We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
LUX* South Ari Atoll
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Perfect!”
Reviewed 20 May 2014

I work in travel and had very high expectations of the LUX brand before arrival and we were not disappointed.

First of all the island itself is nothing short of stunning, sometimes you might think photos are edited or touched up but this place looks exactly like the photos, maybe even better in real life!
Its a large island which is accessible by the frequent golf buggies or you can hire bikes. I suggest the bike option – it allows you to find all the special touches & see more of the island itself.

Room -We split our stay with 4 nights beach villa & 3 nights overwater. Both were spacious and spotless, the bathrooms are fantastic and the bath in the beach villa was enormous. Our beach villa was on the sunset side and the water villa had great sunrise views.

Restaurants/Bars – I can’t stress enough how good value the all inclusive package is. Most food & drink is imported and so is pricey however the all inclusive plan covers all restaurants and bars except the Japanese restaurant. We loved the food and wine at Senses and Allegria a la carte and were surprised at the quality of the buffet. The themed nights had plenty of choices and we were never bored with the selection. There were also plenty of choices of wine from all over the world on all inclusive and we enjoyed the pop cap & screw cap that are made just for LUX hotels.

Staff – We were greeted from the seaplane by lots of staff and also waved off when we left which was a really nice touch. Mario looked after us when we first arrived and was always around during our stay to ensure everything was perfect. All the staff we encountered all seemed so happy in their work and spoke very highly of LUX itself. All the staff at the pool, beach, restaurants and bars were eager to help you with a smile on their face, they are a credit to the resort and we thank them for making our stay perfect! We enjoyed chatting to various staff at the bars and restaurants & they always asked if we were having a great day & were happy with our stay so far.

We enjoyed a wine & dine evening with the head chef Anthony and one of the managers Alex for a small supplement. We dined with other couples on the island and had a 5 course meal paired with wine at the Allegria restaurant, great fun, great food and great company!

SPA – We booked the couples celebration package which included a full body massage, facial & champagne in one of the overwater spa villas. Good value for money and so relaxing, would highly recommend.

The hotel lives up to its 5* rating but at the same time isn't stuffy or pretentious, it has more of a ‘barefoot luxury’ feel which we loved. The special touches really make this resort stand out – the secret bar, messages in a bottle, red phone box etc are all great fun and we liked all the little swings and seats scattered around the gardens and beaches just waiting to be found.

All in all I couldn’t fault anything here and would recommend this resort to couples and families. I cant wait to come back and experience it all again...thank you LUX!

Room Tip: If staying in a beach villa go for the sunset side of the island
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Chelsea W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LUX_GM, General Manager at LUX* South Ari Atoll, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
It is good to hear from you here on TripAdvisor !

Mario, Alex, Anthony and I are all very excited to read your review with the wonderful feedback regarding the holiday experience on our island. Thank you for joining our Wine & Dine with Chef at Allegria, and sharing your time with us. We are very happy that you had enjoyed the dining experience and explored the wonderful Scrucap selection (it is one of many reasons enjoyed on the island).

It is very reassuring for our team that you are planning for another visit to the island again. Should there be anything we could do to prior your next visit, please do not hesitate to contact any of us, as we would like to make sure you have another perfect vacation at LUX* Maldives.

Yours sincerely,


Shaun Dünhofen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,878 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,575
    241
    45
    13
    4
See reviews for
727
1,793
36
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (679)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2014 via mobile

Hi from the Maldives,

I'm so happy with the prestige water villa (417) for our honeymoon it's so secluded just what we wanted!!! Love the way the island is sort off divided. So if we want to see more people we go to the other side :)

The staff are amazing! Always happy and smiling willing to help. Love the buggys and the kitchen staff are always willing to help esp rasheed.

Our villa is always spotless!

Thank you much so happy we have another 4 days to go

Filiz and kader xx

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Filiz T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LUX_GM, General Manager at LUX* South Ari Atoll, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Dear Filiz and Kader,

Always a pleasure to have had how guests write a review while still staying with us. We were glad to have you here celebrating your honeymoon at LUX* Maldives.

Thank you for staying at our beautiful island where every memorable romantic moment is made special by our team for you.

It was great to know you had enjoyed the time and we are looking forward to having you back to celebrate your first anniversary next year !

Congratulations on your recent marriage !

Best wishes,


Shaun Dünhofen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Ari Atoll
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 May 2014

If you are looking for an amazing holiday experience, great service, real 5- star feeling- do not miss Lux Maldives. This was our best holiday so far, amazing beaches, swimming with whale sharks, great food and wine, ultimate views...
I read a lot about the resort before we go there but nothing was able to prepare me for the real feeling of being there. We spent a week at the resort at all inclusive bases- it is completely worthed. Do not miss the lobster dinner at Senses restaurant, mango sorbet and club sandwich at Veli Pool bar, espresso at Lagoon bar, pizza at Allegeria reastaurant... Masud in Veli bar vas so nice that made us spend all our afternoons with his chilled wines and fresh coconut surprises- special thanks! We are looking forward to return back soon!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Villy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LUX_GM, General Manager at LUX* South Ari Atoll, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Thank you very much for the review, and we are very happy to learn you will be coming back again soon. Should you need any assistance in the reservations, please feel free to contact us as we will be very glad to be at your service to make sure another prefect vacation is planned for you prior to your arrival.

Great that you mentioned the mango sorbet and club sandwich as these are my favorite too.

With the sunny regards from Masud and the LUX* Maldives Team,

Shaun Dünhofen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brentwood, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 May 2014

My partner and I have just come home from an amazing week's stay at LUX. This place truly is incredible, every member of staff is an asset to this resort. Everyone we came across be it a member of staff from the restaurants, bars, reception, watersports, cleaners, they all greeted us with smiles everyday and really couldn't have been more helpful. They really do go out of there way to help and assist you. I have to make a special mention to Harish and Sameer, they looked after our Prestige Water Villa room number 424 for us and checked everyday whether there is anything more they could do for us. They are both such friendly and happy people and was a pleasure to meet such wonderful people.
The island itself is spotless, stunning beaches with pure white sand and turqouise sea. They were raked as soon as any seaweed ever appeared on the shoreline, Great snorkelling, we saw so many colourful fish and loved going snorkelling every day in different areas of the island. There was plenty to do on the island, so many trips available and different activites etc or just simply relaxing around the pool. My partner and I both liked the fact that the ladies doing the gardens all come from a local island nearby, this is really nice to know LUX are helping support local families with jobs.
The restaurants all were top notch and we didn't have any complaints at all. You have a choice of 5 different restaurants so plenty of choice, you couldn't fault the food. We chose the All Inclusive option and would advise anyone going to do the same. It's so nice to not have to worry about what your spending and going out with no money!
We met a few couples while we were there who had been previous years and they said in the past had tried other resorts but have always ended up back at LUX and wished they hadn't wasted money trying somewhere else, that says alot how great this island is!

I could easily go on and on about how wonderful this place is but I think you get the gist by now! We could of easily stayed for weeks on end but unfortuantely it had to come to an end. I got that horrible lump in my throat as we stepped onto our seaplane home BUT we will 100% be coming back next year.

Thanks again to all staff and especially Harish and Sameer for making our holiday perfect :-)

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jo S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LUX_GM, General Manager at LUX* South Ari Atoll, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Thank you very much for your amazing review. We appreciate that you had taken the time to share your holiday experience to all on TripAdvisor. Choosing our resort to be your holiday destination in the Maldives makes us glad as we see you had some fun by joining the activities. We have a variety of cuisines in all the outlets on the island and this enhances the culinary journey.

When our guests have left the island with a big smile, it is always as it is the best reward for us, I will certainly share your feedback with the team and highlight to Sameer and Harish to thank them for the good work they have achieved.

It is truly reassuring to know you are coming back next year. Should you need any assistance in reservations, please keep in touch with us, we will be very happy to be at your service anytime.

Looking forward to hearing from you again soon.

With the best regards from Sameer, Harish and every team member on the island,

Shaun Dünhofen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2014

Overall wonderful experience where I could remark excellent service, staff kindness and attitude and installations.
Every member of the staff tried to make sure that our honeymoon experience was one that we would remember in our lifetime.
Highly recommended for all of those honeymooners thinking about going to Maldives.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank Alberto T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LUX_GM, General Manager at LUX* South Ari Atoll, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Dear Alberto,

Your recommendation to all future honeymooners is highly appreciated. Thank you ! Great to know you have left the island by bringing along a wonderful memory with you back home, and I hope we will be able to create more special moments for you in the future.

Please do come back for another visit to LUX* Maldives, we are always here to help our guests celebrate life !

Sunny regards,

Shaun Dünhofen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Ari Atoll
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 May 2014

We had an amazing time, no complaints. It was quite pricey, but totally worth it. the island is truly beautiful, food, staff, and amenities were great, and we did some neat excursions, including seeing whale sharks. there is also abundant sealife all around the island, we saw manta rays, sting rays, baby sharks, and even a lion fish from the docs. it was great not to need a wallet for the week we were there. everything was billed to the room number, and the bill was accurate in the end, even though we switched frmo beach bungalow to water villa during the middle of our stay. my one complaint was that the dinner buffet (which I expected to be the inexpensive dinner option) felt very overpriced. but after we learned that, we just dined a-la-carte for dinner, and it was great.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Henning S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LUX_GM, General Manager at LUX* South Ari Atoll, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Good to hear from you on TripAdvisor. Thank you for the feedback. Your review has been shared with the team as we are all pleased to know you had a great time with us on the island. It is a great opportunity to enjoy the beautiful scenes of the island especially when exploring or by staying in the villas of different categories, and I am glad you did.

Thank you once again for sharing the comments. We hope you will be coming back again and looking forward to it.

Best regards,

Shaun Dünhofen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2014 via mobile

To all the staff at the resort I thank you all for making our holiday a very special one. Not a bad word can be said about any aspect of the resort, from bar staff to beach cleaners everything and everyone made this very special. Everything about the holiday was amazing and we are looking forward to coming back this year.
Thank you.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Michael K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LUX_GM, General Manager at LUX* South Ari Atoll, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Dear Michael,

It is good to know you are coming back soon ! Thank you very much for the note as we are happy to make each moment matter. We are looking forward to welcome you to our island again, and please do let us know if there is any special request for this coming holiday that we can assist with. Wishing you all the best and see you soon for another amazing experience as last year in September.

See you soon !

Warmest regards from the sunny Maldives,

Shaun Dünhofen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dhidhoofinolhu Island
10.3 mi away
Vilamendhoo Island Resort & Spa
5.6 mi away
Vakarufalhi Island Resort
Vakarufalhi Island Resort
#1 of 1 in Vakarufalhi Island
880 reviews
22.0 mi away
Filitheyo Island Resort
Filitheyo Island Resort
#1 of 1 in Filitheyo Island
1,017 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.9 mi away
Diamonds Thudufushi
Diamonds Thudufushi
#1 of 1 in Thudufushi Island
767 reviews
11.6 mi away
Mirihi Island Resort
Mirihi Island Resort
#1 of 1 in Mirihi
916 reviews
14.4 mi away
Conrad Maldives Rangali Island
Conrad Maldives Rangali Island
#1 of 1 in Rangali Island
2,121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to LUX* South Ari Atoll? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about LUX* South Ari Atoll

Property: LUX* South Ari Atoll
Address: (Formerly Diva Maldives)
Region: Maldives > Alifu Atoll > Southern Ari Atoll > Dhidhoofinolhu Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Dhidhoofinolhu Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — LUX* South Ari Atoll 5*
Number of rooms: 193
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dreamy atolls of tropical islands scattered across the Indian Ocean, the Maldives are a kaleidoscope of colours and earthly pleasures. Get away from it all at LUX* South Ari Atoll (formerly LUX* Maldives), the only settlement on the postcard-perfect island of Dhidhoofinolhu. Fuss free and laid-back, the resort surprises with pop-up cinema screenings right on the beach, impromptu musical performances and strolls along secret pathways through the lush tropical gardens. Just steps from the thatch-roofed suites and ocean-perched villas, the island's unspoilt beaches are yours to claim. A prime spot for snorkelling and whale-shark spotting, the resort's unblemished lagoon is a diver's dreamworld. Back on land, island street food and fine dining await in the tempting restaurants and bars. In the shade of coconut palms, lounge by the two turquoise pools, luxuriate in the ocean-view spa and surrender to the charms of this castaway idyll. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Destinology, Holiday Gems, Priceline, Southall Travel, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your LUX* South Ari Atoll reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lux* Maldives Hotel South Ari Atoll
Diva Maldives Hotel
Diva Maldives South Ari Atoll

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing