We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly guesthouse with private beach”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Happy Life Maldives Lodge
Reviewed 15 June 2014

We have spent 8 days with another couple travelling with us. Other than us there were 2 couples and that's all! No crowds, no noise, just chill out. Check out the Indian Ocean Adveture for snorkeling and you can see turtles, rays and if you are lucky, sharks. Also take the private sandbank tour. Take a look at my photo and no further comments are needed...
Surf is also great, the surf spot called Chickens is around 30 minutes with a speedboat offering a world-class lefthander with lots of walls and even barrels. So if you have the time and money to take the boat for every surf session, this accomodation is even good for a surf vacation.
Happy Life is on a local island so you get to meet with the friendly locals, get a glimpse in their life so it is more interesting culturally than the resorts. If you cant live without alcohol though it is not your place, because strict islamic rules prohibit any alcohol on the island.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Mickey Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (70)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

19 - 25 of 70 reviews

Reviewed 14 May 2014

We visited for a total of 3 nights, and absolutely loved it. The food was delicious and the staff at the guest house ensure that we had everything that we needed. The rooms are unpretentious but very tastefully done - upstairs ones are nicer and more private. We went for the all-inclusive package, and did not spend a single cent more than what we paid at the beginning. The activities included were more than enough!

We went snorkeling, took a morning trip to a sandbank (tide dependent), and had a beach dinner on the last night which was lovely and very romantic. We also used the kayak that is available for guests - it feels very safe and the water is incredibly calm. Walking around the island is a pleasure, and the locals are really friendly.

If you are not used to Indian style bathrooms (shower not separated from toilet), it might be a bit inconvenient. Also, during low tide the water is a bit smelly, but nothing that you cannot manage. Fresh bottled water is provided daily, and the AC works perfectly fine.

Overall, we highly recommend the place. It is a privilege to stay at a local island and have a more authentic experience than what you'd get at a lower end resort. Value for money is very good, especially in a place like the Maldives!!

Room Tip: Upstairs room are the way to go!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank lamayac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2014

I visited the Happy Life Maldives Guesthouse on Dhiffushi together with my girlfriend for 8 days during January 2014.

Transfer to the guesthouse
-Pickup at the airport didn’t work. After some phone calls and a 1h delay we met our guide.
-We spent half of the day in Male. I cannot recommend that city to anybody: too many hectic people, not enough space.
-We decided to travel to Dhiffushi by the local ferry because 230US$ for the speed boat transfer are too much. Unfortunately, it is highly uncomfortable, hot and dirty and we didn’t feel safe at all. Strong waves made the transported goods and the not fixed benches shake.

Guesthouse
-When we arrived, the one thing we longed for was a shower. Unfortunately, hot water was not available. We had to find that out by ourselves, obviously not noteworthy during check-in. The shower was repaired on the next day.
-In general the bath-room is very uncomfortable. The toilette is more or less under the shower and will always get wet. The water from the shower smells.
-In the guesthouse direct neighbourhood are two construction sides. It’s not nice to watch the poor guys climbing around barefoot and welding with sun glasses “protection”. The noise they generate cannot be ignored.
-Another noisy thing is the roof during rain. Rain drops are echoing very loudly on the tin roof.
-Next to the promised sea view, the mentioned building sites and other ugly buildings + garbage are clearly visible
-Food is very good, but it becomes monotonous after 5 days
-The staff, particularly Hassan and the cook, is very friendly and will help you. Hassan also showed us the island and its people in a private tour. Unfortunately, very simple things are not working. We had to ask for towels as well as for toilet paper (3 times). The rooms are sometimes cleaned, sometimes not.
-The room itself has some style. The bed is very hard because of a very thin mattress. The air conditioner moulds and blows directly to the bed.
Surroundings
-The distance to the beach is about 100m. You have a beautiful view over white sand and blue water to the resort. Should be cleaned from time to time. There is a strong current which makes swimming difficult.
-The included sandbank trip has to be made together with the included snorkelling. The sandbank is fantastic, but we were not supplied with a picnic.
-The guesthouse owns a lot of stuff that can be used for free (canoe, snorkelling equipment, umbrellas, …)
-The inhabitants of the island are very friendly

To sum it up, we spend a good time in Happy Life Maldives. But 115US$ per person and per night are not fair for what you get. The highlight was our private beach because for some reason we have been the only guests for 8 days.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank dunada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2014

This intimate lodge with four guest rooms was the first ever guesthouse on Dhiffushi Island and has much experience and quite a history of providing top-notch hospitality to their guests. The friendly staff, relaxed atmosphere and excellent cuisine.

Hassan, the owner, is a fine example of Maldivian hospitality and is always ready to give you an in-depth tour of the island which includes a chance to experience the food in the local grocery store and a sneak peak of the Boduberu group (Local drumming music) practice sessions to name a few essential spots around Dhiffushi

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Where_is_Maldives
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2014

With my husband and our two little girls, I spent in this small guest house 10 wonderful days. The reception was great and during our holiday Hussan and his staff did not miss anything, trying to satisfy all our demands.
The rooms are basic, but very clean. The beach is wide and beautiful and all available to guests. The food is great and plentiful. Obviously we can not expect the variety of a resort: you eat mainly local seafood, rice, noodles and even good pasta cooked in various ways.
Sea, coral reefs, dolphins, sandbank, sea turtles and the availability of the locals make the holiday memorable.
A special thanks to Fausto, Peter and Banboo who, with great patience and kindness, spent so much time with our daughters, Arianna e Camilla, satisfying their every whim!!!

Room Tip: Le stanze al primo piano sono sicuramente migliori, ma non adatte a chi ha bambini piccoli.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank roberta b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2013

Pleasant room on the upper floor with attached bathroom (not hot water). The stairs to upper floor of 2 rooms would be a little tricky for less able people but there are 2 rooms too on the ground floor. A/C in the rooms. There are sea views from the small upstairs veranda but you have to look to the side and past bushes. The downstairs seating area needs cushions, some books, more atmosphere, to make it a cozy relaxing and social area. Good fresh food, mostly fish as you would expect.
The nearby beach area has a few loungers and umbrellas provided by Happy Life, white sand and the sea is beautifully clear. It is interesting to see local life but is essentially a sleepy place at the moment.
The ferry to the island takes about 4 hours and is used by local people, good for viewing other local islands on the way and very cheap. The helpful staff meet you from the ferry on arrival.
It is pleasant to be on an inhabited island rather than one of the more exclusive resort islands. Currently this is one of only 2 guesthouses on the island. Some new building of some other small guesthouses is happening near the Happy Life and will open in 2014 which may change the area a little.
Hassan the manager met us from the ferry on our return to Male and was very friendly. He was not at Happy Life during our stay, and we were not offered any of their sea trips and so cannot comment on those.
Recommended for this looking to simply relax, sunbathe, swim, eat and stroll a little

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank nom001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2013 via mobile

We stayed as a family of 4. Not cheap, but it offered what we wanted.
We had a bad start with the pick up boat being 1.5 hours late. Puzzling when we'd paid 230 dollars for a one hour journey. We were disappointed not to be offered any compensation.
When we arrived, the welcome, service and location were marvellous.
The food was also great.
We had free tours, having paid a high inclusive price and were rewarded with a great time.
The weather was a bit rainy. The limiting factor in our stay was the Mosquitos. Our rooms were the only respite- I think in the wetter season this is something the team should think about.
Staff were friendly and helpful. If we needed something and asked then we got it quickly. Their ability to foresee needs and act can probably improve.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Gacco29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dhiffushi Island
0.1 mi away
Crown Beach Hotel
Crown Beach Hotel
#1 of 2 in Dhiffushi Island
35 reviews
6.4 mi away
Season Paradise
Season Paradise
#1 of 1 in Thulusdhoo Island
71 reviews
0.6 mi away
Meeru Island Resort & Spa
Meeru Island Resort & Spa
#1 of 1 in Meerufenfushi
6,185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Ameera Maldives
Ameera Maldives
#1 of 7 in Dhiffushi Island
45 reviews
15.6 mi away
Paradise Island Resort & Spa
Paradise Island Resort & Spa
#1 of 1 in Lankanfinolhu Island
2,753 reviews
0 mi away
Dhiffushi White Sand Beach Hotel
Dhiffushi White Sand Beach Hotel
#2 of 6 in Dhiffushi Island
44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Happy Life Maldives Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Happy Life Maldives Lodge

Address: Bahuruva, 08030
Region: Maldives > Kaafu Atoll > North Male Atoll > Dhiffushi Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Speciality Lodging in Dhiffushi Island
Price Range: £44 - £83 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Happy Life Maldives Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our modern lodge was built in 2011 and we opened our doors in January 2012.We are striving for nothing less but your perfect dream holiday! Our mantra is "No news, no shoes" and we offer you the real Maldivian experience. In other words: we are the ideal, affordable alternative to unpersonal, big resorts. This piece of paradise offers everything you need to be happy! From relaxing on the beach and tranquil village life, to unbelievable dive sights, fishing spots and of course amazing unspoiled waves for the perfect surf experience. With us you'll enjoy the local island experience with a la carte flexibility and the personal touch of a boutique guesthouse. We offer four double rooms, each with en-suite bathroom and ocean, beach and palm tree views. The beach is only 20 meters from your doorstep. Our local chef Umar and his crew will spoil you with Maldivian specialties such as sea food dishes or, if you like continental cuisine in our beautiful outdoor restaurant. Happy Life Maldives Guesthouse is also available for exclusive bookings for groups and big families. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda and HostelWorld so you can book your Happy Life Maldives Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing