We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“2nd time with flawless experience - ready for another visit”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Lily Beach Resort & Spa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 November 2013

Hotel / Island:
We went to Lily beach for a second time (first in 2011) after carefully evaluating other locations. The 2011 experience was just amazing - nothing to complain. That was a good reason to check out something else because we thought it will be hard to continue our excellent 2011 experience with this resort. We had a beach villa we liked a lot as it was close to the dive shop and the infinity pool (best spot for enjoying the sunset). Thanks to a daily dose of anti-mosquito spray you can be vey relaxed at any time. No mosquito around at all which means you can relax outside day and night.
As said - after looking at all the other options we booked Lily Beach again and had a great time (again).

Guest structure:
was a little different this time. More Chinese/Indian guests this time, quite some European/English/German/Swiss guests.

Specials:
They arranged the villa we asked for right away, gluten free pastry/pasta was available which is important for my diet.
The front desk did everything to help with other special arrangements.

Diving:
We are advanced divers. The Padi Base Dive crew (Ocean Pro) we liked a lot in 2011 changed completely. The new crew was great again (German/English/Swiss plus more guides). Focus on save diving, fantastic whale shark and manta spotters. The boys who drive your boat to remote dive spots are very friendly, shy but always smiling and caring for the divers. After all you can choose to dive the house reef which is nice if you don't want to go on a boat or stick to a schedule. The Dive team is one of the main reasons to consider visiting Lily Beach again.

The End:
It is highly likely that we will be back! Special thanks to the Dive & Boat crew with Johanna, Kalvin, Sarah; Front Office Manager Daniele who was very patient with my attempt to go to sun lily island and the kitchen crew who did their best to provide my gluten free meals.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Tim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IH_Management, and all team at Lily Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 18 November 2013

Dear Tobias & Alexandra,

It was amazing to have you here again, we all felt like your friends and we hope you felt the same way. The whole team know you very well by now and all look forward to welcoming you back. We know how much you like diving and we are happy to read you enjoyed the new Ocean Pro team. A big thanks also for the kind comments about Front Desk and all the special arrangements they did for you. Daniele, Sara, Johanna, Kelvin and the rest of the Team send regards to both of you & rest assured they all appreciated very much your review. Thank you & come back soon! We wait for you!

Kind Regards,

Pascal BILLON
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,049)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

709 - 715 of 2,049 reviews

Reviewed 25 October 2013

My husband and I were in Lily Beach last week for 3 nights and had such an amazing holiday, despite the rainy weather!

From the time we were greeted at the airport for the sea plane transfer to the resort, we were very well treated by the staff all the way throughout our stay. Special mention goes to Pascal, Daniele, Ismail, Cho (reception), Afrah (Lily Maa who went out of his way to accomodate our request) and Joseph and Rajan (Aqva).

The water villa which we stayed at was fantastic with our own private pool and immediate access to snorkelling. The waters around Lily Beach Resort were so clean and crystal clear.

Overall, great trip and we are thinking of returning soon with our little one since they have a very good Kids' Club on the resort!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hippo88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IH_Management, and all team at Lily Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 21 November 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you so much for the time you took in writing about us and your experience at Lily Beach. You have fond memories of your stay and we have fond memories of you here. My self, Daniele, Ismail, Zhu, Afrah, Joseph, Rajan wait for you and look forward to seeing you again, this time with your son as well!

Kind Regards

Pascal BILLON,
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2013

My wife and I have been to many countries and stayed at many wonderful hotels. Lily Beach is the first hotel that we have ever revisited. The fact that we have is absolute testament to the level of service and outstanding quality of the resort.

A couple of years ago, we had two weeks at Constance Moofushi and and after I completed my review I was besieged with people asking me to compare the two resorts. It was very hard at first to pick between them, of course Moofushi was newer but in hindsight, that was maybe its undoing.
Lily Beach has staff there that have been there for over 20 years since the days when it was a 3 star resort. These staff have a wealth of experience in the hospitality industry and really know how to make you feel special.

A few things have changed since I was at Lily last and for the better in my opinion. The new manager Pascal was a very approachable guy very friendly and always eager to hear about your opinion of the resort. The spa now has a new crew of Balinese girls who are all excellent masseurs with so many treatments to offer and strong "like bull" too...very deceiving for such small girls.
In the past, when eating at the main restaurant Lily Maa during the evening, you had to order off a menu but now they have a beautiful buffet selection that changes every day with different themes. Don't be afraid to approach the chefs if you fancy something a little different one night, they were more than happy to make us something different and seemed to love the challenge.

The food during the day times is just super and just so much choice, we really enjoyed eating at Vibes, Aqva and Lily Maa. We couldn't pick a favourite!
One thing that did change and not in a good way for me was the menu at Tamarind. Where as once this was an asian/indian fusion now its more or less purely asian. There are only 2 curries on the menu and both of them are suitable for a very mild pallet. I personally love indian food and would have loved the option of a spicy curry on the menu as well as the mild ones. Saying that though, for our second visit on week 2 I asked the chef to make me a spicy curry off the menu and it was absolutely sublime!! Hats off to the chef!!

The absolute beauty of staying on this resort are the quality of the rooms. We stayed at the beach villa this time but have stayed at the Lagoon Villa and Water Villa in the past. Each room has its pros and cons but they are definitely better than the ones at Moofushi, particularly the Water Villas...they are just unbelievable and have to be seen to be believed.

A big thanks to the following staff who made our trip/s so memorable and so good that we have booked again for March next year. Joseph and Rajan at the Aqva bar. Senarth and the boys at the Spirit bar, our very patient waiter Mohammed (King). The ever attentive Ismail, the Rooms manager, the chefs at every restaurant and anyone i've missed.
If you visit the resort, these people will make your stay a memorable one.

Please feel free to message me any questions!

Room Tip: Room 167 on the beach is a hot favourite amongst repeat guests.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Nathan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IH_Management, and all team at Lily Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 18 November 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

It is a pleasure to read your review and the whole team thank you for the nice comments. As you say, our team has this magic touch to make you feel special and you can clearly see that they treat Lily Beach like their own place since most of them are working here since more than 10 years . We believe this is tightly related to the feeling of “home sweet home”, which is the best feeling a guest can have and it is always our aim as hospitality persons. Your opinion is even more valuable as loyal guest and we appreciate all the comparisons you have made. We would like to answer you and inform you about our menu at Tamarind. We are in process to change something in our fine dining restaurant, included our menu. We are sure you will be back soon..so get ready to taste something really special! Your positive message has been passed to the Spa girls, our Chef, Joseph, King, Rajan and all the others. Thank you again & look forward to welcoming you back to Lily Beach Resort & Spa!

Kind Regards

Pascal BILLON,
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2013

This was our first trip to Maldives on the Platinum plan in water villa 319. Overall our impression was paradise, luxury, friendly, and impeccable service which made us feel special and welcome. The dive centre is professional run and provides quality service and equipment. The snorkeling from the back step of villa was stunning, like diving in a tropical fishtank. Food quality was top notch and the cocktails even better and never ending thanks to Joseph at Aqua Bar, who seemed to anticipate your needs before you relised yourself. The villa was spacious, private and exceeded expectations, especially loved our private infinity edge pool overlooking crystal clear blue water. The glass floor was an extra special touch which allowed you to watch the underwater world.
Also went on the engineering tour and the quality was evident in areas which are normally behind the scenes and out of the eye of the tourist. The whole team at Lily Beach Resort should be commended for making our trip to the Maldives PERFECT.

Room Tip: Water villa's are more cost but worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Roo S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IH_Management, and all team at Lily Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 16 November 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

“The whole team at Lily Beach Resort should be commended for making our trip to the Maldives PERFECT.” This is absolutely the best comment we can expect from our guest. Thank you on behalf of all 320 employees for having noticed the effort they put everyday in their job, in order for you to say “impeccable service”. Joseph, Ocean Pro Diving Team and all the others read and appreciated very much your kind feedbacks. We look forward to welcoming you back and making you feel “special” again. Come back soon!

Kind regards,

Pascal BILLON
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2013

We just returned from our 8th trip to the Maldives (always a different island resort). Often people ask which one is the best. All locations have there key strengths and weaknesses: I don't think there is "the" single best. It is definitively not Lilly Beach.
Lilly Beach offers a very nice island experience in South Ari Atoll. It is however clearly over-rated and does not play in the same league than some other islands (Halaveli, Four Seasons Landaa, Kanuhura). The strengths are it's pool infrastructure (Aqua Bar for sunset is very nice, Vibes Bar for more kids-oriented activities also good) and it's house-reef (very nice, very long, easy accessible). The service level is ok, but not great (never flowers on the bed, tables at dinner inside instead of outside when there is a slight chance of rain). The Spa is ok, but not great (nevertheless as expensive as the great ones).
The dive-center is very professional. While we did not see one single big shark in 16 dives (only small white tip), we were able to see a whale shark (full day dhoni tour to the southern edge of the ari atoll, but non-divers can take a speed boat) and dozens of mantas (just 30 minutes away form Lilly Beach). Nice corals and colors.
The water villa (321) was very nice and is worth the upgrade from the non-recommendable Lagoon-villas (small like beach villas, in a diesel-smelling part of the island). Beach villas are rather small, but ok, if you don't mind having adjacent neighbor. We recommend water villa numbers 319-321 for sunset and nicest view (on the other side the view is on Vilamendhoo Island)
The platinum plan and the food were disappointing. The choice of wine, spirits and other included items is much more limited than for example in Moofushi. The food was not what I expect from a 5 star resort. In the Maldives I truly enjoy getting super fresh fish in different forms (sushi, sashimi, carpaccio, tartar, grilled etc.), fresh fruit juices and healthy food. I am not suggesting there was no fish served, but for our taste, it was not at all in the spirit of other dinner experiences you can have in the Maldives. The island manager argued he had just lost his chef and his replacement would fix the problem.
The island has also some bizarre rules which we have never seen before in any other island: Snorkelling after 1730 and swimming after 1800 (in lagoon as well as in the pools) is forbidden (appearantly because a lot of guest cannot swim....)

So, in summary, Lilly Beach offers a good holiday experience. But do not expect a truly 5 star island, so make sure you do not pay a 5 or even 6 star hotel package price. Islands like Moofushi or Halaveli offer better price-value.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
15  Thank turtle-diver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IH_Management, and all team at Lily Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 11 November 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

First of all, thank you for reviewing our resort and giving useful feedbacks. We take into serious your positive as well as negative comments, in order to improve day by day.
Though, we would like to clarify a few points. As you probably know weather in Maldives is quite unpredictable and sometimes we have to take decisions when there’s even a small chance of rain. This is to avoid the risk of unpleasant situations for our guests. Regarding food, we always receive good feedbacks and especially about fish. It is absolutely fresh and cooked in many different ways. However we understand that everyone has different tastes and we respect them. We were just trying to explain you that an experienced executive chef was on his way to Lily Beach to bring a breath of fresh air to our buffet. Last, we would like to underline that our policy does not allow to swim after 5.30pm, again, to avoid risk that might compromise our guests’ holiday. After sunset is not safe and we only want to protect you. We thank you again and we hope indeed to have the chance to welcome you back to Lily Beach Resort & Spa!

Kind Regards,

Pascal BILLON
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2013

Two main points to make.

Firstly a quick review of the main points. The island is beautiful and the accommodation fantastic. My wife and I had a lagoon villa and it was stunning. Large deck outside which looked straight onto the reef and over the beautiful blue sea. The facilities are excellent, a well stocked gym, a good pool for swimming in and another for chilling watching the sunset over a cocktail. The is excellent through out, both in the main buffet and al a carte. The wine list. . . . Is phenomenal. On top of all this, the service is excellent and professional from top to bottom. The tea, clearly have a passion for what they do and it shows in the care they give everyone.

To end - a real example of this. While we were at lily my wife fainted from the heat. There was a first aider there within a minute, a medic there within 3 accompanied by a manager who took personal responsibility for looking after her. They couldn't do enough for us and we were really well looked after.

This is a professional team who seem to love their work. Can't fault them in any way and we look forward to many returns over the years.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank RikMcBroon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IH_Management, and all team at Lily Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 3 November 2013

Dear Mr & Mrs McBroon,
It was a pleasure for us having assisted you during that small incident and making sure everything was all right. You wrote something absolutely true: the whole Team of Lily Beach love their job and this clearly comes up in the day by day operations. Thanks for having noticed it. Also, thank you for the beautiful comments about service, wine list and facilities. We look forward to welcoming you again with even more choices and improvements! See you soon and take care!

Kind Regards,

Pascal BILLON
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2013

Lily Beach resort did not meet our expectations, it exceeded it by miles! From the minute you step off the seaplane, you are greeted by the staff like a long lost relative. Every member of staff, be it a gardener, cleaner, maintenance personnel, management, greeted us with friendliness and enthusiasm.

The rooms are spacious, very clean and refreshed twice a day.

The buffets served at Lily Maa were out of this world, while lunches served at both Aqua bar and Vibes offerered a variation to the buffet lunches. We specially enjoyed the atmosphere at the Vibes bar, and found the bar men here extremely friendly. They recognized us after one day, and always made sure that our favorite drinks were available as soon as we arrived.

Most exciting to tourists like ourselves who come from South Africa, was the fantastic wine collection, and we were happy to find our favorite South African wine on the menu.

Snorkeling trips is a wonderful experience, the Coral Gardens are amazing, and attention to detail on the boat, such as provision of towels, snacks, water etc. was just great.

For those who wish to walk a few steps and snorkel, Lily Beach is the answer. The house reef is amazing, and snorkeling around the island is safe, and fascinating.

The secret to Lily Beach's success is the attention to detail. Pascal, to you and everyone of the 300 staff members on the island, Well done, and thank you for making us feel like royalty. Last but not least, a special thank you to Hussain, our waiter, who took care of us with great enthusiasm.

We will definately return to Lily Beach.

Room Tip: We stayed in Beach Villa no 135. It is central to everything, on the beach, and close to the water s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AvWRsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IH_Management, and all team at Lily Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 29 October 2013

Dear Valued Guest,
It is such a pleasure to know that we exceeded your expectations! Providing “extra miles service” it’s the base of Lily Beach Resort & Spa and we are definitely more than happy to read feedbacks like yours. As you noticed the choice of drinks available is huge and for everyone’s taste. It’s great that you found your favorite one! Your positive message has been passed to Hussain and rest assured he will be proud of it. Thank you very much for writing about us and recommending our resort! We wait for you, maybe next year? We hope so, take care!

Kind Regards,

Pascal BILLON
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Huvahandhoo Island
22.3 mi away
Constance Moofushi
Constance Moofushi
#1 of 1 in Moofushi Island
2,131 reviews
1.4 mi away
Vilamendhoo Island Resort & Spa
24.6 mi away
Kandolhu Maldives
Kandolhu Maldives
#1 of 17 in North Ari Atoll
563 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 mi away
Vakarufalhi Island Resort
Vakarufalhi Island Resort
#1 of 1 in Vakarufalhi Island
915 reviews
11.5 mi away
LUX* South Ari Atoll
LUX* South Ari Atoll
#1 of 1 in Dhidhoofinolhu Island
3,150 reviews
12.2 mi away
Mirihi Island Resort
Mirihi Island Resort
#1 of 1 in Mirihi
974 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lily Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lily Beach Resort & Spa

Address: Huvahandhoo Island
Region: Maldives > Alifu Atoll > Southern Ari Atoll > Huvahandhoo Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Huvahandhoo Island
Price Range: £639 - £1,708 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Lily Beach Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the deep blue sea of the Indian Ocean, among the scattered small Islands known as the Garland of Flowers (Maldive Islands) of indescribable nature, Lily Beach Resort is the island - Huvahendhoo at the South East Ari-Atoll. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Holiday Gems, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Prestigia, Hotelopia, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Ebookers, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Lily Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lily Beach Hotel South Ari Atoll
Lily Beach Resort And Spa
Lily Beach Resort All Inclusive
Lily Beach Maldives

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing