We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A couples perfect, peaceful slice of paradise!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Holiday Island Resort & Spa
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“A couples perfect, peaceful slice of paradise!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014

We chose this resort for the first week of our honeymoon. It is one of the smaller, more unspoilt and under developed islands in the Maldives and it is for this reason it owes a lot of it's charm. You can walk around the whole thing in about 40 minutes. There is one tiny ugly industrial dock part of it at the end nearest the airport, which is a necessary evil but apart from that it is beautiful. Be careful you do not get charged for the bus and boat transfer from Male airport if it has all been included though, which we nearly did, but the staff soon sorted it out.

The staff are another reason this resort is so good. They are so friendly, I did not come in contact with one grumpy one the whole time. You end up building up a report with your waiter and other key members which makes it feel like a home from home. We had all inclusive and as long as you are careful to stick to the drinks included on the list I think this is well worth it. There is one big main restaurant and you sit in the same place with the same waiter every night. It is a lovely airy space with good views and I thought the wide choice of food was excellent. You have lots of scope to go plan or spicy or healthy or indulgent and all really fresh and satisfying.

The accommodation itself was a really pleasant surprise. We had researched it thoroughly before we went and the photos and reviews made it seem that the little bungalows might have been a bit of a compromise. But we thought they were excellent. Really large clean and bright. Cleaned two times a day. Excellent air conditioning and lighting and fan options. A little TV with some good movie channels. A large bathroom and the option of a private outdoor shower, which we ended up using more, just for the novelty of being under the palm trees. A good size fridge and mini bar with water and soft drinks replenished daily. Each bungalow has 2 loungers and 2 chairs for your patio area and leads directly to your own little slice of the amazing white sand beach and turquoise sea. You definitely do not miss a pool.

The large friendly airy bar is fantastically situated for the best views and has we if and you can while away the hours playing board games, playing pool and sipping cocktails. In the evening they have a different entertainment each night, from Karaoke to jugglers, acoustic singers, crab racing to traditional dancers. You can get involved as much or as little in these and it is so relaxed I felt very uninhibited. You can even try a flavoured shish pipe. It was May so we did have one day of rain and a few passing storms, but this in no way spoils it. It is humid tropical heat and be careful of the mosquitoes but the gardens and grounds are really lovely to walk round.

We had a day trip to its sister island Sun Island which is far bigger and more commercial. You can hire a bike and go round it for a fun day trip. It does have a very nice pool, but we ended up coming away feeling we preferred our little Holiday Island as it felt more private and special. So all in all this is an excellent honeymoon and couples relaxing destination. Oh I nearly forgot to mention one of the best things. If you do go here, make sure you use the Spa. We splashed out for a couples treatment. It was so tranquil, the massage and charming staff in the most stunning setting of gardens and gentle fountains with gentle piped music is an experience we will never forget.

Room Tip: Freindly service and a lovely location for a relaxing holiday. Clear clean water for snorkelling.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Elaine L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

600 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    245
    223
    79
    26
    27
See reviews for
79
396
18
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2014

We stayed for two weeks half board and didn't regret the decision at all. The room we stayed in (116) was ideal if you are there to dive - halfway between dive centre and restaurant on the jetty side of the island (not facing Maamgili airport which was not busy). The room was a little tired and could do with a lick of paint but you still get your tea/coffee facilities and your TV. The area at the back was fairly sheltered from the sun which was very nice on occasion especially as you are so near the beach. The staff were helpful and we had no problems during our stay. We have been visiting the Maldives for 10 years and this is the best value for money we have found. The island caters to a lot of international guests including many Russians...
We enjoyed our holiday immensely and will definately return.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank gad001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2014

Excellent value for money, helpful and friendly staff and a nice atmosphere. Rooms were a little basic but still fantastic value for money. Recommend for a good relaxing break that does not cost the earth. Also recommended is the dive centre on the island - very professional and lots to see. We will definately be coming back.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anon184
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2014

Booked a holiday here based on location& time only i.e it was the South Ari Atoll and April and therefore almost guaranteed chance of whalesharks and manta rays and good diving. Our expectations overall of the entire island were generally low. We were very pleasantly surprised with the island in general.

The internal flight & transfer from Male to Maagimli airport was well organised. Our return flight was early in the morning and we were still sitting in Maagimili airport 2.5 hours after our wakeup call which wasn’t the best and made the journey home slightly longer but hey it was worth it

The rooms desperately need some TLC but even a coat of paint would help but to be honest you don't go on holiday to spend time in your room, The interior of the island is lovely in parts but could do with some additional treatment in places. The beaches are kept clean but require additional grooming to bring up to that higher standard. We did have one issue with the room and when we phoned reception, the room boy arrived in a few minutes. He waa unable to help but got maintenance there to fix the problem and it was all sorted within 20 minutes

The restaurant was clean and bright and you were assigned a fixed table and waiter for the length of your stay. Our waiter was Ali and he was attentive and chatty and within a day knew our preferences. The food was actually really good. There was not a huge choice but at every lunch/dinner there was always the choice of pasta or rice or potatoes and chicken, fish & beef with some veggies and then there was a selection of salads. Not flash but absolutely fine. There are 2 bars - the beach bar which is open till 7pm ( but for some bizarre reason shut between 12 & 2 ) and the main bar. We liked them both - the main bar has areas for sitting both inside & out plus some seating out on the sand. The waiters were not the fastest but they got to know our preferences as well.

The dive center had a good setup. Once you signed up for a trip then your box was on the boat waiting and you just analysed your nitrox tank on the boat so there was no need to go down to the dive center other than to meet up before going on the boat. The dive instructors gave good briefings & the boat staff were always very helpful so would certainly recommend it.

We didn't go to Sun island so can't comment. There supposedly is some snorkeling up just of the beach at the beach bar but we didn't try it

In conclusion, its not the best island that we have been to but actually much better than we had ever hoped and we wouldn't rule out going back since its in the South Ari Atoll and its price is affordable

Room Tip: Rooms 135 - 160 are best location
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank daisythecat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
47 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2014

Holiday Island is the place to be if you prefer relaxing on white sand beaches, discovering the sea and enjoying life in slow motion instead of shopping and the buzz of the city.

The staff is going further than in most places to make your stay easy and enjoyable. We were met with uttermost friendlyness and humor by everyone, but especially the main restaurant staff and the guys at water sports.

Two weeks of which the first one was so calm guestwise that we on several days had the beautiful beach and all of its marvellous nature all by ourselves.
For a small break it's easy to take the free shuttle to the neighbouring and larger Sun Island.
Before the stay we read reviews of which side of the island was the best one beachwise. We had the luck of being in room 169 closest to the Reggae bar and next to the tip of the island, however if situated on the other side, the island is so small one easily walks in a few minutes anywhere.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mikajussi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Townsville, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2014

The transfers from Male airport to the island were scheduled well and ran smoothly, when we arrived at Holiday Island it was beautiful and we were really happy. That faded quickly when we tried to upgrade to all inclusive and were told it was going to cost a further $300 more for the week than we were advised in previous email correspondence (which I had a copy with me). The reception staff were very rude and we had to arrange a further meeting with the reservations manager for that evening to get it sorted, and thankfully we did but it still ruined our first day on the island. Having the same table for each meal was great, however it meant having the same waiter, and whilst he was pleasant when he spoke you could tell he didn't want to be there and was just saying standard lines in hope to get a tip. We could see that other waiters were very friendly and joking with other guests so I'm not saying all waiters were like that, but we were just unlucky.

The free transfers to Sun Island was great to break up the holiday, but the price of food and drink is quite high so you wouldn't want to be going over too regularly if you are already paying all inclusive on holiday island.

The beach and water was beautiful and the rooms were clean and had everything you needed (even if they are outdated). We stayed in room 177 which is a good 5 mins walk from reception and main bar but when you are eating so much nice food the exercise is good. These rooms were the quietest and the water was only 10 metres from the doorstep. Whereas on the other side of the island (jetty side) the water is 50 metres from your door, so it really depends if you prefer to be close to main bar or the water.

We hired snorkelling equipment for $20 for the day but the reef off the island is nothing spectacular, a couple of small fish and small sharks is all we saw. So if you are going to go snorkelling it is probably worth paying the extra to go on the excursion. The night fishing was okay but you were just handed a handline and expected to go from there, there was no conversation or introduction to the crew, I'm not sure if they didn't speak English or couldn't be bothered.

As good as all-inclusive is cost wise, you really have to know where and what times you can get access to all the benefits and the fact that the beach bar doesn't serve spirits is really frustrating -only beer.

We got married in Koh Samui the week before arriving to Holiday Island and the people in Samui were so friendly and amazing without expecting anything but a thank you. Coming to the Maldives where no one would go out of their way for you or rarely greet you with a hello. They look at you like you are bothering them before you even asked anything, and once they do their 'job' (nothing nice or out of the ordinary) they would wait around for a tip. I'm hoping that this was just a bad experience with the Maldivian people but I wouldn't be returning in a hurry because of that reason, even though the Maldives are so picturesque it is the people and the service that make your holiday enjoyable in my opinion.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Renee A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Locarno, Switzerland
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2014

We've been there because we knew the area already and we wanted to do great dives...and we did! Many whale-sharks, mantas and just amazing dive spots! So we were completely satisfy! Concerning the rooms, be aware to have one from nr. 140 to 169! This is the best side of the island. If you land on the back side, you will have a view on Maamigili Airport, airplaines landing very often, and work-on-progress during day&night! Not really what someone expect from "paradise".

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hotelplan

Helpful?
6 Thank DAFRA70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Maamingili Island
23.3 mi away
Filitheyo Island Resort
Filitheyo Island Resort
#1 of 1 in Filitheyo Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,013 reviews
14.3 mi away
Vilamendhoo Island Resort & Spa
9.0 mi away
Vakarufalhi Island Resort
Vakarufalhi Island Resort
#1 of 1 in Vakarufalhi Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 865 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Sun Island Resort
Sun Island Resort
#1 of 1 in Nalaguraidhoo Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,299 reviews
5.2 mi away
LUX* South Ari Atoll
LUX* South Ari Atoll
#1 of 1 in Dhidhoofinolhu Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,799 reviews
13.4 mi away
Ranveli Village
Ranveli Village
#1 of 1 in Villingilivaru Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 532 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Island Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Island Resort & Spa

Property: Holiday Island Resort & Spa
Address:
Region: Maldives > Alifu Atoll > Southern Ari Atoll > Maamingili Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Maamingili Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Island Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 142
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Holiday Island Resort & Spa, the rush of time slows. The crystalline seas and soft, sandy shores remain as nature made them, beckoning guests to one of the world’s last unspoiled paradises. Shape your dream holiday at this secluded Maldives beach hotel, where pristine beauty, personalized service and modern indulgences have formed a retreat of unparalleled allure. Explore the underwater treasures of one of the world’s premier dive locations. Sip a cocktail on your private terrace as you watch the sun dip below the horizon. Or simply lounge on the white coral sand and soak up the radiant sun. Escape to this tranquil, wonderfully relaxed choice of Maldives beach resorts, and discover a tangible embodiment of your ideal tropical paradise. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Travelbag, TravelUp, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Holiday Island Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Island Resort And Spa
Holiday Island Hotel South Ari Atoll
Hotel Holiday Island
Holiday Island Maldives
Holiday Island Resort Maldives

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing