We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Malangen Resort
Nearby Hotels
Sydspissen Hotel(Troms)(Great Value!)
US$121
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bardufoss Hotell(Bardufoss)
US$176
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Enter Viking Hotel(Tromso)(Great Value!)
US$171
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$111
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
US$159
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$139
Clarion Hotels
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Comfort Hotel Xpress Tromso(Tromso)(Great Value!)
US$118
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$108
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Scandic Grand Tromso(Tromso)(Great Value!)
US$148
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$117
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Enter City Hotel(Tromso)(Great Value!)
US$117
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
US$123
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$160
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$216
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$160
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (284)
Filter reviews
284 results
Traveller rating
144
87
36
11
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
144
87
36
11
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsnorthern lightsmain buildingdog sleddingcamp nikkadouble bedfishgreat funself cateringfantastic viewsbeautiful locationhalf boardopen firepancakeslast nighthotel roomnorthern norwaycamp fire
Filter
Updating list...
176 - 181 of 284 reviews
Reviewed 25 February 2014

We stayed three nights in a luxury fisherman's cottage. It was a fabulous place to stay, right on the water, with wonderful views. We spent quite a lot of time in the cabin, just because it was a lovely place to be, really comfortable and cosy. We were lucky enough to have an all-night display of the northern lights one night when we were there and they were easily visible from the comfort of our cabin, as there is little light pollution here - a great bonus! This was an unforgettable experience and the photos are amazing. The cabin was really comfortable, but seemed lacking anything in the way of instructions (e.g. for the heating, sauna, lights, etc). This is definitely more of a self-catering rental than a hotel, but it's lacking some of the basics: there was no salt in the dishwasher and the hotel couldn't provide any for us, so we couldn't use the dishwasher. There is no room service included in the rather pricey rate; furthermore the scant information provided in the cabin said we were we were expected to clean the place on leaving, but there were no cleaning materials to do this other than a brush and vacuum cleaner. Luckily, we'd brought food from Tromso, as there does not appear to be anywhere nearby to buy food and the hotel restaurant only serves breakfast and pretty limited dinner (and last orders are at 7.30). The staff were quite friendly, but didn't seem to have any knowledge of the local area. When we asked about walks we were told there was 'only one' - up to the lake at the top of the road. Overall, we loved the isolation here, but there are a few drawbacks that could be ironed out to make this place even better.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BBBritannia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rudi O, Daglig leder at Malangen Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 23 March 2014

Thank you so much for your review regarding your experience at our resort. I am glad to let you know that we have all ready improved on your issues, so now cleaning of all cabins and Rorbus is done by our housekeeping. We will also update all receptionstaff to all the activities and services provided here at our resort. I am also very happy that your trip was good although we did not delivered up to standard in service. Hope to see you back here sometime, so we can make it up to you.

Best regards

Rudi Olsen
General Manager
Rudi Olsen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2014

We stayed in a 2 bedroom apartment ( no 9) overlooking the fjord - family of four, with two young children. We stayed for 5 nights at the apartment and one night in Tromso at the Quality Saga hotel ( separate review). We're not green to travel in Norway or remote locations in the Arctic Circle, so we knew to pack a suitcase with some basic provisions for the week. However, I have never stayed in self catering accommodation in Norway before where the option is either to pay an extortionate fee for someone else to clean the place for you, or attempt to do it your self with no cleaning tools or products provided whatsoever. Not even a brush to sweep the floor or a cloth to clean the sink. Not helpful for international travellers who want to travel as light as possible, or short vacationers who don't really want to stock up the owner's cleaning cupboard for them. I assume the previous occupants had the same issue as the apartment was not especially clean when we arrived. Given the high price we paid, it was not acceptable that much of the lighting was either not functioning or light bulbs missing, shower was broken ( we fixed this ourselves), towels were tatty and torn and television didn't work. We raised this on arrival at reception and were told there wasn't anything they could do ( the apartments are privately owned and sublet by the hotel). They told us they would get back to us within an hour - they didn't. We found this very disappointing as they had been very pleasant via email with us before we arrived. Apart from Marta, we found the staff generally indifferent and not very interested in customer service. There is not sufficient hot water daily for more than one person to have a hot shower - thereafter they range from cool to cold. Storage was problematic - barely enough for 2 people let alone 4 and 4 coat hangers provided in total. And we were travelling very light indeed. On the plus side the apartment was adequately and comfortably furnished and well- heated. Note - no microwave, coffee-maker, or washing machine, if any of those things are important to you.

We were there to see the Northern Lights and this is a superb location for that, so we tolerated the poor standard/ high priced accommodation. We were treated to several excellent displays from our balcony. We had hired a 4x4 ( your own transport is really a must if you stay here) and chased the lights and clear skies elsewhere to maximise our sightings and got lucky across several evenings. So the trip was a huge success given our goal, but we have stayed in superior accommodation in Norway at a better price, so wouldn't recommend. Had the staff dealt with the issues as they clearly did with other customers, we may have felt different - maybe we should have protested more!

Room Tip: Northern Lights equally likely to appear behind the cottages/apartments as well as in front across the fjord. Balconies are looking out across the fjord, so be sure to check all aspects or you could miss them. Windows to the rear in the apartment were very small and a lot of light pollution on the site itself. Ideally you need your own transport to go looking or pay for a trip. We didn't find driving across the ice roads problematic at all with a 4x4 with studded tyres. Note - there is a 100NOK toll charge each way to use the tunnel connection between Tromso and the island.
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Witloofsnapper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rudi O, Daglig leder at Malangen Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 23 March 2014

Thank you so much for your review regarding your experience at our resort. I am glad to let you know that we have all ready improved on your issues, so now cleaning of all cabins and Rorbus is done by our housekeeping. I will let Marta know that you found her serviceminded, I am sure she will be happy to hear this. I am very happy that your trip was a huge sucess although we did not delivered up to standard in service. Hope to see you back here sometime, so we can make it up to you.

Best regards

Rudi Olsen
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2014

We stayed in luxury self catering apartments situated on the fjord. We were a party of 12 ranging in ages from 9 to 60+. . One of the apartments amazing but some niggling problems with other property, however staff very helpful, sorted out the problems and gave us a discount, The scenery was breathtaking with plenty of places to drive to. Would recommend.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
Thank scrapcharlie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rudi O, Daglig leder at Malangen Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 22 March 2014

Thank you! Its always good with such positive feedback, and good to hear that we helped out on site, when you had some miner problems.

Best Regards

Rudi Olsen
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2014

This is in a beautiful location about an hour south of Tromso, although it felt pretty isolated on those wintery roads. The fisherman's cottage was warm and comfortable, with fantastic views across the fjord, and had everything we needed - except a brush to sweep the floor before we left.

My only niggle is that we even though you're paying top price for the accommodation, everything else is extra. Toboggan, kick sledge, snow shoes (all 50kr), fire wood, sauna (350kr per person, minimum of six) and hot tub - all available, but at a price. You'd think that for the price you're paying, they'd at least include some of the cheaper extras for free.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank L3K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rudi O, Daglig leder at Malangen Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 22 March 2014

Thank you for your time to write us your review, its good to see where we can improve. We are working to improve our WIFI as we speak.

So happy to hear that you saw the lights, even though it wasnt the strongest. But then you have a nice reason to come back.

Best Regards

Rudi Olsen
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2014 via mobile

We decided to book this place because there were reviews about being able to see the northern lights from here. Well, we didn't exactly see the lights right outside our balcony but on the drive here from Tromso, we caught a faint display. That was about it for our first night here.

The receptionist that attended to us was very pleasant and friendly. We had planned to arrive around 6ish in the evening but we had reached only around 8. She had texted us but as one of our phones was flat, we didn't get her message. Check in was a breeze and we were also provided with instructions on how to use the wifi. Now, speaking about the wifi, it was basically a trial and error process in logging on to one that gave the strongest and most stable signal. There is a place for parking behind our cottage (our cottage was behind those on the waterfront) but do take note that it is icy and very slippery to get down to the cottage, and especially when we had 2 heavy luggages.

The view from our cottage (iirc it was cottage 10) was superbly beautiful the next morning! We had our self cooked breakfast and went on to recce Camp Nikka in preparation for the lights hunt that night. Took a short drive in our car and came back to the reception where we had asked for some lighter fluid as well as wood for burning.

I have to admit that that very night, both of us drove up to Camp Nikka and we didn't walk out to the camp. It was dark and we were scared! Temperature was at minus 9, and we went out at around 10ish to try our luck to see if we can find the lights as the kp was only around 2. And the lights did came out after about 20 mins, doing their slow dance amidst the billions of stars in the night sky. They were not that spectacular to the naked eye, but turned out pretty on camera.

All in all, this place provided a very comfortable and enjoyable stay for our last 2 nights in Norway but yes, it was very pricey for us.



Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Tiff W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rudi O, General Manager at Malangen Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2014

Dear Tiff,

Thank you for your review after your stay at our resort. It's always nice to hear back from our guests. We are happy to say that we have improved our WiFi and are planning more improvements as well. Hope to see you back here sometime.

Best regards

Rudi Olsen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews