We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I will save up and go to a better resort next Maldives trip”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Resort Kandooma Maldives
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 May 2014

Maldives. Snorkel and dive paradise. The ocean that ranges from turquoise to azure to jade green to cobalt blue: amazing.
Yes, Kandooma has most of these things. Except the house reef is a short boat ride away and so the free and easy aspect of snorkelling is just not there. They do have one or two boats a day taking you to their nearby house-reef, but you arrive there with 20 other people and aren't allowed to explore on your own and its a scant 30 minute swim. Just really wasn't satisfying. Even the paid snorkel outings were too short and left you wanting a lot more.
We stayed in the beach house accommodation. It is an elevated room with a casual area below the house with a private beach shower and a sitting area; it is shaded by palm trees. We had a sunset dinner there one evening and it was very pleasant.
I think it is a better choice than the water villas at this resort. They looked like boxes, perched in a shadeless shallow bay, I cannot imagine that they would be anything but broiling hot under the tropical sun. If you want a water villa, I would recommend another hotel.
The food was extremely costly. Our room did not include meals, and one can expect to pay USD 100 per person per day for 3 meals and any beverage other than filtered water would add even more. They told us that our second cup of espresso would be chargeable. I complained and we were not actually charged, but I was really shocked considering the breakfast is USD31++
The boat transfers are also expensive. It was USD 500 nett for return airport transfersfor the pair of us.
If you select this hotel, make sure you do it on a package that includes transfers and at least half board, or be prepared to pay a lot more than the price of the room.
Next trip I will go to a better class of hotel with an on-shore house reef and transfers included. End of the day, it isn't mush difference in price, but a lot of difference in the experience.

Room Tip: Picka seaview beach room or house. Nice and better value.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DugongKechil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joseph D, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Kandooma Maldives, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2014

Dear DugongKechill,

Thank you for your valuable feedback about us on Tripadvisor.

First of all, we are happy to read that you have enjoyed our Beach House and the sunset dining experience. We also want to thank you for highlighting the area that we could improve on.

Once again, we thank you for your valuable feedback as we take our guests feedback very seriously which it allows us to monitor and improve our processes and service. We look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back to the Maldives in the future.

Warmest regards,
Joseph Della Gatta
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,548)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

684 - 690 of 1,548 reviews

Reviewed 30 April 2014 via mobile

All of the Maldivian Islands are beautiful maybe except the capital Male as it's too touristy but the hotel islands and private islands are a tropical dream there's nowhere else like it. This hotel is new and had everything you need and want but you won't need much as the ocean, white soft sand, sharks, sting ray, giant bats, hermit crabs under your feet and the whole experience will keep you amused

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Danxxxiel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joseph D, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Kandooma Maldives, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2014

Dear Danxxiel,

Thank you for your positive review about us on Tripadvisor.

It is a real pleasure to read that you have good memories of your stay with us and we are glad that you have enjoyed the natural beauty in the Maldives.

The team and I are looking forward to welcoming you back to our little paradise in the near future.

Warmest regards,
Joseph Della Gatta
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2014

second time to stay in kandooma... it is simply an amazing hotel with amazing staff..from the time we were greeted in the airport to the minute we were dropped back in the airport...5 nights of amazing charm.i would definitely go back.the beach house was much more than amazing this time and my requests in the time of booking were all catered for painstakingly. the water and the beach were so much better in this time of the year than last time. i love it!!it will be always my destination if we go to maldives again..thanks to all the fantastic staff there

Room Tip: beach houses close the pool are simply fantastic
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mimicom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joseph D, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Kandooma Maldives, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2014

Dear Mimicom,

We would like to thank you for choosing our hotel for your stay again in the Maldives and sharing your stay experience with us on Tripadvisor.

We are very delighted to read that you have an amazing time with us and it is our great pleasure to know that our team has done a great job to make your stay pleasant. I will definitely share your comment to the team which your comment is an inspiration for us to serve our guests better.

Once again, thank you for your loyalty to our lovely island and we are looking forward to welcoming you back to us in the near future.

Warmest regards,
Joseph Della Gatta
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2014

May I start this review by firstly thanking all of the staff here at Kandooma, nothing is too much trouble, great positive attitude.
Prior to arrival I had conducted a review of the villas available, if you are looking for lovely beach right on your doorstep go for ones on the western side of the island - wonderful views at sunset.
This really is an amazing place with all kinds over water sports, surfing, trips to watch dolphins/turtles and other local islands.
3 restaurants to eat at, with the most wonderful food being served up at "The Kitchen" we ate here most nights, the quality of the food along with exceptional presentation left me speechless, whilst watching the beach crabs run around in between courses.


I hate finishing on a small negative comment but if management considered this more people may stay up later at nights as the evenings tend to finish around 9pm, with residents returning to there rooms why?
The only place you can get a drink after 10 pm is the lobby area which whilst practical is not my ideal location to relax and enjoy meeting other guests. My suggestion would be to open the Bokarra coffee bar to 12 midnight, great setting open bar area right in the middle of the resort.

As I say this is a very small niggle not really the resorts fault that people do not wish to stay up at night.

I can't wait to come back in a couple of years, thanks to Miss Mylene for all her help.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank somby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joseph D, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Kandooma Maldives, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2014

Dear Somby,

We would like to thank you for sharing your stay experience on Tripadvisor following your recent stay.

It is our great pleasure to read that you have enjoyed your stay with us and I will definitely share your message onto Mylene who will be excited to hear from you. We would like to thank you for highlighting the area that we could look into.

The team and I are looking forward to welcoming you back to our little paradise on your next holiday to the Maldives.

Warmest regards,
Joseph Della Gatta
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2014

Well what to say! Having stayed at many of the best resorts in the world. This place was mind blowing. A special thanks to Rene in management, Shithr in the Restaurant who was so helpful and looked after my two daughters. Siva in the restaurant who always welcomed me with a huge "Salam". Simply every one at this resort was so kind and graceful. The local island trip was amazing. The dolphin cruise was brill. The decorations for our anniversary in the room were amazing. I loved praying Friday prayer in the resorts mosque - that was so peaceful and serene mosque I have prayed in my life. I would love to go back to this resort one day.

Room Tip: Water villa, beach villa, garden villa, anything here even sleep on the sand.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Serenity676
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joseph D, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Kandooma Maldives, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2014

Dear Serenity676,

Thank you for your wonderful review about us on Tripadvisor following your recent stay.

First of all, we are very delighted to learn that you and your family have a great time with us and enjoyed very much on our excursions. It is our great pleasure to read that our team members, Rene, Shithr and Siva have shown their initiatives to make your stay pleasant.

The team and I are looking forward to having you and your family back to our lovely island in the near future.

Warmest regards,
Joseph Della Gatta
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2014

A very nice hotel for a family holiday but what makes it is the staff - they were all very helpful, from check in Bandula was very welcoming and got us settled in very quickly, the team in the recreation team WoW! Santiago, Gyan, Alka, Ushan, Nafro, Tahey, Sameh and all the team you guys made our holiday, even before we left the island my son says Dad when are we coming back to see our friends! I must also mention Siva in F&B very accommodating and went out of his way to look after us (hope you have a nice holiday with your family next week) as well as Reetesh. There is a lot to do, recommend the adventure snorkel with Ushan, we saw eagle rays, turtles, pin cushion starfish and Ushan made it very interactive for our son. If you like turtles then the turtle point snorkel is a must do. The new concept of chill out on the sandbank great idea if they are still doing it then recommend it but we did have one area of improvement and suggested they provide some finger food so the kids are fed at least. Do the sunset cruise, get on the nets and relax - and it's a good laugh.

Overall, outstanding property, great staff, great family holiday destination. We will be back hopefully soon! Thanks once again to all, Joseph a great property with a great team behind it.

Room Tip: The Garden View Villas are very nice and quite frankly served our purpose as we hardly spent any tim...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sherifflobo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joseph D, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Kandooma Maldives, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2014

Dear Sherifflobo,

We would like to thank you for your wonderful review about us on Tripadvisor following your recent stay.

We are very delighted to read that you and your family have enjoyed your stay with us and the team has done a great job to make your stay pleasant and memorable. I will definitely share your encouraging message to the team as your feedback is an inspiration to help us to serve our guests better.

The team and I are looking forward to having you and your family back to our little paradise in the near future.

Warmest regards,
Joseph Della Gatta
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2014 via mobile

I stay here for 4 nights, it's a great experience overall. I was being recognized as a platinum member and receive very good service.

The difference of this hotel to other maldives hotel is, it is not luxurious but it is very simple and chic. Everything blend in well with the nature. No marble or chandelier just pure natural style.

The sea is blue like sapphire, but there aren't many fish around the beaches at the hotel. The south beach is out of all beaches the best for snorkeling. I did see a sea turtle by luck. They do organize free snorkeling trip and sometimes it's good sometimes it's so so. My experience in Maldives before was I could spot manta ray and sharks very easily, sometimes even at the hotel in shallow water. But this time nothing.

I dived with Euro Diver, I would not recommend it. I managed to see nothing at the dive site and I was in Maldives, it's unbelievable. Also very expensive. Will stick to Sipadan and Philippines.

Overall, enjoy my holiday and it's too short.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Uffizi930
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joseph D, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Kandooma Maldives, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2014

Dear Uffizi930,

Thank you for your review about us on Tripadvisor following your recent stay and being our most loyal member of our IHG Rewards Club, the world's largest hotel loyalty program.

We are happy to read that you did enjoy the property and the staff. Your valuable feedback is important to us in order to continually provide the best guest experience possible.

The team and I are looking forward to an opportunity to welcoming you back to our property on your next visit to the Maldives.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kandoomaafushi Island
24.3 mi away
Sheraton Maldives Full Moon Resort & Spa
Sheraton Maldives Full Moon Reso...
#1 of 1 in Furanafushi Island
1,842 reviews
8 mi away
Adaaran Club Rannalhi
Adaaran Club Rannalhi
#1 of 1 in Rannalhi
1,581 reviews
22.5 mi away
Kurumba Maldives
Kurumba Maldives
#1 of 1 in Vihamanafushi
3,799 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 mi away
Fihalhohi Island Resort
Fihalhohi Island Resort
#1 of 1 in Fihalhohi Island
1,262 reviews
4 mi away
Olhuveli Beach & Spa Maldives
Olhuveli Beach & Spa Maldives
#1 of 1 in Olhuveli Island
2,027 reviews
1.7 mi away
Biyadhoo Island Resort
Biyadhoo Island Resort
#1 of 1 in Biyaadhoo Island
1,550 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Resort Kandooma Maldives? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Resort Kandooma Maldives

Address: Kandooma Fushi
Phone Number:
Region: Maldives > Kaafu Atoll > South Male Atoll > Kandoomaafushi Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kandoomaafushi Island
Price Range: £132 - £616 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Holiday Inn Resort Kandooma Maldives 4.5*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Find your tropical island paradise at the lagoon-facing Holiday Inn Resort (R) Kandooma Maldives. Let speedboats ferry you across the turquoise waters from Male International Airport to our contemporary Maldives holiday resort in just 40 minutes. Slip into island life from the moment you arrive at Holiday Inn Resort (R) Kandooma Maldives, with world-class diving and surfing facilities at your doorstep. Our beach villas ooze style and boast elegant touches like outdoor showers and iPod docking stations. Grab coffee and wood-fired pizza from the Bokkuraa Coffee Club beside our sparkling infinity pool, or unwind with a good book and enjoy views over the peaceful lagoon. You can indulge in a soothing Thai massage and other beauty treatments at our Kandooma Spa and book the Spa Suite's private garden with plunge pool for a romantic afternoon. Discover a Maldives hotel for family here, where you can learn to sail on a catamaran around the region's sandbanks and sip on alcohol-free cocktails on a sunset cruise. Diving and snorkelling among colourful reefs is just five minutes by boat from Holiday Inn Resort(R) Kandooma Maldives. As a child-friendly Maldives hotel, your children will be kept entertained with face-painting and fun games, while parents can unwind with a game of tennis or a workout at the gym. Top off a perfect day with a Maldivian seafood feast and breathtaking sunsets at The Kitchen restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Agoda, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Resort Kandooma Maldives reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Resort Kandooma Hotel South Male Atoll
Kandooma South Male Atoll
Kandooma Hotel South Male Atoll

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing