We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect end to our Honeymoon”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Vakarufalhi Island Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 August 2014

We stayed at Vakarufalhi the last week in July, first week of August for a week, it was the end of our honeymoon which in the previous two weeks had us hopping from Dubai, to Cambodia then Bali and finally here.

We arrived on the resort around 7:20am following a 25 or so minute sea plane from Male and then a short 10 minute boat from a jetty. The sun was high and as we walked down the jetty we could see all manner of sea life in the lagoon. Small schools of sardines, these little sharks (no more than two feet) which patrolled back and fourth, eagle ray and plenty of colourful parrot fish. We received a warm greeting at reception and this really set the tone for the rest of our stay.

**Accomodation**

We stayed in a water bungalow and are glad we made that choice as having a sea facing view as well as a private decked area which had steps leading directly into the lagoon was pretty amazing. We did a little snorkelling on our first day straight from the back of our bungalow. The general room finish was to a good standard although my other half felt it felt a little tired in places, either way it was a comfortable spacious room with a very large bathroom.

**Facilities**

The spa was good, we did the couples honeymoon thing on the last day and enjoyed it very much. The bar was good but we found that the quality of the cocktails was not consistent between the shifts of staff (one Balinese tender who was the guy we really looked out for when we fancied a tipple).

WiFi - they say it's free and it is if you are sat basically in reception, if you want it in your room it costs $20 a day or $50 flat fee for the whole stay. The flat fee seemed reasonable but be warned, the signal is not so great if you are in a water bungalow, particularly ours which was some way from the main complex we basically asked for a refund and for the code they gave us to be voided which they did.

**Diving**

We are keen SCUBA divers, we cannot praise the professionalism, organisation and general friendliness of the ProDivers dive centre there http://www.prodivers.com/vakarufalhi-maldives
we did the first two dives of each day every day we were there and our first night dive off a wreck located near the house reef of a neighbouring resort. The boats run on time, and the local crew who ferried us around all week on our various trips were very helpful, I could really get used to having my gear carted around for me all the time! The diving in the main was sublime, one thing I will say is if you are not used to currents I would think twice before jumping in when told it's pretty strong. The rest of our group on one of the early morning dives were game so we all jumped in and we all made it out but pretty much agreed we wouldn't do it again! Didnt get to see any whale sharks, and I only saw one Manta (which was quite far away) there were plenty of other things to see and whilst those are the main attractions it didn't diminish the experience.

We did our first night dive which I have to say I was quite nervous about initially but once I got in, Poi really put us at ease and when we found the bit Moray eel on the deck of the cargo ship it was pretty cool!

We'd like to thank Antonio, Fahreed and Poi for looking after us, we will definitely be back with some of our UK diving buddies at some point.

**Food**

We're big foodies and enjoy our fair share of fine dining, my wife also has some very challenging food considerations when eating out (gluten and dairy free, no rice, oats, apricots or celeriac) I very luckily can eat what I like and I have the belly to prove it. We had gone full board which was buffet style and I have to say for buffet style the chef and his team did a very good job both delivering a high standard of food but also across a variety of international styles. The teams Asian food was probably their strongest offering and tended to be where my preference went most evenings. Whilst it was buffet food, Chandeeka the restaurant manager and the Chef arranged a special dish for my wife every evening. They really went out of their way to make sure she was able to eat well! Hameed who was our waiter most breakfasts and meal times kept the drinks well topped up and was bang on it with regards to service in general.

**Staff**

The staff were incredibly helpful and attentive. Chandeeka who I mentioned earlier made sure things were available in the restaurant to accommodate our diving schedule and we really felt in general they really did go the extra mile.

We would highly recommend staying here and whilst we will look at alternatives next visit purely to maybe see the North atoll we will also seriously think about simply going back because we know we'll get the experience we want!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank LaurenceHudson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (940)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

143 - 149 of 940 reviews

Reviewed 20 August 2014

We spent 2 weeks at Vakarufalhi Island Resort back in 2012 and we could easily say this was the best holiday we had so far. It is a very small,private island -takes you 12 min to walk from one side to another but we loved it.
Staff was very friendly, they quickly learned what we prefer to drink so was never too long to wait for a drink.
There is a "no shoe policy" which we completely loved-so relaxing, so easy to forget the crazy life from busy London.
Water is so clear and of course you could swim next to the "vegetarian" sharks -this is how locals called them..quite scary on the begining but then you get use to it.
Beach villas are very nice,clean and you've got your own spot on the beach-beach which never is too crowdy-I really felt we were the only couple on the beach during the day.
Spa area is also amazing-we had a couple package - a bit expensive but it's worth it.
Perfect location for snorkling - the underwater world is so coloufull -so beautiful-no words to describe it!
If I will have the opportunity to go back to Maldives again, will definately chose same place.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ramona Elena R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2014

we made our reservation two months before and they already comfirm,two beach villa and two water villa.we check in on August 1st,stay in beach villa 2nights.then move to water villa on August 3th.but the hotel told us there're not rooms available,let us move to the other island.we just stay here 4 nights.it's very trouble.they have not incopltment the reservation.If u plan to Mildive for holiday.please choose the better hotel –good management is very important.we spend long time to waiting them solve it.but they no pay attention.our holiday was broken.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
20  Thank amierchen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2014

Trip Information:
- 5 days and 4 nights honeymoon
- Room: Water Villa
- Package: All Inclusive

Overall Comment:
- The resort is great for the price range compared to the other Maldives resorts. Never been to the other resort though. Very well maintained
- very cosy and private
- Approx 50 beach villa, 30 water villa. So you won't get a overwhelming crowd of people
- Go for the Water Villa if budget is not a constrain, the difference is so big! Water Villa has the privacy and great view.
- passionate excursion staff, they speak Italian, English. Other languages we're not so sure. They made the effort to find the whale shark and very keen to explain.
- Generally friendly staff
- Clean and well maintained, everything's working well in the resort, so it's good.
- Pretty good house reef, we do see: stingray, baby sharks, small fishes, parrot fish, pipe fish. Go beyond the barrier, you'll see more fishes and corals.

Overall Advice on things to note:
- Resort time is 1 hour ahead of Male time
- Lunch time is 12 noon - 2pm (resort time), missed it on your arrival, you may go hungry or need to pay for a la carte. Alternatively, grab Burger King at Male Airport before going on the sea plane
- All Inclusive only if you're planning to drink beer, wine or alcohol. House wine isn't that good.
- If you don't drink alcohol, just go for Full Board OR Full Board Plus
- Alight from Sea Plane onto a floating platform, then the resort boat will come to fetch you. Well coordinated, you won't need to wait too long
- SPA book early
- sign up for excursion or activity early. Activity can be cancelled due to weather or lower than minimum pax.
- rent a life jacket (USD 8 per day per piece) from the dive center if you're not a good swimmer, sometimes sea can get a bit rough. All life jacket comes with a set of snorkel gear (goggles and fins)

Small Hiccups at the start, but all went well
- Day 1: Our appointed Water Villa was under maintenance, so we're temporary assigned to a beach villa
- The Guest Relation immediately offered FREE Wifi for our stay AND 1) to give a refund on the difference OR 2) provide free excursions. For us, that's sufficient. =)

SPA:
- The spa is operated by Balinese.
- if you're a Singaporean, probably the Batam Holiday Inn Spa will be much better choice.
- The Maldives view should be the main reason you want to do the Spa.
- Book early, especially if you want to do the spa at 6pm (resort time) so you can catch the sunset.

Food:
- Generally above average food offered by the main restaurant
- The restaurant have a few variation of cuisines, changes every day.
- fish is definitely their strength
- friendly waiter

Excursions (it's not 100% sure of seeing the marine creature):
- Manta Seeking
- Whale Shark Seeking (we went, but did not managed to see the whale shark)
- Dolphin Seeking (due to the weather - rainy, the trip was postponed)

Other extras that we didn't try:
- Romantic Private Dining
- Camp Fire Dining
- Morning and Evening Fishing Trips, overheard that you can cook your catch for USD 10+

Things Good about the Resort:
- stable free wifi at reception area; stable (USD 50 per stay) wifi in the room
- very well maintained, haven't really noticed any parts that rundown
- view is excellent
- house reef is very good, go beyond the barrier to see more.
- water villa is really very spacious, private and exclusive, you can just walk down and snorkel
- nice number of people, cosy and private. Not too crowded
- Have 2 very helpful Chinese speaking staff, so if you speak only Chinese it's no problem at all
- very friendly staff

Room Tip: Avoid Beach Villa room 147 - 150 because there's too many people walking pass to go to the resta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
15  Thank Ryan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2014

Vakarufalhi Island Resort Hotel, simply the best!
Location, food and overall service.
We spent 12 days of pure relaxing for an unforgettable honeymoon. Selected room n°112, a very quiet and nice beach villa.
Our bungalow was in front of the seaside, in the extreme left corner of this small and comfortable island. Privacy and confort are guaranteed

Italian cuisine with a perfect mix of asian fusion offer and international selection. Warm welcome at the reception with h24 free wi-fi.

A dream come true, on a always sunny beach with warm sea. Perfect location for snorkeling and scuba diving

Room Tip: room 112, just passing the beach volley court. extreme corner of this small and comfortable island...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank E2229UZfrancescop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2014

This is a small island high standards, nice food and nice rooms, not too much entertainment
Not every tourist is on honeymoon, guests like to dive and snorkell, . Dont make phonecalls in maldives exspensive also carry your own first aid box and have good insurance. Great seaplane journey, staff and room boy great.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jean H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Vacarufali is perfect. We were looking for a sophisticated island, good food, not too much noise, a nice over the water not too modern - Fiametta Viaggi in Milan were perfect and gave us all the advice we needed once they understood what we were looking for. We flew with Neos and booked the extra leg room seats on the way out and got them on the way back directly in the airport at Male. We were lucky and did not wait too long for our connection to Vacarufali (45 min). If you bring hand luggage in case you lose your case, make sure it is a bag and not a trolley as you will be separated from your trolleys on the small airplanes whereas if you have a bag, they let you keep it with you (shame to lose both suitcase and small trolley!!). We chose an over the water with the lagoon view which i would say is better than the open sea side (on this side the otw's have the rocky small walls infront of the view and bathing is right near the coral reef). The lagoon view is absolutely gorgeous, very romantic, sunset views and very private.. you can bathe in front of your otw almost always in privacy - to us it felt as if we were the only ones on the island. If you book an otw, you dine in a separate restaurant to the guests in bungalows on the beach. We loved dining outside the restaurant in the evenings on the water edge.. very romantic. We were in room 218 and loved it, not too far from the beach so not too long a walk and not too near the beach so didn't hear much (not even the generator!!). Food is very nice, italian and oriental as well as grilled fish/meat every night. We booked one dinner on the beach and chose our menu with the head chef - which we had on the lagoon side beach with torches lit and holes in the sand with candles.. fully recommend it, the food was lovely as was the service. We did snorkeling but not too much and generally relaxed for 7 days which was enough for us. We kept alot to ourselves and had aperitivo on the deck of our otw - the room was absolutely amazing and couldn't have asked for better. The otw terrace has an outdoor shower so you can go for a dip and then have a shower. This resort is quite unique as even if you have booked an otw - there are sunbeds available near the restaurant which are reserved for you in case you want to spend some time on the beach (the island isn't made of sand but coral crushed over thousands of years and looks like sand... but it never gets hot so you can walk without sandals!!). Very hot sun so be prepared with 50/30 sun factor and another hint: we tipped our waiter on the first night so he looked after us keeping us a nice table every evening in the restaurant on the outside terrace. The island is tiny (4 min and you have walked all around) but we loved it - i wouldn't stay in the bungalows on the island as some are positioned quite badly (be careful of being near the generator I think it is pretty noisy) but the otw's are well worth the money. We did a couples massage in the spa (good massages) which included a sauna and turkish bath - very romantic and fantastic facilities. Gym has got some basic services if you are interested and nice view over the water. All of the resort has sand everywhere so you really can bring one pair of sandals and that is all you need!! Great service from all the staff. What can i say.. no faults. Would definitely return.

Room Tip: 218 facing the lagoon was fantastic (half way distance from the beach and the end of the bungalows).
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cricriMilan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vakarufalhi Island
5.4 mi away
Vilamendhoo Island Resort & Spa
24.3 mi away
Constance Moofushi
Constance Moofushi
#1 of 1 in Moofushi Island
2,166 reviews
8.9 mi away
Holiday Island Resort & Spa
Holiday Island Resort & Spa
#1 of 1 in Maamingili Island
660 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
Drift Thelu Veliga Retreat
Drift Thelu Veliga Retreat
#1 of 1 in Thelu Veliga
190 reviews
5.6 mi away
LUX* South Ari Atoll
LUX* South Ari Atoll
#1 of 1 in Dhidhoofinolhu Island
3,244 reviews
9.6 mi away
Sun Island Resort and Spa
Sun Island Resort and Spa
#1 of 1 in Nalaguraidhoo Island
2,625 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vakarufalhi Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vakarufalhi Island Resort

Address: Champa Building, 3rd Floor, 20187
Region: Maldives > Alifu Atoll > Southern Ari Atoll > Vakarufalhi Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Vakarufalhi Island
Price Range: £285 - £1,123 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Vakarufalhi Island Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Vakarufalhi Island Resort, tucked away in the remote corner of South Ari atoll, 90km away from the airport, Vakarufalhi is among the pearls that make up the amazing Maldives Islands. Vakarufalhi, better known as Vakaru, is a tropical island enhanced by swaying coconut palms and white sandy beaches. Surrounding the island is a pristine lagoon enriched by a stunningly beautiful living house reef. These features combined with traditional Maldivian building concepts, makes Vakarufalhi a haven of nature and tranquility. Almost a quarter of a square kilometer of land area with 50 sea front Beach Villas spread evenly around the island and 25 Water Villas creates an atmosphere which rejuvenates your body and mind. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Holiday Gems, Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Travelbag, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Ctrip TA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelsClick and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Vakarufalhi Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vakarufalhi Island Hotel South Ari Atoll
Hotel Vakarufalhi Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing