We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pure paradise”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
LUX* South Ari Atoll
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 November 2013

We have just returned from our second trip to LUX Maldives at the end of October and have to say that if anything it was even better than our first trip! We received such a warm welcome back from the staff and management who all recognised us. From the first moment they looked after us so well. On our second night there we booked into the Italian restaurant and were surprised on arrival when we were shown to a private table set for 2 in the wine cellar, with the table beautifully decorated, which we understood was just a little thank you for choosing the resort a second time - a wonderful experience which prompted us to book for the chef's table to make our last night on the island truly memorable. This was a fantastic experience, Bala looked after our every need in planning the meal and on the night Amit looked after us so well. All you have to do is tell them your likes and dislikes and they create a 5 course menu, paired with wines if you wish, especially for you. The meal was divine and gave us the opportunity to try things that we otherwise would not choose! The table was decorated even more lavishly than previously and again was set privately in the wine cellar. It was the perfect end to our holiday. Just one word of advice however, as the resort was full when we were there, it was important to book the restaurants 2 or 3 days ahead to get the time and location you wanted.
It is all of the little day to day touches that make LUX so special, such as the daily ice cream round, the secret bar and the hidden bottles. We were also especially partial to the special milkshakes made for us each lunchtime with the island's home-made ice cream. We also seemed to bump into the resort manager Mamoun every day on his daily rounds of the island to make sure all the guests were happy and being looked after. We looked forward to our daily chats with him. It was hard to find fault with anything at all, and the whole trip was therefore so relaxing.
We are also divers and took full advantage of the PADI dive school which also looked after us really well. Unfortunately whilst some people saw the whale sharks, they were proving to be elusive for us this year ( we did dive with them last year in Nov), but that did not matter as the diving was great anyway with plenty of turtles, octopus, eagle rays and a great variety of fish.
The other facilities on the island are also excellent from the very relaxing spa to the well equipped gym and accompanying classes or instructor sessions, so you can be as active or pampered as you like.
Overall we really enjoyed our holiday and look forward to our next holiday there.

Room Tip: go for the sunrise side of island - less windy and sheltered lagoon
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pushp B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMLUX, General Manager at LUX* South Ari Atoll, responded to this reviewResponded 4 December 2013

It was a great pleasure to have you staying with LUX* Maldives again! I am so glad to see you have really enjoyed your experience with us. Although the hotel is located on a remote island, insistence on providing the highest quality of food and ensuring our guests receive the highest standard of service are always our goal, and I am very happy to see that Bala and Amit had successfully achieved that with you during your various special meals. They are pleased to hear from you as well!

I believe the only regret you had for the trip was not able to see the whale sharks this time, and that means you have to come back and visit us (Bala, Amit, other team members, and the whale sharks) again. All the team members would be most happy to welcome you for a third visit on the island.

With the sunny regards from our Island Paradise, also from Mamoun!

Dominik

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,204)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,783 - 1,789 of 3,204 reviews

Reviewed 14 November 2013

Every second of our stay at LUX* Maldives was a dream come true. From the idyllic setting to the best food I’ve EVER had, the luxurious accommodation to the wide variety of activities, we were in honeymoon heaven!

LUX* Maldives is the most beautiful place I have ever visited and even though the resort was apparently quite full, we NEVER felt that it was busy or too crowded. Also, we were on honeymoon and there were families on the island but that did not affect us at all. Basically for honeymooners or families, you couldn’t ask for a better place. We truly found island paradise. Thank you to LUX* Maldives for the best holiday I have ever had and for the most memorable and special week of my life!

Accommodation

We spent 5 nights in a beach villa and 2 nights in a water villa. The beach villa was beautiful (very stylish and well decorated) and extremely spacious! It was so wonderful to be able to step out on to the white sand and into the warm water for a swim. But I really, really loved the water villa and would definitely recommend staying in one-especially if you are a honeymoon couple. Such magnificent and stylish luxury! And in the most romantic setting you could imagine.

Lagoon and Ocean Magic

My husband and I are both ocean lovers and LUX* Maldives is the perfect place to be if you are looking for the clearest, warmest water teeming with diverse and colourful life. You can see so much snorkelling around the island (turtles, rays, baby reef sharks, beautiful coral gardens) and the free house snorkelling trips are also amazing. I would highly recommend going on the excursions with the very knowledgeable, passionate and informative resident marine biologist, Francesca. We learnt so much and also were lucky enough to swim with 3 whale sharks, a manta ray and lots of turtles! How awesome!

The dive centre is also very professional and the team take such good care of you so if you are a scuba diver, you are in for a HUGE treat!

Also, we chose the Maldives because it was a dream of mine to swim with manta rays and thanks to the lovely Dolores, the Marketing Manager, and freediver extraordinaire Dominik, the General Manager, we had the privilege of swimming with 50 massive manta rays in what was definitely the best experience of my life. They also both went the extra mile to make our stay beyond anything we could have ever hoped for and dreamed of.

We were also fortunate enough to be at LUX* Maldives during a plankton bloom and spent hours mesmerised by the beautiful bright blue phosphorescent glow washing up on the shore. What’s more romantic than that?!

Food

We went for the all-inclusive option and I’m very happy that we did because it was the best food, with the most incredible variety, that I have ever had. There are so many options on the Island and every restaurant was top class. Compliments to the Executive Chef Jonathan- everything we tasted was exceptional and so fresh and bursting with flavour! And thank you to Andrew, the Head Pastry Chef for all of the delicious pastries!

Service

We really need to praise all the staff at LUX* Maldives- every single person we met made us feel so incredibly special. But of course there are a few people whose welcome was unforgettable.

As we stepped on to the welcome jetty we were welcomed by the Resort Manager, Mamoun and we can’t thank him enough for always being so considerate and attentive.

On our first night we went to the Island Kitchen for dinner are met the wonderful Ziyada. From the moment we met her, she was extremely helpful, friendly and spoilt us so much. She even especially decorated our table with magnificent flowers to celebrate our honeymoon. That really meant so much to us. Also, I had a cold and a slight sore throat and Ziyada always brought me some delicious and very soothing ginger, honey and lemon tea- now that is service and very kind and caring. it really helped to make me feel better.

Then the cool guys on the island- the Ici crew. We had a fresh baked waffle cone and scrumptious homemade ice cream every day (coconut is the best!) and the all the staff were amazing. But Mohamed (KK) and Schuaib really went above and beyond to spoil us and make us feel like royalty! Mohamed even gave me a gift of LUX* coffee (the best coffee ever!) and when I was so sad about leaving they handed me a soya cappuccino, which is my favourite! I can’t thank them enough!

And sweet Marine from East Bar- what a wonderful lady who also spoilt us so much and made us feel right at home. We were very lucky to have met her and spent some time chatting to her about our shared passion for the ocean and diving and she was always there to make sure that we were happy.

From Senses, we want to thank Imran for being the most wonderful waiter and for looking after us so well. Also thank you to Daminda for continuously being there to make sure we were happy and had everything we needed.

Also our housekeepers, Hameem from the beach villas and Zain from the water villas. Every time we returned to our room there was a surprise to welcome us back and it made our stay even more amazing.

I would really recommend that you stop reading the reviews and book LUX* Maldives immediately! And stay for as long as you can- 6 days wasn’t nearly enough! We will be back as soon as we can.

Room Tip: The beach villas and water villas are absolute luxury and so beautiful! I would recommend the water...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Beth N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMLUX, General Manager at LUX* South Ari Atoll, responded to this reviewResponded 20 December 2013

Thank you for sharing your honeymoon experience and recommending LUX* Maldives to the travelers on TripAdvisor. I am greatly flattered by such a descriptive and detailed review you have given, and once again, thank you for spending time and telling your wonderful story to the world.

Your feedback is very reassuring to all of us, and your compliments to our team members in each department are the best reward to get. To “help our guests to celebrate life” is the ultimate goal of LUX* Resorts and I am really happy to see we achieved this in creating a memorable honeymoon experience for you and your husband.

It was a great pleasure to have you here, and it was an honour to have the opportunity of celebrating your new chapter in life. On behalf of Francesca, Jonathan, Andrew, Dolores, Ziyada, KK, Schuaib, Marine, Imran, Daminda, Hameem, Zain, Mamoun, and all the team members on the island, we very much look forward to your next visit in the near future.

With our best regards,

Dominik

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2013

I and my girlfriend spent a week at this fantastic resort in october. We both had high expectations before going, even though we where afraid of really bad weater because of the forecasts. I have to say the forecasts are quite misleading for the rainseason, making us expect lots of rain and storms, when the fact is it was raining for about 5 minutes each day while the rest of the day was sunny and really nice and warm!

Staff.
When arriving the resort by seaplane, we where warmly welcomed by the resort manager and his staff. From the time of arrival to the time of leaving the staff was doing all they could to make our stay the perfect holliday! Everyone working at the resort, from the manager to the cleaning personell and the people working at the bars and restaurants where brilliant....I can not find one single thing or one single person to point out that could have made our stay any better!

Food.
We where on a all inclusive mealplan, and would recommend this to everyone going to Lux Maldives. The food and the wines included in the mealplan is fresh and taste good in all the restaurants. It is not gourmet food, but the quality of both the food and the quite large winelist is much better than expected.
One night we had a private barbeque at the herb garden, wich was really romantic and nice. Even if you go for an all inclusive plan, a private dinner at the beach or in the herb garden is worth every cent!

Things to do!
We where a little afraid of getting bored on the island, since we both like to be active. Dont worry about this at Lux Maldives! There are so many things to do here that you cant reach to experience everything unless you are there for a month! You can go swim with the mantas, sharks or the enormous whalesharks.... or snorkle in the beautiful house reef right outside the your room... The water sports center has a great variety of activities.
The spa is also great, and gave us one of the best treatments ever.....

Rooms!
We stayed in a water willa, and where happy to have choosen this! They are private, and when sitting outside drinking your morning coffe, you feel like you are alone on this island! The rooms are clean, and the size and standard is good.....but what makes it perfect is the wiew, and surroundings.

Even if Lux Maldives is quite a big island, and there are many guests on the island, you will feel like you are almost alone in the world.... There are plenty of space both on the beach, and in the restaurants!

All together, this holliday was fantastic, and probably the best we will ever have! We are already planning to go back!

Room Tip: Choose a waterwilla
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jim_johnsen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMLUX, General Manager at LUX* South Ari Atoll, responded to this reviewResponded 4 December 2013

Thank you for sharing such wonderful and detailed comments in every aspect of what you have experienced at LUX* Maldives. There is nothing better than getting feedback as yours! Your good words have been shared with the team as it is a great motivation for all that are dedicated to the service industry. It has always been our goal to maintain the high standards and keep the best service, and I am truly grateful that you have noticed the hard work of the team.
We always recommend our guests to choose an all inclusive option as it does indeed provide much choice and variety without the worry about additional costs.

Once again, thank you for the fantastic review that you have shared on TripAdvisor, it is good to know your holiday at LUX* Maldives was enjoyable. We do look forward to your next visit soon, for another special occasion or simply another indulge in relaxation.

Best regards from the sunny South Ari Atoll,
Dominik

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2013

Service in all parts of the resort was very good, particularly the Spa, Yami and Sakade are exceptional masseurs and Becca wonderful yoga instructor. Buffet style breakfast offers great variety and quality. We stayed in a beach villa on the west side and a water villa, both were big and well fitted out. Food and drink are expensive, more expensive than any other place we have stayed in without being exceptional. Same goes for most activities. The house reef is good but you have to pay to see it. Not much to do when the weather is bad, we discovered, not even able to watch TV no reception at all when it rains and blows.

Room Tip: The water villas are a long way from the rest of the resort!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank robbrig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMLUX, General Manager at LUX* South Ari Atoll, responded to this reviewResponded 4 December 2013

I would like to thank you for sharing your LUX* Maldives experience on TripAdvisor, and I am glad your stay with us was overall enjoyable, and our service has successfully met your expectation.

Having a good massage and doing yoga at the beach are great ways to indulge in relaxation, and I am delighted to learn Yami, Sakade, and Becca were able to assist you with that. At the same time, your good words have been shared with them, and they are happy to learn you have left with smiles.

As a remote island in the Indian Ocean, although we cannot compare ourselves with the big cities, we still try to offer the best quality and various selections in food and drinks to our guests to enjoy. During your visit we certainly had some exceptionally bad weather which also effected the satellite reception (DVD's are available at the reception to enjoy a movie in the villa). Being completely disconnected from the outside world we have to rely on much technology to get telephone, internet and TV to the island and in rare cases this is affected during storms, for which I wish to apologize.

While we provide a great variety of water activities, some of them are regular boat trips to close by reefs, which are offered complimentary to all guests.

Thank you once again for the feedback, we hope to see you again soon at LUX* Maldives for another retreat and relaxation.

Best regards,

Dominik

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2013

All time best holiday haunt ever .

The Lux Maldives was absolute perfection for children and adults on every front - which was a wonderful surprise as we were a group of adults and little children and had thought the Maldives would be more suited to honeymoon couples than families - until we were recommended to the Lux . Astonishingly beautiful, gorgeously stylish, impeccable service - hip and glam for the adults, fantastic fun for the children. Total privacy - beautiful, cool rooms - all separate huts either on stilts over the water or on the beach. The design was stunning. The service was gracious and faultless - Delores the star of the show for us. The Kids Club was great and the whole island safe and a children's paradise.
There was a real feeling of remoteness and beauty but so much to do - which was good because the natural, quiet seeming island concealed 6 or 7 different restaurants and bars, (All-Inclusive well worth it)) each of them delightful , all with fantastic and different cuisine - Italian, Japanese, Indian, waiter service, bar snacks on beachside sofas, buffets, private tables set up on the sand. The food was exquisite in all of them - we literally did not stop eating from morning till night. Yet somehow between banana boats, diving, ping pong, spa treats, bicycles, tennis, discreet playgrounds, yoga, exploring, manta ray feeding- restraining ourselves from eating the manta ray's food out of sheer habit - we didn't put on an ounce.
It was absolutely wonderful. Would go back in a heartbeat.
Helen Fielding

Room Tip: Ask for rooms on the beach near the kids club if you have little ones.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Helen F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMLUX, General Manager at LUX* South Ari Atoll, responded to this reviewResponded 4 December 2013

Dear Helen,
Thank you for taking time and sharing such wonderful and beautiful comments on TripAdvisor. It is a pleasure to have had you staying with LUX* Maldives and good to see you all had enjoyed the time on the island.
Knowing that you remember your time so vividly even months after your visit is a great reward for all os us, thank you!

I am also very glad to learn you were able to experience the variety of cuisines on the island, which offers a great diversity of choices and accommodates guests from many different parts of the world. Moreover, it is indeed true that many people consider the Maldives to be a place where only honeymooners come. While we certainly have many freshly married couples, we certainly provide enough activities and entertainment also for families and friends traveling together. As we are lucky to live on one of the larger islands in the country (1.8km long) we have plenty of space to offer many activities, but also to offer many hidden places to enjoy the art of doing nothing.

Once more, thank you for such a reassuring review. We look forward to your next visit very soon !

Best regards,

Dominik

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2013 via mobile

As I said to my friends : guys , look at the photos of Hotel and island , what u will see - u will get ! Really ! This place have this THIS water , THIS white send , and REAL SMILISH people , who made your stay grait ! + good food + good animation + pro coatchs for any sports + good kid club .... And much more ... Just go there and I'm sure u will find some more for your self , the dreams became truth :)

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bonichka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMLUX, General Manager at LUX* South Ari Atoll, responded to this reviewResponded 4 December 2013

Thank you for sharing your “wonderful”comment on TripAdvisor. I am very happy to know your experience of staying with LUX* Maldives was a dream come true. Pictures indeed can not do justice to the beauty that is around us.

It is good to know you have tried and enjoyed all the food and the facilities as well as the blue ocean around the island, and we hope to see you again, for another great experience!

With tropical regards,

Dominik

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2013

This is my second go at writing a review of the wonderful LUX Maldives!! The first disappeared into the ether for some reason.. However I am taking the time to write another because we had such an outstanding experience at the resort. We had two boys with us aged 14 and 16.

The whole experience of arriving at the resort via seaplane, viewing the gorgeous coral atolls from the air, was magical. We arrived in the middle of a storm, but were greeted by a whole row of smiling staff who made us welcome and gave us lovely refreshments.

Everything was perfect - the beach villa (lovely on the sheltered side of the island out of the wind) was gorgeous and Fazeel, who looked after our room, did everything to make our stay comfortable - his towel art skills were amazing and he had a lovely smile for us every day. The standard and variety of food was excellent and although the resort is large, it did not seem to detract from the natural beauty of the island.

One of the highlights was the Whaleshark education day with the Marine Biologist, whose talk on conservation was fascinating - this included a snorkel trip to swim with a 6 metre whale shark- (truly awesome - although we are concerned about the volume of boats chasing these large animals (many have injuries - it seems some regulation is needed).

The dive centre is a very professional operation - well organised and with very high safety standards. We had some amazing dives - the variety of fish was staggering and we also saw several turtles and a large reef shark - a first for us.

There is plenty to do in the resort (although some of the water sports activities are very pricey). The spa is beautiful, the gym very well equipped and the gym instructor, Becca, ran some wonderful yoga sessions overlooking the beach - quite magical. The lagoon is beautiful to swim in with a large variety of fish and there are free boat trips every day to the local coral reefs to snorkel and free snorkels, kayaks and pedalos to use in the lagoon.

Overall, a very special family holiday - we hope to be back one day. Thank you to all the staff at LUX.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Elizabeth T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMLUX, General Manager at LUX* South Ari Atoll, responded to this reviewResponded 4 December 2013

Wow ! What another great comment you have made for LUX* Maldives ! Thank you for the double effort of sharing your views! I believe you and your family are still indulging in the memory of the holidays few weeks back, and I hope you did take some good photos as well so the fun and joyful moments with us will remain a long time.

There are, indeed, many activities to do and a lot of things to learn from the ocean, and I am very happy to see you have experienced most of them (as I write this another group just returned from swimming with 3 whale sharks). Please come back and visit our island again, I assure you of another memorable family holiday in the sunny and shining Maldives.

Best regards to you and your family,

Dominik

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dhidhoofinolhu Island
10.3 mi away
Vilamendhoo Island Resort & Spa
5.6 mi away
Vakarufalhi Island Resort
Vakarufalhi Island Resort
#1 of 1 in Vakarufalhi Island
926 reviews
22.0 mi away
Filitheyo Island Resort
Filitheyo Island Resort
#1 of 1 in Filitheyo Island
1,052 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.9 mi away
Drift Thelu Veliga Retreat
Drift Thelu Veliga Retreat
#1 of 1 in Thelu Veliga
187 reviews
11.6 mi away
Mirihi Island Resort
Mirihi Island Resort
#1 of 1 in Mirihi
985 reviews
14.4 mi away
Conrad Maldives Rangali Island
Conrad Maldives Rangali Island
#1 of 1 in Rangali Island
2,240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to LUX* South Ari Atoll? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about LUX* South Ari Atoll

Address: (Formerly Diva Maldives)
Region: Maldives > Alifu Atoll > Southern Ari Atoll > Dhidhoofinolhu Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Dhidhoofinolhu Island
Price Range: £366 - £1,702 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — LUX* South Ari Atoll 5*
Number of rooms: 193
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dreamy atolls of tropical islands scattered across the Indian Ocean, the Maldives are a kaleidoscope of colours and earthly pleasures. Get away from it all at LUX* South Ari Atoll (formerly LUX* Maldives), the only settlement on the postcard-perfect island of Dhidhoofinolhu. Fuss free and laid-back, the resort surprises with pop-up cinema screenings right on the beach, impromptu musical performances and strolls along secret pathways through the lush tropical gardens. Just steps from the thatch-roofed suites and ocean-perched villas, the island's unspoilt beaches are yours to claim. A prime spot for snorkelling and whale-shark spotting, the resort's unblemished lagoon is a diver's dreamworld. Back on land, island street food and fine dining await in the tempting restaurants and bars. In the shade of coconut palms, lounge by the two turquoise pools, luxuriate in the ocean-view spa and surrender to the charms of this castaway idyll. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Holiday Gems, Expedia, Destinology, Hotels.com, Prestigia, Southall Travel, Agoda, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Ebookers, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and HotelsClick so you can book your LUX* South Ari Atoll reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lux* Maldives Hotel South Ari Atoll
Diva Maldives Hotel
Diva Maldives South Ari Atoll

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing