We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
LUX* South Ari Atoll
Certificate of Excellence
A TripAdvisor Member
“Excellent holiday”
Reviewed 10 August 2014

Very relaxing and enjoyable stay. Booked a beach villa & loved being able to walk directly from your room onto the beach. Many thanks to Sobir looking after us so well. The food was great and diving fantastic .

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LUX_GM, General Manager at LUX* South Ari Atoll, responded to this review, 1 September 2014
Thank you very much for the review. Sobir is very glad to receive your compliments and would like to send his regards to you. We are very delighted to know you had an enjoyable family holiday at LUX* Maldives and very much looking forward to seeing you again in the future. Please do not hesitate to contact us should you have any inquiries.

Best wishes to you and your family,

Shaun Dünhofen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,917 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,610
    244
    46
    13
    4
See reviews for
736
1,815
37
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (687)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2014 via mobile

Having the most wonderful time but be warned factor 50 lotion for us uk English roses hasn't been enough the staff have picked up on our sunburn straight away giving good advice and help with medicine. Looking forward to being good to swim again.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Mary W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LUX_GM, General Manager at LUX* South Ari Atoll, responded to this review, 10 August 2014
Dear Mary,

Glad that the team were able to assist with the advice on sunburn, wishing you a speedy sunburn recovery so that you can enjoy the most wonderful island experience and the swim .

Thank you very much for posting the review and sharing your experience.

Best regards,

Shaun Dünhofen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Spent a weekend at this lovely resort. We took a sea plane to travel from Male( the capital). It was a wonderful resort with all the luxuries you need. Did snorkeling and spent the whole time at the beach. Food was great and rooms were comfortable.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hazel2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LUX_GM, General Manager at LUX* South Ari Atoll, responded to this review, 23 August 2014
Dear Hazel,

We are delighted that you were able to enjoy a weekend at our resort and enjoyed the beach, and culinary experience. There is many activities on the island to do, however sometimes our guests would like to rest and enjoy the surroundings which we will of course encourage as Maldives is so beautiful.

Sunny and shining regards from all of the LUX* Maldives ,

Shaun Dünhofen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
allschwil
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

First of all we would like to thank the entire LUX team for one of the most amazing vacation we have ever spent. From the arrival to our departure everything was perfect and each and everyone paid so much attention to making us feel like royalties - which they managed to do successfully:)

Maldivian people and all other nationalities are the most welcoming and friendliest people with the warmest smile that we have ever met. We have travelled a lot around the round but this is definitely the place where we felt most comfortable. Their authentic openness and politeness overwhelmed us and made our stay an incredible experience. They treated our three kids so well!

There is nothing to say about the resort itself. They have a little piece of paradise! The island is quite big and has crystal clear waters and white beaches to walk around. The landscape is magical and appears to come out of a postcard. The bars and restaurants are spread all over the island. At some peak hours it gets difficult to get on the electronic buggies, so be prepared to walk a bit. Or try to hop on one of the free bicycles or rent one for $5 a day.

ACTIVITIES
We did some water sports: jetski, banana boat, stand up paddle (don't take the course,not worth it, just take the paddle and get started!), whale shark safari (worth the money even though you dont see the whale shark, the snorkeling is wonderful also)

The complementary activities are definitely worth it: kayak, house reef snorkeling, beach volleyball .¨
The entire water sports team was super professional and friendly

RESTAURANTS:
If you like to eat and drink the whole day then go for the all inclusive. But for us it was not worth it. We went for a la Carte and it was perfect for us. Our favorite spot was the SENSES at West Point. The food, the service and the location next to the beach and the infinity pool are the best on the island.

There are only a couple of things that I would improve

1. Lux does a great job in caring for the environment (electric buggies, producing their own drinkable water, growing their own herbs and vegetables etc.) but I don't think that it is necessary to change the towels everyday. They can be much more ecologic by replacing them only when they are thrown in the bathtub or on the floor.

2. At some times it was really difficult to get on a buggy. At around 8 in the morning it was difficult to get one and walking became quite a challenge with our three boys.

3. In my opinion there were too many Chinese guests during the time we were there. It was quite difficult to get used to their way of "handling things" (lunch and dinner time became very noisy, and we had to get used to their "restaurant manners" which is something I thought I would not see in a five star resort.

Room Tip: If you travel with children go for the beach villas instead of the water villas even though the latt...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank superanhita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LUX_GM, General Manager at LUX* South Ari Atoll, responded to this review, 10 August 2014
Thank you kindly for lovely title “They make you feel like royalties”, as we look each day to create memorable moments by helping people celebrate life. Our team expressed their heartfelt thanks on the wonderful words mentioned.

Always a pleasure to know that we were able to have you enjoy the island life with us, and your feedback on the buggies are duly noted and expressed to our team so that we can allow for a better experience.

Senses restaurant is superb and another great place on the island to sit back and enjoy good food and company. We hope the family have taken plenty of photos as the activities that you have done will be a great part to the album. Especially the Whaleshark safari.

We look forward to have you all return soon.

Very warm and sunny greetings from the Maldives,

Shaun Dünhofen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014

It's pretty nice. I spent a lot of time researching and understanding where to go in the Maldives as this was my 2nd trip back. Well worth it. It was pricey (this is the Maldives) but a very good price for location (pay attention, you have to take a seaplane here, not cheap) compared to some of the other islands. It's definitely one of the larger islands. Service was fantastic, lots of friendly people. It was fun talking to the Italian pizza makers from Italy and fun talking to the local staff. The food was good enough. For the price paid, it left something to be desired, nothing great.

Nice beach areas, though the "main" beach can get a bit busy but there are lots of secluded beach areas to explore and that was definitely nice. Take the kayak out to the sand bar and spend some private time out there.

Beautiful accommodations. Excellent room, very comfortable, very nice outdoor bathroom...and loved the mini bottle of shampoos, definitely stocked up on these before we left.

After a few days, there isn't much to do...but I guess that's the trouble being on a secluded island, not a bad problem to have though. I'd probably recommend Lux over many of the other places out there, best "value" to be had.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Vic M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LUX_GM, General Manager at LUX* South Ari Atoll, responded to this review, 10 August 2014
When we have reviews that recommend LUX* Maldives over many of the other places out there, as best "value" to be had, we are truly thankful that we are able to offer all the elements that have our guests returning time and time again.

Thank you for your review and we thank you for sharing your feedback as this allows to create amazing moments for all to share with the world. The pizza being made and location is one of the most popular place on the island and glad that you enjoyed it (its my favorite too).

On your next visit we will have something new for you to explore. Our Culinary experience in the Herb garden whereby you can have your meal prepared in a beautiful location (natural setting amongst the herbs and trees), and the best part is you have the opportunity to cook with the Chef as part of the experience.

Look forward to welcome you back,

Shaun Dünhofen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shenzhen, China
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014

We stayed at LUX* Maldives for 7 nights in July 2014 and were impressed with the rooms, amenities, restaurants, bars, activities and staff.
We booked into a water villa and were lucky enough to be allocated an amazing room on the lagoon. From our room we were able to snorkel or sit on the deck and watch the fish swimming beneath us. The room was well set up, immaculately clean (thanks to our delightful cleaner Ismael) and equipped with shower, bath, TV (with a good range of channels), wifi etc. We were based on the east side of the island and were only a short walk to reception, bars, restaurants, the ice cream shop, water sports and the dive centre. A short tuk tuk ride would take us to other restaurants and bars within the island.
There were a good range of restaurants and bars.
We made good use of the dive centre and were impressed with the dive trips that were available and well as the knowledge of the staff at the dive centre.
I'd recommend the all inclusive package that is on offer. Although it isn't fully inclusive, we found that we saved on this offer, particularly as the cocktails were so delicious!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank claremaree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LUX_GM, General Manager at LUX* South Ari Atoll, responded to this review, 10 August 2014
There is truly something for everyone and delighted to know that you enjoyed Diving, cocktails and ice cream, now thats a holiday! Thank you for your review and we glad that you had fun exploring the island life and took full advantage of our wonderful island .

Very warm and sunny greetings from the LUX* Maldives,

Shaun Dünhofen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2014

My husband and I just came back from our honeymoon in Maldives. We spent 5 days in Athuruga Beach and 5 more days un Lux Maldives Resort.

If you are looking for a place with lots of activities, friendly with kids and a "big resort” experience, this is the place to go.

As my husband and I were looking for a quiet place where to spend our honeymoon, I have to say that our first impression was not good: the place was full of Chinese tourist, being very loud and sometimes rude with other tourists and with the people that worked at the hotel. As soon as we arrived we realize that this was a big island compared to the average islands in Maldives (it’s 2 km long) and consequently, it holds much more people than most of resorts in Maldives.

However, as days went by we found quiet solitary beaches with no one there, as well as a very nice spot in the west end of the island with an amazing swimming pool which was quiet and not crowded at all (Senses restaurant and bar). We also realized that the a la carte restaurants, the cocktails and the wine list in the all inclusive package were really really good. When you pay so much for your vacation’s one of the things that you expect is that the food and drinks are up to challenge and I have to say that Lux delivers in that aspect. There are two a la carte restaurants included in the all inclusive package: Allegria (Italian food) and Senses (mix of Arabic and Maldivian food). Both of them are really really good, but we have to say that as being Spanish, Italian food is something that we are much more use to eat, so we had dinner there 4 of the 5 nights that we stayed in Lux.

In the Allegria restaurant we not only received five star treatment (like a private candlelight dinner with of five courses specially organized for us, to special out of the menu dishes and so on), but we need to say that everyone there -from the Hostess Andrea, the Bartender Buhpi (great original cocktails!), the Manager Giancarlo, the General Manager Jonathan, to our Waitress Nishan (the best we ever had, such a nice person who made our dinners much more interested) and the amazing Chef Subbuni (who not only cooks great but is such a humble person, who also gave me the recipes of the dishes that I so much liked so that I could make them at home)- make the best team to deliver a unique experience when it comes to dinning. Thank you so much guys for every night that we were able to spend there!!

One of other good things about Lux is the SPA. It really delivers a unique and relaxing experience. Not only because the place looks like a luxury hotel in Bali, but also because they really take into account every detail such as the detox tamarind drink that they give you when you arrive, to all the scented oils that they use, the calm and relaxing music, to the amazing water villas where they give you your massage…. Even if it is quite expensive we would really recommend to take at least one couple’s massage to be able to enjoy the experience.

Regarding the house reef, it is a downer in Lux’s case because you can only go once a day with previous booking, as you need to be taken on a boat. On most of Maldives resorts, the house reef is just there so you can go whenever you like, as many times as you want. But having to take a boat it is a bit disappointing also because it is not as colorful and full of fishes as the house reef that we had seen in Diamond’s hotel. However, having said that, because Lux is on the very south of the South Ari Atoll, the chances to see whale sharks, Mantas and other big fishes is much more higher since the island is located just where the whale sharks are. So, even if you have to pay for the excursion (around 100 US$ per person, which is less than what you will pay at other resorts since Lux is closer to the reef where you find the whale sharks), you will probably have more chances to see them cause if you don’t on the first time, you are more likely to pay one or two times more to be able to have the experience. In other resorts, as it is much more expensive and also takes more time to get to the reef, if you have no luck the first time, hardly people are willing to bet one more time, not only because of the money but also because you loose half a day going around a speedboat to see nothing.

As far as water villas go, we were very lucky to have the room 150 which is at the very end of the water villa’s jetty, so we had 100% privacy. However, the other water villas were very close to each other and privacy can be an issue. Even though the decor is nice, for a five star hotel we were expecting more… As we had previously been in Diamond’s Athuruga, were water villas were really spacious with a big private deck and Italian design furniture, we were kind of expecting something of the sort when arriving at Lux...

To round up, one of the things that we need to point out about Lux is that everyone that works there is always smiling, with good positive energy and never missing the chance to say hello or good night. It may sound as something not so important when choosing a hotel, but when you are on vacations is fills you up with good energy to be surrounded by people so polite and so easy going. We even made friends with Ismael, the guy that cleaned our room, who every night would leave us a surprise in our water villa (from a bubble bath with flower petals, to crocodiles or swans over our bed created using towels, to messages made out of petals and leafs).

So we would definitely recommend Lux if you are looking for a big island with LOTS of things to, a great SPA (really 5 star treatment), more variety and QUALITY when it comes to dinning and drinking (the wine and drinks menu that they offer on the all inclusive package is quite impressive and a really good selection from all over the world), more chances to see the whale shark and most of all, if you are looking for a place where everyone fills you up with good positive energy, this is where you want to go.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Marilina G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LUX_GM, General Manager at LUX* South Ari Atoll, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Dear Marilina,

Thank you for recommending LUX* Maldives as we appreciate you sharing your experience with all. We are privileged to have a bigger island with plenty to keep our guests occupied with water-sport activities to enjoying the spa facilities.

We are very fortunate to have many dining outlets and have a variety of choices that is on offer. We know that many of our guests explore our inclusive package and we try to encourage a prime selection from all over the world.

You are correct in saying that the island and team members are superb with great energy. Thank you for your kind words for the team and mentioning Andrea, Buhpi, Giancarlo, Jonathan, Nishan and Subbuni. The Spa has such a soothing and relaxing environment so that everyone feels rejuvenated.

With best regards from all of us at LUX* Maldives.

Shaun Dünhofen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dhidhoofinolhu Island
10.3 mi away
Vilamendhoo Island Resort & Spa
5.6 mi away
Vakarufalhi Island Resort
Vakarufalhi Island Resort
#1 of 1 in Vakarufalhi Island
883 reviews
22.0 mi away
Filitheyo Island Resort
Filitheyo Island Resort
#1 of 1 in Filitheyo Island
1,027 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.9 mi away
Diamonds Thudufushi
Diamonds Thudufushi
#1 of 1 in Thudufushi Island
775 reviews
11.6 mi away
Mirihi Island Resort
Mirihi Island Resort
#1 of 1 in Mirihi
931 reviews
14.4 mi away
Conrad Maldives Rangali Island
Conrad Maldives Rangali Island
#1 of 1 in Rangali Island
2,145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to LUX* South Ari Atoll? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about LUX* South Ari Atoll

Property: LUX* South Ari Atoll
Address: (Formerly Diva Maldives)
Region: Maldives > Alifu Atoll > Southern Ari Atoll > Dhidhoofinolhu Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Dhidhoofinolhu Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — LUX* South Ari Atoll 5*
Number of rooms: 193
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dreamy atolls of tropical islands scattered across the Indian Ocean, the Maldives are a kaleidoscope of colours and earthly pleasures. Get away from it all at LUX* South Ari Atoll (formerly LUX* Maldives), the only settlement on the postcard-perfect island of Dhidhoofinolhu. Fuss free and laid-back, the resort surprises with pop-up cinema screenings right on the beach, impromptu musical performances and strolls along secret pathways through the lush tropical gardens. Just steps from the thatch-roofed suites and ocean-perched villas, the island's unspoilt beaches are yours to claim. A prime spot for snorkelling and whale-shark spotting, the resort's unblemished lagoon is a diver's dreamworld. Back on land, island street food and fine dining await in the tempting restaurants and bars. In the shade of coconut palms, lounge by the two turquoise pools, luxuriate in the ocean-view spa and surrender to the charms of this castaway idyll. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Holiday Gems, Destinology, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Southall Travel, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your LUX* South Ari Atoll reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lux* Maldives Hotel South Ari Atoll
Diva Maldives Hotel
Diva Maldives South Ari Atoll

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing