We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“nice, but overpriced and low service level”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Holiday Inn Resort Kandooma Maldives
Certificate of Excellence
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“nice, but overpriced and low service level”
Reviewed 13 October 2013

My wife and I are spending a week here at the Holiday Inn. Being a frequent traveller and travelling around the globe, I can say that this hotel is not on par with the usual IHG service. Besides that, it is also overpriced.
Few examples:
1. You order a delivery in your villa (400 usd/night, without breakfast), you ask for bread and the answer is that you have to pay it!!! First time in my life, I am gold with Intercontinental, Platinum with Starwood, Diamond with Hyatt, and I never got such answer!!! So I ended up paying 9 usd plus taxes for steamed rice (!!!!)
2. The waiter comes and leaves our food on the table; my wife had to go upstairs to get forks and knives... he didn't even bring napkins or glasses, just threw our meals on the table and asked for signature. One pizza, one pasta and steamed rice, 70 usd.
3. They offer packages, but they are very expensive: 86 usd per day per person to have dinner in a buffet restaurant of average quality.
4. Do nout forget to bring sun protection, otherwise you will pay 30 plus usd for an unknown brand sun cream.
5. You are forced to pay 198 usd per person for a return journey from the Male airport by speedboat.
In summary, the island is nice, room are good and clean, but the guest is seen as an ATM machine.

Room Tip: Beach villas on the west side enjoy the best beach and a beautiful sunset
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank duke d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Kandooma Maldives, responded to this review, 29 October 2013
Dear duke d,

Thank you for your feedback. We are hospitality professionals who pride ourselves on delivering a world class experience. For that reason, the comments are troubling and will certainly be looked into. I would like to apologize for the issues you experienced at our hotel. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future. We appreciate the candid feedback we receive and welcome any opportunity to improve.

Again, many thanks for the feedback and our apologies for the shortfalls.

Sincerely,

Connie D
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,429 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    958
    362
    73
    24
    12
See reviews for
413
687
32
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (410)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
139 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2013 via mobile

The Holiday Inn Kandooma was amazing. From landing at the airport and getting picked up, to landing on the jetty, check in, spa, restaurants, the service was first class and made for a very remarkable holiday. Had excellent service from the front desk, even though we made requests to change rooms a couple of times as we changed our original booking to a water villa on arrival (get a water villa, it's the best experience ever), no complaints from staff and all done with fantastic service. Restaurants and spas were excellent, especially Zachary from the Kitchen restaurant, who was friendly and chatty and provided us with amazing service. Highly recommend the Stay Indulgent package, had a great time with the Dolphin Cruises, in villa BBQ and Como Shambala massages as well. Probably one of the best value for money hotels in the Maldives given some of the prices being charged by the other hotels.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Gryphon1403
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rene J, Executive Assistant Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Kandooma Maldives, responded to this review, 24 October 2013
Dear Gryphon1403,

Thank you for your beautiful comment about us following your recent stay.

We are very happy to learn that you have had a great time in our little paradise and I will definitely pass your message onto Zachary.

The team and I are looking forward to having you back with us in the near future.

Warmest regards,
Rene Jewell
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peyia, Cyprus
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2013

Stayed in January nothing we can fault with this beautiful resort. Staff so friendly, excellent choice of foods and the desserts oh dear too many and too nice so we left with a few extra kilos. The sunset cruise, secluded island visit and fishing trip were something you should never miss. Pool area lovely and the Jaccussi well our aches and pains felt better. The bungalow was so cosy and the extra treat of fresh orange juice with own juice machine and Illy coffee and machine, well what more can you ask for from a 4* resort. We could have just watched the sea and surrounding all day. It was heaven!!! Would definately recommend this resort and we hope to go back one day!! Forgot to mention the whole resort absolutely spotless.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Toulla G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rene J, Executive Assistant Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Kandooma Maldives, responded to this review, 16 October 2013
Dear Toulla G,

Thank you for writing about us. We are very glad to hear that you enjoyed your holiday with us.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Warmest regards,
Rene Jewell
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chiang Mai, Thailand
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2013

Compared to other resorts in the Maldives this is moderately priced. Resort island is very peaceful and not to far from Male by boat. Each morning there are 6 oranges for you to make your own orange juice. The dolphin tour was included in our rate and we saw 50 dolphins which was really a site to see. Night fishing was fun and the hotel prepared what we caught for us to eat that evening. Only downside of the resort is the high food prices.

Room Tip: All rooms are nice. Stay in one of the lower number rooms to be close to the main area and pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DiscountDuane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rene J, Executive Assistant Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Kandooma Maldives, responded to this review, 16 October 2013
Dear IDidItForTheMiles,

Thank you for your comment about us following your recent stay.

We are happy to learn that you have enjoyed your holiday in our little paradise and looking forward to having you back in the near future.

Warmest regards,
Rene Jewell
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 October 2013

Enjoyed my stays at Holiday Inn Kandooma. Beautiful, clean, nice food & drinks!

The WIFI connection is a bit slow however it is very relaxing staying in this resort.

But was dissapointed with the seaplane tour booking as the activity is not go with the schedule given, but the reason given is acceptable (cancelled due to low registration of the activity).

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank joinweng t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rene J, Executive Assistant Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Kandooma Maldives, responded to this review, 3 October 2013
Dear Joinweng t,

Thank you for comment about us on Tripadvisor.

We are happy to know that you have enjoyed your holiday in our little paradise. We apologize for being unable to make the seaplane trip and hope that you can enjoy the photo flight on your next visit.

My team and I are looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Warmest regards,
Rene Jewell
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beijing, China
Level Contributor
37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2013

Went there with a friend. Loved almost everything about it except the food. We went with half-board after the first lunch by the pool which cost us US$90 (we only had a sandwich, a salad, a bottle of water, and Carbonara). However, the buffet dinners were below our expectations; they had variety of food but quality was below average. The meatballs in the noodle soup were like chewing a piece of plastic. One of the nites, the buffet tables were set on the beach which made food go cold and hard quickly because of the wind...We talked to the chefs, they had their own argument why their meatballs taste like a piece of plastic...

On a positive side, the chefs and waiters were extremely helpful. One of the chefs remembered how I liked my omelette to be made after the first breakfast while the other chef offered to make noodle soup for my ill friend and send it to our villa. One of the restaurant managers came up with a birthday cake for my friend after I mentioned it had slipped my mind...An intern serving breakfast was very different from the rest: he always greeted us with a big smile and asked us if we enjoyed our food, etc.. Their effort really made our stay different and all the more enjoyable.

We didn't do lots of water sports as my friend was afraid of water, but I managed to have a good time sunset catamaran sailing, snorkeling and taking a stroll in a local island,etc. Next time when I return, I will definitely do more...

My friend who spent 99% of time hiding under trees reading books and chilling out also enjoyed the tranquility, spectacular views and walks on the beach...

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julia D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rene J, Executive Assistant Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Kandooma Maldives, responded to this review, 9 October 2013
Dear Julia D,

Thank you for taking the time to write about us on Tripadvisor.

We are happy to hear that you have enjoyed your stay and appreciate to mention the area we could improve on.

The team and I are looking forward to having you back with us in the near future.

Warmest regards,
Rene Jewell
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chiclana de la Frontera, Spain
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2013

The island itself is nice, clean, not that big, but not too small like some other resorts in Maldives. Our beach villa was great, and the fresh oranges for juice and free drinking water replenished daily in the room give extra scores to this place.
Breakfast was ok - not bad but not very impressive. But à la carte restaurants were really great, never tried the buffet options though.
The quiet atmosphere of the island was exactly what we were looking for.
Also the multilingual staff was very helpful, and they organised the party for the IHG loyalty program members with free drinks and snacks.
The resort has no house reef, but they organise daily diving trips to some very nice sites nearby.
Also this place is famous for it's surf break and you can get some surf lessons there too.

But there are still a couple of things that don't let me put an excellent mark to this place.

First, it is situated just in front of the local island. So, if you stay on the West beach side of the resort, then very soon you will get acquainted with the local habits in foods and drinks. The locals can't do better but throw all the garbage into the beautiful turquoise waters of the ocean and within half an hour after the meal time you will know exactly what your local neighbours ate. I don't know what about others but I do mind the watermelon rinds, little plastic bags that are used for species in instant noodles, fish heads, etc. floating around. The stuff cleans the beaches, but unfortunately they still can't fight the piggishness of locals...
And one more thing. TOILETRIES! Girls, bring your own toiletries, at least shampoo!!! They put the shower gel into the Shampoo bottle and try to persuade you that this is different stuff, never mind that it smells and looks the same. The staff might trick you, but not your hair... If you don't want to have a mop on your head after many days of sun and sea, then follow my advice. I had to ask some friends to bring me shampoo from Malé, but it was already late and it took my hair a long time to recover...
Anyway, I still can call our stay excellent. I stayed in other Maldivian resorts before, and I can say this one is a very good value for money.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Anastasya V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rene J, Executive Assistant Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Kandooma Maldives, responded to this review, 16 October 2013
Dear Anastasya V,

Thank you for taking the time to write about us on Tripadvisor.

We take our guest comments seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We are sorry you were not fully satisfied with your stay.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back with us on your next holiday in the Maldives.

Warmest regards,
Rene Jewell
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kandoomaafushi Island
24.4 mi away
Sheraton Maldives Full Moon Resort & Spa
Sheraton Maldives Full Moon Reso...
#1 of 1 in Furanafushi Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,677 reviews
8.0 mi away
Adaaran Club Rannalhi
Adaaran Club Rannalhi
#1 of 1 in Rannalhi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,387 reviews
4.0 mi away
Olhuveli Beach & Spa Maldives
Olhuveli Beach & Spa Maldives
#1 of 1 in Olhuveli Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,826 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.5 mi away
Kurumba Maldives
Kurumba Maldives
#1 of 1 in Vihamanafushi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,440 reviews
1.8 mi away
Biyadhoo Island Resort
Biyadhoo Island Resort
#1 of 1 in Biyaadhoo Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,442 reviews
7.7 mi away
Rihiveli by Castaway Hotels & Escapes
Rihiveli by Castaway Hotels & Es...
#1 of 1 in Mahaanaelhihuraa Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 848 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Resort Kandooma Maldives? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Resort Kandooma Maldives

Property: Holiday Inn Resort Kandooma Maldives
Address: Kandooma Fushi
Phone Number:
Region: Maldives > Kaafu Atoll > South Male Atoll > Kandoomaafushi Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kandoomaafushi Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Holiday Inn Resort Kandooma Maldives 4.5*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Find your tropical island paradise at the lagoon-facing Holiday Inn Resort (R) Kandooma Maldives. Let speedboats ferry you across the turquoise waters from Male International Airport to our contemporary Maldives holiday resort in just 40 minutes. Slip into island life from the moment you arrive at Holiday Inn Resort (R) Kandooma Maldives, with world-class diving and surfing facilities at your doorstep. Our beach villas ooze style and boast elegant touches like outdoor showers and iPod docking stations. Grab coffee and wood-fired pizza from the Bokkuraa Coffee Club beside our sparkling infinity pool, or unwind with a good book and enjoy views over the peaceful lagoon. You can indulge in a soothing Thai massage and other beauty treatments at our Kandooma Spa and book the Spa Suite's private garden with plunge pool for a romantic afternoon. Discover a Maldives hotel for family here, where you can learn to sail on a catamaran around the region's sandbanks and sip on alcohol-free cocktails on a sunset cruise. Diving and snorkelling among colourful reefs is just five minutes by boat from Holiday Inn Resort(R) Kandooma Maldives. As a child-friendly Maldives hotel, your children will be kept entertained with face-painting and fun games, while parents can unwind with a game of tennis or a workout at the gym. Top off a perfect day with a Maldivian seafood feast and breathtaking sunsets at The Kitchen restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), IHG, Priceline, TravelUp, Southall Travel, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Resort Kandooma Maldives reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Resort Kandooma Hotel South Male Atoll
Kandooma South Male Atoll
Kandooma Hotel South Male Atoll

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing