We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A delightful experience!”

June Deveau Galerie Studio
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Paintings and reproductions created by Acadian artist June Deveau depicitng Nova Scotia landscapes and cultural life which are displayed in this gallery and studio.
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A delightful experience!”
Reviewed 30 July 2014

If you're looking for a quality painting with an Acadian theme, then look no further! June has a variety of paintings that depict the Acadian lifestyle as well as the surrounding landscape. Her gallery was open 'by chance' when we arrived and she welcomed us warmly. She has many original pieces for sale as well as prints that can be purchased at a very reasonable cost.

I purchased an original piece that looks lovely in my dining room in Richmond, Virginia! I will treasure it for years to come!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank 60ErinM60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
June D, Owner at June Deveau Galerie Studio, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
I appreciate your review and your interest in my work, thank-you very much! It was great meeting you and spending some time with you. It`s true the gallery is open year round by chance or appointment, There is someone here mostly every day to greet visitors at the gallery during the summer and fall months. I do hope you stop in again when you are in our area. :0)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

14 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    0
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dartmouth, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Gallery visit and discussion with artist”
Reviewed 29 July 2014

This is a very attractive and tidy gallery located in the Clare area of western Nova Scotia. The artist June Deveau, has a refreshingly loose style which is in some ways reminiscent of Canada's Group of Seven. While some faces of the figures are featureless, she manages to effectively use this approach to deliberately avoid distraction from the main theme and to enhance the paintings emotional content.

I very much enjoyed viewing her work and equally appreciated our friendly chat regarding art in general - as well as a variety of other topics. June directed us to other artists whose work she thought we might enjoy as well as some other some significant Acadian cultural features and activities in the area. Highly recommended.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Brian T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
June D, Owner at June Deveau Galerie Studio, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Thank-you very much for your review, I appreciate it. It was a pleasure to meet you. I enjoyed our chat and I do hope when you are in this area again that you stop for another visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitchurch-Stouffville, Canada
Level Contributor
31 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Wonderful Art”
Reviewed 25 July 2014

A visit to June Deveau's gallery is a pleasure. You meet and talk with the artist who is a very gracious lady. She will give you the same attention if you are buying a original piece of art or a copy. Her prices are most reasonable.
On Thursdays she offers a class and information on her art work, only to happy to share her talent with visitors.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank heatherandrews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
June D, Owner at June Deveau Galerie Studio, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Thank-you very much for your comments. It was great meeting and chatting with you. Drop by again when you are in our area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Worth a visit for sure”
Reviewed 18 May 2014

Recommended by the place we were staying, this quaint gallery on the French Shore was a wonderful spot to stop, chat with the artist, and view some wonderful works. We bought a painting! The whole area is worth exploring too.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Aaron B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
June D, Owner at June Deveau Galerie Studio, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Thank-you very much for your positive comments and for your interest in my work. It was a pleasure meeting you. We are getting ready for another season. If you are around this area sometime please drop in again.

June & Jim Deveau
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A great place to stop on the Acadian route”
Reviewed 28 March 2014

We visited the June Deveau Galerie Studio last October on our way to Yarmouth. The gallery is a separate building on the Deveau's property and is open 'by appointment or by chance' so we took a chance and are glad that we did. June and her husband Jimmy are both very charming and unassuming, and made us feel like welcome guests. June paints in a style that is somewhat evocative of the Group of Seven with subjects that range from Acadian life and culture to rugged landscapes. She has quite a number of paintings on display so it does take some time to look at them all. June was quite happy to let us browse at our leisure and has a couple of comfortable chairs to sit and regard the paintings. After much deliberation we did purchase a painting and had June ship it to our home. Jimmy builds the shipping crates himself and they are a work of art in their own right. Needless to say the painting arrived safe and sound, without a scratch. If you are heading down the Acadian route and pass through Saint-Alphonse, I highly recommend a stop.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank AJ-JS87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
June D, Owner at June Deveau Galerie Studio, responded to this review, 2 April 2014
Thank-you so much for your review regarding our gallery and for interest in my work. It was indeed a pleasure to meet you both. We hope to see you again some day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to June Deveau Galerie Studio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing