We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Adorable spot!”
other travellers have booked this property
Our Home on Big Lane
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Our Home on Big Lane
Our anchor, with view beyond.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
8 reviews
Our Home on Big Lane
Our anchor, with view beyond.
In Living room looking into older section of house, library and kitchen beyond.
Library with desk.
Master Bedroom with private deck overlooking the Bay.
Bedroom #2
4 piece bathroom: jacuzzi tub and corner shower
View from our property
Our fire pit.
The Three Sisters, Bay Roberts Hiking trail.
Salmon Cove Sands Beach
The wharf and view
Walking down the lane towards the pebble beach.
View from Upper Island Cove looking out towards Spaniards Bay & Bay Roberts.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Upper Island Cove, Newfoundland, Newfoundland and Labrador

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 8 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Trip70761...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Adorable spot!”
Reviewed 21 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Beautiful clean home with lots of character! Lovely area! We had a wonderful relaxing stay in this cute cottage. Hoping to go back again sometime :)

Date of stay: April 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Mar 2019
We are glad you had a great stay, and we would be happy to have you back again in the future!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CBS , NL
Reviewed 25 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016
2
people found this review helpful

Date of stay: October 2016
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
31 Oct 2016
Thanks Stephanie! We definitely try to warn people before they book and it's only the kitchen and adjoining room that have original 6 foot ceiling beams to duck under (the living room and entire upstairs, bedrooms and bathrooms are all 8 foot ceilings).
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
SUSIE F
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Made our own beds and had to wash bedding”
Reviewed 4 July 2016 for a stay in June 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Bad start to the stay got worse. I have NEVER been expected to make my own bed on arrival. On each bed was a plastic pack containing linen and pillow cases. We were also given explicit instructions in the information book, on changing the sheets and washing / drying the bedding at the end of the stay. Added to this:

The house sleeps 6/8 there was one glass wine glass and 1 plastic one! We were assured that there were 12 but clearly the cleaner had not checked the house.

The TV didn't work. - which was a shame as we had a film on Newfoundland to watch before leaving.

We couldn't locate the bar-b-que.- it transpired that it was locked in the shed but we had no key.

The house had post it notes all over kitchen and information book (see attached) saying what to do and what not to do. All rather obvious. Do we need to be told to treat the property with respect ?

Would now think twice about other Canada Select properties

Date of stay: June 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: NOthing much
Liked least: Everything - mainly the beds NOT being made and being expected to wash and dry bedding.
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Mar 2019
We are truly sorry that your experience wasn't the best, and we no longer have guests make their own beds. As for your other concerns, they could have been addressed easily with better communication. There was nothing wrong with the TV just one of the outlets. You had called us about it and we had our caretaker come and had the impression it was resolved. The glasses may have been in another cupboard and we also could have had the BBQ brought out of the shed had you asked. We strive to have the best satisfaction for our guests and apologize that this wasn't met for your stay, but we hope this didn't permanently sour you on Canada Select properties.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LadyV15
St. John's, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful, one of a kind place!”
Reviewed 1 June 2016 for a stay in March 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Started with great, convenient communication with the owners even though they are far. It was close to St. John's which is great for young kids. It was slightly challenging to find as the streets are not well organized but it was also at night. The place was oozing rustic, seaside charm with an updated twist. Very well decorated. Not a huge fan of the religious edge to the decor though. Loved the ensuite and the balcony coming off was a fantastic retreat. The view was phenomenal and walking around was picture perfect. It was a great place for a family to stay!

Date of stay: March 2016
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grimsby, Canada
Reviewed 15 February 2015 for a stay in September 2014
3
people found this review helpful

Date of stay: September 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: ocean view
Liked least: partial blockage due to neighbouring garage
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
weerambol...
St. John's, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Little piece of Heaven”
Reviewed 5 October 2014 for a stay in September 2014
5
people found this review helpful

Second visit to this immaculately presented home with views to die for with peace and tranquillity thrown in...
The home has all mod cons,every piece of kitchen ware youll ever need to cook for the family,bbq, fire pit area for cosy nights, gorgeous upstairs bedrooms with main ensuite bathroom Jacuzzi bath and secondry bathroom downstairs.
Perfect stay for romance or family trip so relaxing with free whale shows from our window.
Cannot recommend this place any higher spotlessly clean,3 perfect bedrooms,2 bathrooms ,kitchen,living room with t.v,dvd and disc selection ,parking and great decking area top and bottom of the house..
Great communication from owners and easy to deal with will always cherish my 2 visits there definitely not my last..

Date of stay: September 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Property presentation,area of the property
Liked least: Going home
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in United Kingdom. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.