We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great underwater experience” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fun Island Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Fun Island Resort
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great underwater experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2013

If you like underwater sports, place to go. The reef is rich with colourful underwater. Night snorkelling was fantastic. Visit to nearby island and dolphin spotting tour was fantastic. You can see the sunrise and sunset and wonderful destination for beach holiday. During the day best to stay indoors. (its very hot).
Vareity of food is good.
Need to be early for your food (breakfast, lunch & dinner) as lot of budget travellers swarm the food area.

Room Tip: Take the west facing rooms, wont be hit by sun too early.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DevRaji_Mumbai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

717 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    187
    331
    125
    40
    34
See reviews for
108
436
10
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Santana de Parnaiba, SP
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2013

We had a very bad experiene in at Fun Island. Nothing fun there and everything is really bad.
Hotel rooms are outdated and smells bad, at the point that me and my party of four decided to go elsewhere but not staying there. People are not friendly at all and they charged us 2 nights eventhough we didn't spend any nights there.
Restaurant is dirty and food also bad.
This island is boring and away from everything. Don't thrust the pictures you see in the web!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Fernando A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2013 via mobile

Look if you are going and planning for sea activies I think it's cost effective place however it is poor and boring place no t.v no Internet connection the restaurant is very poor in its food selection
The room furniture is poor and not clean the only good thing is the beach in the next island which the resort offer transport for free once everydqy at 10 and return back at 12
And the ppl are very friendly but not professional
If you are planning to spend your honeymoon or any vacation in maldives you have to choose 5 stars resorts or more

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Mohamed E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
banglore india
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2013

A quick advice would be to book an all inclusive plan for Fun island or for that matter whole of Maldives as drinks are expensive and u are not allowed to carry ur alcohol..Ours was a full board package though.We (me and my wife) just returned from a wonderful couple of days on the Embudu Resort.. The resort gave us a taste of the original Maldivian experience and coupled with the beautiful island, we really enjoyed ourselves. To reach the resort, a shared speedboat transfer is the best way as coupled with its speed it offers a nice ride nd sightseeing
We booked our honeymoon through a travel agent to reduce unnecessary hassles. The online travel agent of Maldivestourister.com were adept in their work and super cheap & gave us many options for Maldives.Spicejet flight was 20k per person & here was a superb honeymoon
The crew of the resort makes this place one of the good,if nt d best ,resorts in Maldives. They were friendly and cooperative and always chipped in with interesting facts about the place and Maldives in general. 20 administrative divisions excluding Male were clustered under seven provinces some years back and with each province comprising of two or more natural atolls there was a underlying sense of confusion.

The introduction of code-letter names in the atolls thereafter caused more puzzlement and misunderstandings amongst both the locals and tourists. Many people thought that the code-letter of the administrative atoll has replaced its geographical name and was its new name which was however not the case. The locals now refer to the book written by Maldivian expert Mr. Ibrahim Luthfee to clear misconceptions. All these created the image of a different holiday, something we liked.

Our Room was ideal and was always maintained neat. The private balcony opened into the Indian Ocean and always had the most comfortable sea breeze. Snorkeling in the beach area was a great experience as sharks, octopuses, turtles and different varieties of Cow Fishes throng the area and you are assured of a superb sighting of this amazing underwater aquamarine world. Evenings took place in the resort’s premises too.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank himachal04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai, Maharashtra, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2013

Everything from food to water sport...! Just amazing A great place to be with your better half or friends or family A must go place especially if you are adventure freak Had an amazing first time snorkelling experience with lots of sightings of which the best were an octopus and lots of juvenile white tip sharks.....one of the best resort for couple

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 143Amit2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangalore
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2013

We spent 2 nights in the hotel.The island is beautiful and the upkeep of the hotel is also good.One area of concern is the service levels at the hotel.The hotel runs on inexperienced people as all of them seem to be beginners in terms of professional behavior.My entire experience went into drains when at the airport assistance counter i was told that the hotel does not holds a reservation on my name even after my agent forwarding me the hotel confirmation for the room.I was left stranded at the airport for almost 2 hrs as they were not able to figure out my reservation.This kind of unprofessional behavior from a hotel of this repute is not expected..However the rooms in the hotel were good as all of them were beach facing with ample lounge area...Being a hotelier myself i do not expect these kind of services from the hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sandeep S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
solihull
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2013

Fun Island Resort – Male, Maldives

We spent 2 weeks here in September 2013.
Below we list the highs and lows as honestly as we can.

Highs
Island is beautiful, small and very private
Beach is beautiful and clean.
The rooms were clean and the cleaner did the usual animals with the towels, but he went that extra mile with hearts out of petals that was really intricate!
We found a little space on the windier side of the island where we could sunbathe in peace and quiet. The wind was lovely and cooling.
Water is crystal clear
Fish are beautiful – snorkelling is best around the end of the jetty.
We did the Dolphin Safari and were really pleased with the dolphins that we found
Food is very well cooked and nicely presented. There was a lot of variety, sometimes too much variety if that is possible.
Staff are very pleasant and friendly
We ordered food a couple of nights in the bar to have a change and this was lovely and good value for money

Lows
 Japanese took over the island when they landed. They were noisy and rude. A trip of ours was cancelled so that 25 of them could go out. We thought this was very unfair
 We went night fishing and the boat broke down – not a huge problem as we got towed back within an hour and half but was not a nice experience
 Food was quite repetitive, buffet style, but well cooked and presented.
 Souvenirs are quite expensive and a little limited.
 Wifi is slow and only available in the bar / reception areas.
 We tried to book the night snorkelling and were told it wasn’t worth it as the fish disappear as soon as you shine a light on them -–why advertise it then??

Overall we thoroughly enjoyed the holiday but would maybe look next time for somewhere that is more British – Friendly, this resort catered mainly for Russian, Italian and Japanese tourists.

Recommendations for this resort
 Cater more for a broader customer base, you have the space in the restaurant and bar
 Install wifi into the rooms
 Install a tv in each room – there is nothing to do when the weather is bad apart from sit in the reception / bar area
 Extend the Bar area into the outside seating area, this area is wasted and could be better utilised.
 Make the resort adults only, a lot of couples go to get away / on honeymoon, the last thing they want is screaming children in the restaurant or on the beach
 Put more drawers in the room, we ended up putting clothes on the top and the large drawers were very heavy to open and close without anything in them!
 Start the entertainment earlier – 9.30 is too late
 Offer a drinks package option, we found it very expensive and would have readily paid for a drinks option. More people would actually drink in the bar then too.
 Maybe look at removing some of the broken coral from the shoreline to enable people to paddle / wade out a little further

I don’t want to sound negative, we really enjoyed our relaxing holiday but it “could have been better” seeing as we were in Paradise !

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank wreeve99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bodufinolhu Island
7.5 mi away
Adaaran Club Rannalhi
Adaaran Club Rannalhi
#1 of 1 in Rannalhi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,333 reviews
3.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Kandooma Maldives
Holiday Inn Resort Kandooma Mald...
#1 of 1 in Kandoomaafushi Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,394 reviews
6.3 mi away
Fihalhohi Island Resort
Fihalhohi Island Resort
#1 of 1 in Fihalhohi Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Olhuveli Beach & Spa Maldives
Olhuveli Beach & Spa Maldives
#1 of 1 in Olhuveli Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,781 reviews
4.4 mi away
Biyadhoo Island Resort
Biyadhoo Island Resort
#1 of 1 in Biyaadhoo Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,391 reviews
4.5 mi away
Rihiveli by Castaway Hotels & Escapes
Rihiveli by Castaway Hotels & Es...
#1 of 1 in Mahaanaelhihuraa Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 824 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fun Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fun Island Resort

Property: Fun Island Resort
Address: 2002
Region: Maldives > Kaafu Atoll > South Male Atoll > Bodufinolhu Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bodufinolhu Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Fun Island Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK) and Hotels.com so you can book your Fun Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fun Island Hotel South Male Atoll

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing