We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“NO NO NO NO NO NO!! They call this a resort??” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Asdu Sun Island

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Asdhoo Island
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Asdu Sun Island
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Asdhoo Island
Certificate of Excellence
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“NO NO NO NO NO NO!! They call this a resort??”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2008

Where to begin. I stayed there in March and was so excited to finally travel to my dream destination. But, my excitement quickly faded when I saw the island. Its filthy! Looks like it hasnt been properly groomed in years, which is not what you want when you think of a beautiful tropical island. The water is nice, but hello you are in the Maldives the water is going to be nice. The food is horrible. You shouldnt have to fight to eat. Its first come first serve and if you dont get any guess what? You go hungry because you are on an island. The staff was not helpful, borderline rude. The game room is a joke, a ping pong table isnt a game room! Theres nothing to do on the island but swim and even that gets old after 2 weeks. I guess thats what the dirty chickens are for. They give you something to chase. Seriously, I felt robbed after leaving and even discussed my disappointment with the management who didnt care. He was just happy he got his money. DO NOT STAY HERE! Meeru is right across the way and thats where we wanted to stay but it was booked. Its the same price but from what I heard its like a real resort and not some crappy old dirty motel.

  • Stayed March 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
15 Thank angeleyes027
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

282 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    114
    121
    24
    8
    15
See reviews for
47
157
10
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2008

I completely disagree with the majority of reviews on this site. Although I stayed here a while ago I had nothing but an amzaing experience. No there is no hot water and no air conditioning but that is not needed considering you have the sea to cool you down all around!
On arrival from being picked up by boat we were greeted with cocktails and shown to our villa with lunch awaiting us. All the food was fresh fish, admittedly not much variation from day to day but there was always fresh fruit, pasta, rice and breakfast was lovely - tea, coffee, juice, fruit, cake, toast and a different dessert everyday.
We were offered fresh cococnut as we relaxed on the beach, learnt to dive - safely, went nightfishing, trip to another island organised for us, and plenty of good snorkelling. They took us out to the sandbar and played music and sang and danced for us and served us breakfast at 4am before our trip by boat back.
No it isn't luxurious but you don't go to the Indian Ocean to snorkel and swim in a hotel pool and sit on a lounger all day - otherwise just go to your nearest hilton or the costa del sol.

  • Stayed July 2005, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Nataliecdavies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2008

I just returned from the Maldives and stayed at 3 different resorts and Asdu was the worst by far. The island is totally unkept and theres shrub everywhere along with chickens running around. Where to begin with the horrible food. I felt like I was in prison the way they serve the food. Its basically first come first serve and when they run out its gone. And, breakfast is a piece of bread and a piece of fruit. I literally had to steal bananas because I got so hungry between lunch and dinner. They dont even allow you to get your own coffee, they walk around with it so that you cant get your own. The staff was totally unfriendly, maybe because they know they work at the worst resort in all of Maldives. The manager was the rudest person I have ever met traveling. We woke up early the morning we were supposed to leave and he told us that the boat had already left and we would have to wait until the next day. Which meant we had to pay for another night only to be told that we had to leave at 5am the next day because that was the only transfer time and he didnt even so sorry. The other 2 resorts were MUCH BETTER I dont know how asdu stays in buisness??

  • Liked — leaving
  • Disliked — everything
  • Stayed April 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank olivetribe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2006

It’s like a bad dream come true when you land on this island. The first thing you notice is the bad smell and the chickens running around the island (not a good thing in a world threatened by bird flu). There is no pool or a nice bar where you can sit, relax and watch the sunset - like at normal resorts. There are hardly any activities offered, maybe because there are hardly any people on the island so why should anyone bother organising anything. The Lonely Plant described this island as easy going and in need of a facelift – a huge understatement – it needs a complete re-construction and new staff.
During our stay in mid April the island was surrounded by large schools of tiny fish just near the beach which was interesting for a while but only until we noticed an unpleasant smell coming from the millions of fish.
The coral around the island is mostly dead, you need to dive to see any good coral.
The dinner is acceptable but only if you eat fish, the lunch is bit poor and the breakfast is a joke.
I wouldn’t recommend this island. If you want to stay in this area choose Meeru Island, it’s also a budget island resort (not as bad as Asdu) and it offers many activities, you can walk along the beach and even have a drink in style near the pool next to the beach. I have been on 5 island resorts in Maldives and Asdu is absolutely the worst one (don't confuse this island with Sun Island Resort).

  • Stayed April 2006
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
13 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hertfordshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2006

in reply to 'a word of warning' my husband and l stayed at asdu at the same time as this couple and had no problems with the hotel. agreed it is basic no shoes no news accommodation with a buffet menu, but there was always plenty to eat and the staff were very accommodating. There was always a pasta option as well as fish and plenty of side dishes. Several families with small children were also staying over the christmas period and all managed very well. The price of Asdu reflects the standard of menu/accommodation and i believe it was very good value for the time of year. Having stayed at several resorts in the Maldives it is certainly not luxurious but benifits from a beautiful beach and easy access to a good reef.

  • Stayed December 2005
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank redbubbaboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2006

We were very much looking forward to our holiday in the sunny Maldives and chose Asdu Sun Island in the North Male Atoll. It's website advertises it as a family friendly and laid back resort which is basic and simple.
Our first night saw an infestation of ants in our room. We've just finished a 3 month trip through Africa and are hardened to a few insects here and there. But our room here was literally "crawling". We addressed this to management who sent someone to spray the room. True, this killed the ants but within an hour more had come into the room and were now crawling over the bed and in the bed. We asked to be moved to another room and were told "we are fully booked and have no more rooms". So we asked to be moved to another resort and suddenly a room became available!

The website advertises a "set menu". Indeed it is not even a menu but a self service arrangement where you are given no variety of what food to eat. So if you don't like fish, which is usually the only thing on offer then you will probably go hungry as neither the shop or the bar sell snacks, apart for Magnum ice-creams. Generally the food is very poor and you will notice that leftovers from the day before are served the following day, ususally with a "new" sauce thrown in as a disguise. Desert, if you get one, is usually unripe pineapple and a tiny rationed piece of cake. Most days I went hungry because the food is so disgusting. Lunch is served from 1300 to 1400 and dinner is served from 2000-2100. So you have 6 hours to endure without food and without any option of buying snacks because there simply aren't any to buy, apart from Magnum ice-creams.
We were happy to let this standard pass for the first 2 days but then we complained about the only option of meat being fish as neither of us eat fish. Next day we were served our alternative which was four tinned sausages each!

If you have young children this island does not cater at all for them. There are no childrens facilities at all.

The dive school is also unsafe and will send divers into the ocean without a depth gauge and you are expected to enter the ocean by jumping off a moving boat.

Helpful?
36 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Asdu Sun Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Asdu Sun Island

Property: Asdu Sun Island
Address:
Region: Maldives > Kaafu Atoll > North Male Atoll > Asdhoo Island
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Asdhoo Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Asdu Sun Island 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Asdu is probably the smallest resort in the Maldives with an affordable price, apart from just one other more luxurious resort. This is by no means the cheapest resort. You may find other larger resorts of equal standard or of even better facilities with lower prices. We believe the small size of the Island ensures a certain degree of exclusivity, well worth the price we quote to our prospective guests. But we assure you that we have maintained a very consistent price structure over the last 10 years.This Island is especially ideal for those who love to be in a natural setting and prefer simplicity and informality on their vacation. Although the facilities are not deluxe, they are more than adequate and comfortable. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Asdu Sun Island Hotel North Male Atoll
Asdu Sun Island Resort
Sun Island Maldives

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing