We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
28 people are viewing this hotel
Expedia.com
US$1,886
View deal
Free cancellation until 21/10/21
Hotels.com
US$1,894
View deal
Free cancellation until 21/10/21
Booking.com
US$1,084
View deal
Reserve now, pay at stay
PricelineUS$1,084
eDreamsUS$1,084
CheapTicketsUS$1,894
View all 15 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (3,401)
Filter reviews
3,401 results
Traveller rating
2,939
314
99
27
22
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
2,939
314
99
27
22
Show reviews that mention
All reviews platinum plan ocean adventure our honeymoon fish water villa main restaurant glass floor kids club sea plane infinity pool our waiter aqua bar all inclusive package a la carte mini bar sunset cruise male airport
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1,678 - 1,683 of 3,401 reviews
Reviewed 30 October 2012

Returned back from honeymoon in September. What a fantastic time. Excellent all inclusive. If ur on a special trip and you can afford it go for the water bungalows. They are absolutely fantastic and very private. Ask for ur water bungalow as far up the decking as possible. Its a longer walk but more private. Book your table for your meal at tamarind restaurant early and ask for an outside table. You can't regret going to this hotel.

Room tip: Water bungalows are excellent
Date of stay: September 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Holsaregreatuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
patriceaira2017, Public Relations Manager at Lily Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 22 June 2017

Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2012

What a wonderful time and place to spend a honeymoon with my wife.

The weather was nothing short of horrendous, but that still didn't spoil the experience and the privilege of being on a beautiful island in one of the most visually stunning places on the planet. Still, the review isn't about the weather and what can the resort can do about the weather, eh?

I think the key point in deciding about a destination/hotel/resort is to ask previous visitors "would you back again". After seeing so many positive comments and having heard and spoken to people there who were returning, I can add my support to the belief that this place is worthy of it's great feedback. It seems there a couple of reviewers who are not too pleased, particularly, some that were during a time of development and are now pretty old.

On arrival, it was a little messy as the airport is under going some redevelopment, but within a few minutes and using our eyes, we found the transfer desk and were lead to the sea plane terminal very quickly and efficiently. We did have to wait a little while (90mins) in the VIP Lounge (which is included in the Platinum Plan anyway) as some of the other guests in our sea taxi were delayed on their incoming flight. Whilst this was a little annoying after a long journey to get to Male and you just want to get to the resort, given the logistics and cost of laying on a sea taxi just for 2 of us, I'd say it was acceptable. There were drinks and snacks available, it was air conditioned, so nice and cool, so no big deal. Once you're up in the air and you can see the views, the wait quickly slips from your mind.

Once you get off the sea taxi and onto the jetty, we were greeted by what seemed like a massive welcoming party, someone to take your bag, someone to take your hand and help you onto the jetty, a Receptionist, the Front of House Manager and a drummer!? Within 5/6 mins, we were in our room, cases delivered and ready to have a look around.

The first thing that strikes you, is how quiet it is. It's very quiet and peaceful. After 3 flights including the noisy sea plane, it felt a little like I was in a vacuum or something.

Rooms - Beach Villa
The rooms are very big and more than provide everything you need. Our bed was very comfortable and I slept like baby every night. The bathrooms were amazing. A little odd at first, as they are in the open (although, I hasten to add, you do have privacy as the bathrooms are walled so no one can see you), so at first it feels strange, but also very liberating. However, Im sure others will think otherwise.

Cleanliness
As I've said in other reviews, I travel a huge amount with my work, so see the inside of many many hotels. I can honestly say that I don't believe I've seen public areas of hotels so immaculately clean and tidy. The toilets were spotless and seemed to have a permanent cleaner in them and for goodness sake, there is even someone working there who RAKES THE SAND!!! Literally, walking round, rake in hand tidying the sand!!!

Pools
2 Pool areas, Aqua Bar with the infinity pool and another right up at the opposite end of the island. Aqua Bar and pool is supposed to be the quiet area, with the other pool and Vibes bar being more for families. Both pools were clean and tidy, no empty glasses laying around, towels always stocked and available. I happily spent time at both pools/bars, but my slight preference was for the Vibes Bar, for no other reason other than I preferred the views.

Beaches
Hmmm, beautiful clean sand, in some places a little sharp due to the washed up shell and coral, but it is a island, so what do you expect? Even after the heavy rain (of which there was lots - 8 of 12 days washed out) the sea was staggeringly beautiful. The different blues, the temperature, just amazing.

Service
The service everywhere was absolutely spot on. The Aqua bar was a little slow, but I was only there over lunch, so understandably a little slow, but I imagine you'll be going to Lily Beach on holiday, so what's the rush? It seemed that there was always someone with in arms reach. All the staff seemed to have a genuine smile on their faces and a real interest in talking to you, even just the simple questions like "how are you?" "is there anything I can do for you?". It's basics for the hospitality industry, but so many places fail to get that basic attitude right, even in other 5* establishments.

Food
I guess this is the most subjective topic for anyone, but here's my take. The bar food - small menu, great food and very well presented. The a la carte restaurant, Tamarind, again not the biggest menu you'll come across, but again very well presented and food that's spot on. The main restaurant is a buffet style with a different theme every night. It's all fresh, tastes fantastic and some of the displays were simply incredible. I do appreciate that buffets are not to everyones taste (no joke intended) so if it's not to your liking, then you're in the wrong place here. Drinks - all the international brands you could want, the whiskies, the brandies, vodkas etc, even the wine list has 70 wines you can choose from, and that's before you look at the list of wines that aren't included in the all inclusive section.

I've seen in a couple of the reviews in the "terrible" and "poor" section that people have said that the service was awful and slow. I didn't experience this at all, but we all have different stories to tell and some people just manage to attract poor service. Sure there are ants around (and honestly not many, but you're in the tropics for goodness sake, what do you expect, live with it. They even fumigate the island twice daily, so no mozzies and therefore, no mozzie bites = holiday heaven for me. Food is always a subjective topic, however if you've done any research and I'm guessing most potential guests will, as let's be honest Lily Beach is not a cheap getaway, you'll know before you hit "book" that the restaurant is a buffet style. If you can't find food or drink in the offering here, something is seriously wrong with your tastes.

So, to my original point, would I go back? Oh, for sure I would, in a heartbeat.

Date of stay: October 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank ALandVIPPY
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
patriceaira2017, other at Lily Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 26 January 2018

Thank You !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2012

This place is amazing. We stayed in September for our honeymoon. We stayed in a Lagoon Villa which was lovely and spacious. From the back of our Villa there was the most amazing Coral weve ever seen. There are an array of exotic fish in large numbers that are friendly that you can swim with. It really felt special and very private with only the occassional snokeller passing by. The best place I found to snorkel was under the Spa although it wasn't until I was lying on one of the massage beds looking down from the Spa I realised there were glass floors for you to gaze through while being pampered!!!! Under the Spa there are Rays and Reef Shark that are fine to swim with and are quite tame.

The food is excellent. We enjoyed every meal both from the main buffet and the other restaurants. We also had a special meal for our honeymoon which was lovely and romantic.

We were very impressed with the variety of wines and spirits on offer. Although there is a cocktail list the bar men can make anything you ask for and they always make you feel its not to much trouble. The mini bar is kept stocked up twice a day so you also never run out of drinks in your room either. The snacks are also a lovely touch especially as you dont have to go out to one of the bars and order food if you just want something small to nibble on.

All the staff are very friendly, helpful and polite and truely make you feel special.

I didn't do much diving while we were here but I did do a scuba tune up which consisted of a 1 hour dive down the edge of the island. This was very good and I got to see a lot of fish that you can't see when snorkelling. Although the scuba tune up was $100 it was well worth it especially as we spend very little while we were there.

All in all, the people that think this island is terrible must have been on a different island! We thought it was a little island paradise.

Date of stay: September 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 304TomW
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
patriceaira2017, other at Lily Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 26 January 2018

Thank You !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2012

My husband and I needed some place to go that was going to be a trip of a lifetime, we were seeking refuge after spending a year deployed to Afghanistan. We decided on Lily Beach after MONTHS of research and checking TripAdvisor. Without a doubt the amount we spent was well worth EVERY PENNY.

Arrival to the airport was smooth, we were greeted and our bags were taken to the air taxi check in, we were then taken to the VIP waiting lounge, it was great, refreshments and snacks while we waited. Arrival to the island was a short boat trip to the main jetty where the staff greeted us and each couple/family was escorted by their own staff member.

We stayed 9 days (Oct 2012), 6 in a deluxe water villa and 3 in Sunset Water Suite. The first room(312) water villa was immaculate, the mini bar was good and the reef was AMAZING. We snorkeled everyday!

Our second room (402) Sunset, was absolutely the best and we recommend spending the little extra for this room. Our butler Riyaz was the best, everything we needed he was there. He even brought us fruit each day unexpectedly which was a nice treat after snorkeling.

The rooms themselves are amazing, they are clean, comfy and have everything you need, including a "Pillow Menu".

The food on the island is amazing, the buffet at Lily Maa has so much to offer at all meals. Our favorite was Indian Cuisine and the BBQ night at Lily Maa. Once arriving at Lily Maa, you generally get the same server all week, we had Abdulla, who after our first meal remembered our names, had a table waiting for us each evening with drinks, and was so friendly.

Aqva Bar is excellent for lunch, their Flams (light pizza) are the perfect lunch. We must credit Joseph and the other bar staff for being so friendly helpful and for making such great cocktails, try the Turquoise Experience, its to die for.

Though you have to pay for the spa, you do get one complimentary massage when staying in an over water or sunset water suite. We took advantage of a few offers they had. We did a couples treatment, it was FANTASTIC, and they even sent champagne to our room after! We also did a few other treatments and the girls were great, they really do wonders to tired aching stressed muscles.

The water sports center is great provide everything you need for your stay. Snorkeling gear, paddle boats, wind surfing, etc. We took advantage of the paddle boats and of course the snorkeling gear.

The reef at Lily Beach is truly amazing, we saw so much wildlife and beautiful coral.

One of the things I want to point out, is you can pack ridiculously light, they provide everything in the rooms, even after-sun aloe gel. Bring your bathing suits, one pair of flip flops/sandals, and an outfit or two, nothing more really needed!!

Overall, we are a bit biased as this was our first trip to the Maldives, but its not our last, we have already booked for April to return to Lily Beach. Platinum all inclusive is the way to go at Lily Beach.

Thank you to everyone at Lily Beach!!

Room tip: Deluxe Water Villas 308-316 are on the reef excellent choice for those avid snorkelers, rooms on opposing side are more "sandy" ocean than reef but do not have the seaplanes landing on that side, though we did not notice in our room(312). Sunset Suites have the best reef views and much more private, we stayed in 402 it was an oasis.
Date of stay: October 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank KeeferSchultz
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
patriceaira2017, other at Lily Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 26 January 2018

Thank You !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2012

when i was in maldives i was stay in 6 different hotel.i was stay 3 day in lily beach and it was the best for nature , foods, workers , service and rooms. if i will go again my first choice will be lily beach resort.they think about all the details for your comfort.

Room tip: water bungalows are the best
Date of stay: November 2011
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MuratE3
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
patriceaira2017, other at Lily Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 26 January 2018

Thank You !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews