We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Inconsiderate cancellation policy”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Holiday Inn Resort Kandooma Maldives
Certificate of Excellence
San Bruno, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Inconsiderate cancellation policy”
Reviewed 17 June 2014

We were planning on spending our honeymoon at the Holiday Inn Resort Kandooma Maldives and had booked a package through Expedia. Unfortunately I found out I had to undergo major emergency surgery a month before our scheduled trip. Every vendor we informed was considerate and hospitable and helped us through this misfortune by offering to refund or reschedule - except Holiday Inn! Despite multiple calls to Holiday Inn from me as well as the Expedia staff, the hotel management was extremely indifferent and could not care less. Their sales personnel not only refused to help us refund or reschedule our stay but had the audacity to ask us to find new customers to take our place. I understand the strict no refund policy but this was a calamity not in my control and I am appalled at the complete lack of compassion and hospitality.
The Maldives is a beautiful and friendly country and I will spend my vacation in the Maldives after I recover but the inconsiderate cancellation policy will dissuade me from booking with Holiday Inn.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Neil G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Kandooma Maldives, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Dear Neil G,

Thank you for writing a review about your recent stay. We appreciate you choosing our hotel for such a special occasion. I am however, disappointed to read about the issues you had with regards to your reservation. I have sent you a private message in an effort to obtain additional information and be of further assistance. We hope to hear from you soon.

Kind Regards,

Tracy V.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,428 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    957
    362
    73
    24
    12
See reviews for
413
686
32
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (410)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Prompt speed boat,45 mins to the hotels,relaxing natural raw view here,entered the beach house,was a great room nice and tidy,white sands on beach.Food is not bad,start my vacation.I love the water sport team here,coz they are really passionate,I joined private tour with saeed and sameeh,they are really friendly and helpful staffs from water sport teaml,went snorkel ,fishing and catamaran,had a wonderful trip with lots of fun,can't barely leave here.Spent 10 days,will comeback cheers!

Room Tip: Insects r around the room ,gecko
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank momo g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joseph D, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Kandooma Maldives, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
Dear Momo G,

Thank you for review about us following your recent stay.

We are happy to read that you have enjoyed your romantic getway in our little paradise and our team members Saeed and Sameeh have done a great job to make your trip pleasant and memorable.

Looking forward for your next return soon to our little paradise!

Warmest regards,
Joseph Della Gatta
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Stayed here 4 nights in May 2014 as Platinum Club members so was upgraded from beach villa to beach house (#11). Beach house is bigger than the villa as its two storeys and has plenty of room to lounge around in the open downstairs area. Bedroom was comfortable size with the usual amenities. As others have mentioned, the resort provides oranges for guests to make fresh orange juice which we did try, however we found not much juice could be extracted from 6 little oranges for 2 people. Two complimentary glass bottles of purified drinking water is provided each day which is the resorts way of reducing use of plastic bottles. Bathroom/toilet area was relatively large with plenty of room for beach towels, drying wet clothes, storing clothes. No bath tub but there was a big shower area (could fit a few people comfortably at any one time) which was open-style so you can look up at the sky and see the coconut trees while showering. Overall, quite happy with the room except we had an ant problem (which we understand is expected on a resort) however was swiftly resolved when we spoke with front office complaining of this. There are signs of wear such as damaged floor boards, bathroom walls a little yellow and rusting around the beach house and balcony areas. We had a couples massage at the Spa and it was marvellous, so would recommend trying at least once during your stay. It's not the cheapest massage you will ever get, but also not the most expensive considering its an island resort. We didn't book a food/beverage package so we just paid as we ate. I think the packages are good value if you plan to consume a lot of alcoholic drinks. We tried all 3 restaurants during our stay and found The Kitchen to be the best, but that's also reflected in the price you pay (its the most dearest of the 3, ~$120USD pp). We tried both the buffet night and a-la carte menus and although food was nicely presented it was not extraordinary (except the desserts, they were delicious), and to be honest lacking some flavour on the dishes we had. But service was efficient and very friendly and ambiance is romantic (i.e minimal lighting so hard to read menus). Buffet breakfast was included in our room rate and that is held at the Kandooma Café which again was decent but minimal changes to the variety of dishes over our 4 day stay. We also tried the Indian Buffer Night Buffet at this restaurant for dinner one night, just okay (~$70USD pp). At the Bokkuraa Coffe Club, we had a chicken pad thai and nachos for lunch and the textures were right but again some lacking flavour. This place is a casual and cheaper eating option (~$35USD pp). The infinity pool area looks and is fantastic, water is a little on the warm side but still refreshing to cool down from the heat. There was a guy in white uniform whom was watching the pool so I'm assuming he must be the life guard on duty. The sports & recreational centre is near the pool area and here you can book tours, borrow snorkelling gear & life jackets and hire boats, catamarans etc. Oddly, they don't provide jetskis for hire like other resorts in the Maldives. A daily complimentary snorkelling trip is provided for guests which departs at 9:30am sharp, the meeting points is the recreation centre - unfortunately we didn't get a chance to join this trip so can't comment. The waters around the resorts are beautiful as you see in the pictures. Only suggestion to the resort is they regularly clean the debris (leaves, branches) from the waters so that its more enjoyable for guests to swim and snorkel. Our beach house backed onto West Beach which wasn't as nice (sand a little shelly) as the main beach but still a decent place to swim and snorkel and relax as it's not as busy. We did the Intro Dive at the EuroDive Centre and that was such an awesome experience that I recommend everyone give it a go!! Michiyo, my instructor, was very patient and calm and appears to be very experienced. The marine life under the Indian Ocean is spectacular, e.g I was inches away from a turtle feeding from the coral reefs, saw a family of manta rays, eels, nemos to name a few. You get a crash course and practice in the resort's lagoon and then you do a boat dive which is an hour long and go down to depths of up to 12m (~$185 pp). Service all around is excellent from the moment you arrive at the resort, everyone is relaxed, super friendly and very accommodating. Check out was easy and smooth. There is a mix crowd of guests - Australians, Americans, Europeans but predominately Asian. Only (small) cons are it takes 45mins by boat from the airport and there is a nearby inhabited island which 5 times a day announces prayers via a loudspeaker which is a little distracting but nothing to deter you from staying here. Room price is relatively good value for what we got so will definitely consider returning to Holiday Inn Kandooma next year (if we don't decide to try another resort). Thanks for a great stay!

Room Tip: Ask for a room closer to the restaurants so you don't have to make a long trek.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Klinsi18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joseph D, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Kandooma Maldives, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
Dear Klinsi18,

We would like to thank you for your valuable feedback and being our most loyal member of our IHG Rewards Club, the world's largest hotel loyalty program.

We are pleased to read that you have enjoyed your stay with us and our friendly services. It is great to know that you have a great diving experience and Michiyo will be excited to hear from you.

Thank you for highlighting some areas that we could improve on. Your valuable feedback is very crucial for us to understand our guests' needs which allow us to serve our guests better.

Once again, we thank you for the feedback and we are looking forward to welcoming you again in the near future.

Warmest regards,
Joseph Della Gatta
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuwait City, Kuwait
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014

it was the most amazing 4 nights in Kandooma holiday inn resort , we are a family of 3 adults and 4 kids ages 11-10-5-3 years old , everybody had a great time the big boys enjoy the water sports and the fishing trip and the most activity we enjoyed was the sunset cruise thanks to Ushan.... its a must and the whole family members enjoy it .....
first of all , i would like to thank mr/ Joseph della Gatta the general manager of the resort for his good hospitality with us. We had a issue with the airline (over charged luggages )and the general manger tried his best to solve it.
My little kids enjoyed playing with (Ebtisam) one of the staff at the kids club. The kids enjoyed the night activities like : the karaoke night, crab race, shark feeding, movie at the beach. The island is safe and clean. They have a kids menu. We've been to local island that was so close to our island. the local people were so polite, friendly, clean although they are poor. you can hear the athan (the muslim prayers call) 5 times a day. It is so peaceful it touched my heart.
Our concerns were about the weather because june is not the season, and all the comments at the website talk about rain and winds that time but thanks to god we were lucky that the weather and temperature were perfect and sunny. It rains only at 4 am just 5 mins.We took a garden house that was behind the little garden and the sea.
the only thing that we didn't like was the price of the transportation through the airport .... over priced compared to the other resorts .
we definitely will come back again :)

Room Tip: choose a house that is close to the cafe and the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank D_kuwait
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joseph D, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Kandooma Maldives, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
Dear D_kuwait,

Thank you for your wonderful review about us on Tripadvisor following your recent stay.

First of all, we are pleased to read that you and your family have a great time with our activities and excursions. It is our commitment to deliver the best service to our guests and it is our great pleasure to hear that you have enjoyed our hospitality and services.

The team and I are looking forward for your return soon!

Warmest regards,
Joseph Della Gatta
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
157 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014

3 years ago we stayed at Kandooma. We fell in love with the place and came back again last month. What really impressed me was that even 3 years later there were many of the same staff. The hotel is much the same but that being said it's exceptionally well maintained. There is plenty to do and the changing evening meal options from beach BBQ's to seafood nights are always an interesting option on an evening. My only gripe is that the Hamburger is now $33 ++ which makes it quite an expensive item. I do appreciate that everything has to be imported but it seems a tad much for a lunch option. They did have always the buffet for those on full board but I can't handle more than one buffet a day. That being said the pizza's are better value and quite good.

Room Tip: The dual level rooms (forgot what they are called) are brilliant especially with small children as t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aussie_trekker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joseph D, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Kandooma Maldives, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
Dear Aussie_trekker,

Thank you for your loyalty to our hotel and wonderful review about us on Tripadvisor.

It is our great pleasure to learn that you have both great stay experience with us. Thank you for highlighting the area that we could look into and your valuable feedback is an inspire for us to serve our guests better.

We are looking forward to welcoming you for your third visit soon.

Warmest regards,
Joseph Della Gatta
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tugun, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2014

We saved up for a year to have our first family holiday in a long time . it was for mine and my hubbys 40th bday . . This island resort was recommended by our travel agent "The Perfect Wave" and I am so glad Sylvia put us onto this place.

We stayed in a family villa - double storey - double frontage outside the Kandooma Right surf break and it was breathtaking . . we woke up every morning to the view of the rock pool and surf break, my hubby got a surf in every morning before breakfast and every afternoon. The villa was massive! You could easily have 2 families stay in this villa without getting in anyones way . . 2 bedrooms, 3 bathrooms, 1 inside living area, 1 outside living area, outside shower downstairs and the showers upstairs were open air showers so you could shower in the rain.

Shark feeding on the point on Tuesday nights was a bonus! We didn't even know that it was on until our most wonderful Café Head Waiter Shatir told us about it. This is a must - its a seafood dinner at the restaurant on the point where the sand meets your feet for dinner and all the crabs are free running all over the place . . our daughter spent the whole night feeding the 5 metre reef sharks and sting rays all night. Shatir gets 10/10 you are amazing and hopefully a friend for life now!

Cocktails on the deck bar are a must! 5pm - 6pm is the most magical time up there, the wait staff are amazing and know what you like to drink by the 2nd or 3rd time you turn up . . they also has little tappas available which is great for those nights you are just not into doing a full on dinner.

Lunch was either by the pool and served to you on the deck chairs or on the bean bags on the beach . . really amazing - they also serve you drinks all day long . . the pool is massive and had 6 different sections and levels so the kids had plenty of area to play without you having to worry about them

The kids club is amazing and the girls are just so lovely - they have so much fun with the kids and they will even watch them for you at night in your villa free of charge - almost everything for the kids are free!! Buffett breakfast was included and was such a massive variety of food and the cooks were so helpful - cooking eggs any which way you want, they knew my order off by heart which I loved.

The chefs were amazing and would cater to all of my kids weird and wonderful requests with a smile and happy to help in anyway they can.

"the perfect wave" Rob was amazing - he would greet you and chat to you anytime and help with any surf trip you were keen on. The water sports staff were also awesome, we done the free snorkel trip almost everyday and so many other wonderful boat cruises and dives - we loved it all. While snorkelling we saw, reef sharks, manta rays, star fish, turtles, lobsters and eels and not to mention so many wonderful fish and coral. The sunset cruise with the boom nets is so much fun . . you have to do it.

The spa . . highly recommended - hot rock massage followed by the steam room and salt bath . . such an amazing way to end your day. We done this twice and on the last day as our flight was a midnight flight after spending the day playing in the water all day we got to relax at the spa while the kids were at the kids club - perfect!

Last night - we got to enjoy "Spirit of the Maldives" which was the local island guys doing their traditional dance on the beach with a massive beach dinner - bon fire . . it was such a great way to end our stay.

The managers were all fantastic also - Siva was so helpful and one night actually had a repair done in our villa while we were at dinner (so within 30 minutes of us telling him about the problem he had it fixed) honestly that is what I call amazing service!

We miss all the staff and hope to return in a few years . . but hope more families take the opportunity to visit this amazing island and don't be afraid to take your kids - they will love it just as much as you if not more!

Room Tip: Family villa - double frontage - beach view - double storey - its worth it!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Carthy09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joseph D, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Kandooma Maldives, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
Dear Carthy09,

We would like to thank you for your wonderful review about us on Tripadvisor following your recent stay.

First of all, we are happy to learn that you and your family have a comfortable stay on our spacious Family Villa. It is our great pleasure to read that your family have such an amazing time in our little paradise with our activities and our food & beverage night events.

I will definitely share your valuable and encouraging feedback to the team especially Shatir, Rob and Siva who will be excited to hear from you.

Once again, we thank you for the review and we are looking forward to having you and your family back to our resort in the near future.

Warmest regards,
Joseph Della Gatta
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014

If there is one word to describe my experience here that would be WOW! The only turn off was the bad weather for the first 2 days but after that its all sunny. I love the water chalet. Everything is nice and good (except the price!). Was very confused & takes a while to make decision which hotel to stay in Maldives. But staying at Holiday Inn was all worth it. You can tell from the picture!.

Room Tip: Stay in the water villa we got the last room #71 not so quite as the view is facing another village...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DoryShariff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joseph D, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Kandooma Maldives, responded to this review, 20 April 2015
Dear Dory Shariff,

Thank you very much for reviewing us on TripAdvisor.
We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay in our resort. Thank you for sharing your pictures, we would be pleased to have you back at our resort soon again.

Best regards,

Joseph Della Gatta
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kandoomaafushi Island
24.4 mi away
Sheraton Maldives Full Moon Resort & Spa
Sheraton Maldives Full Moon Reso...
#1 of 1 in Furanafushi Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,672 reviews
8.0 mi away
Adaaran Club Rannalhi
Adaaran Club Rannalhi
#1 of 1 in Rannalhi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,383 reviews
4.0 mi away
Olhuveli Beach & Spa Maldives
Olhuveli Beach & Spa Maldives
#1 of 1 in Olhuveli Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,822 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.5 mi away
Kurumba Maldives
Kurumba Maldives
#1 of 1 in Vihamanafushi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,434 reviews
1.8 mi away
Biyadhoo Island Resort
Biyadhoo Island Resort
#1 of 1 in Biyaadhoo Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,439 reviews
7.7 mi away
Rihiveli by Castaway Hotels & Escapes
Rihiveli by Castaway Hotels & Es...
#1 of 1 in Mahaanaelhihuraa Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 844 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Resort Kandooma Maldives? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Resort Kandooma Maldives

Property: Holiday Inn Resort Kandooma Maldives
Address: Kandooma Fushi
Phone Number:
Region: Maldives > Kaafu Atoll > South Male Atoll > Kandoomaafushi Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kandoomaafushi Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Holiday Inn Resort Kandooma Maldives 4.5*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Find your tropical island paradise at the lagoon-facing Holiday Inn Resort (R) Kandooma Maldives. Let speedboats ferry you across the turquoise waters from Male International Airport to our contemporary Maldives holiday resort in just 40 minutes. Slip into island life from the moment you arrive at Holiday Inn Resort (R) Kandooma Maldives, with world-class diving and surfing facilities at your doorstep. Our beach villas ooze style and boast elegant touches like outdoor showers and iPod docking stations. Grab coffee and wood-fired pizza from the Bokkuraa Coffee Club beside our sparkling infinity pool, or unwind with a good book and enjoy views over the peaceful lagoon. You can indulge in a soothing Thai massage and other beauty treatments at our Kandooma Spa and book the Spa Suite's private garden with plunge pool for a romantic afternoon. Discover a Maldives hotel for family here, where you can learn to sail on a catamaran around the region's sandbanks and sip on alcohol-free cocktails on a sunset cruise. Diving and snorkelling among colourful reefs is just five minutes by boat from Holiday Inn Resort(R) Kandooma Maldives. As a child-friendly Maldives hotel, your children will be kept entertained with face-painting and fun games, while parents can unwind with a game of tennis or a workout at the gym. Top off a perfect day with a Maldivian seafood feast and breathtaking sunsets at The Kitchen restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Southall Travel, IHG, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Resort Kandooma Maldives reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Resort Kandooma Hotel South Male Atoll
Kandooma South Male Atoll
Kandooma Hotel South Male Atoll

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing