We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fantastic resort”
Review of Fun Island Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Fun Island Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“fantastic resort”
Reviewed 13 May 2014

spent a week on this island, its heaven on earth, just wish I could afford to go back, highly recommended for couples for a romantic getaway. the beach has pure white sand and I have never seen an ocean so deep blue in colour its amazing, we were treated like royalty, the service is outstanding, and the marine life is fantastic

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank zola50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

765 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    202
    356
    131
    41
    35
See reviews for
120
461
10
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2014

The hotel is the best 3* resort in Maldives. Amazing island, good food, good staff, great jetty and reef for snorkelling, good water sports rental and activities, good spacious rooms, amazing spa. Overall a great experience for budget travellers. Tip: Opt for full board meal option. I had travelled for my honeymoon in January 2013. Sorry for writing review so late.

Room Tip: opt for full board meal option
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MoizSaifee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pune, India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2014

The hotel is best for honeymooners. I would suggest to go for deluxe room as it is beach facing and with the private open air bathroom and bath tub. The staff is very well managed. They will not disturb you at all and will be friendly too. Carry extra $ with you for the daily excursion. We tried night fishing anf dolphin tour(8$/pp). both are worth the price. But could not do snorkling as it was not available on the days we stayed. Food is good anf full board is a good and cheap option. otherwise the ala-carte was expensive.

The water seems scary to swm as there are baby sharks which are not harmful but might look so.

Overall it is worth the price. Next time I would go for water bunglow which is not available with fun island.

Room Tip: Rooms 304 and 305 are centrally located to the island and are best options.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kanchan m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weinheim, Germany
Level Contributor
56 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2014

As someone who has lived in the Maldives for more than four years, I think this is one of the least luxurious yet nicest resorts from the Villa Group. This resort is ideal for those who want to visit the Maldives to do snorkeling and diving. The price is reasonable, the atmosphere is peaceful, it has a nice SPA and the reef is well preserved. Compared to other three star resorts, the rooms aren´t smelly and are clean but don´t have a TV. The staff could be more efficient but they´re polite and helpful. One more advantage of this resort is that the transfer from the airport to Fun Island doesn´t take long, yet Male´ and Thilafushi (the garbage island) are far enough not to be seen. I´d say that visiting this resort for a weekend trip was a very pleasant experience.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Odon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincolnshire UK
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2014

This was one of the best holidays yet. We stayed for two weeks. The staff were most friendly, the room was perfect and the food just out of this world.
Lots of entertainment, we were never bored.
We are definitely going back soon.

Room Tip: You just have to go
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank simmonette r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2014

Wonderful beach with blue waters and white sand. A host of good water activities. Situated on a small island about 700m wide, you pretty much have the whole island for yourself. You can spend hours on the beaches with no one to disturb you.
The property on a whole is however pretty ordinary. The rooms are very basic, mostly 2-star types. The beach front rooms aren't really in front of the beach and there are too many trees and plants in between for you to even get a decent view of the beach itself. But its clean and it was done daily. Except for the front desk area and the restaurant, rest of the property is very ordinarily designed.
Food was great with quite a good spread, with lot of options for vegetarians as well.
Staff were helpful and courteous. Except for the restaurant guys. Expect the Europeans to get a first preference and a quicker and a more smiling service. Not trying to sound racist here, but that's what we saw over our 4 days here. Not to say we got a bad service but you get the drift.
The staff conducting the water activities are very professional and well trained. Absolutely no complaints there and scuba-diving and snorkelling are a must-do and totally worth it with plenty of fishes and corals all around you.

Some of the other oddities:
You need to shell out for drinking water ~4 USD for a 2 ltr bottle and you will need lots of water.
The 2 ltr of complimentary water given everyday is not given on the day you are checking out. Weird, considering we have the half a day still left and more importantly haven't we paid for it?
A 10% service charge and a 8% service tax is on each and every service you avail, be it any of the water activity or just about anything.
Watch out for the airport transfer charges unless its included in your package.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Siddharth R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calangute, India
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2014

Went there in February 2014 on our honeymoon.

Rooms:
Spacious, clean and secluded.

Food:
Huge variety of delicious meals to choose from the buffet. Mixture of Continental and Indian cuisine.

Resort:
Beautiful resort right. Location perfect for snorkelling. Also have daily sightseeing excursions one can sign up for.

Service:
Staff extremely friendly and helpful

Room Tip: Choose a room away from the cafeteria and the main lobby area
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CasD6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bodufinolhu Island
7.5 mi away
Adaaran Club Rannalhi
Adaaran Club Rannalhi
#1 of 1 in Rannalhi
1,397 reviews
3.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Kandooma Maldives
Holiday Inn Resort Kandooma Mald...
#1 of 1 in Kandoomaafushi Island
1,445 reviews
16.0 mi away
Embudu Village
Embudu Village
#1 of 1 in Embudu
769 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Olhuveli Beach & Spa Maldives
Olhuveli Beach & Spa Maldives
#1 of 1 in Olhuveli Island
1,840 reviews
6.3 mi away
Fihalhohi Island Resort
Fihalhohi Island Resort
#1 of 1 in Fihalhohi Island
1,179 reviews
4.5 mi away
Biyadhoo Island Resort
Biyadhoo Island Resort
#1 of 1 in Biyaadhoo Island
1,449 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fun Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fun Island Resort

Property: Fun Island Resort
Address: Bodu Finolhu, 2002
Region: Maldives > Kaafu Atoll > South Male Atoll > Bodufinolhu Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bodufinolhu Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Fun Island Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK) and HotelQuickly so you can book your Fun Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fun Island Hotel South Male Atoll

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing