We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best B&B”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Pigeon Cottage

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Pigeon Cottage
Reading, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best B&B”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014

This is the best B&B that my husband and I have stayed in . The family that run it are friendly and are generally interested in making your stay and happy time. Every morning you are greeted with a warm welcome at breakfast.
Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paulachris85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rik C, Owner at Pigeon Cottage, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Hi Chris & Paula many thanks for your kind comments it was great to meet you and we look forward to seeing you again soon I hope. Rik & Jan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    36
    8
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
9
17
3
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2014

We initially chose to stay at Pigeon Cottage due to the edge of village location away from the hustle and bustle of the centre. For our short break we wanted a quiet, relaxing and scenic place to stay with a good choice of facilities, and we were not disappointed at all! A very warm and friendly welcome from Rick and Jan and we were shown to our spotlessly clean and well equipped room. The B&B building is separate from the owners accommodation, which offers a high degree of privacy while the very helpful owners are sited next door and were always happy to offer advice and help wherever needed. Jan's breakfasts were fantastic, warm plates, hot tasty food and service with a smile! Fishing here is also highly recommended and Rick gave us lots of excellent and professional advice. A lovely short walk into the village for anything extra that you might need. Very reasonable B&B rates, top location and all round fantastic service - we definitely picked the right spot to holiday. The free WI-FI went down well too! Thank you! We will be back.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank J J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rik C, Owner at Pigeon Cottage, responded to this review, 21 June 2014
Hi Chris & Jo it was great to meet you both and I am pleased you had a good time. Next visit I will try and get you to catch one of my double figure Carp not just lots of little ones. Rik
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weymouth, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014

my husband and i have spent quite a few weeks at this bed and breakfast and we really enjoyed each time we stayed there, jan and rik coleman are so friendly and helpful and make you feel really welcome its like home from home. the fishing is just so relaxing and enjoyable it is so peaceful will be going back again

Room Tip: we have stayed in a couple of rooms and both were very comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cj K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rik C, Owner at Pigeon Cottage, responded to this review, 21 June 2014
Hi Colin and Andrea thanks for your kind comments, its always nice to see you both and I look forward to seeing you again later this year. Rik
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockport, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014

I have been staying at Pigeon Cottage for at least two weeks a year for the last six years, and year on year the standards rise. I can say with total honesty that this is by far the best value bed and breakfast establishment I have stayed in. Also anyone looking for an excellent days fishing would be hard pushed to find better sport anywhere. Apart from the top class accomadation and fishing Rik and Jan work really hard to ensure everything is perfect for your stay, they are the perfect hosts.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eric_j_smith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rik C, Owner at Pigeon Cottage, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
Thank you Eric, its always a pleasure to see you and Liz. We look forward to seeing you both again in August. Rik
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014

I have been visiting this venue for the last 5 years but this was the first time I stayed in the bed n breakfast which I have to say completely exceeded my expectations , the service - quality- cleanliness is excellent, it has all the fascilities you could possibly want and need for either a one night stop off or a full weeks stay.The fishing lakes are superb with lake one full of big carp and I caught loads up to around 15lb and lake 2 full of allsorts of very good quality hard fighting fish.
Rik and Jan who run this venue have a very hands on approach and are always available to give advise if needed.
Needless to say I will be returning to pigeon cottage next year and I am counting down the days already.


Many thanks Rik n Jan
Graham.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rik C, Owner at Pigeon Cottage, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Many thanks Graham we are pleased that you had a good time and that the fish were obliging as well! See you next year, Rik & Jan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2013 via mobile

This is our sixth trip here and yet again had a fabulous time. With memory foam mattresses for a lovely warm comfy night sleep. The kids loved the free wifi and the Cooked breakfasts were delicious. Rik and Jan are the perfect hosts. See you again next year!

Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Ajaylotus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2013 via mobile

Saw the sign on the road and were lucky enough to find a room available £55 over the Bank holiday weekend.
It was clean comfortable and breakfast was hot , well cooked and decent quality.
Good location for touring lincolnshire away from the seaside resorts.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Janet E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near North Somercotes
6.1 mi away
Brackenborough Hotel
6.2 mi away
Beaumont Hotel
Beaumont Hotel
#3 of 3 in Louth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 227 reviews
1.6 mi away
Meals Farm Holiday Cottages and Bed & Breakfast
Meals Farm Holiday Cottages and ...
#3 of 4 in North Somercotes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
The Old Manor House at North Somercotes
The Old Manor House at North Som...
#1 of 4 in North Somercotes
5.0 of 5 bubbles 107 reviews
9.1 mi away
Grange Leisure Park
Grange Leisure Park
#8 of 8 in Mablethorpe
3.5 of 5 bubbles 45 reviews
4.4 mi away
West View B&B
West View B&B
#1 of 1 in South Cockerington
5.0 of 5 bubbles 17 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pigeon Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pigeon Cottage

Property: Pigeon Cottage
Address: Pigeon Cottage Conisholme Road, North Somercotes LN11 7PS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lincolnshire > North Somercotes
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in North Somercotes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pigeon Cottage provides the perfect getaway whether you are holidaying, sight seeing, fishing or just visiting friends, our warm welcome will ensure your visit starts right. With a modern detached B & B building, Caravan hard stands with electric, Campsite with male and female facilities, two lakes (46 pegs) and 5 acres of grounds we will endeavor to make your holiday one to remember whatever you have come to enjoy. Easy access to local attractions like the Seals at Donna Nook and Motor Racing at Cadwell Park. The coastal resorts of Cleethorpes and Mablethorpe are just a 20 minute drive but should you wish to remain in the village, we have 2 pubs, a restaurant, takeaways and a range of shops all within easy walking distance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Pigeon Cottage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing