We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (405)
Filter reviews
405 results
Traveller rating
285
86
23
5
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
285
86
23
5
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswater villaoverwater restaurantcurriesfishsuperior bungalowroom was spotlessly cleansuperior beachaffordable ratesstandard restaurantsnorkel tripinfinity poolbuffet stylea la carte restaurantsmall numberglass bottom floorworth every minutespecial thanks
Filter
Updating list...
184 - 189 of 405 reviews
Reviewed 30 April 2015

We returned to the magical Maldivian resort of Summer Island after having enjoyed a perfect honeymoon there in late October 2010.
We had promised the ever gracious and helpful resort manager, Mr. Waheed that we would be back and had indeed intended travelling there last year, only to be informed that Summer Island was closed for modernisation, refurbishment and upgrading.
"How can you improve on perfection?" I asked Julie.
Well I'll tell you they have done just that!
We were met off our water taxi from the capital, Male by Mr. Waheed and his staff, who showed us to reception, where a refreshing ice cold fruit punch awaited the arrivees.
And so our ten nights of being treated as the most important people in the world began!
We stayed in one of the new, fantastically luxurious water villas; twenty of which stretch out into the azure, lagoon-like Indian Ocean.
Each evening we would witness the unique spectacle of an Indian Ocean sunset from the veranda of the brand-spankingly new and beautifully designed Avi Restaurant and Cocktail Bar, at which our every need was catered for by the immaculately attired, mannered and competent waiters, including Baz, and Jenny, who was our waitress.
Our three exquisitely prepared and delicious meals a day were from the main buffet restaurant.
Our waiter, Ibrahim was a delight; friendly, courteous, skilful, knowledgeable and like all top class waiters...ever watchful over his cover guests.
One day at breakfast a mini garland of the local beautiful and scented wildflowers adorned our table made by Ibrahim himself as per Maldivian custom!
Our villa was meticulously cleaned and serviced every day to an impossibly high standard and one afternoon we returned to a beautiful display of linen and towel-crafted sculptures on our bed. Wow!
We took full advantage of at least one of the three-daily gratis snorkelling trips to a variety of the reefs near to Summer Island and marvelled at the turtles and endless varieties of sea life that are the undoubted stars of a holiday such as ours.
Do not worry if you don't have the "sea legs" for deep sea snorkelling as the tranquil waters that lap the golden sands of this magical place are teeming with a full spectrum of aquatic delights for you to marvel at!!
Twice-weekly uber-relaxed acoustic guitar entertainment was on offer performed by an incredibly talented young Maldivian musician, which was one of many never to be forgotten experiences.
We really have fallen in love with Summer Island and have already started planning a return next year!
This is a place that you will never forget!!

  • Stayed: April 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
10  Thank Julie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunny S, Manager at Summer Island Maldives, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2015

Dear Julie, greeting from where the summer never ends. We are so proud and happy to read your review. We have already conveyed your messages to our staff and we send you greeting. It was a great honour for all of us that we had the chance to welcome you back and serve you.. Thank you so much and we look forward to welcome you again. Best Regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2015

We actually stayed here a year ago. We were wowed by the whole experience but lazily didn't review it. It's only now having returned from Zanzibar which we thought would be an equally special holiday that we realise how privileged we are to have holidayed in The Maldives. We were enchanted by the wildlife on our doorstep and the privacy of our own section of beach. We spent so much time in the rock pools and sea. We felt like children again! The staff were excellent. The food was varied. We loved going on a fishing trip and chef cooking our fish for us. Dessert chef made us apple crumble and custard and rice pudding because we'd said they were our favourite British puddings!
I dream of returning but when we left last year it was closing down for a while to be upgraded. I daren't look at prices now! Well, I might and then get saving!

Room Tip: Ask for room that gets a breeze.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank karen t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2015

This was our fourth holiday to Summer Island, didn't really know what to expect as the resort had been closed for 8 months for refurbishment ( in my mind unnecessary) I need not have worried, the island is still wonderfully relaxing. I will say that the food has improved to a very good standard and a wide variety of choice, some of the curries were amazingly tasty. All the rooms have been rebuilt to a very high standard and were very comfortable. The new pool looked very good but to my mind totally unnecessary when the island is surrounded by a tropical pool full of wonderful creatures. What can I say about the staff, they make all the difference to the holiday always happy smiling and more than helpful at all times. The manager Mr Mohammed Waheed is amazing the way that he makes every guest feel special and accommodates every wish. As I have said the changes made to the island were to me unnecessary but they have not spoiled my ideal holiday destination, next year we will be going for 1 month that's how much we love the place.

Stayed: March 2015
12  Thank Michael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunny S, Manager at Summer Island Maldives, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2015

Dear Michael,
Thank you for your positive comments about our service and the product. It was a pleasure for all of us to serve you. We love to welcome you again again. Thank you very much on behalf of all the staff and the management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2015

This was our first visit to SIV and we were absolutely blown away.This is our third trip to the Maldives and we were a little cautious as the island has just re-opened. Yes, there is some remaining building and maintenance work going on, but this is mainly at one end of the island.

SIV is one of the most relaxing resorts we've been to. The highlights were the natural beauty with amazing sunsets, free daily snorkelling trips, the laid-back atmosphere in the bar and the friendly staff. We relaxed into island life after the first gin and tonic.

The unexpected highlight was the local house band, who played a brilliant mixture of songs, including Beatles classics, Ed Sheeran and some of their own songs. If you go there, you may even hear their acoustic version of Nothing Else Matters from Metallica, which they learned after 24 hours. I have left them with a list of other songs to learn for next year! I must say a special thanks as the guys put on a private show on the beach for my husband's birthday - ON THEIR NIGHT OFF.

The rooms are newly refurbished, spotlessly clean, although we were slightly bemused at the random furniture that was added to our room on a daily basis.

There isn't a local reef, but the daily free trips only takes five minutes and you're pretty much guaranteed to see a turtle or two. We also took a paid manta snorkelling trip, which was reasonably priced. We were lucky to pick a day when there were around 10 - a truly incredible experience.

If I'm being picky, the only slight downside is the food, with limited range of vegetarian options and food not replaced if you go for a late sitting. There were however some excellent curries and a good salad bar.

Overall, this was one of the best holidays that we have had and we'd definitely come back again.

  • Stayed: March 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
9  Thank Beverley R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunny S, Manager at Summer Island Maldives, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2015

Dear Beverly, Greeting from where the summer never ends. Thank you very much for your comments and suggestion about us. We are happy to read all and we are happy that we had the chance to serve you. And we consider your suggestion.
we look forward to welcome you again. Best regards from the management and staff.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mariya_Shareef, Manager at Summer Island Maldives, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews