We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Gasfinolhu Island Resort
Nearby Hotels
Adaaran Select Hudhuranfushi(Lhohifushi Island)
US$376
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$312
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
US$572
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$447
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Club Med Kani(Kanifinolhu Island)
US$1,056
clubmed.us
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Season Paradise(Thulusdhoo Island)(Great Value!)
US$225
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$137
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$1,121
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Cinnamon Dhonveli Maldives(Farukolhufushi Island)
US$648
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$227
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Raalhu Lodge(Himmafushi Island)(Great Value!)
US$79
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$54
Booking.com
View Deal
Gili Lankanfushi(Lankanfushi)
US$1,738
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$1,343
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Paradise Island Resort & Spa(Lankanfinolhu Island)
US$193
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Reviews (63)
Filter reviews
63 results
Traveller rating
27
24
11
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
27
24
11
0
1
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 63 reviews
Reviewed 25 March 2011

From the moment we arrived at Male Airport the resort staff ensured we had a perfect holiday. The island is amazing.
The rooms do need a little work however it’s a shame it will be closing after Easter with a view to remodelling and construction of water bungalows. Go now before it changes!!!

As there are only 40 beach bungalows it’s an intimate and amazing island, we stayed in room no 31 which virtually has its own private beach for 2. The island though small never feels crowded amd is a very relaxing place.
We can recommend the Dive school very friendly and helpful staff.
In summary same quality as its sister island Meeru on a smaller quieter scale, it’s just 75m wide!

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank saorsa32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2011

as already said about the island the rooms are a bit tired but this is not a issue,the rooms are cleaned well and often,the food is excellent allways lots of choice and fresh well cooked all the staff are excellent we didnt see one single sullen face all week.the water off the beach is shallow but as a very poor swimmer this meant i could enjoy the snorkelling without being out of my depth at all,we saw baby reef sharks plenty of fish ,rays and morray eels all within the shallows the house reef is wonderfull,just a shame the island is about to change we are currently looking for a similar island so we can return and repeat the experience again

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marmite01084
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2011

We have just returned from Gasfinolhu 16th feb our 4th time in the maldives we have stayed on some lovely islands but this was the best and by far the smallest. So warm and friendly the food was excellent as was the service. The snorkelling was great we went on the boat to the house reef and saw dolphines and turtles as well as lots of other fish.The perfect end to the day was a treatment at the spa the girls were so friendly then watching the sun go down on the beach. Just hope they dont spoil the island with all the changes they have planned. The rooms may be a bit basic and in need of a new bathroom and air conditioning BUT WE LOVED IT!

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank UkJoyce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2011

just got back from two weeks on this fantastic little island what can we say that others haven't said already we stayed in room 20 on the south beach which got the sun all day and the fantastic sunsets. the staff were all fantastic and could'nt do enough for you the food was great and plenty of choice including champagne breakfast on sundays. Rooms are a little tired but kept well cleaned etc.A proper maldivian island. We were told by staff that it will close in April for a total refurbishment hopefully they wont spoil it. Guests were mixed from all different countries and all seemed to get on very well.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dogz61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2011

Only got back from Gas' last night and wanted to write a quick review while we're still on a high from a wonderful week on this stunning island. In short, this is exactly the place to go if you want a relaxed, no fuss holiday, where you can still get an authentic Maldives experience. What I mean by this, is that it's a pretty simple set up on this island, no glitzy water villas, great but non-intrusive service, stunning location and really good value all inclusive.

We booked with BA and had a good flight, but had to wait around at the airport in Male for a couple of hours while we waited for some other guests from Germany ... not the end of the world, but a bit of a pain after a long flight. The speedboat transfer takes 30-40 minutes and was great fun ... they don't hang around! On the way back, everything was seamless and the speedboat was a nice way to end the holiday.

All inclusive includes free use of kayaks, twice daily boat trips to the house reef (bring your own snorkel gear or you can rent or buy (pricey!) locally), trip to a nearby island to see how the locals live, sunset cruise, intro windsurf & snorkelling lessons and 15 min welcome massage ... I've probably missed something, but you get the gist.

Whilst on the subject of AI, food and drink were very good - excellent choice of food (too much to mention, but quality was generally spot on), unlimited house wine (all perfectly drinkable), beer, house spirits, bottled water, soft drinks (but not freshly squeezed juice) etc. Overall, this makes for great value and the staff are super-proactive in terms of offering you more drinks etc. (Special thanks to our waiter Sobeeh, who was very attentive and chatty).

We didn't bother diving, mainly because the snorkelling was excellent, but the dive centre seemed very professional and got good reviews from others. In addition to the house reef (v short boat ride away), we snorkelled along the jetty, where there were plenty of fish, reef sharks, manta rays etc. to see ... obviously very shallow this close in though. We ended up wearing pool shoes into the water so that we didn't have to worry about what we might stand on (I'd take proper dive / reef shoes next time). We also used the kayaks a fair amount and paddled around the island (30 mins if you really push it, or up to an hour if you cruise it!) - we saw lots of manta rays while we were paddling, which was amazing!

Having tried out the welcome massage, we then booked in for a couple more massages during the week - 'normal' prices (by Western standards) and the therapists were first class. The 'spa' is small and low key, but nicely done.

Entertainment was low key, but that was fine by us (I won't spolit the surprise by listing everything, but there was something every night). Also, petanque, table tennis, pool, board games, beach volleyball and a wide range of water sports are all available. So much so, that we didn't do anywhere as much reading as we expected.

As others have said, the rooms are basic, but comfortable and spottlessly clean - towels changed daily, room serviced twice daily and the staff managed to time this to perfection, e.g. the room had always been serviced by the time we got back from breakfast. Yes, the rooms and bathrooms in particular are in need of an update, but the beach bungalows (only 40 on the entire island) are comfortable, private and are all within a few steps of their own bit of beach, with sunloungers. All rooms have a safe, mini-bar (payable, so we just got drinks from the bar) and tea / coffee making.

Overall, we had a fabulous time - thanks to all the staff at Gas'. As other reviewers have said, if you want an unspoilt, chilled out, authentic and good value Maldives holiday, this is a great choice ... if you want super deluxe 5* and / or lots of activities / nightlife, you should probably go somewhere else! We really hope that the renovation planned for later this year is done tastefully and that they manage to retain the magic and charm of this jewel in the Maldives.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RxxE71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews