We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Fun Island Resort
Nearby Hotels
US$999
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$245
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$1,759
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$1,057
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$49
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Internet
Raakani Villas(Guraidhoo)
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$150
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$138
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
COMO Cocoa Island(Cocoa Island)(Great Value!)
US$1,821
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$1,230
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Biyadhoo Island Resort(Biyaadhoo Island)
US$376
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$201
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Beachfront
Fihalhohi Island Resort(Fihalhohi Island)
US$196
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$175
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Beachfront
Kaani Grand Seaview(Maafushi Town)
US$99
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$330
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$257
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Beachfront
Reviews (877)
Filter reviews
877 results
Traveller rating
236
417
143
44
37
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
236
417
143
44
37
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswater sportsspeed boatfishscuba divingsteamed ricefree wifi is availabledolphin safarivegetarian foodnon vegjet skifull board packagewelcome drinkbreakfast lunch dinnertable tennismale airportlong jettytea coffee
Filter
Updating list...
176 - 181 of 877 reviews
Reviewed 23 December 2013

We were here for 4 days on full board basis. We arrived here from Colombo and were transferred to Island via speedboat which took us about 40 minutes. The speedboat travel was a real experience with fish jumping out from water and the black water birds flying at sea water level to catch them. The time for check in was unduely long and wait was painful because they kept on saying "half an hour to wait" and made us to wait for couple of hours to get a room. The beach is very good, the snorkling is mind blowing. The big fish visit (like Meta ray, large cliff shark and other fish near jetty in the night after 9 pm. One should not miss their visits. Plenty of small sting ray, baby sharks are visible very close to beach. It is very small island and each side of island has special things. It is possible to take a island round in 30-40 minutes. The food was very good. The stuff like water and liquor are very expensive. However as a country law it is not allowed to import any liquor in Maldives. I believe it is an offence and hence there is no option but to buy from Island's bar or from mini bar in the room. Overall very memorable time here.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Suhas56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2013

There is a boat-shuttle from the airport island that is included in most packages-- this is EXPENSIVE if not included, make sure this is part of your package.

The beach is kept immaculate, raked every morning. You can rent snorkeling gear daily for $25/person (mask, fins and snorkel), and it is well worth it. We saw sea turtles, octopuses, sea cucumbers, small sharks, stingrays, as well as millions of tropical fish. You can go swimming anywhere around the island, and there is really lovely snorkeling off of the main pier during the day.

There are also free trips across the tiny, but strong-current-ed channel between Fun Island and Robinson Island, where you can also get some private beach time and swimming. No food or drinks over there, but a nice 2 hour break from the "main" island resort.

At night, walk to the end of the pier to watch the feeding frenzy. The resort leaves a few spotlights on, which attract small fish, which in turn attract the reef sharks and larger fish for a midnight snack!

We had the included meal plan- 3 meals a day in the dining hall. No drinks included, but a full bar is available. Meals are ok, rather repetitive, so not a place for "foodies", but fine options for sustaining yourself if you're more into beach time, reading books, and swimming.

Very little high-tech entertainment. We did not have a TV in our room, and there is no computer area. We had our own computer, and used their free wifi. The wifi is only available in the common areas, however, so hard to use Skype to call friends.

You get 1/2 of a small bungalow, with attached full bath with hot and cold water, your own private, tiny porch, outdoor foot shower and lounge chairs. Free shampoo, fresh towels provided and changed regularly.

In summary:
good for real R&R-- must be ok with entertaining yourselves, reading, swimming, reading again...
no pool
great beach!
small, basic but suitable bar
kind, warm, friendly, helpful staff

Room Tip: Ask for room away from snorkeling center (more quiet side of island)
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank TreeKoala2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2013

We were here in Nov 13, we were a bit concerned about the travelling time but we flew from Glasgow and transferred at Dubai then on to Male. The process was seemless and the aircraft carrier was Emirates, first time with them and very impressed.

Arrival was quite seemless. You need to complete the usual arrival paperwork when you get to Male before you go through Passport control but this was easy enough and for this island there was a stand marked 16-18 where you met the transport transfer to the Island. First thing I noticed was there were no "bag boys", sales people etc. pestering you when you arrived. Trip to Island was also seemless but by then we were tired and we just wanted to get there. On arrival at the Island more paperwork, welcome wet towel and drink and then off to the rooms.

The rooms are comfortable and large, the Island is budget so nothing fancy but fully functional and blissfully NO TV. The showers had plenty of water and never a problem of hot water. Air conditioning, mini bar where the prices were very similar to the bar prices without the usual hike up. The hotel has safe deposit boxes in the reception area and they are free to use, only charge is if you lose your key. Outside the rooms you have a verander area with table and chairs and also two sunlounger mattresses with your room number. When you find your favourite slot on the Island put your matress down and leave it there, your spot guaranteed but the best spots are under or close to a coconut tree for some shade (no parasols). Rooms are serviced twice a day which was an unexpected boost, usually the morning and the evening. If you want clean beach towels leave them out in the evening and they will change them. We found the service very good indeed.

Hotel facilities, there is a gym, Spa, Water sports including Jet Ski's, table tennis table, games area and a snooker room, WiFi in the reception and bar areas which occassionally goes down. If you speak to the bar staff the router is in there and they reset it and away you go. Gift shop but the airport is cheaper. You can buy water from the bar but you do get two small bottles delivered to the room every day. The restaurant serves all meals and again being a budget priced hotel we thought the quality, quantity and service was very good with plenty of selections for us to find something everyday. The pleasure for us was that not one person tried to sell me anything during the whole trip. Excursions were available if you wanted them, pay services if you wanted them but never was I pestered by anyone and for that a big thanks. No money changes hands during the stay, you sign for everything and pay your bill at the end of the stay. If I could recommend one thing it would be that they gave you a copy for every transaction but I kept a mental tally and the final bill tallied with my estimate.

The bar was very under used by comparison to the restaurant, presumably as you had to pay! Whilst we were there the Carlsberg was "buy one get one free" for about $5 so probably cheaper than the UK but most drinks were approx $5 - 7 which included the mixers so a Rum and Coke would cost you approx $10 but if a coke lasts two to three drinks then every other drink was $5. The hotel try to put on some entertainment with local people putting on displays and a singer. Bar staff are great but to be honest all the staff we met were great, shame to miss others out but Asam and Junior are a couple of characters. The management are also very good and we met Majeet (apologies if mis-spelt) who is an absolute star.

The Island is beautiful and the snorkelling was the best I have ever done. Well worth a trip in the evening is a walk up the pier to see the fish and occassionally the Stingrays although the young ones come close to the shore during the day. Sand shoes required but they are probably the only shoes you will need. Dress is casual throughout your stay. The top end of the Island is a little disappointing with the piles of rubbish but even so there is enough of the Island to ignore this area.

Leaving the Island is as stressless as the rest of your stay. The night before you leave you go to Reception between and 9 - 10 PM and settle your bill. They put up details of your departure the day before you leave in Reception. If you are leaving early in the morning as we were they phone you with a wake up call, arrange a breakfast, collect your bags from your room while you have breakfast, you book out with reception and they escort you to the boat taxi and you are on your way. Similarly getting through the airport is easy with gifts and eateries available.

All considered, if you want busy, party, bustling and lively this is not for you but if you want quiet, relaxing, stressfree then I would reccommend this all day every day. We had a great time and much of that was down to the staff but the beauty of the Maldives should be on everyone's bucket list. We intend to return to this beautiful piece of the planet and if Fun Island was to come out as the best option for us I would have no hesitation in booking here again.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank AberdeenJerry_Tom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2013

Made our booking through BOOK MALDIVES RESORTS and everything went very smooth. After customs go to no.16 stand to arrange your transfer. I think it was called villa hotels. You will have 2 min walk to go to speed boats area.
45 min. speed boat ride takes you to island.
We booked for 7 nights full board for Deluxe Rooms. Food are ok mix with local and international.
Tea, coffea are included, water and rest you have to pay. We served by Ibrahim he as very nice and helpful. There is also bar area you can have different food and all kinds of drinks. There is a snooker table, table tennis and basic gym you can use. But we never used, no time left for that.
Island is beautiful especialy north side have best beach. South side in use for staff and diving center. About 300mt jetty has the best option for snorkelling. Jetty side of the island has very nice coral and reef you can spend all day. Everyday resort arranges free boat ride to robinson island which is very close to fun island but unhabited. North side of reobinson gives the best scene for photography, I suggest you to take at least one trip. Boat departs 10 am and return 12 for lunch.
I have 11 dives in 6 days. Island has very good diving center. Donot forget your underwater camera. If you have fins and mask you should defenitely bring with you or you can rent. Internet only in the bar and reception area, not at rooms, this is only down side for us.
This is the best 3 star what you get is what you pay resort. If you are ready to spend more there are many other options.
Overall we have a very nice time, very pleased.

Room Tip: Limited Deluxe Rooms are better (have LCDTV)
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Pasha_Kerem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2013

The resort is located on a very beautiful island with white sandy beaches and pristine waters. Around 45 minutes speed boat ride from airport. Not much corals to see. However, the rooms are outdated and average, though clean. The reception, lounge/bar, play area and restaurant area is old and not maintained. You can occasionally spot a lizard crawling on the restaurant ceiling.
The worst part is the staff. They are unwelcoming. The waiters/bell boys are untrained and rude to talk to. They lack the basic courtesy of wishing the guests. It seems that the hotel has brought a bunch of cheap labour from a remote island who don't know anything about 'hospitality'.
Another noticeable thing is the lack of coordination between room service and reception. We were told to pay for the hotel rooms the moment we checked in. It makes you feel awkward. This does not happen in high quality hotels. They claim that the reception might sometime forget to charge you when you check out!!! Its funny!!
We witnessed this while checking out. We cleared our bills and were about to board the boat back to airport. Suddenly, a security guy came running and told us that you have to clear another(minibar) bill!!! That was embarrassing!! All the other guest looked at us as if we were running away without paying our bills!!!
At the end, I would say that this is an average hotel with unfriendly/untrained staff which is running just because of its location....

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Meenal B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews