We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Royal Island Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Soneva Fushi(Kunfunadhoo)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Kihaa Maldives(Baa Atoll)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Amilla Fushi(Baa Atoll)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Finolhu(Baa Atoll)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (1,401)
Filter reviews
1,401 results
Traveller rating
886
370
91
26
28
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
886
370
91
26
28
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsa la carte restaurantour waiterhalf boardfishour honeymoonmain restauranttable tennisan open air showerwater sportssea planecurriesbadminton courtreef sharksmale airportper daypalm treesbuffet style
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
385 - 390 of 1,401 reviews
Reviewed 11 April 2014

The Island is quite small Island, but it is exactly what you would look for in Maldives.
We have been in Maldives 3 times already, so I can admit that this Island was the best.
You can walk around it for just 15-20 min and completely understand this feeling of isolation. For us it was perfect. There is not much entertainment are etc and it is a positive side, when you are travelling with your loved one to an Island experience.
I must mention that the rooms need to be renovated, as they are kind of old.
The food was very tasty!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank HA_Family88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2014

We stayed one week (end of March) at the Royal Island hotel and we do really recommend this hotel.
The sea, beaches and marine life are amazing. On top, the diving center is one of the best I went to.
The staff is really friendly, always willing to help and the room in the individual villa are really nice and clean with confortable bed.
The food at the buffet is delicious (especially for dinner), a wide variety of fishes, meat and local dishes.

Room Tip: Watch out - Full board does not mean all inclusive
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Fabrice M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2014

This was our second trip to the Maldives. We chose this Island because of value for money and easy access. We really enjoyed our stay here after requesting a room on the calm side of the Island (we don't like wind). For which the young lady who spoke russian managed to sort us out a great room and location for us which made our holiday:-)
You can walk all the way around the Island on the beach at low tide which takes 30 minutes.
We found the Island pretty busy comparing to Filitheyo but this is a bigger island and it seemed to accommodate the larger number as well.
The bar and poor area was very nice, located right next to the beach and a great place to have drinks and play pool. The restaurant is located next to the beach also and was large and spacious.
The water sport facilities on the island were very good with a dive centre and water skiing, kayaking etc AND free snorkelling! Free wifi in bar and reception area but the signal was very slow especially in the evenings and after breakfast. We were on half board and found it adequate for our needs. We did pay extra for water, drinks and snacks ($200).
We enjoyed the squash even though it was humid, the attendant provided us cold water and towels. The stuff was very lovely and respectful.
As we haven't really seen in other reviews but we are going to include what we gave in tips.
We gave our waiter $45 in total in tips throughout our stay. Luggage boys $5. Our villa housekeeper $15 (we reduced our tip for our housekeeper because we weren't entirely happy with him).
The shop was well stocked with all necessary sunshine holiday requirements i.e. flip-flops, swimwear, hats, sun scream, waterproof cameras and even toiletries, lilo.
Be aware that this resort is popular with Russians and we didn't think that the majority were very friendly.
On the positive side we didn't encounter any mosquitos. On the negative side we had biting ants in our bedroom at night as well as cockroaches which disturbed us at nights.
SO IN OVERALL WE WOULD RECOMMEND THIS RESORT AND WOULD RETURN. THANK YOU!
Any questions please feel free to contact us.

Room Tip: For us the best rooms would be 200-203. We stayed in 199 we found it very private with a long stretch of beach in front of us so not disturbed by strollers along the beach. A few of the villas (199 too) had trees overhanging which dropped heavy seeds and was very loud and disturbing at nights. This side has the sunset. Calm side of the island. We prefer that. The other side was windier and some parts had no sun after 4.30pm! So we got two more hours of sunshine. People seemed to enjoy both sides...so it depends on what one prefers.
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Szilvia1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2014 via mobile

Had lovely time here. Staff was attentive and helpful , great private villas with nice Pateo and beach . Food was great chefs were going out of ordinary and cooked something out of the menu always . Great place and highly recommended .

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Viva_Luxury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2014

This is my 4th island I have visited in Maldives... One can rave about this place only if nothing else has been seen in Maldives...

The largest disappointment is the absence of natural reef. That was not clearly indicated in the available information, and that was my biggest mistake as I booked this island without proper checking. Basically, what you see is the artificially made stone belt around the island, sometimes some stones washed in the ocean as missing teeth in old ladys mouth... Not most beautiful view in the Maldives for sure...

Check in took ages, check out was rushed due to other guests flying in...

The speedboat transfer was efficient, but we were required to wait long for the boarding at the domestic airport.

Staff OK, not super friendly (especially after great experience benchmark from Sri Lanka), but nothing bad, either. Restaurant staff trying to up-sell their services without degree of tact.

Seems, that this island caters for many Russian tourist groups.

Will I return? Certainly not. There are much better choices around.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Kasparainens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews