We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Totally Relaxing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
LUX* South Ari Atoll
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 June 2014

This resort was one of the most relaxing resorts. The staff are friendly, food and food selection is sensational. You can be active or pampered or do nothing at all then this is the resort for you. And the most amazing it's location! Why have we waited so long to visit the Maldives. I would 100% recommend LUX* Maldives.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank neldawadd65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LUX_GM, General Manager at LUX* South Ari Atoll, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2014

Your recommendation is very much appreciated. Thank you from all of us!

I hope soon you will be coming back again soon with your family or friends for another relaxing vacation at LUX* Maldives. Should there be inquiries in the future, please feel free to keep in touch with our team as we very much looking forward to seeing you again in the future !

Best regards to you and your family,

Shaun Dünhofen
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,344)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,603 - 1,609 of 3,344 reviews

Reviewed 29 June 2014

Cant talk about the hall experience as it wont be enough but LUX is a great resort , and the most important thing is you get the value you are paying if not more . Amazing SPA -Italian Restaurant - Pools - Arabic Restaurant - Shesha - Guest service - customer service -Activities - Hospitality - friendly staff

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Thara A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LUX_GM, General Manager at LUX* South Ari Atoll, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2014

Thank you for the brief message ! On behalf of the team, we thank you for the comments and support. Please come back again for another visit if you plan for the next vacation to the Indian Ocean, our team and I will be waiting for you at the jetty when you arrive !

Sunny regards from LUX* Maldives,

Shaun Dünhofen
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014

Many a times we use the words "excellent" and later rethink whether we had somewhat exaggerated the rating. Not for this resort though... as the resort is everything and more.

The excellent services is a result of the management's effort to not only do the big things well (such as smooth check ins check outs; great snorkeling locales, wide ranging food choices, spa and clean villas) but also attention to small details (such as the warm welcome-send off, treasure hunt, daily events, veg-vegan options etc.).

I could go on and on about the lovely red phone booth, cycles, hidden bars, photo booth etc. but some things need to be experienced at the resort if you choose to visit it.The only advise I will give you is to take an all inclusive package( it'll save you a bundle when you drink and eat without worry) and book the water villa to experience snorkeling at your private spots in the ocean where you enter via your deck stairs at the back of your villa.

Is the money worth spent... you bet it is !!! (I spent a five days around a week back and dreamed of the scuba dive I had there and remembered Mamoun's request (Resorts Manager)
to write a review.

Room Tip: Choose the water villa.. north south east west.... doesn't matter !!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank akarsh a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LUX_GM, General Manager at LUX* South Ari Atoll, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2014

Dear Mr. Akarsh,

Our team are very happy to hear from you on TripAdvisor ! Thank you for posting the review and sharing your holiday experience with the world. Your feedback and support are truly appreciated as it is the best reward to the team. We hope soon you will be back again for another tranquil getaway from the city. If there is anything we could do to be at your service, please feel free to contact Mamoun or myself as we would like to make sure your next vacation at LUX* Maldives is another great one as in June.

Best regards from the other side of the Indian Ocean,

Shaun Dünhofen
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014

We were dreaming about going to a place for total relaxation and amazing nature and all our expectations were fulfilled! Good service and staff and if you fancy nice white sandy beaches this is the place!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank RicBorba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LUX_GM, General Manager at LUX* South Ari Atoll, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2014

On behalf of the LUX* Maldives Team, I would like to thank you for the review on online. We were very happy to know you had spent a relaxing and amazing beach holiday with us, and hope very soon you will return for another one.

Warmest regards,

Shaun Dünhofen
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2014

What a fantastic resort, excellent staff, friendly and very helpful. The resort manager Mohamed Mamoun was extremely helpful and runs a very good resort.
We also loved the Dive centre Dirk our diving instructor looked after us very well and was a pleasure to dive with, no Whale sharks this time but great reef live and manta rays, brilliant!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank JoMort
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LUX_GM, General Manager at LUX* South Ari Atoll, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2014

Thank you very much for the comments. It was good to know you had enjoyed some great moments on the island and also under the water. On behalf of Dirk and Mamoun, we would like to thank you for visiting LUX* Maldives, and we hope you will be back soon again for anther sunny holiday !

Best wishes from the LUX* Maldives Team,

Shaun Dünhofen
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2014

My husband and I booked a last minute trip to the Maldives when our trip to Zanzibar was cancelled. We booked Lux the day before our stay and stayed for 4 nights. We stayed in a Junior Sunset Suite for one night and then a Pool Beach Suite for the next 3 nights. My husband and I are a Muslim couple and I wear the headscarf so privacy was extremely important to us. We had a private pool which is what we were looking for in the Maldives. The pool was small but still really nice to have. I would have appreciated a little more privacy (in order to be outside/on the beach without my headscarf) but you can't have everything. The grounds/facilities are amazing. There's so much to do - with the excursions (whale shark expedition is a must!), water sports, gym, yoga, amazing spa (make sure you get a massage in a water villa - the floor has a glass window where you can see fish as you get your massage!), game room and other special extra's like free bikes throughout the grounds, a coconut stand, swings and message in bottles that you can find for free stuff! It's definitely not your hum-drum resort, Lux goes out of their way to be different and unique - offering things that the chain resorts simply don't. Plus the value for the price is incredible. As far as restaurants we preferred the a la carte restaurants (Umami was our favorite!) over the buffets as many times buffet's lack the gourmet quality foods the a la carte restaurants provide. Breakfast was stellar each day and the marine biologist Francesca is amazing. I wasn't wearing a life vest and told her I was a little shaky with swimming but wanted to be strong in the water when snorkeling and when we found the whale shark she was sure to find me underwater and grab my hand and swim together. Cielo was so helpful when booking our reservation and Haleem was the perfect guide to let you know what the hotspots on the island are for photographs! The welcome and send-off by the staff and Maamoun was so special - made us feel like family! Four solid days was perfect for us - I wouldn't recommend any less and we definitely could've stayed for even more! We definitely want to return to Lux hopefully sooner than later!

Room Tip: If you want direct beach access go with a beach villa over a water villa. I thought the beach on the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Melanie E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LUX_GM, General Manager at LUX* South Ari Atoll, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2014

Dear Melanie,

It was our pleasure to have the wonderful chance to be at your service. Although your trip to Zanzibar was cancelled, we are glad that you chose us as we had got the chance to share the beauty of the Maldives with you and your husband.

Thank you for your review and sharing your experience with the travelers on TripAdvisor. It was great to learn that you had a great time enjoying the island as well as the facilities and activities we had provided. Cielo’s assistance in reservations before your trip to the Maldives is much appreciated, whale shark searching with our knowledgeable on-site marine biologist, Francesca, its all part of the exciting journey to know our team as they look to make your vacation delightedly and remarkable.

Please keep in touch with us if you ever plan for another visit back to the Maldives. Mamoun, our team and I are looking forward to welcoming you again for another special moment to be celebrated at LUX* Maldives in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Shaun Dünhofen
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2014

I spent six wonderful days in LUX* resort. Everything was great and enjoyable. Water sport center had a lot of fun sports to do in the ocean such as snorkeling, diving, fly boarding and tubing.

Housekeeping and spa were the best service in the island, I could not forget the therapist ( Boni ) so I advise you to go to him directly if you plan to go to LUX.

negative comments
-The island kitchen and East restaurant did not serve delicious food and the prices for them unreasonable .
- seaplane is very expensive !!!! $455 per adult

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Badr A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LUX_GM, General Manager at LUX* South Ari Atoll, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2014

It was a great pleasure to have you here. Thank you for choosing LUX* Maldives to celebrate your honeymoon. I am sure with your recommendation, Boni will be very happy.

Your comments on the experience at the outlets have been noted and shared with the team. We will certainly look into it and try our best to improve the tastes in order to accommodate every guest on the island. LUX* Maldives offers guests a few options to get to the property which includes seaplanes the option of travelling with the domestic flight to the nearby island and take a 10-minutes speedboat to reach our property. This is an option for you to consider when you return next time as we are here to assist in a comfortable journey.

Once again, thank you for the review, and we hope to hear from you again soon.

Best regards from the tropics,

Shaun Dünhofen
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dhidhoofinolhu Island
10.3 mi away
Vilamendhoo Island Resort & Spa
5.6 mi away
Vakarufalhi Island Resort
Vakarufalhi Island Resort
#1 of 1 in Vakarufalhi Island
972 reviews
22 mi away
Filitheyo Island Resort
Filitheyo Island Resort
#1 of 1 in Filitheyo Island
1,093 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.6 mi away
Mirihi Island Resort
11.5 mi away
Lily Beach Resort & Spa
Lily Beach Resort & Spa
#1 of 1 in Huvahandhoo Island
2,196 reviews
14.4 mi away
Conrad Maldives Rangali Island
Conrad Maldives Rangali Island
#1 of 1 in Rangali Island
2,322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to LUX* South Ari Atoll? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about LUX* South Ari Atoll

Address: (Formerly Diva Maldives)
Region: Maldives > Alifu Atoll > Southern Ari Atoll > Dhidhoofinolhu Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Dhidhoofinolhu Island
Price Range: £304 - £1,674 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — LUX* South Ari Atoll 5*
Number of rooms: 193
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dreamy atolls of tropical islands scattered across the Indian Ocean, the Maldives are a kaleidoscope of colours and earthly pleasures. Get away from it all at LUX* South Ari Atoll (formerly LUX* Maldives), the only settlement on the postcard-perfect island of Dhidhoofinolhu. Fuss free and laid-back, the resort surprises with pop-up cinema screenings right on the beach, impromptu musical performances and strolls along secret pathways through the lush tropical gardens. Just steps from the thatch-roofed suites and ocean-perched villas, the island's unspoilt beaches are yours to claim. A prime spot for snorkelling and whale-shark spotting, the resort's unblemished lagoon is a diver's dreamworld. Back on land, island street food and fine dining await in the tempting restaurants and bars. In the shade of coconut palms, lounge by the two turquoise pools, luxuriate in the ocean-view spa and surrender to the charms of this castaway idyll. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Holiday Gems, Hotels.com, Travelbag, Southall Travel, Booking.com, Ebookers, Agoda, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your LUX* South Ari Atoll reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lux* Maldives Hotel South Ari Atoll
Diva Maldives Hotel
Diva Maldives South Ari Atoll

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing