We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just amazingly brilliant”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
LUX* South Ari Atoll
Certificate of Excellence
Sunderland, United Kingdom
1 review
“Just amazingly brilliant”
Reviewed 28 October 2013

My husband and I chose to stay at the lux Maldives.
From the minute we arrived after a very long flight we were greeted and made to feel very welcome. We arrived about 10.30 in the morning and we where told are Water Bungalow would not be ready till 2 o'clock which I was not happy about as we were tired and wanted to shower and change.
They did there best to get us in as quickly as possible, and after about an hour or so we arrived at our Bungalow.
We stayed in a Prestige Water Bungalow and it was amazing!
The staff are so wonderful, kind and friendly, they will do anything to make your day as good as possible.
I would like to make a special thank you to two gentlemen who cleaned our rooms everyday. There names are Zahidh and Nadim, they did special things for us everyday from making lovely designs on our bed with flowers and towels etc to running us baths with Oils and Flowers. They made are holiday so special and they told us so much of what was best to do.
This was the best holiday we have had, the food is excellent and the drinks were amazing.
The manager is warm and so friendly, he walks around the island talking to you and wishing you a good day!
All in all this island is faultless, I would return in a flash everything is ran to perfection, excellent staff and a beautiful island!
We went for our anniversary and they gave us a Boat trip, Cocktail making, a lovely meal with Cake and Wine, they made our holiday perfect.
A big thank you for making this holiday brilliant in every way.
Sam and Tony

Room Tip: Prestige Water Villa 422 is excellent, it faces the sunset. A little breezy but that helps you cool...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sam C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMLUX, General Manager at LUX* South Ari Atoll, responded to this review, 6 November 2013
Thank you for having taken the time in writing and sharing your experience with other travelers. It was a great honor for us to get the opportunity of looking after you while celebrating your anniversary. I am delighted to know that you had a good time with us and have shared your kind words with the team, especially Zaheed and Nadim.

Knowing that we provided you with the best vacation you ever had is certainly the best reward we can ask for

With my best regards,

Dominik
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,920 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,613
    244
    46
    13
    4
See reviews for
738
1,816
37
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (687)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Guildford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 27 October 2013

Thanks to all at lux for a super holiday. We stayed in the last 2 weeks of October and the weather was just right, some clouds and rain but intermittent and a welcome relief.

Service from staff was amazing in particular, the housekeeping from Habeeb who helped us find our way and was always on hand to help. Also Shiham who could be found at the island Kitchen or Pizza restaurant who made incredible origami figures out of leaves for us.

Food was of high quality with plenty of choice, the entire island was clean. We had a lovely time and would recommend it to anyone.

Room Tip: Try and get one on the East of the island as calmer and less windy if storms are coming.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shanny264
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMLUX, General Manager at LUX* South Ari Atoll, responded to this review, 6 November 2013
I would like to thank you for your kind review on TripAdvisor. The entire team and I are very pleased to know you had enjoyed your island life at LUX* Maldives.

I am also glad that you appreciated the service we have offered, your comments have been shared with everybody on the island.
We are looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future, and if you ever need any assistance, please do contact our team anytime.

With the warmest regards from the Maldives,

Dominik
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2013

From the moment we stepped off the plane in Male and shuttled off to the Lux lounge waiting for the seaplane we knew this was going to be a holiday of lifetime and it was.
We arrived to the Lux via seaplane and greeted by Lux staff and the resort manager, Mohamed, which we found to be a fantastic way to be met and introduced to paradise.
All the Lux staff were amazing, kind and friendly people which made the experience (our honeymoon) amazing. The food was fantastic and the all inclusive package is definitely they way to go.
As honeymooners, we stayed in the deluxe overwater bungalows which we could not fault. Everyday we were greeted to something different and surprising. The Sense's bar and restaurant staff were amazing and made our stay memorable.
We have both travelled a lot and never ever been to such a well run and set up establishment. Pure luxury and definitely a place for honeymooners, anniversary's or romantic getaways.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Catzz80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMLUX, General Manager at LUX* South Ari Atoll, responded to this review, 6 November 2013
Thank you for giving LUX* Maldives the opportunity to look after you and for celebrating your very special days. I am very pleased to learn our team had made your trip memorable.

Your kind words have been shared among our team as this is always the best encouragement for us.
We look forward to welcoming you back to the island next year for your first anniversary.

Again our warmest congratulations and the sunny regards,

Dominik
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 October 2013

My husband and I decided to stay at the Lux Maldives after reading the many positive reviews on this site. We can only rave how wonderful it was and what an incredible time we had. The Maldives is truly paradise and Lux a delightful way to experience it.

From the moment we arrived to the time we left, the staff, from management to cleaning, were exceptional. Always smiling, no request too difficult, they understand service like nobody else. Our housekeeping staff Jaufer Ahmed not only made the most incredible towel art, it felt as if he personally made sure our entire stay was super comfortable and full of pleasant (and thoughtful) surprises.

We have stayed at many 5 star resorts over the years but our experience at Lux was unparalleled. We could go on and on about every little detail but can't recommend this place highly enough. We hope to go back very soon.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fwd001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMLUX, General Manager at LUX* South Ari Atoll, responded to this review, 6 November 2013
It is a great pleasure to read the good words you have shared with the readers on TripAdvisor. The team and I are very happy you had taken a piece of us with you back home through the experience you have shared here.

To know that we surpassed your previous 5 star experiences motivates everyone of us to keep up the service and go beyond the expectation from our guests.

It is the wish of all the islanders to see you very soon again at LUX* Maldives.

With the warmest regards from the sunny Maldives,
Dominik
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2013

We have travelled all over the world, and I wouldn`t have expected to be so impressed!
This place is an absolute heaven! We booked this for our 10 years wedding anniversary and even if the weather wasn`t the best, the efforts made by the stuff and the beauty of the place made us forgot about the sun
Everyone that choose Maldives as a destination, are celebrating something. So be prepared to be surrounded by happy , lovely people
If you want to make the best of the experience, go for the Prestige Water Villa, it`s well worth the money
The staff is amazing. Small things like sending us a cake and a champagne on the day of our anniversary , made the experience wow!
If you`ll choose the all-inclusive menu, be prepared to have absolutely the best drinks included. We have started with a wine that was produced in the first year of our marriage (2003), and then we had a wine from every year until 2013 it was a nice wine journey
Beautiful food, impeccable rooms, friendly staff. I strongly recommend LUX!

Room Tip: Prestige Water Villa are the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CristinaPetrix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMLUX, General Manager at LUX* South Ari Atoll, responded to this review, 6 November 2013
Warm greetings from LUX* Maldives !

There is nothing better than reading your wonderful review shared on TripAdvisor. Thank you ! It is a pleasure to learn your staying with us was unforgettable as well as exceeding your expectation.

I am happy that we were able to be part of your 10 year celebration and that it was a holiday to remember. Your good comments have been shared among all the team members.

Please come back to visit us in the very near future and do not wait another 10 years! We will make sure to have a bottle of wine from 2003 ready for you!

With the sunny regards from the tropics,

Dominik
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aldershot, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 October 2013

Our first time to the Maldives, it was our Honeymoon and we re-did our wedding vows on the beach; our stay was 10 days.
I can unreservedly say that this was the best holiday we have ever been on. The island was beautiful and maintained very well, with staff who were very friendly and went out of there way to make our stay special. We found plenty to do including trips away from the island and excellent water activities. We found that nothing seemed too much trouble for the staff from the moment we landed we felt so welcome and even the managers walk around chatting to guest to make sure your stay is good.
Overall an amazing holiday with memories we will treasure. We will definitely return some day and recommend your visit.

Room Tip: Beach rooms are good value for money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMLUX, General Manager at LUX* South Ari Atoll, responded to this review, 6 November 2013
There is nothing better than receiving a great review from a guest on TripAdvisor. Thank you!

Your comments are the encouragement that keeps up the service to our guests and we have shared your feedback with our team.

It was a great pleasure to learn that we had made your honeymoon such a special one and we are looking forward to your return to LUX* Maldives in the near future.

With sunny regards from Maldives,

Dominik
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2013

This was our 1st time to Maldives and on an all inclusive package. I had heard stories from friends on other resorts, that meals, drinks and experiences can be fairly restrictive about what and when. I must say, that there was not a single time when we felt restricted by these and we were impressed with this.

Without a doubt, one of the best assets that this resort has is the staff. Pleasant, friendly, informed, helpful and coordinated. We were with our 2 year old daughter, who was getting more than her fair share of attention from the staff - a big thumbs up there. This, by the way, stretched from managers to service and grounds staff.

The food selection was good, with the option of buffet or a la carte options and the inclusive drinks menu was extensive and a pleasant surprise.

The island is a great size. Not too big, or not too small. You can walk end to end at a leisurely pace in about 30 mins, while the accommodation was nicely arranged and exceptionally landscaped and maintained. While we were there, we were told it was at 100% occupancy, though it didn't feel overcrowded at all.

The only comment I would have is that the Beach Pavilion that we did stay in (basically a villa split into 2 units) did have a family with young kids next door and the sound insulation was not great. Whist this would not put me off returning, I would perhaps pay a little more for a beach villa, which is a single unit.

All in all, a very nice and recommendable experience.

Room Tip: Book up the a la carte restaurants as early as possible to avoid any disappointments.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevin_The_Gerbi1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMLUX, General Manager at LUX* South Ari Atoll, responded to this review, 9 November 2013
Thank you for taking the time and posting all the remarkable comments on TripAdvisor. It is a great pleasure to me and all the team members to learn that you had spent a good time at LUX* Maldives.

The all inclusive package is definitely a great choice for the guests who travel to the island. It is indeed true that in many all-inclusive resorts the list of exclusions is longer than what is actually part of the package. The goal for the hotel is to eliminate all the unnecessary complications during a guest’s stay and we really do try to offer a package that allows for a worry free holiday. The only responsibility of our guests is to enjoy the sunshine, the ocean, the food and to relax.

I am thankful that you had chosen LUX* Maldives to be your first experience in Maldives. I hope we will also be your second and third experience someday in the future.

Our best regards to you and our best wishes to your daughter,

Dominik
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dhidhoofinolhu Island
10.3 mi away
Vilamendhoo Island Resort & Spa
5.6 mi away
Vakarufalhi Island Resort
Vakarufalhi Island Resort
#1 of 1 in Vakarufalhi Island
883 reviews
22.0 mi away
Filitheyo Island Resort
Filitheyo Island Resort
#1 of 1 in Filitheyo Island
1,027 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.9 mi away
Diamonds Thudufushi
Diamonds Thudufushi
#1 of 1 in Thudufushi Island
775 reviews
11.6 mi away
Mirihi Island Resort
Mirihi Island Resort
#1 of 1 in Mirihi
932 reviews
14.4 mi away
Conrad Maldives Rangali Island
Conrad Maldives Rangali Island
#1 of 1 in Rangali Island
2,147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to LUX* South Ari Atoll? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about LUX* South Ari Atoll

Property: LUX* South Ari Atoll
Address: (Formerly Diva Maldives)
Region: Maldives > Alifu Atoll > Southern Ari Atoll > Dhidhoofinolhu Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Dhidhoofinolhu Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — LUX* South Ari Atoll 5*
Number of rooms: 193
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dreamy atolls of tropical islands scattered across the Indian Ocean, the Maldives are a kaleidoscope of colours and earthly pleasures. Get away from it all at LUX* South Ari Atoll (formerly LUX* Maldives), the only settlement on the postcard-perfect island of Dhidhoofinolhu. Fuss free and laid-back, the resort surprises with pop-up cinema screenings right on the beach, impromptu musical performances and strolls along secret pathways through the lush tropical gardens. Just steps from the thatch-roofed suites and ocean-perched villas, the island's unspoilt beaches are yours to claim. A prime spot for snorkelling and whale-shark spotting, the resort's unblemished lagoon is a diver's dreamworld. Back on land, island street food and fine dining await in the tempting restaurants and bars. In the shade of coconut palms, lounge by the two turquoise pools, luxuriate in the ocean-view spa and surrender to the charms of this castaway idyll. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Holiday Gems, Hotels.com, Destinology, Ebookers, Agoda, Southall Travel, Odigeo, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your LUX* South Ari Atoll reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lux* Maldives Hotel South Ari Atoll
Diva Maldives Hotel
Diva Maldives South Ari Atoll

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing