We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Absolute Paradise”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Velassaru Maldives

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Velassaru Maldives
Certificate of Excellence
Edinburgh
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Absolute Paradise”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2010

I travelled to Velassaru with 36 of my family and friends to get married. I had first seen Velassaru on the day before it opened in March 2009 when scouting for a venue for the wedding. We fell instantly in love with the island but this trip for the actual wedding surpassed all of our expectations.

We stayed in a Water Villa (405) which was perfect. It is a very spacious, beautifully presented room with a private sun deck and private entrance to the beautiful water of the Indian Ocean. The room was exceptionally clean, the minibar well stocked and the service impecable. As we were in a wedding party, we had fresh flower displays on our bed every night which really made you feel like you were being treated with the personal touch.

The food here is amazing. Matthew, the head chef, has created perfectly balanced menus which all of our guests found to be wonderful. For the most part we ate in the Vela buffet restaurant which had such a wonderful selection that you can't fail to find plenty to eat every night. The live cooking stations proved a hit with our party and whatever you do try the soft shell crab - simply wonderful!! We also tried the speciality restaurants Sand and Etesian which were extremely good. I was particularly pleased to see that in Etesian, which is billed as a Mediterranean restaurant, there were not just Italian dishes - I had a delicious lamb tadjine from North Africa. Our guests who ate at the Teppenyaki Hut over the water also reported back that it was a perfect meal in a perfect setting.

The Aquum Spa is the perfect place to relax on your trip to Velassaru. We went 3 times in our 7 day stay and each time we were delighted with the service. The Spa is beautiful, built on stilts over the water with an outside jacuzzi and relaxation area. All the masseurs are true professionals, giving the most wonderful, relaxing massage tailored to your own specifications. Also try the yoga first thing in the morning and get a facial to really treat yourself!!

The staff at Velassaru are first class. Our whole trip was planned by the Rooms Division Manager Marge Cacacha who was so friendly and accommodating for the whole year long build up to our trip and the 7 days of our visit. Nothing was too much trouble and our every need was met. All of the staff are excellent, from the cleaning staff to the guys in the bars and restaurants right the way up to the chef and managers - if you need it, they will fix it!!

The island itself is paradise. White sandy beaches, turquoise waters, beautiful sunsets and lush green vegetation. At some times during our stay you can find yourself completely alone on one of the beaches enjoying the solitude and the beauty of your surroundings. The widlife too is truly fantastic! We had a huge manta ray sleeping under our water villa at night - he was a pleasure to watch! The baby sharks and wonderful array of colourful tropical fish are a delight but the highlight has to be the huge bat who managed to get into some of our wedding photos!!

As for the wedding itself, it was the first big event that Velassaru had catered for and I would recommend this resort to anyone who wanted to do something similar. We used the boardwalk from the water villas as our aisle and got married in a specially set up area on the beach. The staff had set up an archway, torches in the sand, planted flowers on the beach and had even drawn a big heart in the sand in which we stood to get married. It was perfect. We went to Velassaru with a specific idea in mind for our sit down meal after the ceremony. All this changed when we met with Chef Matt and Marge whose vision ensured that we got the best wedding reception in the perfect location with food to die for. It was perfect.

To summarise, we went to Velassaru for a large scale event and it really was a dream wedding. I would recommend this resort to everyone, however. It can cater for couple looking for relaxation, groups of friends looking to do watersports or, like us, a large scale event. If you are wondering whether to go to Velassaru, please go, it is fabulous.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EPJW1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,567 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,217
    265
    60
    16
    9
See reviews for
239
1,070
28
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (378)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Northern Ireland
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2010

My husband & I stayed at Velassaru for 7 nights whilst on honeymoon.
Velassaru is total paradise - 5* all the way!
I am a Travel agent, & I have vistited and stayed in stunning poroperties throughout the world, & Velassaru certainly is something else!
We stayed in a water villa which was absolutely stunning, ultra modern - brand new!
The island was absolutley gorgeous, & all the staff were extremely helpful & friendly.
The food on the island was really delicious. There are plenty of restaurants and bars to choose from.
We stayed on a Bed & Breakfast basis, as we wanted the choice of where to eat.
We tried all the restaurants. The food in Sand was gorgeous, but a lot of the time, we ate at Fen which offered a varied menu.
We often went to Chill bar for lunch. It is perfect for snacks & does great cocktails - while watching the sun go down!
I would definitely recommend Velassaru, & I would love to go back again!

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MissJNorthernIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hertfordshire
Level Contributor
38 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2010

This is the second time we have travelled to the Maldives. The first time staying at the sister islands of Karumba & Full Moon. This is a lovely island but there are still lots of teething problems, even after 1 year after reopening.

We arrived Monday evening, and first impresions were very good. Our beach bungalow 223 was excellent, with a great outside bathroom, 2 showers inside & out. Lighting in the bedroom at night poor, but we managed.

Next morning, we were eager to get round the pool, which I have to say is one of the best that I have ever experienced; at night it is lit from below with tiny lights, so that being an infinity pool gives you the impression that is is part of the night sky. Still on Tuesday am, we were rould the pool, when from a "cruise" boat moored off the atol, we are invaded by the guests of that cruiser who had come and use the pool and sunbeds around the pool area. We were not at all happy with this. The island and it's facilites should be exclusive to the paying guests of the island. I suppose that this is just a money making exersize by the owners. To make it worse, these people went off the island at lunch time and returned in the afternoon!

The island has 1 shop, and after visiting it you do have to ask why; it is grossly understocked and even if we wanted to buy something as a memory of our trip, we could not find one thing to purchase.

Twice whilst walking round the island in the afternoon we found rubbish which had been washed ashore.It would be nice if one of the vast members of staff on the island checked maybe twice a day to make sure that the precious beaches the owners are so proud of are free from plastic bottles and oil canisters two of the items that we saw.

The island has a spa, but @ £60.00 ($95) for a manicure, no thanks.

There is only 1 PC for the use of guests, crazy I know, not everyone owns a PC to carry on holiday with them.

For us one of the worst things about the island is that @ 7.00am every morning the sea planes fly across the island on route. The whole of the Indian Ocean, and they choose to fly over Velassaru at that time of the morning.

But with all that said, the staff were great, accommodating, and nothing was too much trouble, especially in the restaurants. We choose not to eat in Vela after going there twice, it was a bit of a cattle market in the evenings with some guests not waiting to be shown to a table and going straight to the buffet, filling their plates, and then wandering around finding a table. Not our idea of a relaxing evening meal, so we decided to eat at the other restaurants availble to us, and they were first class, especially the Tepenyaki and Alfie the chef there. Sands was also good but $45 for 3 lamb chops with the choice of only one vegetable dish, any extra charged @ $8 is madness. Also no wine by the bottle for under $40, so this can add a sizeable amount to your bill @ the end.

The dive centre is excellent, making the experience just right.

Lastly we would just like to say that the senior manangment makes no effort to meet & greet their guests, would it not be nice if there was a greeting, how are you enjoying yourselves, etc? They tended to wander around, oblivious to the fact that we the paying guests might like some interaction with them, and to show that we are welcome on the island.

Iron out these details and Velassaru, you will be the 5* resort you claim to be. I would recommed this resort but with reservations.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DiverMF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2010

I booked my 10 days stay at Vilassaru with 3 days notice in a Deluxe Bungalow on a half board basis, and whilst the 5 star hotel rating gave me confidence I was hesitant about how the hotel would be. I need not have worried.
Vilassaru is incredible.
The island is 25-30 mins from Male by boat, with Male visible from islands north and east coast, but this was of no concern to me.

The room (Delux bungalow) very private and quiet, and was beautifully appointed with a very large (super king) and comfortable bed, seating area, lovely bathroom with outdoor shower, and outdoor seating area. It was very comfortable and very spacious for our needs, with excellent AC, fans and ventilation. The room also had free WiFi internet access which was a real surprise, since I would have expected to have paid. The beach was a few meters from our bungalow.

Food (on half board and full board basis) was served in the main restaurant was really very good indeed, with a different style (Sri Lankan, Asian/Thai, European etc) of food served each night of the week. The range of choice from the self serve buffet per night was excellent, with some meals pre-prepared and some cooked as you waited. The quality and freshness of the ingredients was excellent, with fish being superb. During our stay we never once felt like trying the other restaurants on offer, but they all looked superb and were doubtlessly amazing. Meals and snacks were available from several bars/restaurants for lunch, but the breakfast buffet and huge daily complimentary fruit bowl in the room meant that we rarely felt the need for lunch (bottled water was also provided).

The standard of service was excellent throughout, with a strong emphasis on personal relationships. Right from the front desk, through to room maintenance, waiting and chef staff etc, the staff were very friendly and courteous. During one night of our stay, the room staff decorated our bungalow and garden with candles, flowers, petals and garlands. This was unprompted and was a beautiful touch, but characteristic of the standard of service given.

The beaches are beautiful and safe. The island is very well maintained.
In short the hotel was fantastic, and our holiday was very relaxed and superb.

On the down side .....
I personally felt that meals, alcohol were expensive ($5 per 1.5 litres water, $6 per coke, $10 per beer, $35 cheapest wine, as were excursions and activities (eg $75 per person for 3 hr return trip to Male) ..... but the hotel is 5 star rated and I have no previous experience of Maldives hotels to judge this against so this is a minor grumble. However free snorkelling equipment is freely available to explore reefs yourself.
I would also advise people to take all the required toiletries, sun cream they require as they are expensive to buy in hotel ($30 for 200ml Factor 20 sun tan lotion).

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank 1245Aberdeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canton
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2010

all of the travel from Male to Velassaru is good. food is very good in Sand. waiter is very nice. this is small lexury hotel specisifty ,don't like chain hotel standard, but more nice.

we live in beach villa, it is much better than water villa, easy and conveninet to touch and swim in the sea, and with amazing design shower and toilet room, which really is master level design for this, half is in outside, half is in room,with natrual plants.

but hotel room service is really not good, everyday chcek mini bar, which is normally chek when you check out ,make very trouble. another not happy thing happen, when we bill, somebody elese sign in our room number 201 with expense,no signature,and hotel agree that can bill to our room, we don't accept this. if we did not expense this,why charge to us? this show managment is problem,and also say we use mini bar,after check, they konw that is wrong.
Anyway, this is very natual hotle and island. if this service problem not happen, this trip is excellent.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jeffrey20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2010

All the staff are very welcoming and very helpful but at times were very slow with the service.We had a deluxe bungalow which was very nice,room 106.We were on the south side the other side tended to be very windy.Rooms were always kept very clean.The spa was excellent and very reasonable compared to other islands.Everything was really good about the island except for the food,5 star prices but certainly not 5 star food which was a shame because that was the only thing that let the place down,but you can never have everything perfect.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank snaxScottsdale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
32 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2010

Gorgeous 5 star resort. Perfect location, beach, lagoon, swimming pool and facilities.
I am used to staying in a water bungalow, but could not this time as I had two small kids with me, so we had to stay in a beach hut. This was ok, but no way as glamorous as a beach bungalow. The bungalow was fab with an outside shower area. The check in area was very glamorous looking and the pool had a waterfall etc
The resort as a whole was great, but a few things were not so great.
There was 'no bar' in the pool which is heavily advertised in pictures of the resort - instead this was closed indefinetely. There were huge flying ants which landed in our outside bathroom 'every night' - this prevented us from outside showering and my kids were too scared to tip toe through them to the WC. The staff were rubbish at dealing with this and did not understand that foreigners are not used to huge crawling ants in their bathroom. the best they did was to spray toxix poison at them and leave them to twitch to death on our floor. The cleaner took 24 hours to sweep up the bodies and we had to request a cleaner all the time to get rid of the ants.
The cleaner would miss your chalet for over 24 hours if you were in the room when they came to clean and we would have to keep requesting for our room to be cleaned, which was pretty bad service if you ask me.
The spa, on the good side, was AMAZING!!!!!!!!!!! Truely amazing and luxurious and much cheaper than UK treatments.
Please do be aware that if you travel in monsoon season, which we did, there are mosquitoes which breed in the water in the rain puddles. This is unusual for the maldives to have mosquitoes and I have never had this at previous resorts. I spent a lot of money on anti-bite lotion.
Also half way through the week, a huge tour of Chinese people turned up and turned the serene island into a 'football mob'. The staff did not choose to tell the Chinese holiday makers how to behave appropriately, this left most of the other holiday makers wanting to leave the resort for another island.
I think that this island is gorgeous, but needs to do more with its custoner service to keep the 5 stars it has been branded with.
Also, if you hate insects, this island is not for you.

  • Stayed April 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank the-arctic-wolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Velassaru Island
11.7 mi away
Sheraton Maldives Full Moon Resort & Spa
Sheraton Maldives Full Moon Reso...
#1 of 1 in Furanafushi Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,639 reviews
9.3 mi away
Kurumba Maldives
Kurumba Maldives
#1 of 1 in Vihamanafushi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,380 reviews
11.4 mi away
Baros Maldives
Baros Maldives
#1 of 1 in Baros Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,084 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.6 mi away
Anantara Veli Maldives Resort
11.0 mi away
Bandos Maldives
Bandos Maldives
#1 of 2 in Bandos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,941 reviews
18.8 mi away
Olhuveli Beach & Spa Maldives
Olhuveli Beach & Spa Maldives
#1 of 1 in Olhuveli Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,799 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Velassaru Maldives? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Velassaru Maldives

Property: Velassaru Maldives
Address: Velassaru Island
Phone Number:
Region: Maldives > Kaafu Atoll > South Male Atoll > Velassaru Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Velassaru Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Velassaru Maldives 5*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury Undressed. Gentle sands leading you to the water's edge. Soothing vistas across the spectacular turquoise lagoon at sunset. Minimalist contemporary chic meets comfortable natural elegance in your own private hideaway. Five dining venues, each providing a taste of the exotic. Two innovative bars, the ultimate chill-out. Experiences that immerse you in local culture, underwater explorations that introduce you to our tropical marine world. Days and nights of simple indulgence. Step into the unknown. Welcome to Velassaru. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelbag, Southall Travel, Destinology, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Holiday Gems, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Velassaru Maldives reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Velassaru Maldives Hotel South Male Atoll
Velassaru Maldives Laguna Beach Male
Velassaru Maldives Laguna Beach Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing