a bit predictable if you are staying two weeks as there aren't enough theme nights to break things up. Breakfast offers decent choice, everything from a decent effort at a English breakfast to muesli and some lovely fresh muffins and pancakes. A word of advice for coffee lovers - stock up on coffee at breakfast as it is decent ground coffee, whereas the evening coffee is Nescafé and disappointingly tasteless. Drinks on the all inclusive package offer a passable house red wine, decent beer and branded soft drinks. We wouldn't recommend the separate a la carte restaurant as the food was bland and a bit disappointing especially given the extra cost. Truth be told it was not up to the buffet standard. The resort is unquestionably four star quality but it needs a bit if work to get to the gold standard of five star. However, the service in the resort is superb. An example of the service quality was seen when we ordered two Cokes and they were poured out for us. When the waiter returned he commented on one of the Cokes not having enough bubbles and replaced it unprompted with a more bubbly vintage!! The resort offers a few excursions and activities and does make an attempt at a bit of amateur evening entertainment, but these are not a reason to come here. We were disappointed that we couldn't exchange an unwanted excursion for an alternative. If you are looking for a slice of four star paradise on an archetypal Maldivian Island with exemplary service, then this is the place for you.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JFlat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds
Level Contributor
75 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014

The location is stunning, white sands and the clearest sea you have ever seen, it really was paradise and after looking a tonnes of other hotels we were very happy with our choice.

The island doesn't haven't a house reef but they do offer daily boat trips to different ones where you can snorkel AND you can see tonnes of good stuff in the shallows all along the beach and round the water villas. Every day we saw multiple reef sharks, and over the course of the week turtles and sting rays!

We were nervous about the diving school having read some reports, however if you go accepting its: pricey (remember this is paradise and they have a captive audience) and they split all the costs out which feels much worse than just hitting you with one cost - you won't be disappointed. Having dived all over the world I can honestly say this is the most professional outfit I have seen. Safety was paramount, they gave a very informative overview of the site before every dive, yes despite having +50 dives I couldn't go on the advanced one on my first dive there as they wanted to check out my competency BUT the dive I did was breathtakingly beautiful so you're not exactly missing out. All the diving was incredible, don't miss the manta trip! My partner completed his PADI out there with them, he took the theory in the UK and the team in resort were very helpful communicating with him on email beforehand.

We had a water villa which was beautiful, quiet and private. Only criticisms were there was no air con in the bathroom - boy was it hot! And the beds were firmer than we like.

Food was good and there was plenty of variety, main dining area is a huge hall which is set back from the beach, it's open air but pretty hot! We were nervous about food and drink cost in the MAldives but the hotel happily emailed us their menus with prices before we even booked and from our research they were very reasonable with no compromise on quality. We didn't go all inclusive as we don't drink a lot when it's hot, but the wine we bought and the branded beer we had was reasonable given the location. We had lunch every day at the bar which was great because it got you out the hot dining room and you ate sat over the water with stunning views. The bar choice for lunch was mixed some items like the salads were huge and exceptionally good value, sandwiches were decent and reasonably prices, however other items were a total rip off like $15 for one tomatoe with 3 half bits mozzarella! On the whole though we were happy. Waiters were all very friendly helpful but not always that attentive!

Having never been to the Maldives before it really did live up to our expectations, from the moment the sea plane landed it it just felt special and really did take your breath away. However Unless you dive (which we did) there was literally nothing to do and you don't even get the variety of eating in different places on a night. Other than baking in the sun ( I lovely heat but it was so oppressive I enjoyed the view from the shade a lot of the time) and chilling it's very limiting and at the end of the week we were ready to move on.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Beckie08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cully, Switzerland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2014

Where can I start?

Before booking and going to Medhufushi, we read many reviews with great and not so great stories, so we didn’t really know what to expect.
As a summary I would say that I am sure that you can find a more beautiful and more luxury hotel in the Maldives, but you will also pay twice or three time the price. Medhufushi is an amazing place, a great 4 star hotel and you won’t be disappointed to go there.

In more details, we will try to share what we loved in that resort:

1. Water Villas
It was our dream to stay in an overwater room for our honeymoon and we were far from being disappointed. We first got a sunrise facing water villa and asked to be changed into a sunset one. The view is breathtaking, from morning to evening.
The room was perfectly clean, (With some ants at some points but we asked for a anti-ants spray that the staff brought us within the hour) with a king size bed, TV, huge bathroom with a bath and a big walk in shower. On the balcony there is a two-person swing chair and two sunbeds. From the balcony you have a direct access to the lagoon.

2. Food
We were on half board, which means that our breakfast and dinner were included. (no drinks)
The breakfast is a buffet with a large variety of fruits, cereals, pastries, bread, salads, eggs, bacon, potatoes, sausages or beans. You can also ask for an omelet with your choice of toppings.
For diner, you can chose from salads, pasta and every night different things for every taste. From sushi to curries or roast beef to fish and so on.
Drink wise, you are being given 2 bottles of water a day and the price of the drinks are pretty expensive so if you are planning on drinking a lot (alcohol) you should look into the all inclusive packages.

3. Wild life, Lagoon and Snorkeling
This was the most amazing. We saw so many animals during our trip.
In the lagoon (from the beach or around the water villas) we saw many kind of fish, many baby sharks, a couple of turtles and a lot of crabs. During the snorkeling trips (free and between 20-30 minutes boat ride to different coral reef every day) we saw some breathtaking underwater views. With again, some turtles, a 3 meters nurse shark, a massive stingray and beautiful fish.

4. Plane Transfer
When we arrived, we were supposed to be greeted by somebody from the hotel to guide us but nobody was waiting for us. After a quick look around we found an office from the hotel where somebody took care of checking us in for our seaplane transfer. After a short drive to the seaplane terminal, we waited there for about 2 hours (we had to wait for other passengers which flight was delayed) and finally got our plane. The flight wasn’t bumpy at all and even though the pilots are flying the plane bared feet (not usual), we always felt really safe and in good hands.

5. Staff
Everybody was really helpful and really smiley. From the waiters to the cleaners everybody was really friendly and always happy to help.
During our stay I had an ear inflammation and we were happily surprised that the resort even have a doctor on the island. He gave me some ear drops.

6. Weather
We could only go during the rain season (We went during the first week of July) and we didn’t know what to expect. We were happily surprised that we saw the rain only 1 day for less than 20 minutes.
There was a lot of wind coming in direction of the sunset water villas, so if you want to be a bit more sheltered from the wind you should go for a sunrise one or for the beach villas.

7. Water sport
We took a Kayak for an hour, which was a really pleasant ride in the lagoon. We also did the 40 minutes Jet Ski trip (184 USD for 2 people). We went to a neighbor’s desert island and we looked for wildlife in the different lagoons. We saw a couple of rays swimming around. That was a great trip. Not cheap but definitely worth it.

To finish, we would say that if we go back to the Maldives again, we would definitely consider going back to Medhufushi. I did a video of our trip so if you want to have an idea, you can have a look at that link:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=aZ5wuDO0E8w

Enjoy your trip

Room Tip: Water Villas
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Michtrampo2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014

Fantastic place ! We stayed there for one week and I can say anything negative about it. Beautiful island, very nice bungalows ( clean, spacious, comfortable), wonderful beach all around the island. Great meals, very nice and helpful resort stuff.
There's only one thing they could change - prices in diving center. There's another diving center ( on island next to the Medhufushi) with prices 50% cheaper.
There's all what you need on the place to have a great time and it's impossible to be bored ( boat trips, snoorkeling, scuba diving, boat fishing, gym, billard, darts, surfing).

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
5 Thank Krzysztof K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2014

I have to say I was a bit apprehensive about our recent holiday to Medhufushi given the mixed reviews I read on here!! Needless to say we were pleasantly surprised upon arrival!!

My husband and I booked the holiday as our first family vacation and took along our 8 month old baby. We booked a beach villa and went on half board (we stayed from 29 May - 6 June.

Leaving Dubai late on the 29th we arrived in Male the following morning. Immediately upon exiting the arrivals area a nice chap greeted us with a sign saying Medhufushi and promptly took us to the seaplane check in sorted our luggage and placed us on a bus to the seaplane departures ( a short journey across the runway!)
Then onto the sea plane where we were greeted by the barefoot pilots! We had brought ear defenders for our 8 month old (at grandmothers insistence!) and boy was that a good thing as the engines were LOUD - if you do bring a child please do invest in some ear defenders!! The journey was flawless, we dropped of some other passengers and then arrived at Medhufushi about 40 mins after initial take off - stunning views and the aircraft felt completely safe and secure and we even had infant seatbelts!
Upon arrival we were greeted by a lovely lady and given a refreshing drink and then told about the resort. Then off we went to our beach villa, I was expecting an ant invested nightmare! Not at all, large clean and spacious. The baby cot was in place together with a lovely mosquito net and welcome basket of fruit. As we had our baby I needed a container for sterilizing the bottles - I thought this was going to be a stress but within 10 minutes I was brought a large sterile bowl perfect for the bottles and told to keep it for the duration of our stay. Excellent service in my book! Then we went to explore the island - this is not a 5 star resort - for me 5 star is the Jumeirah Group hotels and resorts and this is not on a par with those, however, it is a lovely beachy rustic resort and it is paradise as long as you dont expect a One and Only Reethi Rah experience - my sister stayed there and said it was breathtaking in a clinically modern way. Medhufushie is not like that, its, as I said rustic but beautiful. I didn't see any sea weed and the ocean was startling blue like all the adverts!! We had cocktails on the over water bar and there are 2 happy hours and the prices are reasonable (as a resident in Dubai I actually thought the alcohol here was very cheap!). Our meals were served in the main restaurant which is an open air sand based area beside the pool. The food was plentiful, not fine dining, but edible and tasty and different on every night! We were served by a fabulous local called Mifthaan Ibrahim, you tend to have the same chap looking after you for every meal and we built up a good rapport with Mifthaan and he adored our baby daughter. We had a reserved table with a highchair in place every day and really cant fault the food or service. Everyone was friendly and helpful and the chefs accommodating with food to the extent they could be. Fab fresh live pasta station and the fruit table was epic!! My husband raved about the curries and the cooked breakfast every morning. We found half board sufficient as we were stuffed after breakfast and not hungry again until it was dinner time! By day we lounged by the stunning pool and my husband snorkeled and completed 2 dives with the diving school. He has snorkeled in a lot of places around the world and was simply amazed by the sea life around the resort given there is no house reef. He saw 3 giant turtles around the spa area and has said to recommend that area for snorkeling. The day trips are good too apparently and he saw a 2 metre shark! Im not a fan of the sea and was shocked when I was sitting in literally ankle deep water with my daughter on the shore to see a baby shark swim past and then do a few circles of us!! Incredible! Every evening from the beach hut we would walk down to the shore and see baby sharks! They are everywhere hunting the small fish - fabulous! Ellie also adored the hermit crabs scuttling about the beach! I also had a hot stone massage - definitely recommend it - reasonably priced and just fabulous! Another aspect I should point out are the ants - yes you do get some ants in the outdoor bathroom and it can be annoying but they are only there late at night and first thing in the morning and I just shooed them away and none of us were bitten the entire week by either an ant or a mosquito! The weather was perfect, a balmy 27 degrees with one rainstorm at night which we loved watching as we don't get much rain in the desert! The other holidaymakers were friendly and no one seemed annoyed that we had our baby with us (albeit she is very good and rarely cries just babbles happily!) - no other children there at all - mainly honeymooners and older couples. One criticism I did have was the bed in our villa - very cheap hard mattress!! I wasn't a fan! Seaplane home was uneventful and again very smooth and comfortable. Really all in all a very lovely place to stay and I would not hesitate to recommend this to anyone!!! The lack of internet access actually worked well for us as we switched off totally and relaxed without the need for emails and facebook!! Im trying to think of anything else to add - water villas looked amazing and there are a lot of them. My husband had no issue with currents when snorkeling. The staff did have good English and were all very nice and helpful. Almost forgot - we did the dolphin cruise and saw a serious about of dolphins! Jumping and prancing away - loved it!! In conclusion - book and enjoy! It really is good value for money and worth a visit!

Room Tip: Loved the beach villa
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank RachelVT2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Medhufushi Island
3.2 mi away
Cinnamon Hakuraa Huraa Maldives
Show Prices

Been to Medhufushi Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Medhufushi Island Resort

Property: Medhufushi Island Resort
Address: Meemu Atoll, 39498
Region: Maldives > Meemu Atoll > Medhufushi Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Medhufushi Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Medhufushi Island Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Medhufushi Island Resort is a haven of peace and relaxation. An air of tranquility pervades the idyllic island which is adorned with shady coconut trees and tropical flowers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelbag, Holiday Gems, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Medhufushi Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Medhufushi Island Hotel Meemu Atoll
Medhufushi Island Meemu Atoll

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing