We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely island for couples” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Palm Beach Resort & Spa Maldives

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Palm Beach Resort & Spa Maldives
Certificate of Excellence
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Lovely island for couples”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2014

We (two adults, 15yr old son and 11yr old daughter) stayed here in April 2014, I'll give pros and cons

Pros
Food is good quality (especially ceviche which is my favourite) and plenty of it, served as multiple stations of pastas, salads, hot and cold meat dishes, pudding station
Villa, garden villa which was spacious with lovely outdoor shower
Bikes all around the island, enjoyed this as you mainly cycle in the shade
Tennis, football matches (my son loved this), ping pong, pool, all we'll maintained and the pool guys always bring you towels immediately, pool table, football tables
Beach is immaculate
Staff were friendly and all made an effort to greet you every day, I couldn't fault them.

Cons
Due to the length of the island and the general heat you hardly saw anyone in the day (this made it dull for the kids as they like to meet people their own age)
The island is about 95percent Italian (nothing against that but there was a language barrier which again made it a little difficult for the kids to make friends)
Food was good but did get repetitive so I would recommend a week on the island and then a week somewhere else
The island is cleared of Mosquitos regularly and I was concerned about the safety of what was being sprayed
Need more DVDs and games stocked
Breakfast was not great as it's mainly pastries which makes it hard if you're not keen on that kind of thing

As a summary it was a well run place with great staff. I would recommend it to couples who want to scuba dive, snorkel and relax, not so much for families.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank 300Rach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,011 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    718
    212
    57
    18
    6
See reviews for
256
574
14
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2014

I consider this hotel as an excellent value.
The island:
- The island is big enough not to feel claustrophobic or bored, with lush vegetation and fauna (entertaining flying foxes among it!).
- The sea is baby blue and very clean with house reef offering good variety of life among corals.
- The island has a feel of rustic luxury, facilities are nicely made.

The rooms:
- Stayed at Junior Suite Sunrise Side. Rooms are large, nice beds, very good outdoor bathrooms.
- Lighting in the bungalow is too dull, should be brighter.
- Excellent terrace with outdoor shower and traditional swing.

Service:
- Service is Ok, however there is room for improvement. Cleaning was not done well couple of times, mini bar was not replenished. Nothing serious though, it didn't make the holiday any worse.

Food and atmosphere:
- Excellent food, a lot of Italian dishes. This is an Italian-owned hotel, so delicious food was expected. May be not so large choice during breakfast, but lunches and dinners are very good!
- A mix of local and Italian personnel makes a great atmosphere with Italian twist. Loved Italians there: positive, cheerful, energetic! And the language as well.
- Guests were mostly Italians, Russians and Germans: only pleasant encounters, good and pleasant behavior of guests that made my holiday even better.

Can recommend this hotel highly. Not a splurge luxury, but very solid quality and excellent value for money.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with OIT Hotels

Helpful?
4 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2014

About a quarter of the cost of other Maldives resorts we were looking at. Beautiful white sand and perfect swimming. The suites are comfortable and private. There is nothing to do but unwind and absorb the beauty of the natural elements. The view of the beach from our room is a memory I will never forget. The package included all meals and the food was a fusion of Italian and Madivian. The evening grill is a must. The resort attracts easy going people…the whole island has a mood of understated relaxation. One of the best vacations we have had and inclined to return. Booked directly with Hilary at the Resort – very good service indeed.

Room Tip: Sunset side is the way to go
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Matt W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
palmbeachgmd, Manager at Palm Beach Resort & Spa Maldives, responded to this review, 16 April 2014
Dear Mr. Matt W,

thank you very much for your positive feedback!
We are glad, that you have enjoyed your stay with us and that you appreciated the overall feeling of relaxation of our Island! We hope to welcome you back again in the near future.

Best regards

Palm Beach Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2014

an excellent hotel. It's beautiful and spacious rooms, food , service and staff. we rested in January 2014 . Have booked through "Guna travel", the German Agency. I want to thank Athanasia for the excellent work for our holiday . Elena

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Elena R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2014

It was our second trip to Maldives, we were looking for tropical paradise, nice private accommodation, friendly service, reasonable price and opportunities for different activities.
We met this combination in Palm Beach Resort.

We lived in Villa on the sunrise side near the restaurant. The Villa was huge and well-designed, we enjoyed our stay so much! The beach near our villa was not suitable for swimming, so we used the main beach, which was awesome! Walking to the main beach was pleasant for us; it usually takes about 15 minutes.

In the island there were a lot of free opportunities for sport: volleyball, tennis, badminton, windsurfing, snorkeling, excursion, soccer and so on. Besides, there were different evening parties, sport competitions and little shows.
It is necessary to say, that it was also possible to relax and enjoy privacy on the beautiful island.

The food was available all day long, too many opportunities for eating!

The weather during our trip was perfect: from 1st of October till 8th of October it was warm 28-34 ºC sunny weather except one half rainy day.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
6 Thank Dina333555777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Constanta, Romania
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2014

We traveled during Christmas holiday with together with our children 12 and 6 and another family with children. It was our first trip to Maldives and the resort met all expectations. The island was big enough, with a lot of facilities for spending quality time. We rented bikes, it was difficult to walk by foot from one end of the island to another (almost 2 km). The rooms were good, not very luxurious, the furniture needs some improvements. We rented a beach villa with two bedrooms, one at ground floor and the other one upstairs. The food was very good, with a lot of choices for lunch and dinner. The breakfast was too much Italian, with a lot of pastry, we would prefer more fresh fruits, yogurt and muesli. Any case, for lunch and dinner we had much more choices, with pasta bar (there were at least 5 different types of pasta), fresh fish, a lot of salads and plenty of good quality desserts.
Almost all staff was Italian, very friendly.
A plus for the the diving center, the team was just great. Friendly guys and very professional.
The kids activities were well organized, all the time there were two ladies conducting all kind of activities for kids. The kids just loved to dance and play around.
The Christmas party was great, Santa was coming from the sea by Catamaran and give presents to all children....
A minus was the internet service. The wi-fi was quite pricey, 10 USD/hours, but the real problem was that it was not working properly. The signal was bad, you have to stand in the reception to check your e-mails.
Overall, it was a great holiday, we will definitely come back to Maldives!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bianca B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
52 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 180 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 December 2013

GOOD:
· The bungalow was clean, spacious, with outdoor hot shower/bathtub, amenities, refrigerator, AC, fan, no mosquito-screens, TV(~15 channels).
· New and old Bicycles free for the entire stay.
· Sports: 1Foot, -1Beachvolley, 1Basketball, 1Squash, 1TT, 2Tennis, 1Badminton, Bocchia, daily twice free snorkelling trips(mantas, turtles, sharks visible), except Sunday.
· Mainrestaurant for lunch / dinner: plentiful buffet , good taste.
· Coffeeshop for breakfast / teatime: buffet, but too sweet meals.
· You keep the table in the Mainrestaurant for the entire stay.
· Almost nice staff, specially the maledivians. Some incompetent, stressful or childish.
· Free doctor.
· Good transfer organisation MLE/Resort/MLE. Arrival lounge for everybody.
· Long beach.
· You can stay shoe-free. All ways are sandy.

NEUTRAL:
· Slow wifi at reception costs USD 5,40/30min.
· SIM-cards for USD 8,- incl. 5min. upload USD 10,- 25min.
· electric cars for transfer.
· Cleaning is every day twice. We didn’t insist in that, to give the roomboys some leisure time.
· They spray against bugs and do maintenance.
· Drinking water during the day at extra costs. Coffee/tea in the bungalow at extra costs.
· Sunset-side has deeper water and the mainport for ships. Every Friday comes supply.
· Sea-level can be rather high.
· 50% Italians, 40% Russians.

BAD:
· Smoking in the restaurants, as families with loud kids. No quiet zones for relaxed eating, but easy to realise! There are 3 sections in the mainrestaurant.
· Sport equipment rather used. Only one racket useable for Badminton. Same for TT. 3 single and double canoes. 3 surfboards.
· The beach is cleaned daily, though some waste/plastic from the incoming sea. The corals are almost dead. Some fish in the lagoon.
· The starting planes can be heard very well. of course: no plane, no holiday. The only good thing is, there are not plenty. Mainport is at sunrise-side.

CONCLUSIONS:
· In total, a good place for staying. Coming back? MALEDIVES: YES; PALM BEACH: YES to maybe.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
12 Thank coralkong502
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Madhiriguraidhoo Island
21.8 mi away
Cheval Blanc Randheli
Cheval Blanc Randheli
#1 of 1 in Randheli Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 155 reviews
8.7 mi away
Kuredu Island Resort & Spa
9.7 mi away
Komandoo Maldives Island Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.5 mi away
Cocoon Maldives
Cocoon Maldives
#1 of 1 in Ookolhufinolhu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 123 reviews
16.9 mi away
Atmosphere Kanifushi Maldives
Atmosphere Kanifushi Maldives
#1 of 1 in Kanifushi Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 977 reviews
9.1 mi away
Hurawalhi Island Resort
Hurawalhi Island Resort
#1 of 1 in Hurawalhi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palm Beach Resort & Spa Maldives? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palm Beach Resort & Spa Maldives

Property: Palm Beach Resort & Spa Maldives
Address: Madhiriguaraidhoo, 20700
Region: Maldives > Lhaviyani Atoll > Madhiriguraidhoo Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Madhiriguraidhoo Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Palm Beach Resort & Spa Maldives 4.5*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Palm Beach Resort is one of the most beautiful island resorts in the Maldives. The island is surrounded by a 3-mile white sandy beach protected by a magnificent lagoon and coral reefs. The island has all the modern facilities including health & recreation, water sports and a 5 star PAD I standard diving centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Agoda, Expedia, Fastbooking, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Hotelopia and TravelUp so you can book your Palm Beach Resort & Spa Maldives reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palm Beach Hotel Lhaviyani Atoll
Palm Beach Lhaviyani Atoll

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing