We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Honeymoon Heaven!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lily Beach Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Lily Beach Resort & Spa
Certificate of Excellence
Guildford
1 review
“Honeymoon Heaven!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2010

We have just returned from our 2 week Honeymoon at Lily Beach-it was superb in every aspect!

We booked 1 week in a lagoon villa, which was spacious and luxurious, with a perfect deck for looking out over the lagoon and sea, while relaxing, (the outside bathroom took a little getting used to but was fine generally and very novel!) and then 1 week in a water villa. If the lagoon villa was excellent (which it was) this was sublime! Everything about it was created for comfort, luxury and to make the most of the gorgeous location, from the glass floor to the large deck with infinity pool. It was truly stunning!

The staff in each department at the resort were fantastic-nothing was too much trouble and if we had any requests, a sun-shade umbrella, for example, they were dealt with quickly and efficiently. The housekeeping was excellent and very thorough.

Food in the Lily Maa, contrary to what some have previously said, was excellent and the choice there was truly overwhelming! We have been to other high-end resorts in the in the world plus ‘upmarket’ restaurants in the UK so think we have a reasonable idea of what should be expected, and we have absolutely no complaints in this area! My wife has certain food allergies and these were also catered for very well.

The serving staff were very friendly and attentive. I know some previous reviews have said they came across as impolite or rude, but this was certainly not the case with us. They are softly spoken but the conversation and service we received was second to none and they were extremely on the ball to cater to our needs.

We did scuba (Ocean Pro team were very good and very professional!) and snorkelling-the island is blessed with the very accessible ‘house reef’ which is just stunning and overflowing with marine life.

All in all the island and resort are beautiful, the accommodation is spectacular and the staff were impeccable.

Can’t say much more than that! 5 stars!

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sjp100uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,848 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,542
    216
    66
    13
    11
See reviews for
401
1,181
8
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (358)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
newcastle
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2010

We stayed here for a week during our 3 wk honeymoon visiting sri lanka, maldives, and dubai, and only thing i can say is WOW! we chose 3 totally different countries and had a amazing time in each, but lily beach was the luxurious wow factor for us.
We stayed in a deluxe water villa and from the moment you walk in and see the large glass floor in the hallway you will be overwhelmed, it is a beautiful place, so modern and contemporary, finished to a amazingly high standard, everything about our stay here was perfect, our room, the food, the service, the place, the snorkelling. It was pure luxury but with a laid back feel. I could right pages and pages on how perfect everything was but i will only bore you and upset myself that i am no longer there lol. Just take my word for it and take a trip to paradise.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sweetlikechoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
glasgoe
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2010

This was a surprise xmas gift for me from my husband, we had tried to go to Lily beach for the past few years but the dates weren't convenient for us and then it was closed for refurbishment.

I can honestly say that this was by far the most fabulous luxurious holiday in the maldives i have ever had - ignore any negative comments about this island because if you had been to any other islands then you would know this was island has accommodation and service which is like no other.

It all begins when you arrive at Male and are taken to the Lily beach lounge to wait for your sea plane. Its cool and gives you a chance to refresh yourself from the long plane journey, drinks and food all available at no cost. When you arrive at the resort everybody has their own reception member of staff to deal with their check in which means that you are in your own room within 15 minutes. You don't even have to walk, a golf buggy takes you to your door which is within walking distance but its fabulous, they tell you all about the island and what it offers on the journey.

We had a water bungalow which once you open the door you are just blown away at what it offers, from the glass floor in the hall( this is just breath taking),the day beds to the bath tubs and the open air toilet and showers but amazingly its so private and secluded that you feel you are the only people on the island. The quality of every room is exceptional.

Everyday we went for breakfast then went back to our water bungalow and stayed their till lunch time as the room has everything you would want. There is the splash jacuzzi pool, the day bed, sun loungers out side, peace and quiet, tv, dvd, wireless connection, mini bar plus the wonderful coral reef seconds from your door. You could snorkel all day and see a wonderful array of sea creatures especially if you snorkelled down the channels through the coral reef to the sea. Seeing the edge of the coral reef with its fantastic sudden drop down was amazing and something that you could look at everyday and see something different. Although having our own sun deck with loungers was the best feature, being able to go inside or outside without having to pack up your things meant it was soooo relaxing plus not having anybody bother you or noise meant you really could enjoy yourself. Even after dinner just sitting on the decking on the loungers just listening to the sea - paradise!

All the staff were amazing, nothing was too much trouble for them, i called room service one day to say they had removed our bathrobes and not replaced them and within 5 minutes they were at our door with fresh ones. In the uk you would have waited hours! Even if you couldn't be bothered walking back to your room their was the golf buggy service as your taxi.

The food was amazing, breakfast lunch and dinner were very varied and if you wanted a change there was always the other restaurant which you book for an evening reservation or the pool bars which offered lighter options. If you went to the aqua bar at about 5pm then the snacks they provided just hit the spot before dinner. The wine list was extensive and all part of the all inclusive package, at least 20 white wines which is something i have never seen in the maldives.

If i was to sum up this island compared to the other 5 i have been too in the maldives then this was by far the best, a must if you are looking for luxury holiday with piece and quiet. I agree with the other reviewers, the people who have complained are just making a fuss over nothing, relax and enjoy yourself. This hotel is worth every penny.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank clarabellx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suffolk
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2010

Arrived by Sea Plane to a very warm welcome which continued throughout our stay.
All inclusive 5 star resort with excellent food, quality drinks and perfect service.
Nothing was too much trouble for the Staff.
We celebrated my 60th birthday in the Al la Carte restaurant including champagne and a cake at no extra cost. When we returned to our room our House Boy had decorated our bed with wonderful flowers.
We stayed 7 nights but we were really sad when it was time to leave Lilly Beach and move to our 2nd resort which we had also booked for 7 nights.
A perfect holiday which we would love to repeat. Thanks to all at Lily Beach.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PerfectChoice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South London
Level Contributor
89 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2010

My wife and I travelled to the Maldives and stayed on two separate islands for our honeymoon. The second week was at Lily Beach and it was an amazing place. The island is one of the larger resorts but always appears empty, just like our first island. The only time you really see other guests is at meal times. The food is great with lots of choice, the rooms are luxurious and the beach beautiful.

Snorkelling is a must and don't be surprised to see turtles and small (harmless) reef sharks. The fish and coral make another amazing world for you under the water so take an underwater camera if you can.

I would recommend this resort to anyone and it is truly a luxurious and relaxing place. All the staff treat you like royalty and make your stay very memorable.

If you read other reviews with moans and groans then please take them with a pinch of salt. The only improvement we could think of was more evening entertainment, but as we were on honeymoon we had other things to do anyway........we will certainly be going back.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Neil P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorset
Level Contributor
28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2010

Having been to the old Lily Beach many times, the last time just before it closed for refurbishment, we have just returned from our first visit to experience the new Platinum Plan. We were a bit apprehensive as we liked the slightly tired feel to the old place and its laid back atmosphere, its reasonable pricing and its excellent staff. How would it be having been brought up to the 5* level? Obviously we expected the snorkelling to remain excellent but would we be comfortable with such enormous changes across the island? In short, the answer was yes.

From the moment you are ushered into the private lounge at the sea plane terminal and offered cold towels and sandwiches you can start to see where the extra money you have paid has gone, Leaving aside the MAT seaplane which was probably last refurbished by the Wright Brothers, everything else shows the signs of considerable and careful investment. Even the old Dhonis have been given a lick of paint/varnish as throughout old Lily Beach Green paint has given way to browns (apart from one fascia on the two storey block containing the shops which seems to have been missed!)
Throughout the two weeks we were there, the food and wine was excellent. Far better than we had expected – even allowing for the price hike. If there was nothing on the lunch buffet to appeal the “action station” for stir fries and pastas was available – I don’t think I have ever seen two chefs work (wok) so hard and with such care. Great fun just to watch.

We had a Lagoon Villa which was wonderful. Furnished really well with great attention to detail in the finishing but I do agree with previous reviewer there is nowhere to hang your hand towels. Contrary to what we had been led to believe, the old gabion sea walls have not been removed in front of the Lagoon villas. Much has gone but they are still partly visible at anything other than high tide. Still we were able to snorkel in / snorkel out from the steps outside our villa. The reef this side is very healthy and colourful and we saw several turtles grazing happily.

This year we saw and swam with our first whale sharks. It was a paid excursion and well worth it – provided you find sharks, otherwise it’s an expensive speedboat ride with cake thrown in.

The spa is in a lovely setting, and you look down through the glass floor to the fish below rather than into a bowl with a shell and a hibiscus flower. It was very expensive, and in truth we didn’t consider the massage to be as good as we used to get at the Old Lily Beach.

The huge swathe of water villas does in my opinion detract from the previously wonderful views from the island. Ok if you’re in one but otherwise they do blot out a large part of the horizon although it is possible to find places where they can’t be seen from the beach.

We were delighted to see so many of the staff still there, or who have recently returned. They all seemed genuinely pleased to see us as repeaters seem to be a bit of a rarity. We were particularly pleased to see Mohammed Hassan, Ateef, Zubair and Sharif in the Lily Maa. Susee in Aqua. Sobah and Jaleel in Vibes were particularly attentive. That’s where we spent most time since, even when it was full, the old pool bar remained very quiet.

Weather was great and we were able to have almost every meal outside. I would worry that there isn’t room for everyone to eat undercover in the event of rain however we were assured that this was possible.

So what you may ask were the downsides? Obviously the price makes it difficult to go as often as we would like and we can't take our dog (who would have loved it!). The main thing however, and I’m being controversial here, is the clientele from their targeted markets. The resort has gone up market and there are far less tattoos and vests about which is great. Evidently to recoup the investment they need high occupancy and to achieve this without the traditional repeaters (30% at Old Lily) they are trying new markets. This meant around 30 Korean Honeymoon couples on 5 day stays – all in matching outfits and carrying full size tripods. One long photo opportunity. Also we had a single group of 65 Slovakians from a company or club. There was no bad behaviour or anything like that, it just big groups by their nature are disruptive in an environment generally of couples and small families. Hopefully as the reputation spreads and repeaters return a "better" balance will be achieved.

But apart from that, it was wonderful throughout. Yes there are a few things that people can (and do) whinge about but nothing is perfect however much you spend.

If you can afford it go. If you can’t afford it, save up until you can.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lilybeachlovers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newfoundland
Level Contributor
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2010

This wasn't our first trip to the Maldives but we had forgotten some of the awe of the islands since our last trip in 2006. However, flying from Male to the resort over the atolls in a small sea plane brought it all back. The resort puts a good effort into service and from the arrival to Male and the return transfer they arrange everything.

We stayed in an over water villa, we usually stay in these when available for novelty. I am easily impressed, with the glass floor viewing, the water entry and the number of sharks and rays that swam under the villas these OWB's stood out compared to others we have stayed in.

We went diving most days, the reefs are in great shape at the resort. Rays of all species including Mantas, shark specie, lots of tipped, and classic reef fish like tang shoals were very common. The coral is still growing in many areas and there is very little natural or human damage to the structures.

The activities at the resort are frequent and well planned. There are a number of excursions that are offered through the resort, we didn't do any besides transfers to other islands for diving and fishing. Some of the other guests said that the ones they did do were good but a little expensive for the experience.

It may be due to the number of Europeans who use the resort but keep an eye on who you are tipping, there is a gratuity of 10-15% added to most bills.

The main downside to this resort is the dining. The main restaurant (buffet) is Lily Maa, its edible and adequate. I can't really complain about anything specific but it isn't a draw to go back to the resort for the dining. The a la carte, Tamarind, is much better, the only slip here is buffet style aps and dessert, I think it's just principle, I don't believe aps/desserts should be served at a buffet at an a la carte.

Staff were professional and excellent, the guests mostly European, I don't know if this changes during the season.

....tried to keep it on the short side, any questions drop me a line.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank willworkfortravel09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Huvahandhoo Island
22.3 mi away
Constance Moofushi
Constance Moofushi
#1 of 1 in Moofushi Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,947 reviews
1.4 mi away
Vilamendhoo Island Resort & Spa
24.6 mi away
Kandolhu Maldives
Kandolhu Maldives
#1 of 17 in North Ari Atoll
5.0 of 5 bubbles 479 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.5 mi away
LUX* South Ari Atoll
LUX* South Ari Atoll
#1 of 1 in Dhidhoofinolhu Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,732 reviews
6.4 mi away
Centara Grand Island Resort & Spa Maldives
Centara Grand Island Resort & Sp...
#1 of 1 in Centara Grand Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,090 reviews
12.3 mi away
Mirihi Island Resort
Mirihi Island Resort
#1 of 1 in Mirihi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 863 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lily Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lily Beach Resort & Spa

Property: Lily Beach Resort & Spa
Address: 20077
Region: Maldives > Alifu Atoll > Southern Ari Atoll > Huvahandhoo Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Huvahandhoo Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Lily Beach Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
---UNDERGOING UPGRADES--- In the deep blue sea of the Indian Ocean, among the scattered small Islands known as the Garland of Flowers (Maldive Islands) of indescribable nature, Lily Beach Resort is the island - Huvahendhoo at the South East Ari-Atoll. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelbag, Expedia, Holiday Gems, Odigeo, TravelUp and Agoda so you can book your Lily Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lily Beach Resort And Spa
Lily Beach Hotel South Ari Atoll
Lily Beach Resort All Inclusive
Lily Beach Maldives

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing