We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Four Seasons Resort Maldives at Kuda Huraa
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Cinnamon Dhonveli Maldives(Farukolhufushi Island)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Club Med Kani(Kanifinolhu Island)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Raalhu Lodge(Himmafushi Island)
View Hotel
Adaaran Select Hudhuranfushi(Lhohifushi Island)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Gasfinolhu Island Resort(Gasfinolhu Island)
View Hotel
  • Beachfront
  • Restaurant
Gili Lankanfushi(Lankanfushi)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Paradise Island Resort & Spa(Lankanfinolhu Island)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Season Paradise(Thulusdhoo Island)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Reviews (1,199)
Filter reviews
1,199 results
Traveller rating
1,049
113
21
11
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,049
113
21
11
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsindian restaurantkids clubsunrise beachfishwater bungalowtropic surfplunge poolseparate islandmain poolspa islandcafe huraawater sportsour honeymoonthe general managersunset loungef boutdoor shower
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
727 - 732 of 1,199 reviews
Reviewed 11 July 2012

we went for the surfing but were blown away by the fantastic service, food and atmosphere of this lovely hotel. Always very peaceful - often felt like your own private island.
Tropic surf - who looked after us - were amazing. They bring a new meaning to the word 5 star - my husband caught some of the best waves of his life.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cazzle365
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tuliohoch, General Manager at Four Seasons Resort Maldives at Kuda Huraa, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2012

Thank you for your nice comments.

I have shared your kind compliments with the team from TropicSurf and we look forward to having you and your husband 'catch a wave' with us in the near future.

Tulio Hochkoeppler
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2012

I've never written a review before but felt compelled to do so after our experience at the Kuda Huraa. We've stayed at numerous high end resorts / hotels throughout the world but this place is truly exceptional in many ways.

All the staff were genuine in their enthusiasm and extremely welcoming and accommodating. We arrived early in the morning and after a 30 minute speed boat ride to the island we were warmly welcomed by several members of the FS team and served a refreshing drink composed of ginger, lime & honey (Lomi Lomi). There were no qualms about the fact we arrived several hours before the actual check in time. We were taken by our host Abhi to Cafe Huraa for a wonderful and varied breakfast before being escorted to the bungalow. The staff at the restaurants and on the beach were always friendly, sensitive and responsive to any special requests we had. The on-site marine biologists are a special touch at both FS resorts. They are all very talented / insightful and their passion for conserving the local marine life is infectious. My 3-year old daughter has now added marine biology to her list of "what I want to do when I grow up.

The staff treated my daughter like royalty (even though there were no additional charges for children i.e. food etc was free). They always tried to engage her - she was never ignored! They presented her with a pack of goodies when we arrived. On several occasions, the onsite marine biologists gave her a personal tour of the sea turtle station. She was sea sick on the dolphin cruise and the staff did everything possible to make her feel comfortable. One of the staff (a young American lady - apologies I forget the name) involved her in the daily fish feeding. The MAS KIds Club have very well thought out activities throughout the day for young children (including origami, pizza / smoothie making..). The resort is extremely child friendly - not just an after thought.

The restaurants are all excellent. I had previously read the reviews about many Maldivian resorts having a very limited variety of fish and was worried my holiday diet would primarily consist of steak, steak and more steak! However, the Kuda Huraa restaurants had an amazing selection of fresh local fish. The mahi mahi Maldivian style was my favourite and the lobster night at the Italian restaurant was scrumptious.

All in all a truly beautiful place with the most impressive service I have ever encountered. FS Kuda Huraa please keep up the good work !

Room Tip: The sunset side had slightly rougher waters but the breeze was wonderfully soothing on the beach. Room 109 is nicely located - just steps away from the restaurants / Kids Club on once side and private access to the beach on the other.
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank TazzaH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 13 July 2012

Thank you for writing such a tremendous review! We are happy to know that you and your family had a wonderful Maldivian experience…especially that our Marine Biologists became the inspiration of your little daughter, and maybe one day she will be part of our Team here in Kuda Huraa.

We are very proud of our staff and I will take great pleasure in sharing your nice comments with them.

Tulio Hochkoeppler
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2012 via mobile

For our second visit to the Maldives we chose Four Seasons Kuda Huraa.

Having previously intended to return to Anantara Kihavah Villas, our plans changed because friends with similar aged children had already selected Four Seasons.

Four Seasons is about 15 years old although it is in excellent condition in every respect. Its architecture and design reflects its age but with obvious quality and style.

The experience began with a friendly host greeting us as we came out of the airport hall. From there a short speed boat trip got us to the resort in about 25 minutes.

Check in was fast and efficient and we were in our room within 15 minutes.

The room was a beach front villa which, having done "over water" previously, I think was more child- friendly as the kids could get up in the morning and run straight onto the beach to meet their friends.

The amenities such as boutique, spa, gym, were first class.

Service was outstanding with that quite distinctive Four Seasons professionalism showing through at every turn. Perhaps Anantara's slightly less formal approach suits some a little better - including us - but the Four Seasons version is very polished and enjoyable.

Food quality was the best we have experienced at any resort - anywhere - and was one of the highlights. Whether it was Indian, Italian, Asian or seafood, the standard was superb. A la carte prices for food and wine were in the typical range for top hotels and resorts - not cheap but not objectionable given the quality of the offering.

It was food of another kind that we found disappointing - buffet and special meals. We were horrified by the prices charged for the Asian buffet one night ($125 per adult for food only and $60 for children aged 6 and 9); $250 per head - food only - for a banquet set up on the beach 100 metres from the main restaurant, and several hundred dollars for some chicken sandwiches on a half day cruise on one of the boats.

Even though these were adjusted after we complained, the exercise was disappointing and could easily have been avoided if someone had thought briefly about the value-for-money proposition. The moral of the story is that - even though a la carte prices are ok - you really have to ask for other prices beforehand rather than assume they are going to be reasonable.

The surfers on the trip were well looked after by Chris and Verena from Tropic Surf. With sets of 3 metres or more it was for the more experienced watermen and women - but Chris's local knowledge and personable style made it fun for those who were game enough to give it a go.

The team at the PADI dive centre were fabulous - with special mention for Danil Nihad, Ali, Angela, Mieko and Faisal who spent most time with us. Four of the kids did their PADI Seal certification and when it was over the team put on a cake and a lovely little celebration to mark the occasion. They could not have been more pleasant to spend time with.

Finally - kids club - truly excellent. Its staff and resources are the best yet and cater superbly for children from toddlers to teens.

We have struggled to compare Four Seasons with our previous experience at Anantara. There is little difference overall - both are magnificent.

Asked to identify the differences I'd say Anantara is newer and has nicer architecture and design, its outlook is slightly better (an isolated island whereas Four Seasons has 2 less attractive islands close by) and its staff is a little less formal - which others might view differently of course - and there were no nasty surprises with any prices. One feature we missed at Four Seasons was Anantara's personal concierge - a great feature that really personalizes a guest's stay.

Four Seasons is slightly more regimented in its service, its cuisine slightly better and its kids club better equipped in terms of resources although the same in terms of having fantastic, caring staff. For surfers Four Seasons is the only one of the 2 to offer waves.

Rating the 2 resorts and leaving room for improvement - we give Anantara 95 points and Four Seasons 92. Others could easily judge the other way depending on what's important to them.

No-one could be unhappy with either - they are both superb destinations.

wins by a knife blade but that is probably

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ozwithkids99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 13 July 2012

Thank you for sharing your detailed experiences. Delighted to learn that you and your family overall enjoyed your vacation. I appreciate your compliments on our food, service, facilities and I have taken note your constructive feedback regarding the price of buffet and special meals.

I do hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back.

Tulio Hochkoeppler
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2012

From being warmly greeted at the airport to being greeted by local drummers on the dock at the luxurious hotel, this is one experience I wish all of my friends and family could share. Four Seasons Kuda Huraa is the best hotel in the world, in my opinion. If you would like to relax on an intimate island where staff anticipate your every need and request before you even think about them, this resort is for you. While some high-end hotels "tolerate" children, Four Seasons welcomes, embraces, entertains and educates them! They go much further than that -- our son happens to have a few food allergies. We are accustomed to brining our own food with us. But at Kuda Huraa, the kitchen staff goes way above and beyond anything I've ever seen by making food just for our six year old son, so that he feels special, loved and happy. Don't get me wrong, this resort is also for couples, singles, and anyone who wants to relax in luxury. A true slice of paradise.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tracy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 13 July 2012

We at Four Seasons have always felt that the kids experience is an important part of a family vacation, and we are pleased to hear we accomplished one of our many goals.

Look forward to welcoming the family back to paradise in the Indian Ocean soon!

Tulio Hochkoeppler
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2012

We spent 10 glorious nights in mid May for our family holiday and it could not have been any better. From the moment we arrived in the Male airport, extremely friendly and helpful FS staff greeted us. We were then whisked away in a comfortable speed boat for a quick journey of less than 30 minutes to the most amazing and breathtaking island of Kuda Huraa. On arrival, we had the most incredible welcome by Tulio, the General Manager and his staff including traditional drummers.

Our bungalow was amazing and we really felt pampered with twice daily servicing, our own nespresso machine (be careful you can get addicted and I am now looking into buying one of my own), the most amazing comfortable king size bed and large spacious bathroom with a bath so large you could fit a small troupe inside, and I particularly liked the private outdoor shower. Our bungalow had a separate room with daybed and second TV. The daybed was made up each evening for our daughter. It was the perfect setup for our small family of 3. We really enjoyed our private courtyard with plunge pool and cabana with double daybed…enjoyed a few good books there. A few steps through a little path and we were on the sunrise beach. I would recommend this side over the sunset beach, as it is much more protected from the wind and the water is much calmer. At the beach or pool, an attendant quickly arrives to make up the sun loungers and bring ice water and cold cloths that smell like lemon myrtle…heaven! Also, you can enjoy lunch on the beach or indulge in a delicious cocktail.

We spent our time in total relaxation and our daughter loved the kuda mas kids club. They had an assortment of exciting activities for the kids that changed daily. It didn’t matter where we went, we were quickly and warmly greeted and our every need was pretty much anticipated. It’s like they can read your thoughts.

We had a slight hiccup while we were there as our daughter had a freak accident when she fell and knocked out 3 teeth. Well you can imagine how traumatic this was. The amazing resident “Doctor” and his medical staff came to our aid immediately. The doctor took such good care of not only my daughter but us as well. We ended up having to take her to Male to have one tooth pulled. The doctor and resort organized everything. He came along with us and checked on us everyday until she was completely recovered. After the accident, they really went out of their way to make sure our daughter was getting better and that we had everything we needed. They didn’t even charge us for the boat ride to Male and back. I don’t wish for an emergency to happen to anyone, but if it does, you will be taken care of 100%.

The spa was amazing and peaceful, food really nice and service second to none. One other thing, I am a celiac and there was plenty of choices for me to eat and they even made amazing gluten-free bread fresh everyday and brought me some at breakfast. Thank you so much Four Season at Kuda Huraa for an amazing holiday and we’ll be back again without a doubt.

Room Tip: Choose a sunrise beach bungalow with plunge pool....private, peaceful, quiet!
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 3wilsontravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 13 July 2012

Thank you for sharing your experiences and so happy to hear that you and your family enjoyed so much your holiday.

I will definitely forward your nice comments to Dr. Imteyaz in particular and the staff and trust your daughter has recovered fully.

Look forward to welcome you and your family back to your ‘home’ in Maldives!

Tulio Hochkoeppler
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews