We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Impeccable resort”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Holiday Inn Resort Kandooma Maldives
Certificate of Excellence
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Impeccable resort”
Reviewed 4 July 2014

The staff at the Holiday Inn Kandooma are what made our stay so fantastic. From the GM who left us a handwritten card and champagne since we were there on our honeymoon, to Ali the housekeeper who went out of his way to find my wife a diffuser for her hair dryer, to Guan (sp?) who took us on a catamaran to a sandbar in the middle of the ocean everyone was fantastic.

The IHG managers reception was the best we've experienced as IHG rewards members. And everything about this hotel exceeds standards. We stayed in a garden villa (which is still beach facing) for most of our stay and in an over water villa for the last 2 days. The over water villa is a must if you are traveling to the Maldives.

Thank you to the staff for a great experience.

Room Tip: Ask the hotel to see a island map since there are big differences between rooms that are the same &q...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank apat49022
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joseph D, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Kandooma Maldives, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Dear Apat49022,

We would like to thank you for your wonderful review about us on Tripadvisor following your recent stay.

We are delighted to read that you have enjoyed your stay on our Overwater Villa. It is our great pleasure to read that our team has done a great job to make your stay pleasant and memorable. I will definitely share your encouraging feedback with the team.

The team and I are looking forward for your return soon.

Warmest regards,
Joseph Della Gatta
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,429 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    958
    362
    73
    24
    12
See reviews for
413
687
32
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (410)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2014

While it was beautiful, we were sad that water sports were for a fee. Wind surfing, kayak all to be paid excessive charges. Snorkeling gear is free though. Don't pay for inclusive alcohol at $71 per day per person, unless you wish to be written off every night & day. Drinks are OK $< you can get a beer $5 - $6 and cocktail for $10. Diet coke tiny bottle is also $6, weird. Rooms are nice, wifi free and great. You can't buy anything much there, even a snack. Meals inclusive was good but very limited lunches, 2 choices only. If you don;t get meals it is very costly.
My hubby went there to surf and we paid the surf guy Rob $150 for a USB with about 8 pics on it, they were good pics but .......
The staff were so lovely and helpful with everything, the place is awesome.
We would go again but maybe stay elsewhere to try. If you are going I am sure you will have a great time, just important to be aware of these things.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank KarenP255060
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joseph D, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Kandooma Maldives, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Dear KarenP255060,

Thank you for valuable feedback with us on Tripadvisor.

We are happy to read that you have a great time with us. We thank you for mentioning some areas that we certainly can look into and improve on. Your valuable feedback is important for us in our on going review as we are committed to deliver the best service to our guests.

Once again, we thank you for your feedback and we are looking forward for an opportunity to welcoming you again to our resort.

Warmest regards,
Joseph Della Gatta
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
45 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

I returned to the Holiday Inn this year, mainly for 3 reasons: 1) friendliness of the staff 2) proximity to Male (45 min by speedboat, ideal if you only stay for a couple of days) and 3) the right quality/price balance. And I made the right choice with no regrets.
This time I went end of May and it was a pleasure being greeted as a returning guest (and a lovely surprise even being recognized by some of the staff!) - again, what I love about this hotel is the friendliness of the staff, each member of the staff was smiling, very helpful (e.g. removing this HUGE cockroach at 3am in the morning, all with a smile !), friendly without overcrowding us, giving it a homely feel. The hotel has done some minor improvements/renovations like new beach chairs that are so much better than the plastic lounge ones from last year, they have added more sofa lounge corners around the island, so you can now watch the exploits of the surfers at the Surfer's corner under the shade with a nice cocktail. The lobster corner seems to have been removed (very good as I felt bad seeing those creatures locked up in a plastic see through box on the sand) and I heard the main restaurant will be renovated this summer. Opposed to last year I took a beach house near the surfers corner and it was a perfect location. The only few things I would add is that there is no cabinet in the bathroom to put your clothes away (only an open rack and open shelves so what to do with the underwear... ) and the shower is indeed outdoor, with an opening to the main bathroom... and an open invitation for cockroaches at night. Even though these little creatures are unavoidable in such a climate it is scary when you see them running around on the walls right above your clothes... So it would help to perhaps cover the shower with mosquito nets as well as the connection to the bathroom ? It would still keep the concept of open air showers. Apart form that, I really loved the beach house with the balcony, the white & blue marine furniture/decoration style and the ground floor lounge area. With regards to the sunset bar, I would encourage to add more lights as after sunset, it gets very dark and you barely see your surroundings, nor the ants crowding on the sofa's (yes they do bite). The main restaurant's buffet lunch is served outside, without the dishes being covered, so with the humidity and heat I think it would be good to at least cover them so to avoid the food getting spoilt and keep the flies away. The variety and quality of the food still is very good ! I love the daily theme for the dinner.
Transfers went very smooth upon arrival as well as upon departure (showers and towels are readily available if you leave late and cannot (or want not) do a late check-out. All in all another fabulous 4 days stay and hopefully returning next year :)

Room Tip: Rooms near the surfer's corner or on the East side of the island.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephanie V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joseph D, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Kandooma Maldives, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Dear Stephanie V,

Thank you for your loyalty to the hotel and taking time for sharing your stay experience with us on Tripadvisor.

First of all, we are very pleased to read that you had an amazing time with us and you liked some of the new changes that we did such as more comfy beach chairs and removed the hermit crab corner.

We also would like to thank you for highlighting some areas that we could improve on as your valuable feedback is important for us in our-going review and training programs which allow us to serve our guests better.

The team and I are looking forward to having you back on your next visit to the Maldives.

Warmest regards,
Joseph Della Gatta
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed 27 June 2014

My husband treated me and our youngest daughter to a fantastic surprise for my 50th. We had been to The Maldives 20 years ago and have always wanted to return. The service from beginning to end was exemplary-even if things didn't go as planned they were always resolved with no fuss and a great can do attitude. The kids club was a brilliant place and accommodated the needs of all guests-it was Easter while we were there and they even managed to have Easter Eggs. The facilities were brilliant as was the accommodation. The only down side for us was that there was no house reef-but again there was a free daily diving trip to a local reef for keen snorkelers/divers. A truly fabulous holiday-looking at when we can go again.

Room Tip: Really you are so close to the beach in any room any choice is good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elspeth D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joseph D, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Kandooma Maldives, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Dear Elspeth D,

Sunny greetings from Holiday Inn Resort Kandooma Maldives and thank you for your wonderful review about us on Tripadvisor.

We are very delighted to read that you had an amazing birthday celebration with your family in our little paradise. It is our great pleasure to hear that your daughter had a special Easter in the Maldives and good to know that our team has done a great job to make your stay pleasant and memorable.

Once again, thank you for your time and we are looking forward for your return soon to our lovely island.

Warmest regards,
Joseph Della Gatta
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
Reviewed 25 June 2014

We had a booking for a family of 9 pax, 4 nights stay, 3 rooms. I would like to express a warm thank you to Mr Bandula Ranasinghe for his impeccable hospitality during our vacation in Holiday Inn Kandooma. We encountered some hiccups during our stay but all were sorted out in a short matter of time and taken care of by Mr Bandula. He was prompt in attending to us and made the whole experience and stay at the resort a truly amazing and memorable one. All the other staffs were friendly and warm too, making the hotel guests feel comfortable during their stay. I would definitely recommend this as one of the top choices of resort stay in Maldives for those who are looking for a clean, beautiful, and relaxing accomodation where the hotel guests needs are well taken care of. Indeed, Mr Bandula has gone the extra mile in making our stay as comfortable and an enjoyable one.
Diana Yuen and Kader family
Singapore

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MellishD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joseph D, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Kandooma Maldives, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Dear Mellish D,

Thank you so much for your feedback on Tripadvisor following your recent stay.

It is our great pleasure to read that you and your family had an amazing time with us. I will definitely share your compliment with Bandula who will be thrilled to hear from you. Your feedback is an inspiration for us to serve our guests better.

The team and I are looking forward to welcoming you to our little paradise in the near future.

Warmest regards,
Joseph Della Gatta
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014

I had been there with my wife and my child (an infant of 1 year old), firstly would like to thank Mr. Tomas, Mr. Winston & Mr. Siva for great hospitality and great service. Before going with the review would like to share my experience of Maldives fortunately though June being a rainy season we did not experience any rains except for a few drizzles that only once during our stay of 5 days. The resort is a 45 min speed boat ride from Male and has villas, houses and over water houses, we were staying in the Beach House No. 3 which was very close to the reception and restaurants, the resort also has a great spa and a gym located very close to the spa, a swimming pool with various depths which can be used by babies, children and adults. Now let me share my experience

Welcome
Upon exit from Male Airport we were greeted by their representative who took us to their speed boat for a 45 min onward journey to the resort, we were given life jackets in the boat alongwith some mineral water, again since ours being the only flight arriving at that time we did not have to wait for shared transfer. The representatives were very helpful and shared details of the many islands enroute. Though the transfer charges were on the higher end of USD209 pp return transfer. On reaching the resort we were welcomed by Mr. Tomas who took us to the reception area and were first served welcome drinks and refreshing towels. He explained the various meal plans and activities to be held in the resort during our stay and then drove us in a buggy to our room he also drove us around the resort showing various reefs n places

Accomodation
We were staying in a Beach House No. 3 which consisted of a ground + 1 storey, the ground had a coffee table n chairs alongwith beach chairs and a couch for relaxing by the beach the floor was covered with beach sand. The room & bathroom was on the 1st storey, the room had everything that is required an ipod dock for entertainment, a television, an orange juicer (with 6 oranges complimentary every day), beach slippers, beach towels, an electronic safe, a mini fridge it also has a small balcony sitting area. I would definitely recommend a beach house for a comfort stay. On request we were also provided with a child cot for the infant.

Dining
The resort houses 3 main places for dining the first being the Kandooma Cafe which had a buffet breakfast, buffet lunch and buffet dinner. There are different cuisines on different days like we had the Indian Cuisine on a Thursday, a Barbeque Night on a Friday and so on. The second restaurant was Bokkurra Coffee Club located near the swimming pool with an a-la-carte menu having pizzas pastas sandwiches, seafood and more the average price was USD28 + Taxes, the BCC also has a drinks section, the third restaurant was The Kitchen which was located near the beach open only for dinner again. There was also an entry to the sunset deck which is located right above the kitchen where you can certainly enjoy the sunset overlooking the ocean with a few drinks and the resort certainly has a good variety of drinks to sip on.

Activities
The resort has some great activities spread out during the day like the turtle reef point snorkelling, dolphin cruise, island visits and a few more activities. The reosrt also provides complimentary beginners snorkelling lessons every morning where you are taught snorkelling in the swimming pool a must visit for first timers. We were also provided life jackets and snorkelling equipment free. Besides there are other activities for the surfers and water sports like kayaking windsurfing, etc. For the kids they can enjoy at the kids club where they can indulge in some drawing, face painting, playing in the sand, there are few swings to enjoy as well, the resort also provides baby sitting services.

All in all it was a pleasurable stay and would surely go back again and recommend to all its truly amazing resort with various reefs, special appreciation to the housekeeping staff for keeping the resort and rooms clean.

Room Tip: Would suggest a Beach House as it is spacious and very near the beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Savir B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joseph D, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Kandooma Maldives, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Dear Savir B,

Thank you so much for your wonderful review about us on Tripadvisor following your recent stay.

We are delighted to read that you had such an amazing time with us and enjoyed every aspect such as accommodation, dining, activity and service. I will definitely share your compliment with Tomas, Winston ,Siva and the team members who will be excited to hear from you.

Once again, we thank you for your time and we are looking forward to welcoming you back to our little paradise in the near future.

Warmest regards,
Joseph Della Gatta
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 24 June 2014

Well designed and maintained resort that gets all the basics right. This was our second trip and I was surprised to hear the same music CD on constant rotation day as was playing 4 years ago (cafe del mar 1999 volume 6). The staff stick to the formulae, but it all seems to lack a bit of soul. It could do with some fresh leadership.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nick C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joseph D, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Kandooma Maldives, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Dear Nick C,

Thank you for your valuable feedback regarding your stay with us on Tripadvisor.

We thank you for mentioning some areas that we certainly can look into and improve on. Your valuable feedback is important for us in our-going review as we are committed to deliver the best service to our guests.

The team and I are looking forward for an opportunity to serve you better on your next visit to the Maldives.

Warmest regards,
Joseph Della Gatta
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kandoomaafushi Island
24.4 mi away
Sheraton Maldives Full Moon Resort & Spa
Sheraton Maldives Full Moon Reso...
#1 of 1 in Furanafushi Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,676 reviews
8.0 mi away
Adaaran Club Rannalhi
Adaaran Club Rannalhi
#1 of 1 in Rannalhi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,386 reviews
4.0 mi away
Olhuveli Beach & Spa Maldives
Olhuveli Beach & Spa Maldives
#1 of 1 in Olhuveli Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,826 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.5 mi away
Kurumba Maldives
Kurumba Maldives
#1 of 1 in Vihamanafushi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,440 reviews
1.8 mi away
Biyadhoo Island Resort
Biyadhoo Island Resort
#1 of 1 in Biyaadhoo Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,442 reviews
7.7 mi away
Rihiveli by Castaway Hotels & Escapes
Rihiveli by Castaway Hotels & Es...
#1 of 1 in Mahaanaelhihuraa Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 848 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Resort Kandooma Maldives? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Resort Kandooma Maldives

Property: Holiday Inn Resort Kandooma Maldives
Address: Kandooma Fushi
Phone Number:
Region: Maldives > Kaafu Atoll > South Male Atoll > Kandoomaafushi Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kandoomaafushi Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Holiday Inn Resort Kandooma Maldives 4.5*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Find your tropical island paradise at the lagoon-facing Holiday Inn Resort (R) Kandooma Maldives. Let speedboats ferry you across the turquoise waters from Male International Airport to our contemporary Maldives holiday resort in just 40 minutes. Slip into island life from the moment you arrive at Holiday Inn Resort (R) Kandooma Maldives, with world-class diving and surfing facilities at your doorstep. Our beach villas ooze style and boast elegant touches like outdoor showers and iPod docking stations. Grab coffee and wood-fired pizza from the Bokkuraa Coffee Club beside our sparkling infinity pool, or unwind with a good book and enjoy views over the peaceful lagoon. You can indulge in a soothing Thai massage and other beauty treatments at our Kandooma Spa and book the Spa Suite's private garden with plunge pool for a romantic afternoon. Discover a Maldives hotel for family here, where you can learn to sail on a catamaran around the region's sandbanks and sip on alcohol-free cocktails on a sunset cruise. Diving and snorkelling among colourful reefs is just five minutes by boat from Holiday Inn Resort(R) Kandooma Maldives. As a child-friendly Maldives hotel, your children will be kept entertained with face-painting and fun games, while parents can unwind with a game of tennis or a workout at the gym. Top off a perfect day with a Maldivian seafood feast and breathtaking sunsets at The Kitchen restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ebookers, Southall Travel, Priceline, Booking.com, IHG, Travel Republic (UK), TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Resort Kandooma Maldives reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Resort Kandooma Hotel South Male Atoll
Kandooma South Male Atoll
Kandooma Hotel South Male Atoll

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing