We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Paradise”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Rihiveli by Castaway Hotels & Escapes
Certificate of Excellence
Dubai
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Paradise”
Reviewed 17 October 2013

I had a fantastic holiday at Rihiveli Beach Resort in Oct-13. The entire resort atmosphere gives you a pleasant experience if you are going with your family or friends.
The individual bunglows gives you the feeling of being in home .
If you really want to truly relax and need peace of mind, this is the right place for you.
The island beach and water quality is much more tranquil than the other islands.
The water sports and the resort staff are fantastic. The spa and the spa staff from Indonesia will really give you a superb massage.
If you are visiting Male , its worth visiting Rihiveli ....its really great .. TD

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dharma R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bruce B, General Manager at Rihiveli by Castaway Hotels & Escapes, responded to this review, 28 October 2013
Dear Dharma R, thank you for your kind comment. That is true, Rihiveli is a paradise. With our “back-to-basics” concept, you can experience relaxing and peaceful holidays. This place and its atmosphere is unique. Hope to see you again soon. Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

848 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    688
    119
    30
    2
    9
See reviews for
170
489
47
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 October 2013 via mobile

A very peacefull and beautiful place. Cozy and comfortable rooms. Nearby picnic islands are really cool. Amazing beach. We really enjoyed and loved the stay. Warm and welcoming staffs. Will love to go back again. If u are looking for a simple and natural resort then this is it.

Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Shiu A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bruce B, General Manager at Rihiveli by Castaway Hotels & Escapes, responded to this review, 28 October 2013
Thank you Shiu A. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay at Rihiveli. Our paradise is waiting for you. Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2013

I stayed with my boyfriend for ten days at Rihiveli Beach Resort in September 2013.
It gave us both the peaceful break that we desperately needed away from the stresses of working life! The room was beautiful and I particularly loved the outdoor shower. Our room boy was extremely friendly and always happy to help. The only down side to the room was no air conditioning, it was perfect when there was a breeze coming in but most nights there was NO breeze and the room got quite hot and stuffy making it difficult to sleep. The food was served as a buffet most nights which suited me really well as I could pick what I wanted and how much I wanted. The other nights it was a three or four course set meal which I wasn't so keen on but that is just my personal taste. I would like to say a special thank you to Chaya for making our holiday happen! Christophe for being so welcoming and friendly! We don't speak French but Christophe explained everything very well and was always lovely! An extra special thank you to all the bar staff especially Susantha! Such happy, friendly men, We miss you all very much and thank you all for making our stay at Rihiveli so special. I would advise all guests to try the French ball game ( I have forgotten its name!) it is great fun and a fantastic way to get to know other guests.
Overall we had a fantastic stay at Rihiveli ( even if Juliet did take a strong dislike to my boyfriend and chased him round the island one night... An imagine that will stay with me for the rest of my life hahaha) we were so sad to leave and will definitely be back soon!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LaurenDaisy91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bruce B, General Manager at Rihiveli by Castaway Hotels & Escapes, responded to this review, 29 October 2013
Thank you LaurenDaisy91. We are happy that you had great holidays with us. The French game with balls is ‘petanque’ and it takes place during our French night. Every night has a different theme. Please come again soon. Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
42 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2013

Very friendly staff, good service, simple and comfortable resort. The nearby sister islands are a wonderful experience to walk or kayak to for lunch or exercise, or when simply seeking alone time. Fun activities and social hours. Food is fresh and delicious and bartenders know how to pour. Ladies at the spa are great. The level of organization is impressive, this is a well run place. Money well spent.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Luv2SeeThings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bruce B, General Manager at Rihiveli by Castaway Hotels & Escapes, responded to this review, 28 October 2013
Dear Luv2SeeThings, thank you for sharing your experience. We are pleased that you liked your stay at Rihiveli. Our hotel is very different from other islands. We try to keep it simple, quiet, natural and friendly. Your sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2013

this resort is amazing place to relax and get energy. we stayed at this hotel for one day as a part of our travel plan through Maldives islands. we loved this resort and planing to come back again, the walk distance between the hotel and the small islands around it is amazing and great experience.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mohamed A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bruce B, General Manager at Rihiveli by Castaway Hotels & Escapes, responded to this review, 28 October 2013
Dear Mohamed, thank you for your comment. Rihiveli is a great place to relax. It is good also to visit the two small islands by walk or by canoe. Here you can forget all your problems. Hope to see you again soon. Sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2013

We did return an island in Maldives!

The moment we stepped out speedboat, the long long jetty leads us back to our dreaming island compose of Rihiveli, Sunrise and Birds.

Our bungalow changed to "Argonaute" with a perfect view of sunrise between Sunrise and Birds in the morning. It's right beside "Aragosta" we stayed last year. These two bungalows are located at sunrise side, with short beach due to wave erosion. Resort is trying its best to keep the beach. The sunsire side is peaceful with breeze all day. Though laundry is free, we still need to hang up some clothes, eg. swimwear. And we found it really takes time to get dry clothes at sunrise side within one day. Hopefully, resort can provide clothesline in future.

We observed a big pavilion on Sunrise was replaced by serval small pavilions, so people can enjoy fish BBQ in groups during lunch time. The shape of sandbank beside Sunrise changed a bit by nature - what a magic sand bank! We also found bioluminescence at both sunset and sunrise beaches of Rihiveli in the evening. We couldn't get our breath back when we saw the wave pushes mysterious blue blinking sands to the beach.

Staff we met changed a bit comparing to 2012, but still warm and kind all the time. Native staff keep high quality services at restaurant, bar, room service and etc. We attended the management cocktail at sunset and met their GM - Bruce Bowan, who we missed last year as the day we left was the day of his arrival :P

After one day's waiting, we got a perfect jetty photo with sunset. And then we enjoyed a tasty dinner on the beach - the restaurant keeps its high level. Cuisine here is always a big surprise. By the way, lisen carefully for sound of conch shell trumpet as it's the way to announce lunch/dinner opening.

People gather at Bar after dinner, we met Frenchman, British and Thai here. Our last night here was the Chinese Moon Festival. We try to explain people why the full moon this day is different. Then we made a good photo of Sunrise and Birds under the full moon. Actually, the most interesting thing is shark feeding after dinner. Manta rays are also wandering around sharks. We also made a funny photo of a big chameleon in restaurant. What an amazing place!

There're rare corals nearby, so we almost attended snorkelling trip everyday. There're 5 or more diving spots around Rihiveli, where we could see fabulous coral, fish, turtle and so on. It's recommended to attend the snorkelling adventure as you will be travelling to at least 3 spots for Dolphin, Manta and Turtle within one trip. A pity of getting no fish in a hand line fishing trip.

We also had an adventure beside Sunrise Island. There's a oceanic trench with lots of coral and fish. We even met huge eagle ray. But we couldn't identify if they're manta ray and made unclear photos. Try to figure it out next time!

We stayed 5 nights at Rihiveli this time (Sep. 15~20). But we expect more days to leave one day totally relaxing, only enjoy time lapse. Too much fun here, giggles...

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ashiner R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bruce B, General Manager at Rihiveli by Castaway Hotels & Escapes, responded to this review, 29 October 2013
Thank you Ashiner for your beautiful comment. What else to say? Rihiveli is not a dream, it is reality. See you soon. Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 September 2013

Our experience in this resort was extremely great. Location is just perfect and this is what we expected for our honeymoon. We were treated well and the staff were very friendly and kind. Food in different varieties and taste. Very delicious. I would recommend this resort for people who are on honeymoon especially.

Room Tip: Rooms are on the sea and it is just fine
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank christine729
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bruce B, General Manager at Rihiveli by Castaway Hotels & Escapes, responded to this review, 27 September 2013
Dear christine729, thank you sharing your experience at Rihiveli. We are happy that you liked your stay with us. Rihiveli is the perfect place for honeymoon. Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mahaanaelhihuraa Island
7.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Kandooma Maldives
Holiday Inn Resort Kandooma Mald...
#1 of 1 in Kandoomaafushi Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,429 reviews
7.3 mi away
Adaaran Club Rannalhi
Adaaran Club Rannalhi
#1 of 1 in Rannalhi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,387 reviews
3.9 mi away
Olhuveli Beach & Spa Maldives
Olhuveli Beach & Spa Maldives
#1 of 1 in Olhuveli Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,826 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Fihalhohi Island Resort
Fihalhohi Island Resort
#1 of 1 in Fihalhohi Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,176 reviews
21.4 mi away
Velassaru Maldives
Velassaru Maldives
#1 of 1 in Velassaru Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,588 reviews
8.3 mi away
Biyadhoo Island Resort
Biyadhoo Island Resort
#1 of 1 in Biyaadhoo Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,442 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rihiveli by Castaway Hotels & Escapes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rihiveli by Castaway Hotels & Escapes

Property: Rihiveli by Castaway Hotels & Escapes
Address: South Male Atoll
Region: Maldives > Kaafu Atoll > South Male Atoll > Mahaanaelhihuraa Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Mahaanaelhihuraa Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Rihiveli by Castaway Hotels & Escapes 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rihiveli by Castaway Hotels & Escapes boasts sea-facing bungalows, each with their own private terrace overlooking the Indian Ocean. Located in South Male Atoll, the resort has its own spa and restaurant which offers buffet meals and open-air dining. 400 metres from Sunrise Island and Bird Island, the resort is accessible from Male International Airport via a 1-hour speedboat ride. The fan-cooled bungalows open out to a private terrace and feature wooden flooring. A private garden with hammock or deck chairs leads to the lagoon water. Outdoor showers are available in the Deluxe Bungalows, complimenting the separate indoor bathroom. Guests can enjoy a variety of water sports including sailing, water-skiing and night snorkelling during their stay at Rihiveli by Castaway Hotels & Escapes. Other recreation facilities include volleyball, tennis and billiards. Each day the resort's talented chefs prepare a different cuisine which can include French, Italian, Maldivian and Asian. Dinner is either a buffet or set menu depending on the daily theme, 3 times during the week dinner is set up on the beach to enjoy the beautiful starry nights. An extensive wine list is also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Southall Travel, Agoda, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Rihiveli by Castaway Hotels & Escapes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rihiveli Beach Hotel South Male Atoll

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing